(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

re: smile

adv_sports, I'm the one with serious personality! My hubby is the jovous and life of the party type. Haha. I like hearing my bb making all sorts of sound, when my hubby carry him and whistle to him, he will form the mouth shape like whistle too, so funny! My bb smiles more to my niece, my hubby then me... We must be patience to see the day our bb smiles more. :)

Tiny_M, my bb oso dun concentrate much on rattle and playgym, in fact, he prefer chime sound more then rattle, he will smile or coos at toy with chime sound, but rattle, he will have unhappy look on his face. As for playgym, he oso just look & look, then when i put him down at the playgym, he will eh eh eh, not happy...

re: main caregiver

I really salute those who can handle bb alone. For me, looking after bb is much more stressful then working and I broke down a few times despite having my mum's help during the day and my hubby's help during the night. I feel I am so lousy in this aspect. My hubby is much better then me, he is the one taking care of my bb at night through morning.

re: going back to work

adv_sports, prawnmee, same here, I can't wait to go back to work. I desperately need my own life and sanity back, I did feel like a bird in a cage during this period.

re: Pacifier

If my bb falls into deep sleep, he will con't sleeping when the pacifier drops. If not, he will wake up and cry. He also can't suck v well now, it always drop.

Porky, agreed! Pacifier is like God Send! To think that I am so naive to reject this idea before bb was born!

Jamie, same here, my bb also will use the fist to prevent tutu from dropping, recently I didn't let him wear mittens, he uses his finger to support the tutu.

Firefly, what brand u change your gal pacifier to? I had Pigeon, Tollyjoy and NUK. Haven't started on NUK yet.

Re: Infant Care

Anyone putting bb in infant care? My bb started infant care this week. Hope to share experience with mummies here who put bb in infant care.

re selling baby

i always tell my mum if wanna sell my boy to the garanguni, they also dun wan.. must pay them $$ to take the bb away instead..
if throw him away, the ppl who bring him back hear his cry will put him back to the orginal place.. ==!

jamie - no wonder your bb eye big big at nite. over stimulated liao. tink you need to be firm abt it or else poor mummy n bb will suffer.

actually i enjoy staying home. find it such a nice break fr work. dun nid to use brain so much, do all the xiao nu ren things, hahaha...

tiny m - this is why i decide to stop latching and give ebm. with ebm, i can est routine easily and hv better control of my schedule.

ibite and jamie, ya..my hb also complain that he cant concentrate his work and driving...got once jaeden was so fussy at night...always cry and reject the tutu...he got so fed up and shouted at jaeden...then jaeden cry more louder...i shouted back at my hb say he is a lousy daddy then i carry jaeden to sleep in the guest room....i think hb shd play a part in taking care of bb and not always complaining...now every nite i will throw bb to him so i can surf the net...hehe

adv, my boy also can makes all kinds of sound when he is fussy at night...i am used to it already...but hb always get disturb...

tinym, if my bb sleep enuf, he wake up will smile and play on his own

pastries, i also rejected to give pacifier at first...until PD told me pacifier is to calms a bb's mind then i wake up my idea...

btw, we have a few here putting our bb in infant care...this is the topic last few days...hehe

febmum, me too ! i enjoy staying at home with bb and wake up whatever time i like...now think of gg back to work soon is super sian de loh....

porky - ya lor, dun wan to return to work liao. i'm taking additional 1mth no pay leave, will only return to work in oct and work for 1mth, then sch hols...yay.

porky,

i have the same situation here..
quarrel so many times becoz of this.. man wanna have bb but dun wanna take care.. i full time taking care of jayden day and night.. so stress up..

re: going back to work
feb mum/porky, i enjoy taking care of bb than going back to work...

Re: Infant Care
I'm sending my girl to infant care 2 days before I'm back to work. Anybody to share their IFC experience?

wow..hubby start complaining on taking care of baby for #1? Must knock their heads. Make us bare then cute, lovely bbs, yet dun1 to take care! I will pass bb to him to put bb to sleep. Weekends, force him to shower the bb.

Actually my hubby is quite hands on. Initially, he always say he don't know how to do. Then I say I teach him (as if I know how to do - I also first time mum), cause I feel very stressed that I am the only one who know "everything". I always tell him what if I am not around or I am sick. Now he know how to change pamper, feed baby and wipe baby
. He will wipe baby every night unless he is really very busy or overseas. But I still do most of the feedings unless I happen to be pumping when baby is hungry. I am defintely the one doing mid night shift, waking up at night to feed baby if need to(normally is once). My hubby offered to take the shift before 12 midnight so that I can catch up on my sleep. I tried to ask my hubby to wake baby up at 12 to feed him. But I tried that myself and can't wake baby up around that timing no matter what I do. So normally baby's last feeding will be around 8, then around 2am. Actually, if I give him pacifier, he looks ok. But I will make milk for him because I think he went too long without milk.

