(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

tinkles mum,

so this method is meant for the body rashes? how abt the forehead? my boy got leh...

porky,
my boy likes to blow bubbles lor.. somemore when u wipe his mouth, he will smile at u.. tot u playing with him.. faintz...

Ling, I used the water for Jonas's face - wherever I see the rashes i wiped, esp his cheeks and chin. Last week at PD appmt the doc and nurses all commented that his rashes were very bad. I think you can try on your boy's forehead la - use cotton pad ok, not tissue or towel cos too hash.

porky, my girl also got saliva on her lips sometimes when she sleeps..

RE: Letdown
sometimes i pump n latch at the same time so baby brings on very good let down.. but when i dun latch her, i'll "catch" the dripping milk on the other side with the breast shell thing.. no wastage at all!

tinklesmum, the rice water is drink or apply on face? hailey still does 100ml.. she dun seem interested in milk aft her 100ml..

adv sports, if lifts too full at jp u can use the travelator at e extension side. jus hold on so it doesn't roll down. definitely safer than escalator tho..

RE: vivo
not enough nursing rooms n some like the b1 one allows only 1 family at a time.. i was in thr changing hailey halfway n someone banged on the door. i was quite annoyed..

re: sleepy n fussy bb
my girl been sleeping all day these 2 days n when she wakes she cries n fusses quite abit before feeding n falling back asleep. she also dun finish full feed like she usually does.. nite she sleeps but not very well, keeps making noises n fussy when wake for feed.. anyone encounter this?

tinklesmum, jonas rashes is red bumps? hailey now is jus rough skin no more redness. so sad! are those considered rash too?

does everyone's babies stay awake almost all day when hit 6 wks?

Joyce/poohwei,
Which nursing room did you go to in vivocity? I went to Vivo today. I was so pleased with it. The nursing room is as big as a 3 room flat. There are 3-4 changing table, 1 sink and at least 6 nursing rooms (all vacant when I was there). It's next to Mothercare/Burger King, accessible from the outdoor playground.

Tinkles mum, I think my boy ard the same age as yours. He is born on 23rd May. Currently his weight is ard 5.3 kg. I'm feeding him between 80-100ml per feed every 2 hr interval. I'm not sure if he should be having more that as sometimes he can only finish 50ml and the rest of the milk goes to waste. So heart pain. I'm trying to lengthen his feeding time but he cant seem to take more milk. So now in the morning and afternoon, his feeding interval is every 2 hourly and 3 hours at night.

I'm pumping ard 200ml every 4 hrs. its enough for now but I'm worried it wont be enough when he grows older. I hope to BF him for 6 months. I just ordered Organics Milk Tea online. Hope that will help with my supply.

Hi Jamie, Jonas's cheeks has both red patches as well as small bumps, they call it baby acne. So far the water works for both. The water is to be used to clean the face. I think Hailey's rough skin is not rash leh, better see a PD to check.

Hi SP, yeah our boys are 1 day apart. Yours older by one day
I am not sure what's Jonas's current weight, but last week it was 5.05kg. Actually they are fed at very similar intervals - 2-2.5 hrs day time via EBM and 3hrs night time via FM. But then again, your boy seems to drink lesser than Jonas leh. Mine drank like 130ML in the day for EBM and 120ML for FM!

Which Organic Milk Tea did you order? Does it work?

Tiny - My boy oso has runny nose and abit cough, pd says too young to take medication so he only prescribe nasal spray, what about your pd?

Yvette - My boy was having regurgitation too, he was on friso comfort mix wif friso 1 but still poop too often. I fed him friso 1 again and somehow his regurgitation went away. My pd said can't make too hot if u r using Enfalac AR coz you will cook the rice in the formula and it will be too thick to be fed.

tinkles mum, sp, my girl born on 22nd may. interval almost same as u guys but nite she can stretch to 4hrs.. she drinks only 100ml lei..

sp,
our boys borned on the same day!

sp, tinkles mum & jamie,
my boy drinks abt 130ml EBM at 3-4hours interval if i do not latch on.. he was 5.3kg abt 2 wks ago...

jamie,
roughness & redness on bb's skin are quite common so dun worry ya..
both my boys also had rather rough skin when newborn, i applied California Bb Calendula Cream thinly and the condition improved.. it's organic and natural so shd be safe n mild on our bb's skin..

