(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

jamie,
feel fat mah... outermost hook also need to lie down.
ya, i wear 24hrs, except during shower la.

tinkles mum,
lie down & hook, it's easier! really!

aiyoh.. Today I can confirm I go my menses back liao.. only 2 mths after birth..

Previous all 3 mths after birth.. so sianz....

I really cannot enjoy period free holiday during bfg..

tinkles mum,
my mum also in between s and m size.. so i ask her lie down and i bind for her.. outer most la.. initially she says cant breathe.. whahhaa.. but she wears to market and she says ok liao.. once get used to it, its ok le..
my mum is not slim la.. she has very flabby loose tummy... just like after delivery lor.. maybe thats y easier to squeeze into S??

any of u still need diaper liners? My gal never use it. I have 2 boxes to let go : Pigeon n Anakku. Pigeon open but never use. If any of u want can pm me ok.

Just went for PD checkup yesterday and my boy weighs 5.77 kg at 6 weeks 2 days old. Doc said his sizae is top normal and I should not be increasing his feed already. He also had his Hep B injection done.

Tinklesmum, I've ordered Traditional Medicinals Organic Mother's Milk from a drugstore spree. Still waiting for the items to arrive, will let you know the results.

Yesterday his night time feed interval was 4hrs, 3hrs and 3hrs. Thats the best so far! Day is still 2 hrs.

wow, seems that the binder is working on alot of mummies!

audrey,
i got the S binder from u on thurs nite. first time, tried so hard to do up the first hook, almost regretted buying S size...

but now i can actually hook the 3rd hook, not even a week yet! i lost some weight also, almost 1kg since thursday

ibite:
will take ur suggestion! will wear the binder during my evening walks with baby

hi audrey,

wow, lots of good feedback for the binders!
can i get 1 pc binder (S) from you by normal post? pls let me know how to pay you. thanks! Junicorn :)

Hi Shers, thanks for the tip. I cant hold the 2 ends of S size together yet, quite a big gap leh. Hopefully by next week I can.

I did my aerobics with the binder on yesterday... today my friends who just came commented that I did lose some weight.

Cheekz - how did you go from almost cant hook to the second hook! that's amazing results!

all of you are raving abt the binder, i oso wan to get. can fit into my bottoms liao, but my little tummy is juz so stubborn.

re co-sleeping - i'm against it personally, they are so hard to get rid of once they invade our bed! bbs at this pt in time is still very adaptable so it's possible to correct habits.

adv sport - bbs love to be carried when they are fussing. but i will ren xin and firmly tell my gal dat i'm pumping to give her milk so she must guai guai and wait for me to finish. she seems to understand, hee.

Yes i totally agree with Feb Mum.. where ever possible I try not to carry my girl at all... I always try to pacify her with her lying on the bed instead of carrying her..

<font color="ff0099"> hello mums
thank u for the great feedback! now i managed to coax my hubby into wearing one as well cos he always complain of back ache haha and soon i'll get his parents to wear it too hahahaah.

thanks for the feedback!! lets all slim down together!!

jaime, i have PM-ed u already.

tinkles mum, yes got somemore M.

m00n, its a binder that helps to slim down, lose weight, for back aches.. i think i posted in the earlier posts..

ibite,
i nvr change diet leh...i usually binge over the wkend coz my hubby not working and we give the maid a rest.last wkend, i binged @ margaritas east coast and had TWO desserts!mebbe its becoz i've been carrying baby alot? i dunno! hope to maintain that 1kg and more....easy lose, easy gain!!!!

tinkles mum,
i wear the belt first thing in the morning before breakfast....it helps! but thereafter, i managed to squeeze to the last hook
now my waist is size 28...but when i sit down w/o the binder, the flab will spill all overlah...quite gross!

re: weight loss
for first pregnancy, i put on 17kg. Managed to lose 10kg after 2 wks of massage, and last time v dum-dum, nvr wear binder one..finally, had 7kg hanging onto my butt and tummy for 13mths of b-feeding (coz i jus let go and eat like i was still preggy) After weaned off b-feeding, i wasnt so hungry so i lost 4kg, still had 3kg!

So all in all, now i have 5kg left to lose, not as bad as the first pregnancy lah...hopefully i will continue to lose it all over the mths
i am very amazed by how the mummies here regained their pre-preggy weight almost instantly after delivery!i have no such luck

Poo
My Boy poos more than 3 times a day!

Feeding
Doctor advice me to stretch the feed to 4 hrs. He was feeding every 2 hrs, 90ml. Now it's every 3 hours, 120ml. Last feed, I will put in one scope of formula to my EBM so that he can sleep thru the night.

Milk Supply
I'm pumping about 220ml every 3 to 4 hours. To keep the milk supply up, I'm taking fish almost everyday, GNC prenatal pack and Rice Milk. Pretty effective.

Teats
I'm currently using Dr Brown's. No problem at all. Love this brand !

Weight Loss
No idea.. Dun dare to weight myself yet. But I can wear my pre-pregnancy pants !!

