(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

joyce: i will use on the fan when i put her in the playpen.. sometimes she slp until limbs all lembek already still can wake in 10mins upon touching the playpen.. faintz!

adv sports: u can try the hua xia place i think gt bb massage also maybe they hv classes? actually u see online like babycenter also gt teach.. i try to make funny sounds and faces to make my bb laugh and smile. bt i find that she's more receptive to sounds. haha. maybe u try talking to her more often in sing song manner?

bean: wau u so shiok!! bb can slp frm 7 to 12.30am then to 6.30am again.. ur girl is used to the timing alr isit? she "fixed" the timing herself? mine still no fixed routine.. still diff timing everyday..

prawn mee: my girl slps abt 1 or 2 am everyday.. lol

feb mum: i'm slowly sliding down the slippery slope......</b>

porky: my girl will wake abt 11 or 12am then stay up till 1 or 2am then slp till abt 5 or 6.. so i consider that i wake up once only cuz i slp same time as her.. haha

I bought a mumsfairy supershield (m), but it dooesnt suit me - less supply cos I already used to my PIS funnel and got certain methods to extract more milk. Used twice only.. bought at $29.90 ($34.35 after adding postage)

Reselling @ $27 (absorbing postage)

Anyone interested?

Can advise on the binder? I would like to get one - my tummy is still v huge even though I tried putting on the girdle. Still looking so much pregnant. :-(

Any other suggestions on losing weight?

Re: Sleeping

For my gal she will wake up at 9am plus for her feed than start to play n wants to be carry or she will scream loud. her feed is every 3 hrs plus minus 30 mins 110ml. almost every each feed she have short nap.

when at around 11-12am she have her last feed and can last to her next feeding till 7-8am.

Morning sleep most in yao lan with fan on directly blow at her (Low speed). She scare hot

Night will be sleeping with us.

bean &amp; feb mum,
do you off all the light after 6 &amp; 7pm feed??

let me monitor again my boy sleeping pattern in the day.. I have been quite stress out due to facing him 24hrs/7days without help..

Jamie,
Yes, she is used to this timing already. I fixed her timing for her during her 2nd month. It took me about 2 weeks to get to get used to this timing.

Bean, your gal is so good! Can sleep through so well. MIne is still having 2 hrs feeding interval during the day and 3 hrs during the nights. Hope he can cut down to 1 feed per night soon and maybe goes to 3 hrs feeding interval during the day.

My mom insisted it's my breastmilk that's causing him to eat so often, every 2 hrs cos it's thinner. sigh.

It seems like u all hv v good routines and good at disciplining ur babies.

My boy is now 7 weeks and still v irratic. He sleeps mostly in the day, feed at abt 3-4 hours intervals, sometimes 5 hours. BUt at night he can wake up for feeding every 1 hour plus or 3 hours, depending on his mood.

He's sleeping in my bed now as my hubby is not in singapore most of the time n i'm lazy to keep getting up to his cot.

He also has a habit of sucking on my nipples as a pacifier b4 he can sleep.

He likes to be carried and will scream till his face turn dark red, and sometimes like can't breathe if i try to ignore him for too long. Or when he wants milk, he wants it immediately.

really desperate to discipline him now but dunno how to...

bean: ok i will try too she's nw 1.5 mths.. hopefully she can fix timing soon so i can plan my activities..

firstborn: try pacifier?

Hi Bean,

We tried pacifier when he wakes up middle of the night, but he fall asleep for awhile then wake up again.. We are slowly stretching the midnight feeding interval. Can I just feed him water when he wake up?

We will off the lights and no more TV or other activities at 9.30 pm to let bb know it is night time. We started this when he is 1 month old.

Re: Pacifiers

Mummies who uses pacifier, when using pacifiers at night time, will yr bb cries / wake up when the pacifier drop??

pastries, my bb will fuss when the pacifier drop...but aft a while he will sleeps on his own...cos too tired to suck also..hehe

Pacifiers :

Second time mummies, is it true some pacifiers will make baby teeth formation ugly? my friend strongly recommend NUK pacifier as her #1 have a set of nice teeth as compare with her SIL's who use Brand "A" pacifier. Any advice to share ?

Porky:

My gal also will scream when pacifier drop... still havent master the skill of sucking it well. Recently i change her tutu to other brand then din drop so often liao. maybe bcos its lighter ?

Pacifier is GOD-SEND ! LOL

Pastries,
You can TRY feeding him water. Its what the old folks says. I have not tried as my girl has slept through before I could try the water.

pastries,

Same here. My gal will scream if she dun get immediate attention.(That is when she is very hungry lah.)

Re: Baby's routine

My baby's routine also roughly quite fixed la.

10am: 100ml,a stroll in the neighbourhood followed by go market shopping buy my brunch,she will fall asleep in her stroller at times. This timing I will have my brunch surf net...hee and do some housework,sweep floor etc.

1pm: 100ml,shower then play in her playgym (When she tired of playing,she will cry then I will settle her back to yao lan or FP rocker.)

4pm:100ml,then zzz

7pm:100ml,then fuss a while..Coz she knows we are having dinner,gives us no peace..LOL

10pm:100ml, then zzz.

