liz
Actually the thought of getting a dog did cross my mind too. Both of us love dogs but kids are still irreplaceable leh...

Hi Ladies, I'm back from my Hong Kong trip. There's a lot of stuff to buy there.. so ended up it wasn't a relaxing trip.. haha.. but indeed a good break from work!

Anyway, I finally went for my 1st visit with Dr Charles Lim yesterday. It was great i will say. Coz DH and I had sex the night before, so he inserted some stuff into me and let us see the "boys" under the microscope. So at least this shows DH boys can survive in me.

Did a scan and showed one folicle at 12mm. Is this an ok size? He told me not to do anything now.. just go home n try try try n wait wait wait till O...

Does anyone know? 12mm does this mean i might O soon?

Serina.. welcome back... u sound realli excited...

Liz.. me thot of getting a dog too but i got allergy so hubby dun allow me to get one

Ceraine.. stay positive n jia you!!! first cycle is day 15 O, cycle 2 is day 14 now third cycle dunno which day leh...

muski
hahaha.. in a way yes... but while waiting for a kid, a dog is a good substitute

Sharon
lol.. it really depends on your allergy.. some dogs are hypoallergenic which means that they are least likely to trigger an allergic reaction in humans.. my DH has nose allergy too... but he is ok with our shih tzu..

liz & sharon,
I already have 2 chinchillas to look after haha.
So need to think twice b4 having more pets.
Will definitely get one when I can almost retire!

some updates,
Gynae's in the op. theatre so i could only pass my msg to the nurse. Was asked if i've done hpt and I told them it was -ve. So need to wait for him to be avail for more updates.
Good thing (i think) is I have no discomfort. That also means no preg symptoms at all also. *mixed feelings*

hi girls,
has anyone heard or done of video hysterscopy?
my gynae propose this as there is some "reach"/hump in my uterus which might affect chances of conceiving. IUI procedure, a simpel one, takes him half hour or more to complete. Though trying naturally, sperm has more route to swim, but it has to be strong enff and clever enff to bypass the hump.

we are deciding to go natural if this iui fail, but nurse advise natural might not be a good option.

the scope thing is about 5k!!

muski, same thing, nurse mentioned if AF do not report next two days, have to buy clearblue to test le (rather than rely on on line strip) similarly, these two days i have no discomfort.

Sharon
go find out lah.. hahaha... I'm tempted to get another dog.. oops...

Muski
heheh...get rid of your chinchillas??? hahaha.. dogs are more fun

ceraine
very ex wor... but what the doc going to do if he finds a hump?can remove? if not 5k, very ex leh... might as well spend another 5k do IVF instead...

ceraine,
I've read about it on the net.
I've considered doing this instead of going for laparoscopy cos I've qualms abt going under GA.
Yet to find out abt the cost involved though.
Quite a lot of things to find out on my side.
1st thing is the discharge. Then, i'd ask him shd I go for hysterscopy or laparascopy.

Agree with sharon that it's rather costly!

liz,
Nooo!! They are really cute and tame furballs you know

ceraine,
Actually I used clearblue to test. BUT, saw on the packaging that the expiry date is 12/2008. oops. cos I think i bought that last year.

liz,
yes, 4-5k.day surgery.
if saw hump, can immediate correct it to straighten the uterus.
gota to fix appt with gynae on the chances of conceiving if go thru this scope, as well other options.
quite shocked to learn of the price from the nurse too, thot it was only a simple procedure.

Anyone knows where to get cheaper O test strips?

I did a Laparascopy at gleneagles...around 7k, covered around 80% by insurance. check ur insurance, normal company insurance sld cover already..

serina,
What kind of policy covers such gyn procedures?
Must it be coupled with riders e.g. Lady first care or lady protection?

No need. I just claim under normal company insurance. I claim under my company then DH claimed under his. The gynae will tell u that you can claim under insurance. My own insurance pay me only around $200, call a GET WELL BENEFIT. If u have those PINK OF HEALTH i.e. ladies insurance, also can cover.

Thanks serina.
Will find out more on my own also.
I've left my job so too bad, no co. insurance to claim.

Apart from O test strips, where can i get affordable hpt strips?

Serina,
me going to HK end of may, really so good to shop? 2yrs ago i went got alot of pl to shop la.. but din really buy anything. dunno when their summer sale start.
wah! ur hubby soldier very strong hor.. good sia. BFP BFP for u. ur hubby got take any supplement??

Ceraine
hump in the uterus?? first time heard of...sounds like some bumpy road the spermies have to overcome...

Serina
wow! HK is sure a place to shop and eat. u must have a fruitful trip...

Redtea
HK summer sale is ard end july-Aug, if i remember correctly. Still, get an extra bag for those shopping...