Hi, can i join in the discussion? my girl was born on 26Jun..

Joanna, can mix formula to EBM? cos first time mum, so dunno..

Teats
my mother in law says that the pigeon teat (size:S) seems too small, then my girl have to use lots of strength to suck.. tried using the normal pigeon teat with the milk flow regulator doesnt seems good.. got to buy more sizes to try out..

RE: diet
Dunno why but i eat more sweet stuff now then when i was preggy.. esp when it comes to chocolates n ice cream.. all upsize to 2 servings liao.. somemore i cant tahan wear binder 24/7 =p

jo tan, how to stretch a feed? wont they scream when they're hungry?

feb mum, i tried putting hailey in her playpen to sleep when she gets sleepy enuf to doze off.. but after 5 min max she'll stir n start crying.. it's like she knows she's put in the playpen.. it's strange cuz she can sleep on my bed my mom's bed n the couch but not in her own playpen..

Hi Jamie,
My gal is also like that. Daytime (after 10am): Must sleep in bouncer with vibration on. Nite time(after 10pm): Then can sleep in cot/ bed.

Re:Co-sleeping
I cant get rid of my #1 till NOW!! Hence, #2 has to sleep in the cot. Therefore, dun start the habit unless necessary.

Recently, i feel so guilty cos i asked my helper to coax #1 to sleep in the helper's room. Rationale, i needed to tend to baby who happens to be always hungry at that timing. #1 is already at childcare during the daytime. Night time,i still push her away..sob sob..But no choice..If not, everyone will only sleep after 12 midnight.

Re: Screaming for milk
My baby will scream if she is hungry or not full. Unlike my #1!! My #1 is the kind: I will drink if u give me milk. If you dun give also nevermind!

pooh wei, ur #1 sounds like a very easy going kid.. haha.. we started to co sleep cuz i was too tired n lazy to keep carrying her out of playpen for her nite feeds.. now she wakes only once i feel it's less tiring le.. she sleeps real late btw like 1 or 2am de.. dat's y only wake once.. hahaha

Jamie,

Is it that she gets too warm beinng in the playpen? My girl will cry if she is hot in the cot too, so we tend to roll her to sleep on tummy, she can sleep longer!

Co-sleeping
b4 bb was born, my elder kids get to sleep with us in our room on seperate mattress during wkends. Few wks b4 bb born, we fixed the cot &amp; told the kids that there is no more space in our room for them..hence, they sleep seperately in another room with mil &amp; helper till now.
Hui Xin's cot used to be pushed to the living hall only during day, now it's permanentlyin the hall as she sleeps in our bed at night, this make it easier for me to latch her at night!

Milk
My girl will cry very loudly when she is hungry too!

good morning mummies

re: baby massage class
any recommendation on where to take the course?

re: co-sleeping
we r firm not to let bb sleep with us on our bed.. initially, her cot is in my room... 2 wks ago, we moved to the nursery room -- both us n bb sleep better now

re: carrying/pacifying bb
haiz, i bu ren xin leh... sometimes no choice let her cry when i m in the middle of "big biz" in toilet or pumping... this week, she cried till hoarse
we finally gave in and give her the pacifier... hope she will not get addicted to it!

re: smile
my bb only smile in her sleep... m worried coz she always wake up crying
izzi becoz i always make her hungry n unhappy? i really wanna see her smile/laugh at me and be a happy baby...

<font color="ff0099"> binders
hello mums i have sent out the binders to those who have smsed me yesterday!! look out for it!!

buddy, hello yes i still have. u can PM me ok? cos i tried to PM u but u dun accept PMs.</font>

I am also a May mummy, will read this forum occasionally but never post...

Hi adv_sports,

My 9 week old bb boy seldom smiles as well. Other then smiling in his sleep, he will smile to us few times in the day only.. Initially I am abit sad because he doesn't seem as friendly as other bb. But maybe he just has more serious personality, haha.

Does your bb fuss alot? My bb boy fuss often and very restless.. and he can't play on his own. Sometimes I can't figure out what's the problem, end up carrying him very often.. I am againgst pacifier before giving birth, but end up also surrender and gave my bb pacifier!

Does yr bb make cooing sound already? My bb boy makes alot of cooing sound.

Re: Co sleeping.

My gal sleeps in the playpen next to us.
Daytime,she sleeps in yao lan or FP rocker. Night time,we settle her in her playpen she is ok leh,guai guai go sleep. I just turn on my musical mobile let her listen to the music and sleep. I am hoping to let her sleep in her own room when she turns 3. So right now,dun wan to make it a habit to sleep with her.

Re: Crying
My gal also can cry untill her voice hoarse. If we dun attend to her immediate,she will SCREAM!!! faintz..sometimes bo bian alone at home let her cry a while. But her grandparents always heartpain to see her cry,immediately dash to her when she cries....