1am: 100ml,then zzz.

6am: 120ml,then zzz.

Try and plan more activities for baby in the day,tired him/her out then they will sleep better at night.
My baby is quite used to sound ard her,she can be sleeping soundly in the day even my dogs bark. haha..

Re: pacifier

I tried to set the "extended" feeding hours by giving her pacifier instead of milk if she wakes up earlier than her 5am feed. It kind of works! haha... Most of the time she will suck pacifier till she sleeps. Pacifier drops, she cry, u put back she is ok liao.

Roughly every 3 to 4 hours except for the 1am feed stretched up to 5 to 6 hours. If she missed her 1am feed,then she will wake up ard 4am for milk,then next feed will be morning le.

prawnmee,

You are not alone,I am her main caregiver also. haha. Not to mention I have 2 furkids at home,that makes 3!!!

Sun is my offday tho, we go MIL there then sometimes we go paktor.

RE: pacifier

i gif hailey pacifier at nite to calm n soothe her..she has managed to put her fist against the pacifier to prevent it frm falling out. bt sometimes she forgets to do it then it falls out la. if she's very sleepy then no screaming or crying... nw she also sucks on her fist/ thumb which can also kp her entertained for a short while haha

ibite,
salute u can take care of ur bb without help, i told hubby that i cannot take it anymore, going to throw our son away n run away from home, then hubby say dun throw him out of window or down to dustbin, just throw him outside the house so that he can picks him up when he return from works..

jaime_nov,

Yeah. Looking to see Chelsea and my 2 dogs playing one day! haha... My blackie will be much bigger than a tiny weeny Chelsea. :p

prawn mee, ibite, bean: i only pass to my mom to help out when hailey's awake n i really nd to pump milk.. at nite, she dun really wanna help either saying dat once awaken she cant fall back aslp so she cant take care of bb.. my hb also cant wake up at nite.. sometimes when bb cries and fusses too much and makes me soooo tired, i tell my hb i wanna give her away on ebay. lol. or teach her how to fly frm our hse window. haha. I"M JUS KIDDING ya, pls dun anyone get offended ok.. =)

jamie,

u good ler... ur hubby not angry with what u've said?
i only tell my hubby, is easier when bb is inside my tummy. LOL
but now cuter la... haha

sharon: no la.. he knws im jus kidding la.. he say he will retrieve frm ebay if i put her up for grabs. and ur rite, our babies so cute, whr will bear to give them away!!

firefly, my PD say pacifier is to calms a baby's mind. yes is god send ! my boy also cant suck very well yet...sometimes must hold at least 5-7mins then he can suck tightly...esp nite time very tiring....my boy use tommee tippee pacifier, i change to avent before but he look at me so stone cos he dunno how to suck...so i change back already..

jamie, i say to my hb that i wanted to sell him away...cos that time my boy made me change his clothes 5 times a day...cos he vomitted milk...i really very fed up and scolded him for making me clean up so many times...aft that still kiss and sayang him lah...hehe

re : plain water
my boy dont like to drink plain water and i find it very difficult to get him to drink even 10ml...but now, i got it ! when he fuss for milk 20mins before, i give him plain water, he drink happily at least 40ml...hahahaha...easier for him to pass motion now...

prawnmee, same like bean and ibite, i also full time taking care of my boy after confinement...no time to fix my hair, go shopping, replenish my toiletries and do facial...but i dont wish to go back to work yet...cos now he is so fun to play with

porky: aiya sell to hb end up they will still pass back to us when bb fuss and scream. lol. yea i thinking abt finding job i already sian. haha.

Ya lor... Facing her 24/7 sometimes very fed up when she CANNOT be pacified.... haiz... I so love my night walks with my dogs,coz I hand my gal over to hubby..heee...

My hubby also wun wake up at night one lor if she cries. He can continue snoring....zzz...

prawnmee,
i'm also looking after my gal full time after confinement. went makan &amp; shoppinf wif bb, but can't do anything else lor. if simple housework, then sling bb &amp; do lor

jamie/ibite,
my hubby also seldom wake up. he woke up a few times last nite (&amp; some nites during confinement), this morn give me black face liao

jamie, bean, ibite &amp; porky,

haa! i totally understand the feeling.
last time when my elder boy just borned, i was the only one who took care of him after confinement, not staying wi my parents and in-laws, so really one-man show! v happy and look forward hubby back home from work every evening! haa

there were days that i cried together wi bb when he cried so loud and difficult to pacify... but but but, i couldnt bear to part wi him when my maternity leave almost end, so upon discussion wi hubby, i decided to take no pay leave and continue to take care of bb.. very tiring, coz besides taking care of bb, i still do abit of housechores and also tried my best to cook meals.. but it was very rewarding

i really enjoy every moments wi him, witness his every milestone and little achievements.. so i decided to quit my job after my no pay leave end...

gals, actually the hardship now are really peanuts, more to come as they grow older! i believe 2nd/ 3rd time mummies will agree wi me..

however, im a lazy mummy coz i never wake up for bb's midnight feeds (after bb's 1st month), hubby feeds bb by warming EBM.. i only woke up once to express milk.. hee

