(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

RE: Plain water
that will cause water retention in your body. Don worry abt heaty during confinement because our bodies after birth is amazing. not matter how heaty we eat, we wouldnt be overheat! but after day 40-44, if we continue to drink longan water and eat confinement food, our bodies will react already.

thats y during these 40-44 days, must 'BU' our bodies to max..

Hi Shers, so confinement have to do till 40 days one ar...

i'm now doing confinement n hv been drinkin longan tea everyday.. or else milo..

loon, hmm... nowadays pple just do 28days.. very seldom till 40 0r 44 days..

moreover, pple dont follow the 'rules' of confinement anymore. so even do 40days also no use..

#1, i did 40days confinement (28days with CL and 12days at my mother).. this time will be similar.. i tried to do till day 41, but my throat felt so heaty after eating the confinement food..

the remaining 12 days at my mother place is more to food rather than no shower.. can start to shower with herbs after 12days..

i didnt really do strict confinement.. but to food wise.. the better we eat, the better milk we can pass to bb..

Went for my check up in the morning.. CTG result: bb is active and there is contraction, my bo chap gynae didnt really say much, he just said got contraction and bb is very responsive that's all..

VE: cervix softened!! he didnt say about dilation.. bb head is engaged
he said anytime now, ask me if my hospital bag is ready, i said yes. He said let's not intefere with the whole process (i guess he meant if i was asked to admit and put on drip sure deliver liao), when there is sign, go hospi admit and ask for epi.. (epii?? i told him i wanna try w/o epi) he said, not necessarily to experience such pains kekeke.. i will see how, may be super painful then ask for it hahaha..

Very busy now, today is my last day of work liao :p Yipeee!!!

my 28 days will soon b over next week... i tot i can stop eating confinement food then... then my mum insist she'll cook for me after the CL goes...

do u wash hair? i'm only allowed to wash every 5 days..

actually i heard that not all our bodies can take the heaty food, tho most can because we become very weak. Actually the supposed correct way to do confinement is to the the sinseh to prescribe the right kind of herbs and food. But that is quite a tedious process and u need to see the sinseh very early during your pregnancy.

but when it comes to water retention, heehee, i will try not to drink water too.. just in case

loon, so envious of u... my confinement will start next week!!! GOSH~~ cant believe i'm going to be so 'dry' due to weather..

if yr mum can cook for u, thats good.. continue to eat those tonic food which is good for u and bb (pass through milk).

i cant wash hair and shower for 1st 12 days.. but after that, can shower with herbs alternate days, wipe with herbs alternate days. as for wash hair, very sad to say - once a week only.. and must faster blow dry!!

re longan red date water - i know it's a rich source of iron so it's good for women who had just given birth coz loss of blood. it's also thought to increase milk supply.

i hv a heaty constitution so after eating confinement food for 2wks, i start having ulcers in the mouth liao. so got to tone down all the stuff or else the body cannot take it, haha. only did 28 days previously, can't imagine having to do 40 days lei.

Afternoon ladies !
Was busy the whole morning...

Hoops, congrats !! So cute they placed the twins together
Have a good confinement !

Bean, little bean claire is so sweet
What a nice family pic..

feb_mum, if u r ok with the confinement food, continue to eat till u cannot take it.. at least wldnt waste the tonic? another is good for us also..

i also cannot take it till day 41.. whahhaa.. for me, i dont mind eatin those food anyway still need to eat every meal.. just way of cooking is diff..

at least can shower as per normal, thats most impt!!!

my mum kept warned mi against drinking plain water.. but she never tell mi why when i asked her.. haa haa.. think she dunno too..

as for doing massage during confinement, is it really necc to do it within confinement? cos heard the jamu massage has to be done during confinement...

loon, my mother, mil and CL say cannot drink due to water retention. and when come to eating and drinking, must sit down on chair.. cannot stand..

not necessary for massage. there r a few reasons y pple go for massage.. for me, its to massage away the fatty ard my thighs, arms and flatten of tummy. also can massage away extra 'air'. after massage, can 'feel' blood coming out from under also.. as well as clearing milk duct!

i c... up till mow i still have a bit of blood coming out..

n the weather's so warm these few days... i'm like melting... perspiring like nobody's biz... haha... plus cant wash hair... arghhh.. haha

shers - ya, actually i dun mind confinement food. my mil cooks pretty well so no issue with it. juz dat, the confinement food always makes you perspire! bn eating things like ice cream nw coz i won't be able to eat it for one whole mth later on. anyway, i'm generally not fussy abt food. but showering yes, must shower everyday.

thanks for the info....

I've lost 9kg since the day i gave birth till now... more than those i gained from pregnancy..

now i'm afraid i'll gain back the weight if i eat too much confinement food.. haa..

Hoops.. they are so adorable..

I'm home from my 3hr plus shopping in causeway point!.. now waiting for time to go dental appt!

Lily:
Metro - Little Ponny has very nice dress for bbs from 3mths.. simply too pretty.. I dunno the gender of my bb, else will buy for it's full mth too.

confinement:

All I know is we must eat well.. dun worry abt weight at this point.. if we do not have good confinement, we will suffer in future..

juju, hahaha...too few princes liao...so cant remember who right...but confirm not chocolat and xue lah...xue got post this morning mah

Juju:

I dunno abt the free member card thingy leh..we ask gynae not to tell us abt the gender.. so, now still dunno boy or girl!

Jean:
Didn't go Kidzloft as I thot I shd check out the other one, which is same as what I have now.. but it's stained.. ended up, did not buy any new mattress as we decided we will wash it since it's mentioned that we can wash it & will dry pretty ok..

i think a few of us got the sms lah...but she never say can announced in the forum...so just make a guess loh...but now audrey said already..hehe

joyce, no worries. anyway i think also out of stk...hey, u went for the free scan at siemens...u never see your bb gender mah ?

jean.. went for the scan... see face only mah..!

btw, any idea if the free scan still available.. my coll wants to send his wife for it!

Hi adv_sport

re: after 36week, can baby still turn?

I am also in my 36 wk. my doc say BB now should be in their own position so mostly wont turn to breech position. because I also did feel my BB moving hard inside especially when i jus wake up from bed.

oki, thats why loh ! we were still chatting last nite...then this morning she never report liao...haha..she say waterbag burst at 2am+ and wet the bed !

Hi hoops,

Your twins are so cute!! My cousin is also going to deliver her twins today @ 36 weeks+ via c-sect.

Re: Plain water
I always hide in my room and drink lotsa of water. The red date water is so sweet and concentrated. The confinement food is also so heaty. So definitely must drink water one.

Re: Confinement
The only thing that i love during confinement is the variety of food/soup that i get to eat/drink. My CL is a very good cook. Plus she does the massage for me every nite. So it is very very shiok!!

porky, i nt sure if dr ad wan me to pop faster but maybe bb already fully grow able to pop now.. the first sentence he saw me is how come no news from me yet.. i dunno how to react lor.. lao.. he wont be in on 30apr so clinic is close for cck.. nt sure if he is going holiday got to make sure i dun give birth on that day haha.. if nt spoil his day..