Adv sports,

U know wat.... I realise that my gal always smile when she sees the doraemon bed sheets...haha.. I am wondering if it is coz there is Doraemon there or she likes the bed. Nowadays when I make funny face and sound,she will smile also leh. So cute...

hi mummies whose baby hav been sleep thru the nite, can roughly advise:

1) how is ur baby sleeping pattern during day time?
2) do you wake ur bb up so that he can sleep longer at nite?? or u just let ur bb develope his own pattern??
3) for bb that sleep thru the nite, are they only sleep in the cot day &amp; nite??
4) any other tips to advise??

prawm mee,
My baby schedule is like that:-
6am: wake up drink and goes back to sleep
9am: wake up drink and play and take bath. After bath I latch her on for abt 10mins then she will go to sleep 1130am
1pm (or sometimes 2pm if I lucky): wakes up, drink and play. She does not sleep this time.
4pm: Drink and play by herself in her rocker till 6pm. I will wipe her then I will play with her till she fusses (usually about 7pm)
7pm: Drinks and sleep like a log
1230am: wakes up and drinks and sleep like a log till 6am.

Adv sports,
DON"T WORRY!! I think yuan does not know how to respond with a smile yet. She will one day!!! One day she will suddenly keep smiling at you when you talk to her. Be patient!!

can i oso know ur bb sleep thru from wat time to wat time??

or can roughly share your bb routine??

my bb used to have routine like:
10pm 120ml
4am 120ml
7am 120ml
10am 120ml
1pm 120ml
4pm 120ml
7pm 120ml

i will wake him up n make sure he will have the feed at theese times.. but since i decided not to wake him up for his feed and let him develope his own timing, all his timing goes haywire.. he seem like sleep more during day time and sleep only at 1am in the nite.. is it mean that i should do the routine for him instead??

Prawnmee,
You try to play with him more in the day.. make the room very very bright so that baby knows its daytime.

My baby's routine is quite fixed.. so she will like auto wake during her feed times (of course like plus minus 30mins) Like now, she is stirring liao.. going to wake up for the 1pm feed

i guess each bb is different ba, i get abit worried too coz my older gal was cooing at 6 weeks and smile alot but my boy is 10 weeks now but just started cooing not long ago and doesn't smile as much as my gal too. I often hear that boys develop slower than gals, duno how true..there was a time when my boy let out guffaw in his sleep that woke us up! It's quite funny!

Bean - u r so fortunate, ur gal can sleep for 2 sessions of 5 hours!!

Hi ibite,

Does yr bb scream alot? Will she scream &amp; cry until whole face real red and pause for breath for few seconds? My bb does this whenever we too slow to pick him up or when he v annoyed..

Re: Sleeping

Anyone whose bb don't sleep much in the day. My bb don't seem to sleep much in the day, he only sleeps like the max total 3 hrs during the day (mostly many 30 mins short nap) but he will sleep deeply from 8pm onwards with 11pm or 12am feed, then 3am or 4am feed. I still can't eliminate the 3am or 4 am feed yet cos he will wake up and cry for milk. My bb sleeping pattern quite similar to Bean's bb except the midnite feed.

jamie, i also start to stretch my boy's feed already....his last feed is 10pm, then he will slept till 5am to feed again...so i only wake up once...in between if he cry, i will pat pat him and he will auto fall back to sleep...

adv, now my boy will smile when i call his name or say mummy is here...haha...i dunno if he really understand or wat...but u can give it a try

ibite, my boy will smile at the hanging toys on the FP rocker ! and he makes cooing sound also..haha as if he wanna talk to the toys...esp when he hit on the toy and the toy will swing back at him, then he laugh got sound...

btw, sometimes i also let my boy cry a while if i am alone with him...if my mil is at home, he only let out a sofe cry, she will rush to the room and say sayang sayang....

re co-sleeping - my #1 used to sleep on her own in her cot until she was 1+. she started crying for us in the middle of the nite. as i need to wake up very early for work, i took the ez way out and brought her to our room. immediately, she would fall back to sleep. after a while, she refused to sleep on her own and dat was how she ended up co-sleeping with us. but the happy thing is we've managed to coax her to go back to her room to sleep on the pretext of keeping mei mei company so dat mei mei does not sleep alone in dat room. we oso gave her a pillow, blanket and special bedsheets so dat she feels adult like mummy and daddy. dat was how we finally managed to 'get rid' of her after having her squeeze between us for a year. so mummies, dun start on the slipperly slope if you haven't. ;p

prawnmee - the general guideline is feed on schedule in the day and on demand in the nite. my bb schedule is roughly like this:

6am 1st feed, then back to zz.
8am bath
9am 2nd feed, back to zz.
12nn 3rd feed, sleep/play in cot
3pm 4th feed, sleep
4pm/5pm bath (timing depends on when she wakes up)
6pm 5th feed, sleep
6pm onwards sleep......
10-12mn last feed timing depends on when she asks for it, after the feed, she will sleep until morning.

she recently stopped asking for feed at 4am. this happened when she started drinking at 3hrly intervals, instead of 2hrly when her intake increased.

pastries,

Did you try to give her pacifier or water during the 3am or 4am feed? I tried to give pacifier it worked! then subsequently.. she doesn't bother to wake up anymore cuz she will only get pacifier.