Ju,

My hubby say if he gets disturbed sleep,he can't concentrate on driving in the day... so if ever my gal is not pacify-able in the middle of the night,I will bring her out of the room. Or else wait the man also show black face in the morning...LOL

prawnmee - i'm oso looking after bb on my own now. can understand how you feel. my #1 was colicky when she was a bb, i was so tired out by her crying and fussing dat i really felt like throwing her out of the window! even summoned hb to come home from his nite meeting to take over. but trust me, things will get better. some bbs juz take a longer time to settle into a routine but they will eventually do so. hang in there!

re bb sleeping - i dun deliberately switch off the lights or draw the curtains in the evening. i will let the natural lighting fr outside do the job. to get bb to sleep, try to tone down all activities come evening time so dat they will not be over-stimulated. if bb wakes up at nite, i will not engage her. will quickly give her milk, once she finishes, put her back into the cot. if she makes noises in her cot, i will give her the pacifier and then walk off. no carrying, rocking etc. i believe in conditioning. once bb is used to these, she will demand for it.

re: smile
bean, m waiting patiently for her to smile at me

pastries, u/ur hubby has serious personality? my hubby joked that our bb like him -- blur blur/ gon gon one *haha* she like to look at us with bright shiny eyes and mouth open... as for fussy, sometimes when her sleep is disrupted... yah, she is making all kinds of sounds!

jamie &amp; porky, i talk/sing to my bb -- no smile leh...

ibite, maybe she has doraemon overdose -- my whole house filled with doraemons but none draws a smile from her :p

re: main caregiver
wow, so many mummies also main caregivers
yup, look forward to my hubbby coming from work -- then he takes over bb while i re-charged
nowadays zzz @ 9.30pm coz need to wake up to pump milk ard 1-2am. hubby will do the last feed at 12midnite and i will take over the next feed at 4am...

re: going back to work
me, too, look forward to going back to work.. feel a bit quilty but i think my life now is like 'confinement' -- seldom go out coz quite a hassle to bring bb out (stroller, diaper bag etc.) and watching the clock for feeding time...

Re: Routine
How do u mummies establish routine for bbs? My bb's routine is also quite erratic, only more established at night, when she takes FM, then she can sleep for 3 hrs. in the day, i latch her on, sometimes can only last her 1-2hrs.
TinklesMum: My mum blames the breastmilk also. if we give her 100ml FM, she can sleep for 3hrs but if 100ml EBM, she can only last 2hrs. Latch on worse, cos dunno how much she drinks.. >.<

Re: Smile &amp; play
My baby also dun really smile much, though she dun cry when she wakes up, only when she's really hungry.. so far, she can only establish eye contact with ppl. when we play with her using rattle or playgym, she also dun concentrate much, only like to look around and kaypoh..

Re: Pacifier
I only introduced pacifier to bb yesterday! and FAILED! she sucked sucked for abt 15mins, fall asleep then wailed! she still prefers to be carried around before she sleeps. luckily, my mum helps me take care of bb so we take turns to carry. but if she grows bigger dunno what to do..
I really salute those who are looking after bb yourself.. i sure cannot make it de..

Re: Selling bb
Hahha.. my mum and i always tell my baby that we will sell her to karang guni if she continues crying..

RE: hbs who cannot wake at nite

Actually all along i do the nite feeding for bb until once during confinement, being very frustrated w my mom n her strict confinement rules i broke down. told my hb hw f**ked up he was to get irritated and frustrated when bb cried. haha i think he felt real bad then he really did try to wake bt now still back to me lor. So i force him to do all the work when back frm work. Also got him to do the first diaper change b4 he leave house. at least i wont nd to get up jus to change her.

dodo: yes, i've heard abt the toddler stage. seems to be quite terror one when they hit that stage. hahaha

feb mum: i cant stop her frm nite activities cuz my uncle LOVES to play with her till she very excited. like today he whole day stay home, whole day play with her. I have seen Hailey a total of maybe 30mins since 2pm. I AN DAMN DU LAN WITH HIM ALREADY.he insists on carrying, playing, petting, feeding her. But when it's diaper change time he pass back to us. when she cries, he assume she's hungry, if she's been fed and still cries, he assumes she wants to b carried. He refuses to pass bb to anyone. Hb says he obsessed. I am DAMN SUPER PISSED OFF even my mom also bth him. jus nw heard her say him "u make until everyone cant b bothered to help u when she cry." so heartpain to hear her cry non stop bt everytime i tried to bring her into my room today, my uncle appears at my door within 5 mins. ARGHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

adv sport: my bb also abit hard to squeeze out a smile bt i jus kp talking and laughing and singing in a super high pitched and excited manner. haha dunno she smile cuz she think i weird or she really like it..=p

Re: main caregiver
Since my baby born I already take care her by myself 24/7. My hubby help for the first week. Sometimes if I too tired n she keep on cry I tell her want throw her at rubbishtruck. She will calm down aft that

Re: Smile &amp; play
My gal nowadays like to smile n talk
every morning wake up she will smile if I say morning to her. Afternoon play she will laugh n got sound so cuute
Now i got many pic for her smile ...