RE: main care giver

I am also the main care giver with some help from my hubby and MIL. My MIL help to bath baby. At first she also says she don't know how to bath baby. I do it with her for the first few times (as if I know), then now she is doing the bathing and she enjoys bathing baby cause baby likes to bath now and always smile during bath time.

RE: Smile

My baby smile alot. Many people like to play with him to make him smile and he also enjoy playing with people.

Adv_sports, he smile more at other people than at me and crys louder when he sees me if he is hungry. I guess he knows that we will give him what he want and cry louder for us to listen so that we can attend to him faster. Maybe because we spent more time taking care of him than playing with him so he smile less at us cause we are the caregiver, not playmate. Whereas for other people, they play with the baby "100%" cause they don't need to take care of the baby.

Morning Mummies,
my gal 9 weeks already
Nowadays she will smile more often then cry. Cry only for hungry n wanna sleep. She can sit at her rocker n company me do laundry or iron clothes

Lily, same same. Now he knows he can do things other than cry to get what he want. For eg. when he was fed water, he used to cry to show he does not want water. But nowadays, he just shift the teat from one side of the mouth to the other. He played with the teat without drinking any water and can still smile when fed with water (but none is drank)

Good morning all!

First of all, I salute all mummies who are the main caregiver to the babies and can bring babies everywhere you go. For me, my mom stays with me and i can only look forward to weekends to bringing baby out. Initially I was a little upset cos baby doesn't bond with me and I felt that I was doing my role well as a mum.

However, now, I am trying to be more involved during the day by helping to look after and feed him. My mom is quite dominating over how to look after him so o avoid trouble, I use my own time for gym, run errands, do housework, etc.

My husband is also busy with his work so he hardly helps out full time.

After my postnatal blue in first mth, I tell myself not to fuss over the baby with my mom or MIL cos it's a long journey to bringing him up. I think settling ourselves is the key. I can't handle the baby very well alone yet but I am learning and being more involved each day. So i really salute mummies who have been doing it since day 1.

Hi feb_mum,
Are u a teacher too? I m contemplating to take 1 mth no pay if my gal still reject bottle by then. Then at least by then, she is 4 mth old, can take semi-solids like cereal liao.

Re: Smiling
My gal likes to smile at pple too. But cant make the sound yet.

Re: Hubby taking care of kids
My hubby is the totally hands off type. Cannot change diaper, bathe or coax baby even when this is his #2 already!! He only want to play with them!! If the 2 babies make noise in the nite, he will give the "BLACK FACE" look!! Grr..Last nite, baby was having blocked nose and refused to sleep in air con room, ended up, baby slept in the rocker and i slept on the sofa in the living room..n My hubby slept like a log!! Haiz, to think that my hubby is even thinking of having 4 kiddos!!

Re: 6 in 1 jab
Finally brought my gal for the jab n rotavirus. She was crying so badly even before the jab cos she pooed and was very hungry. I didn't bring down her diapers cos i didn't think i will be be so lucky..cos the GP's clinic is next to my blk only.

At 5 weeks and 4 days old, she weighs 4.6kg and length 54.5cm. Quite light right? I paid $180 for both 6 in 1 and rotavirus in all. Issit the cheapest?

RE: main care giver

I'm also the main care giver.
same as Lily, I do housework and put bb on the rocker to watch me do things, and while doing things I'll talk to her...

when my PIL at home, they only help to carry. both of them are still working...

I did teach my hubby to bath and clean baby... when he is at hm, he'll try to help. he is actually the first person to carry our bb after I've gave birth in the hospital, and he is the first one change diaper for her too... haha!

quite touch la, bcoz he is the only child at hm, duno anything about taking care bb. thks to prenatal class! during my stay in hospital, i'm very afraid of pain, therefore hubby force himself hands on to take care of bb.

poohwei,
your immunisation charges very cheap ler... does it includes consultation too?

Smile,
My girl smiles a lot! She can even smile when she sees me (I was not even looking at her!) She smiles to her favorite doll, when we talk to her, flash her GD Maths, etc.
She crys only when she is hungry or sleepy! Quite contented bb, I would say.

Hands on hubby,
I would say, mine more hands on when we had #1, & gradually reduce.. esp now the 3rd, ask him then he do.. else, just boh chap! That's why I say those with #1, the more u shd tell ur hubby to 'automatic' in taking over the bb..

Hi for those who freeze their EBM, how do you all do it? ie. if you freeze your EBM today, it will expire 2 weeks later, so you have to thaw the EBM 2 weeks later and 2 weeks later you have to freeze the EBM then. So baby will always have frozen EBM 2 weeks earlier. If not, they will expire, right? Does it work this way?

hi baby_may,

Bcoz I got milk supply, and MIL always put a lot of things in our freezer, therefore recently hubby bought a deep freezer for me to store EBM. Now I try to store as many as possible, in case back to work then no supply.