Muski
is that utrogestan suppose to strenthen your womb. I took duphaston. I suspect it did "strengthen" the womb, coz i got on/off spotting prior to AF. I usually dun. I suspect it held back the AF for a couple of days b4 the grand show. i oso got more side effects, i tink: aches from waist down; severe headaches and nauseous.

crafty yard,
yah lor, poor spermies. mayb tats y still no news yet.
+ hubby sperm quality not super duper good kinda, just moderate.

crafty yard
I think utrogestan (as progesterone) helps to boost the uterine lining? Mine's inserts instead of oral med. This brown discharge, can't call it spotting since it came on the day AF's supposed to report, is light and sometimes appears only when I wipe. Not accompanied by any real aches and pains too.

My gynae's taking a long time to return my call. Hope the delivery he's doing is smooth...

redtea,
if you are a fan of esprit, the outlets will be enough to keep you occupied for a long time.

gynae called.
was told to increase dosage from 2 inserts in the night to include 1 to be taken orally.
nothing much said cos I also dunno what to ask.
still too early to tell anything i guess since hpt did not return +ve too.

just hope it's not some infection or m/c?
not another round of sleepless night i hope.
wish me luck ladies

Serina & Sharon,(& to all u ladies who are doing so much more than me),

1stly,i salute all of u.getting preggy is already so difficult,so tedious,yet all of u can soldier on with O strips,BBT etc.hats off to u.i don't even have time to test in the morn.i run off as fast as i can,& i'm still late for wk.haha.the morn appts at gynae are also taking a toll on me.

2ndly,i've used O stips only once.bought house brand fr Guardian.my hpt also fr guardian.never used clearblue coz so EX! haha.me a bit cheapo lah,but all these kits are so accurate these days,even the housebrands.for 1st pregnancy,i tested a few times ,only 1 line.then i got preg & tested (using guardian brand),2 lines showed up immediately.so quite accurate.if preg,sure have 2 lines showing up immediately.i tested the day after i missed my period,& the line was faint,but it was definitely there.coz i've seen no line b4,so in comparison,the faint line is quite obvious.

muski,
no discomfort doesn't mean not pregnant.i can't really rem my 1st preg symptoms,but i think i had no symptoms at all.juz like normal.was talking to hubby one day abt getting preg,then realised period didn't come,so went to confirm on calendar.

ceraine,
my hubby's swimmers also not very strong leh.i think it's normal,u know? i think it's more normal for to have a huge quantity of average swimmers & only a few rapid swimmers.if u read the forum,a lot of hubbies have average or lousy sperm qualities.haha.be consoled.at least u know u got pregnant naturally the 1st time,so there is always hope.this is wat i tell myself.don't know if i'm lying to myself.if u compare me & u,u're a bit better coz u had a m/c.i had a stillbirth.so in terms of body being screwed up by having a baby,i think my body is more screwed up than urs.u get wat i mean? i went thru' the whole birth.i assume u had drainage & currettage.

i've learned to take things a lot easier already.i think change in hubby's attitude has also encouraged me a bit.i don't have to put up with his shit,juz in case he withhold bd.now,both of us a co-operating with each other.i don't know wat brought abt the change in attitude,not sure if it's due to the long wait since the stillbirth (no gd news yet) that he's feeling the 'strain' too.i always believe (though i'm not a christian) god give babies to families he think deserves it & can provide a good enviroment for the babies.with hubby & me quarrelling all the time previously,it's not the best enviroment to nurture a baby.

I had my IUI #2 done today.doc charged me 1/2 price.i was so happy.haha.i'm in the med field also,i think that's y.hmm...no harm having it done a few more times,huh? haha.of course i hope it will be successful this time.

life is so ironic,isn't it,girls? last few mths,hubby was on cordyceps,i fin my entire box of pre-pregnancy vit i bought fr aus.no luck with IUI.had mid cycle bleeding.i guessed my hormones went bonkus.even took 2 days off after iui.this time,had a scare,no follicle on day 12.but luckily day 16,follicle 18mm! suddenly appeared & grew so quickly.hubby didn't take supp coz he said it's making his pimples pop out like crazy.we abstained only 1 day,his swimmers not much different fr last cycle,where we abstained for 3 days! god is really testing us.even vol produced for iui also not very much different.

relieved this cycle no mid cycle bleeding.totally surprised.iui went well.ovulated on the left side,which is the side of my larger bi-furcated uterus.this is the funny thing.i knew i have a vaginal septum.a 3D scan showed i have a bi-furcated uterus.a HSG (done this cycle) showed my left uterus is larger than the right.so the pic is finally coming together.it's no wonder when we bd,i can feel different sensations on the right & left,depending on where hubby enters.he can't feel a difference.i wasn't sure until iui today.i sort of guided hubby this few times we bd,but i cannot be sure if my theory is correct.so during iui today,gynae inserted into the right side.i didn't feel correct,so i told him,coz i'm ovulating on the left.swimmers deposited in the right,with the septum,almost guarenteed unsuccessful.gynae inserted on the left,i said it feels 'correct',& he confirmed,coz he can see the septum.so all these while,it was a 'mechanical' failure.if i ovulate on right,hubby has to go on right side.& only i can tell.it took me so long (almost 12 mths!)to find out.wonder if i'll get pregnant a bit easier now.but must always scan coz i need to know which side i ovulate.