Baby May - No, I mean friso comfort will make baby poo often coz it is for formula meant for babies who are colicky, regurgitate and constipate.

Mummies- check with all of you how often does your baby poop now? Daily or??

bean,
are u wi ur bb now or back to work? i think if ur girl having growth spurt now, best is to latch her on rather than feed her freeze EBM.. this will increase ur supply and also bb get to drink the "fresh" milk :p
i never freeze my EBM coz my elder boy rejected it last time round and personally, i do find that the "smell" different.. and some bbies are super fussy drinker, my elder boy is one of them!!

flommy,
my bb is abt 6 wk old now.. he poos abt 2 times daily.. wonder is it normal also, coz he used to poo alot b4 he turned 1 mth old.. how old is ur bb?

dodo - my bb is 10 wks old now, it is normal for bb to poo more before turning 1 month old. My bb poos only once on alternate days, I thought they should be pooing at least once daily now?

Anymore mommies can advise pls..thanks!

Dodo,
I'm still with my baby. ACtually I want to feed her the frozen milk just to make sure she is okie with frozen milk. She seems to be taking it well and finishing it. So I can continue freezing and storing for next time.
I will latch her more from today onwards. hee...
My schedule has been disrupted a little as I was traveling to and fro SG and KL with baby and hubby.

Flommy,
My girl still poos quite often. At least 3 times a day or more! She is about 2 months and 1 week old. I wonder if that is normal too. Seems like a lot of poo...

flommy,
is ur bb on FM or BM? ya, i think it's better for them to poo at least once a day.. but if ur bb did not pass motion smoothly and not "gek sai", then i think shd be okay right...

bean,
good that she takes it well

are u going KL for holiday? my hubby was posted to KL last year when i just preggie wi my 2nd boy and we stayed near to MidValley, shopping for me everyday! shiok! now quite boring at Beijing, not much shopping centre except those wholesale cte, so im addicted to online shopping.. haa

Flommy,

I started feeding Marcus Enfalac AR from Sat evening and he only poo poo once yesterday but the stool was hard and he bled slightly. So i diluted the formula and his poo poo this morning was softer.

U are right abt the hot water cos many mummies using Enfalac said the same thing too.

Flommy, my baby poos about once a week. Everyone in the family were so worried. Initially, we booked an appointment with the PD, but PD fully booked and asked us to go GP. The GP do insert. The following week, he did not poo again, so we go to the PD. he do insert and told us that our baby is ok. As long as the poo is not hard pellet like and baby don't seem uncomfortable, it is ok. He also gave us some inserts if it gets too long and we are worried. As long as the baby is not uncomfortable and the poo is soft, it is ok. But do bring your baby to PD to rule out other causes if you are worried.

Mummies, pls bring your baby to PD and don't bring your baby to the GP for constipation. The GP use the adult insert to do the insert whereas PD has a smaller version for kids.

Maybe I should let my boy try Friso comfort. Now I feed him 100% EBM so that his poo don't get too hard. But don't know whether my supply will keep up.

adv sport - i ordered tingkat fr lexin, i tink their food is nice. not sure abt buffet though. my pump timings are usually when bb is zz. however, if she happens to be fussing while i'm pumping, i will put her in the rocker beside me and rock her with my feet. putting the pacifier in her oso helps.

re poo - my gal poos once a wk! she will do an ultra mega one. but coz poo is soft, we are not too worried abt it.

Dodo - my bb on FM

Ok so my boy pooing on alternate days is fine lor. Thanks all mommies for the advice.

Baby May - If you use friso comfort, u shd mix wif normal formula, if you give full dose of friso comfort, bb will poo too frequently.