Hi Mummies!!

jamie: woah.. must tell ur uncle to stop playing with bb so much! later baby cannot sleep very cham.. there was once my hubby played too much with bb, then at night she cannot sleep and become cranky, i'm the one to suffer lo..

feb_mum: Sigh.. i tried to pump my milk out to establish routine but if i pump out, it'll not be enuff for her (only 100ml+/- every 4hrs, she's drinking EBM 100ml every 2hrs usually). But if i latch it will be enuff for her. So since now at home, i'll just latch lo. only at night when we need our sleep then we give her FM so we know she can sleep longer.

tinklemum: my mum also staying with me and helping me take care of bb. I'm actually very thankful that she's around to help cos I can do my own things (like go to the gym, go shopping and movies with my hb) without worrying abt bb. sometimes in the afternoon, i v sleepy (cos I take care of bb at night), i'll just pass bb to my mum so she can take care and when my dad comes home at late afternoon, he can play with her. luckily my mum is the modern type, she'll go out at night and weekends and my hb and i have to take care of bb ourselves, so we have time to bond with bb and learn how to take care of her.

Re: Hands on hubby
My hubby quite hands on, but needs some pushing, esp. during weekdays.. When we take care of bb at night or during the weekends, he'll help to change diapers, feed her and attempt to bathe her (he can't bathe her properly yet cos he dunno how to carry her properly so always halfway gotta pass bb to me or bb will drop!). he's in charge of the last feed at night and i dun bother him throughout the night cos he needs to wake up early the next day. sometimes at night when bb crying v loud and he'll roll over to bb and try to pacify her while i go make milk. but sometimes i very frustrated with him cos he seems to handle bb very roughly, like swing her around, rub her face too hard or talk very loudly when bb sleeping. i think hubbys need to learn slowly that things are different with bb around..

Re: BB smile
i think i caught my bb smile last night! i was putting her down after her feed (she's not sleeping yet) and my hubby suddenly snored very loudly and she let out a funny laugh. hahaha..

re : hands on
my hb only hands on when rocking bb to sleep and playing with bb...change diaper and feeding is always me alone doing it...

re : main caregiver
my mil stay with me...at first i thot she will knw more than me of taking care of a bb..to my surprise, she knws nothing ! she dunno how to adjust the water temperature to make milk, she dunno how much water to fill up the bathtub, she dunno bb has pooed even when the whole room was so smelly...still say bb is hungry wan to cry milk...bb cry bcos he is dirty not hungry ! only sometimes when i have no choice i will leave bb with my mil for like 2hrs...but she will call me come back quickly when bb cry or pooed...i think this is more stress...

Re : bb smile
my bb also can smile alot..when i talk or stroke his cheeks, he will smile and laugh

Hi Sharon & Joyce, thanks.

Don't know whether to get deep freezer. I only have about 1 or 2 day supply in the fridge now. So don't think it will warrant a deep freezer yet. A freezer to keep for 3 mths is more than enough. Currently I have a mini fridge, where I on to "6". I tried to freeze 1 bottle in the ice compartment, but take quite long to freeze. When I on to "7" it take a short time to freeze, but the rest of the bottles not in the ice compartment also freeze. So I am considering putting into the freezer in the normal fridge. But there are alot of stuff in the freezer like raw meat and fish etc. Don't know whether it is hygienic or not to put EBM together in the freezer. Currently my mini fridge is only for EBM and drinks.

Porky, I think they forgotten how to take care since it is donkey years since our hubbies are babies. But it is in them once they tried and do it. Like now, my mil enjoy bathing my baby so much because my boy like to bath. I have no chance to bath my boy. Once I offered to bath my boy cause I see past the timing already and she is washing vegetables. But she says she can bath and immediately stop washing the vegetables and help to bath my boy. She also says she don't know how to warm up EBM. I told her it is like warming up Essence of Chicken. But she also look uncertain. But there was once my hubby and I went out and we asked her to warm up the EBM if baby cries for help. Now, she knows how to warm up EBM already. I really appreciate my MIL cause my hubby and I can go out alone because she helps to take care when we go out. My hubby is the one who is worried if either of us not home. After a while, he will say don't know how baby is and want to go home.

hi baby_may,
I stored my EBM in milk bag. Previously when I put into the normal freezer, which is with other food stuff, like yours, I'll put my milk bags into a big ziplock bag.

Hi Sharon,
The charges are inclusive of consultation as well as 6 week assessment.

Just came back from my office and had lunch with my colleagues. My gal was very cooperative! Drank milk at 10am and had not cry/fuss/wake up till now!!!