*sigh* this is life,isn't it? but now with my post grad studies,at least there is a bit of distraction for me.

monster,
no, didnt go thru D&C ist round.
natural abortion
after that i did a mini confinement myself cooking the ginger chicken, herbal soup etc..
was a hard time lah.

morn ladies,
I think I'm quite sure that 1st iui didn't work out. Discharge turned from brown to red and resembles usual AF with some clots but just lighter flow.

I'm really curious to know which part did the process fail. The fertilisation or the implantation. But I guess there's no real way to find out, is there?

Gynae did not tell me anything abt the thickness of the lining during the scans. I must rem to ask him the next time round.

Since I really want to go for the next round of iui, I wonder if I should bring fwd my Mon's appt to today so that I can start taking the clomid.
Or should I rest this round since AF a bit haywire? Any advice, ladies?

Also thinking of going to TCM once again to "tiao" my body. Staying in AMK, so I wonder if anyone has comments about Dr Zou. Btw, is the doc a male or female? (not that it really matters)

I think I'm feeling quite stressed up over this 1st iui. Although like what monster said, no symp doesnt mean not preggy but I really hope to feel "something" during the 2ww to give me some hope...
As a man of few words, Hubby dunno how to console me either.

best of luck to you monster!
ceraine, I hope to hear good news from you too.

Yes, Hong Kong Harbour City has an esprit factory outlet... Nowadays, Hong Kongers don't shop that much so it's mainly tourists buying so it's actually not that crowded anymore..

Must go Maxim to eat dim sum and Yong Kee to eat the roast goose... To die for... hehe

Anyway, tell u ladies some news... U know i used to see Dr Peter Chew and I went to see Charles Lim 2 days ago right... P Chew told my DH that his spermies are not good, keep giving him vitamins & hormones pills to improve his boys... then Charles after seeing the ST results, he said... they are perfectly fine.

We were stunned!!! P Chew even told DH that he might need an op for his varicoele. Charles Lim said 90% of men have that and it's no big deal coz his test results are fine, although not fantastic.

I am totally confused man!

Muski
i wd have continue for the next iui if i were you just to keep things and momentum going...But of course you shd consult your gynae as he knows best what state u're in. I stop for tis cycle coz both me and DH not feeling well due to flu and i tot even if i able to go thru the procedure, results will not be optimal...

Thanks crafty yard.
I've made an appt to see Dr Zou and hear what she has to say. Hope both of you will be in the best condition during your next cycle

hi ceraine
4k! wow that is very expensive.. can claim from medisave? Have u considered doing ivf directly instead? since ivf if done under kk is less thatn 1 k cash, cheaper then the scope thing and i tink prob higher rate of success...

muski,
don't give up. jia you jia you. me staying at AMK to at st31.

serina,
better to let ur DH continue the vitamins lor. to build his soldier strong ma.. sometime the soldier might be ok condition but not top tip condition. so better to take vitamin to have a stronger army to meet the egg and get BFP!

Monster,
seem like our cycle is on the same track. my AF shld due date is nxt weekends. good luck to u.

crafty,
ur DH taking any vitamins?

Hi redtea, ya, DH is continuning his vitamins... but no need to take the super exp $2 one tablet kind already. Just basic men vitamins can liao.. phew! The doc said take multi vit with Vitamin E will be good...

Jus like to check with all of u on how many days u gals res at hm after iui?? Two days leave or one week? Did u go out for meals during meal time for that few days jus after iui or always stay at hm, lie on bed?
Yippy,TGIT today is last working day for this week.. ;)

muski,
me down yesterday loh, AF reported. So heavy flow today, clomid is the culprit?? coz last month very heavy flow too.

we decided to consult Dr fong on the scope thing(sounds like laproscopy),the chances etc. If we forgo, and go to IVF, will the hump pose a problem.

taking it easy this month, and will go for TCM treatmnt. Giving ourself 3mths.

ceraine... try again... me thot of going back to TCM wor... u got anyone good to recommend? at the same time i finished my clomid was wondering if i should go back to gynae and see what he wanna do? or should i just go TCM??? today is the Day 10... O should be here anytime from tmr onwards....

Sharon,
nope will on hold any further IUI.should tackle the problem first before trying and hitting the wall again.

i have tried a few TCM, clementi, amk, bukit batok. I guess it all boils down to "fate" with the TCM.

