Support group - Miscarriages

hello apple
My mid cycle bleeding has stopped so far.. not sure this cycle how also. Seeing a TCM but he says im currently to weak to start ttc and he advised me to wait a few cycles... but we are just going to try and ignore him :p

Now 4th cycle over? Yeah, u can start on ttc already....

roxyz, i started ttc last cycle but not active. will try to be extra active this cycle
i am not sure if i weak or not (never see tcm this time). but do feel better this cycle (no bad cramps during af) will self-bu..
ur hb taking any supplements? mine not v cooperative..ggrr

jia you together

Hi Angela,
U mean u have changed your gynea and your new gynea does not know about your 2nd miscarriage? My first emergency cerclage also last about 2wks. The 2wks complete rest in bed is really terrible.

As my son was born at 25wks, his health is not very good. He will catch flu easily.

Have replied your email. Hope its help.

Michelle
Then you bring good news to me... haven't ovulate that means i still got chance to strike.. haa.. 2 more days to go... Your AF still got blood or just those brown discharge?

Angela
Since you know what is the cause of MC now, i believe you will succeed in carrying your bb to 40 weeks next time..good luck..

applemuffin
what kind of supplements do you give to your HB? me thinking of getting some for him...haa... Btw, do you take folic acid and multi vit? Me still eating TCM medicine so dun know if i can take..

bb08,
my hb eating vit E, zinc n vit C. also cook cordycep for him monthly. (not sure helps or not cos only once a mth but cordy too expensive to eat weekly!!)

i do take folic, vit e and c. but not multi vit...is multi vit better? when i took tcm, my tcm shifu says no need to eat anything else, her herbs are good enough. so i didnt take anything else except folic.

Hi Chloegal

Yes the bedrest was really terrible and all activities have to be done on bed only. I cried every night and keep telling hb i want to go home. Doctor hope i can pull thru till at least 26weeks but... dint make it.

Thanks for sharing what you have being thru... really happy that you shared with me and give me a better understanding on my path ahead. I wish i know this earlier.. maybe my girl will be saved.

applemuffin ,

went to medical hall recently, the salesperson told me dong cong cao getting more expensive nowadays, so they have stopped to sell it..He recommend me "shi ti"实体". not sure whether u know the don cong cao got a tail? and shi ti is a tail of dong cong cao.They told me it has same function as dong cong cau and more cheap (100g-$40).. May b u can try it..

Hibb08,
For your infor, some ppl does not ovulate even if their menses is regular. This happen to my sister. She suffer a miscarriage and was not able to conceive for a whole year. She does not suspect anything wrong as she is able to get pregnant last time.

Only when she went for her pap smear, her gynae was asking if she still wanted to have baby after so long. She told her gynae that she have been trying to have one but no news. Her gynae recommend her and her husband to go for some test and the test show that she did not ovulate. She was very susprise as she is having her menses regularly. She was on clomid and was told to try on certain date. After 2 mths of trying, she managed to conceive and is now a proud mother of 2.

Hi bb08,

I think my AF may have finally cleared ... hopefully, no more brown discharge today.

According to my O&G, men can boost their sperm by taking Vitamin E. My husband takes it on some days and only closer to the time of ovulation cos he forgets most of the time!

I am taking only folic acid daily at the moment. My O&G says there is no need for multi-vitamins or fish oil supplements until the 3rd trimester. It is better not to take too much supplements as they may do more harm than good. One of my mum's friend died suddenly from overdosing on vitamin supplements as revealed by the autopsy report.

Yes, Chloegal is correct. We may have regular AF but it doesn't mean an egg is released from the ovary each month. This is normal but if your ovaries do not release eggs during ovulation for a prolonged period of time, you would probably need to take Clomid to help the process. I don't think this is likely in your case.

However, if someone has been trying to conceive for more than 12 months without success, then she should consult her O&G.

hello apple
My hubby claims he's been taking megaman regularly.. hopefully he's not lying to me... :p Mega man was recommended by my gynae to improve sperm quality....

I O yesterday and he wasnt very co-operative..got so fed up at him, tell him u dun want BD, never mind, we wait for another month later he guai guai cooperate....

hello apple
My hubby claims he's been taking megaman regularly.. hopefully he's not lying to me... :p Mega man was recommended by my gynae to improve sperm quality....

I O yesterday and he wasnt very co-operative..got so fed up at him, tell him u dun want BD, never mind, we wait for another month later he guai guai cooperate....kekeke

Hi Roxyz,
Is your hubby taking GNC's Mega Men? I bought one for my hubby but he takes a few times only, stop already.
I do not know whether shall I carry on with GNC's Women Ultra Mega? I did show it to my Gynea before my miscarriage,he asks me to stop taking cos has Vit A.