Re: Deep Freezer
Since i m giving away the bulk of my frozen BM for now, i can give up the idea of getting a deep freezer. For those with deep freezer, can check if the freezer consumes a lot of electricity?

Hi Sharon,
The charges are inclusive of consultation as well as 6 week assessment.

Just came back from my office and had lunch with my colleagues. My gal was very cooperative! Drank milk at 10am and had not cry/fuss/wake up till now!!!

Re: Deep Freezer
Since i m giving away the bulk of my frozen BM for now, i can give up the idea of getting a deep freezer. For those with deep freezer, can check if the freezer consumes a lot of electricity?

Sharon, I do not know about the program, but it looks interesting. But no center in the east side.

I bought the milk tray for freezing milk cubes. I was thinking of putting the ziploc bag which will contain the milk cubes into a container before putting into the normal freezer. I think I can afford to keep in container cause my milk not alot. If ever 1 day I am so lucky to have so much milk, then I will on my mini fridge to "7" to convert it into freezer and put those for consumption within 3 days into the normal fridge.

any recommendations on the brand of milk bags?

my supply increase but bb still drinking little, and my elder boy start to get fussy over my EBM, so i can only "bluff" him by putting half of vol. of EBM into his milk..

so duno what to do wi the milk, thinking to freeze though im not sure whether my boy wana drink or not..

sharon,

thanks for the link!

sorry, need advice here.. how do i freeze the BM? i mean if i express out 250ml each time and bb now drinks abt 130ml, so how do i store for each bag? paisei, 1st time use milk bag so not sure how to store it..

sorry for MIA-ing for months cos had been really busy with 2 kids. I need some help/advice.

I'm trying to introduce milk bottle to my 10weeks old girl. She had been breastfeed all along. I think she is rejecting milk bottle cos she will cry and scream when I give her Avent. I thought Avent is the closest to human nipple leh.

Any advice on how I can introduce milk bottle to her? Thanks o!

kerene,

my fren can get the lansinoh milk bag for me at S$22, is this pricing reasonable? sorry im not sure how much it cost coz im in Beijing now.. she will post to me..

gal, maybe u like to try NUK teat? im using this and bb seems to take it quite well, no nipple confusion from what i observed.. the shape similar to our nipples also.. just give it a try ya!

Hi dodo,
Sorry I don't quite remember how much I bought them cos it was quite some time ago.

I think you got to note the number of bags in the pack for price difference. Some come in 25bags, some 50bags.

sharon,
so if u express 1.5litre of milk a day, how u store in milk bag? each one can hole 180ml right?

bean,
$18 is for 50 milk bags?

sharon,
so if u express 1.5litre of milk a day, how u store in milk bag? each one can hold 180ml right?

bean,
$18 is for 50 milk bags?

kerene,
thanks for the reminder!

I'm alone with my baby at home on weekdays. I can't help but feel bored and always wishing there was at least someone around. So that I can talk.

I wish my baby would always be sleeping but that's not the case. In fact in the daytime she's more awake than sleepy. I have to keep her entertained but she cannot reply me. I really don't know what to do.

At times I feel anxious and not want her to wake up from her nap.

I always count down to evening time after I wipe her down and feed her, it's time for her to sleep for the night.

Her routine is not fixed. The next time she wakes up is always unpredictable.

dodo,
I think Mothercare one is $18/pack for 25pieces only. Previously I joined Overseas Spree to buy, don't remember its Amazon or Drugstore spree though.

I did a quick research on Lansinoh Milkbags. Here's for you:
Drugstore.com 25pcs USD 5.99/pack
Amazon 50pcs USD 8.74/pack
An online mom 50pcs SGD 20/pack
http://mummybabynecessity.blogspot.com
SMH WTS
(1) 50pcs SGD 18.50/pack
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/2643977.html?1246884983
(2) 50pcs SGD 20/pack
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/2665731.html?1247106796
(3) 50pcs SGD 23/pack
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/2624670.html?1246944376

You may want to ask these sellers if they willing to send to overseas for you while you bear the postage charges

You may want to check on other brands' milkbag then conclude what to buy.

kerene,

wah! thanks for the comprehensive links! really appreciate this!

ya, for my case more troublesome.. gonna ask them whether they can send oversea for me..
my fren said able to get S$22 (50 bags) for me, so i think this pricing seems reasonable..

i heard more of Lansinoh & Medela milk bag.. maybe can buy both to try out.. but Medela one seems more expensive..

Hi Dodo,
My bilk bag holds 260mls. During daytime I mix the thawed BM with the fresh BM for my girl. So usually i only store 2-3 milk bags. If I can't make a full bag, then the excess I'll leave for tom to mix with thawed BM.