Hi serina
I hv exactly same experience with u.. Ever seen peter chew before , did larpascopy under him then after that he say better operate my hubby too.. My dh is piss off with him so i change dr to dr foong at gleaeagles too.. He is surprise whypeter didnt ask me do any bt fir hormone.. Anyway, after he see my dh sperm result, he straight away say problem lies on me and not my hubby.. He says he got gd swimmers.. So i did my first iui 4 mth ago, got bfp but mc after 6weeks.. Sadz.. Then he say if i do iui again, will do something to prevent the same thing happen again.. Am planning to do iui again on june..wish for the best..

Hi muski
Had been doing accupunture under dr zou.. She is a very patient and nice doc.. Review fr many pp is her accu point is similar with eys tcm doc.. And much cheaper too.. $25.. Eys charge $75 per time.. Will start my accu this mth to get myself prepare for next mth iui.. But i dun take her medicine.. As am seeing another famous tcm doc at marine parade for his medicine.. This mth will try natural first.. Silently hopeful..

Ceraine...
my O days are coming but at the same time. Fear n worrying started to crept all over me.. hubby haven done the sperm test as yet... i have this feel i am just heading no where after hearing so much abt husband's sperms not strong or etc....feeling so lost...

Muski,
me bought vitE for hubby too. hope he can guai guai eat.

sharon,
go phamarcy and get a bottle of Vitmins E for ur hubby. last time my hubby sperm oso not good. failed. but after a mth of vitamin E, i got my DS.

Sharon, dun worry so much! Just try naturally and enjoy the process... I know it's tough waiting for days to pass.. it's like taking yearssssss... But girl, this is the time since you know O is on its way.

Joanne, sorry to hear abt that! I'm sure you'll be fine under Dr Foong. I think Peter Chew loves to operate... ;p

Btw girls, sld i take my women multi vit? I am currently on half tablet metformin now due to my PCOS, so dr advised to continue met but on half tablet first...

My GNC women multi vit has folic acid so i m thinking whether to continue or not...

RedTea
my DH not taking any vit at the moment. wat brand of vit E u bought? last year i got him the cordyceps (capsules). He takes on and off...and i've to press him to take like pressing a kid...i gave up.

crafty,
i think any brand will do. as long as it is vitamin E. i can't remember the brand i bought le.

Serina,
actually women shld take multi-vit too. but i lazy. :p

ceraine,
I know how it feels. Flow on my side did not increase significantly...
We must continue to work hard!

roxy,
IVF at kk after subsidy is only 1k+? wow.
Is it after the new gvt subsidy thingy whereby you can't choose the gynae (i think)?

redtea,
yeah! found a fellow amk-rian. me stay near teck ghee cc, quite am near you. thx for the encouragement. Needed that badly cos feel like giving up yet again though very "bu4 gan1 xin1".

Somemore, aft seeing dr zou, received an sms announcing the arrival of a fren's 2nd bb. So happy yet so sad too.

Joanne,
I was given 3 days MC but resumed my work aft 2 days of rest at home. Din really lie in bed much. Right after iui still went shunfu for lunch. Impossible not to walk around and defy gravity leh...
So you told dr zou that you are taking another tcm's med? The marine parade tcm's waiting time is very long right? Plus it's so far away. Ok I'm lazy

Sharon,
Agree with serina. Seize every opportunity, regardless of natural or assisted. Stay positive!

My first experience with Dr Loh SF from kk was he asked me to do laparoscopy on my 2nd or 3rd consultation aft DH's SA. I know lap is the best way to see what's wrong inside but I know some docs love to get their patients to go for op so i felt uncomfortable with the idea. Plus, it isn't cheap and this GA thingy that I'm jittery abt.

After seeing dr zou, the msg i get is my bbt is too high (higher than 36.5) b4 ovulation i.e. CD1 onwards. Sign of hormone imbalance, not enough E2, so will affect O and egg quality.

This is similar to a JB tcm that I saw once. He told me worse things. That it's quite a hopeless case for me, even if i'm preggy, i'd have to go thru a few m/c b4 i may succeed cos there's something seriously wrong with my hormones. You can imagine how devasted I was then.

Hi muski
Nope.. Didnt tell dr zou abt seeing another dr.. She didnt asks me take any chinese medicine.. I jus do acc only.. Ya, the marine parade dr queue is base on ur luck.. U see dr zou already?? How u find her?? 天无绝人直路。。u will be a lovely mummy very soon..;)

thanks joanne!
Found her to be quite a nice lady but too early to say much

Is the acupuncture the same each time, as in the points she targets?
How many times b4 O do you see her for acc?
Today only consultation + collect med since having AF. Will be going for acc on mon!