Now my bb stuffy nose, has prob sleeping. He's on nasal spray and rubbing vicks on the sole of his feet to make him feel better. But he has problem drinking milk coz now he has to use his mouth to breathe coz of his stuffy nose, so I hv to feed him for a while then stop and let him breathe and continue to feed again. haizz...

gd afternoon ladies

jean, yah, think i will avoid that vivo nursing room in future!

bean, my bb also like on growth spurt (again!)... this morning, she drank EBM 90ml + FM 90ml -- before this, the max is 150ml...

feb_mum, cool that ur bb slept thru the nite! thanks for the comment on lexin -- will order from them then
my bb dun like rocker and wanna be carried when fussing... so i hv to quickly pump when she zzz after her feed -- stressed leh!

re: poo
my bb is at least once a day... mustardy yellow or watery yellow(is this normal)... usually like bomb, whole diaper soaked! yesterday, hubby n me thot our bb so guai -- sat on the nursing pillow and looking at us innocently... haha, turned out that she bombed big time!

Dodo,
My hubby is malaysian, so I'm staying at my in laws house during my maternity leave. Let them play with my little girl this period. AFter maternity leave will go back to singapore.

Did you get to shop at the gardens? It is a new mall next to mid valley. Its pretty cool and has isetan inside. The nursing room in isetan is very nice.. Changing table is combi brand! Was quite impressed. Much better as compared to lots of nursing rooms in Singapore actually.

dodo: they seem to get hungry faster if latch rite? hw do i knw if they are gg thru growth spurt? i applied drapolene on her rash before then nw no more reddish n only the roughness left.. instead of calendula, can i jus use drapoolene to get rid of the bumps?

bean: traveling to KL with bb by car? is it ma fun to travel with bb? like hw do u change their diapers when ur in the middle of the expressway?

feb mum: congrats on regaining peace at nite!! hee hee!! i'm still waiting IMPATIENTLY for my turn!

flommy: rub vicks on soles can help to "tong" the nasal airway? my girl also gt blocked nose sometimes, snorts when she cries.. bt her breathing is fine..

adv sports: my bb also poo mustard yellow color bt now more watery.. i tot she gt diarrehoea so this is normal?

bean,
oic

im malaysian also, but from JB...
yes yes! i love to shop at Gardens also, miss the Thai food there, and also the Penang foods at a restaurant in MidValley.. slurps!
yesa agree, the nursing room at isetan very nice.. very comfortable also..

jamie,
yup, if latch on my boy will "ask" for milk abt 1-2 hours later.. shorter interval compared to bottle feed wi EBM loh.. i think bb going thru growth spurt when they cry for milk at a shorter interval than usual, usually last for a few days then they will back to their normal schedule again...
gal, u mean the roughness on face or butt??
if butt, i always use Mustella diaper cream, it's v good! give it a try gal
not sure abt drapolene coz i never use it b4, but i guess shd be alrght also since it's a popular diaper cream...

re travelling wi bb, ma fan is for sure just depends on the "intensity" of ma fan.. haa!
coz if fully latch on bb then it's quite easy... when bb was 29 days old, we took a 6 hour flight back to Beijing.. he fully latched on throughout the journey, but coz he cant clear my breasts so i gotta go to washroom to express my milk.. as for changing diaper, i changed it in his bassinet, and the smell linger ard the plane and stink!!! feel so sorry for those who sit close to us... :p

feb mum,
CONGRATS! my elder boy slept thru in his 7th week, but i doubt my younger boy will sleep thru so early leh, coz he likes to open his eyes big ard 12am.. faint..

afternoon mummies
recently my baby has this white bump (looks like a whitehead) on the tip of her nipple. Some told me might be milk from the baby's breast is from left over hormones of pregnancy. Tried to press & theres no discharge & it's kind of hard. Is this common? i'm thinking if shd chk with PD....

hi jamie,
mayb u can try Aloe Vera gel & johnson Nourishing lotion..my Aaron also hav roughness & redness skin after i applied for him & condition improved..

Tinkles Mum .. i also belive rice water can clear heat rashes..but my CL did in other way ,she bolied the rice water and let my 3weeks old bb drink(10ml after each feeds for 1 days 3x only,she say cant drink too much coz very "liang".) and bb's body rashes really gone..she also peel 1 water chestnut,squeeze half tea spoon juice for my bb drink.