Hi Grace,

In case you are unaware, a high amount of Vit A in the body is harmful.

If you have proper meals and eat well, there is no need for supplements.

Just take folic acid tablets.

Went to my gynae today and he was very surprised that my AF comes at 4th week after the D&C. He said mine considered very early as most of the women AF will come only 6th - 8th week...

As usual, he asked me to ttc only after 3 AF cycles...said i still got yellow discharge and cannot ttc yet.. asked why am i in such a hurry and etc... All along, i thought having yellow discharge during days prior and after AF is normal... but it does not seem so in my gynae's case...Can i have a poll to see how many of you are having it? Getting worried now...

Anyway, i did a blood test today which cost $100...actually i itchy mouth..go and ask my gynae to see what are the tests available...then he recommend me a test to check for ruebella..(oops, forgot the rest liao)

Apple, Chloegal, Michelle
Thanks for the info...but abit frightening hor... why we girls got so many problems to worry abt...having a bb is really no simple thing...

roxyz
You very cute leh... threatening your hb to BD... Babydust to you...

Hi bb08,

I think my AF finally ended yesterday - after 14 full days! Discharge is yellowish now. I thought it is normal, given I have been having yellow discharge before and after ovulation. My O&G never said anything re yellow discharge being abnormal. I have gone to see her at times when discharge is yellow and surely she knows cos she does a V scan each time.

I realised how I took my first pregnancy for granted. Everything went smoothly. I had a really easy first pregnancy - no nausea, cravings, pain, etc. Now that I've seen more of the world (especially through my volunteer work), there are so many concerns re pregnancies and healthy babies.

Hope God bless us all with healthy babies soon. We need to keep the faith.

roxyz,
my hb only takes his vits when i force him to..must take out and place on the table and nag for him to take them. Told him its not only for ttc but also for his health!!! Men!

sensitive Q - do u feel that ard O date, u will feel extremely upbeat abt BD and if hubby fail to meet expectation, feel v upset? I tend to argue and feel frustrated whenever I am supposed to have O and hubby not cooperative..ggrr

bb08, poll abt yellow discharge - like u, i also didnt think it is a big issue. I didnt used to have yellow discharges until all the preggies and still have them until i told gynea abt it few weeks back and he gave me a swap and tested positive for infection. I am secretly think the infection could have been a factor of my m/c?? anyway, i have since applied medicine and gynea told me to monitor for a week..should go away. hope yr gynea had prescribed medicine for u too

Hi bb08 and Applemuffin,

Just wondering what shade of yellow is your discharge and if that makes a difference. Mine is pale yellow.

Thought usually discharge accompanied by strong odour indicates a possible infection.

applemuffin
i can understand how you feel... but i dun think men will understand... like when is our AF and O dates... Maybe you dun tell him that today is the O day and you just enjoy the BD process.. I guess its abit hard for the men to take it that you just wanted his sperm only...and if you dun succeed, he will feel stress too. Men usually would not want to be blame for this type of thing...just one or two days before your O date, try to arouse him and you might be surprised...

Btw, what is a swap? He gave me cleanser, solution and some pills 2 weeks ago but i didn't use...untill yesterday, he warned that if i dun take care, it will cause infection and will be difficult to get pregnant...he wanted to prescribe anti-inflammation pills for me but i dun see the need as its quite normal for me even before my MC

Michelle
Actually quite envy you as you already had a child...at least nobody will ask you when are you planning to give birth... Mine is also pale yellow... my gynae said there's discharge around the cervix area and he helped me to clean up yesterday... Mine dun have any odour ley...

michelle n bb08,
mine is light yellow, no smell and not itchy. but test showed infection. i have been having the discharge for a long time (12 months) and only found out it is infectious last month. bb08, think better take yr gynea advice to take medicine. Good to heal the infection to have a peace of mind.

swap = like pap smear, gynea just scrap portion of the tissue from my vagina and sent for test of infection.

BD - i tried yr method, but usually hb knows what i am up to do...cos i dont usually do all those stunts..hee... anyway..will work on it.

Hi Applemuffin & bb08,

I had my pap smear test done earlier this year before my pregnancy and all was normal. O&G just did another swab test after the miscarriage too. She didn't say anything about possible infection. Hopefully, I am clear.

Some of my relatives and friends actually asked me when I was going to have #2 when they came to see me during my son's 1st month! Of course, they haven't stopped asking whenever I see them - thankfully, not many times in a year. Perhaps it will shut them up when I tell them about this miscarriage.

I didn't do any swap... only the basic blood test...my gynae also never request me to do any...maybe he want to save money for me...intending to change to another gynae, Dr Douglas Ong.. as he's nearer to my house...but he's also more expensive...