Jamie - apparently the vicks help lor, i spoke to Tiny and her mil does the same, her pd suggests rubbing ruyi oil on bb's chest and back, which I will also try.

Grr...My gal rejected her bottle again just now. She fully latched on over the weekends cos mummy was lazy to bottle feed her. Gonna go buy a few types of teats at kiddy palace later to try out tomolo.

Jamie,
Travelling by car with bebe is okie actually. Much better than I thought. Basically the baby just sleep throughout the journey and wake up once or twice (if got jam) to drink.

Dodo,
Yes dodo, I have not seem anything as comfortable in Singapore yet ( I have been to vivo, plaza sing, century sq). So pretty impressed with it. Yeh I like mid valley, I can basically get anything in mid valley! Do you think the pigeon stuff in KL is much more expensive then in Singapore? hahah Why ah?

jamie, ur girl fussy is it due to air in her tummy ? my boy was like that for the past weeks...now he is better...ya, i agree 6weeks my boy was more awake everyday and wants to be carried or rock...

abt ur girl roughness on the face, i think u shd try calendula cream, is really good

flommy, my boy poo abt twice a day...he is fully on fm now...he like to gek sai, so when i see him doing that, i will coax him to pass out his motion else he will be very fussy and make noise...ya, i gg to buy vicks to rub on his soles too...

doreen and lovell, my boy also will do the innocent look and lie down there quietly when he bombed big time ! sometimes he waited too long for me to realise that he had bomb...he will let out a soft cry to alert me to check him...hahahaha

re : change milk bottles and teats
i had tried to change my boy's bottles & teats from pigeon to nuk...however, he dunno how to suck his milk, but when i change it back to pigeon, he suck happily...any advise from mummies here ?

Porky - smtimes dey gek sai the facial expression quite funny de..haha..

Ya lor why you change to NUK when jaeden is happy with his pigeon ley? My boy oso using pigeon.

dodo: butt i use mustela too, yup really gd! dat time porky recommeneded i use drapolene to ease the redness of the rash on her face.. it worked bt nw left the roughness.. ok i try calendula.. my girl also eyes big big abt 11-1am timing!! hhaha! n she wakes once for feed which i feed ebm, faster to finish and can last longer. lol.

sallen, tinklesmum: so the rice water is consume or wipe one?? hahaha

flommy: ok i try tonite. i use ru yi oil to try cuz i dun hv vicks.. oh my mom say telon oil also can.. she say all same spots to apply on bt vicks is ang moh, ruyi is chinese n telon is malay. faints.

bean: feel like bringing hailey to bkk... or KL also can.. hahaha.. bt since ur on the road then wat if u nd to change her? u stop halfway?

porky: no lei.. she poo n fart le still fussy.. dunno y la.. i also go mad also when she slp 15mins wake n cry again.. sigh.. oh if jaeden likes pigeon then jus continue using.. dun nd to change ba..

Jamie,
I stop the car and change in the car. Cuz its too rocky to change on the go. I latch her on the go in the car. So no need to worry abt bottles, water and stuff. Quite convenient. haha

flommy, ya the gek sai expression very cute...hehe

oh, my boy loves his pirgeon teats but i dont like...cos i dunno why when he sucks, the milk will shoot out from the side of his mouth...always soak the whole washcloth and stain his clothes...every feed abt 10-15ml milk will be wasted...so i wanted to change to nuk...but now my boy dunno how to suck nuk teats...very headache...

jamie, dunno whether watery yellow poo is lao sai -- mine will hv that once a day... hv u try letting hailey sleep on tummy? my gal also wake up shortly after we put her down face up -- but will zzz long if we put her on her tummy...

porky, i started my gal on NUK latex teats and then intro her AVENT teats -- both ok... which hole size r u using? m using medium size... mayeb ur boy finds the milk flow too slow?

Win mum,
re: White head
My boy used to have that at birth but it has disappeared. Now his face has some white head. I tried to squeeze gently but nothing leh. Don't dare to squeeze too hard.

jamie, my boy fart many times but also fussy...so i realise he got a lot of air in the tummy still...so now i burp him more often and he really can burp real loud loh...