I always have this urge to tell my friends that i had a MC...so that they will know what is happening and will not disturb me....but always regretted it when i tell...cos if another friend got pregnant, i dunno how to react...and my friends will know that i putting on a false front...will be quite embarassing too..

Hi bb08,

I am almost surrounded by pregnant women. Most of my good friends are pregnant and we meet very often (sometimes weekly), so there is no running away. One of them is just about at full term. I am actually very excited for them. When I see lovely baby stuff, I tend to buy them for baby showers and Christmas.

I think if we are positive about the whole thing, we will be less burdened by it. Remember that you are not the worst off (cos lots of women suffer more traumatic miscarriages, can't conceive naturally, etc.) so should count ourselves fortunate. The saying goes "it could have been worse".

Cheer up, please.

hi guys, hope you've all been keeping well! been a little busy and distracted with some other nonsense lately. saw my tcm practitioner last week and to my surprise, he actually smiled and nodded with approval when he took my pulse rare rare rare cos most times he would frown and ask what rubbish i had been eating again. yippee! definitely getting better; feel better and more energised too.

not time to ttc yet but it's okay. i've planned a whole list of frivolous activities to indulge in while tiao2-ing.

baby dust to everyone!

Hi Michelle,
Thanks!I also heard my friend say Vit A is harmful to BB.That'y I bring the whole bottle to ask e doc again. I stop taking it now since doc says I can stop for a moment.

Hi bb08,
My 1st and 2nd MC are all in KK.And, this 2nd MC I seek for 2nd opinion fm Dr Douglas Ong (Ten Mile Junction). He did tests for me, but at first I thought those tests are to find out the causes of miscarriages. End up, is only to test whether I immune to HEP B, and lack of some Vit B12. Actually, I did full medical checkup last year and those tests are included too. And, I already know these results. I think I wasted money over those tests. Frankly, Dr Douglas quite ex, my bill come out to S$500 for two visits only. But, he did detailed V-scan for me, that why found out that I have farm of fibroids. Sigh!!!

My colleague is pregnant too, but she also has fibroid, I feel inferior now. Last year, another colleague also pregnant together with me, now the BB is so cute, but me.....Sigh! 2nd time, I really can't imagine!!!!!

Hi Piggy mummy,

Below is a good website which explains in simple terms how the menstrual cycle works, including shedding of the endometrium (uterus lining) which is the period.

It is normal that there are times when an egg is not released during the month (or more than one is released) but abnormal if it happens very often.

You will not be able to tell if an egg is released (or not) during ovulation unless you have a scan during the ovulation time. That is one of the many reasons why couples should consult the O&G if they fail to conceive within a year of trying.

http://www.coolnurse.com/menstrual.htm

Hi Grace,

Excessive amounts of Vit A is not only harmful to babies but to our bodies as well. That is why it is best to have a balanced diet without having to supplement with pills.

I did not take any supplements or fish oil tablets during my pregnancies; only folic acid. My son also does not take any supplements or cod liver oil. We make sure he has a healthy diet consisting of fish, meat, fruit and vegetables. All the great inventors and scientists (and noble prize winners) did not take any of these as supplements did not exist during their time!

Hi Michelle,
You are very knowledgeable. I have stopped taking Vit, don't worry. But doctor did say that I lack of Vit B.

Actually I eat a lot such as fruits (everyday), fish (everyday), meat (don't really like to eat now), vege (everyday). But I still thin. My BMI only 18.2 - 18.5. From my past few medical checkup,doctors always say I underweight. I know,that why I do exercise and eat too. Maybe is inherited, my family gene.

My body can't absorb the 'good' Vit. I dunno why? Frankly speaking, I seldom eat titbits, junk food and hawker food (I eat my MIL cooking almost 6 days per week). I think I didn't touch any fast food for over 6-9 months already (I cant even remember when is the last time I go fast food). But I still have fibroids all these weird stuff.

Hi Grace,

Fibroids are actually quite common - about 20%-30% of women over age 35 have them and most of us would probably not know about it.

http://www.ehealthmd.com/library/fibroids/FBR_causes.html

Our immune system is extremely complex so there are many things which are beyond our control. A good diet may not always help but it is better than a poor diet - at least you fall sick less often.

I think many women would envy you for having skinny genes - I do! Imagine how many sinful choc cakes, mooncakes and durians I can have without worrying about weight increase!

My sister find out that she is not ovulating throught blood test. I also recently diagnose to have 2 small fibroids measuring 1.2cm and 2.2 cm when going for pap smear Test. My gynae say that my fibroids is small and so will not caused any problem if pregnant. The concern came if it is 6cm or more.

You can try going to www.yourdays.com to have your ovulation date calculated

Hi Chloegal,

Yes, you are right. There is the blood test to determine it too.

Hope the fibroids won't affect your future pregnancy.

gals,

u know of any cheaper pregnancy test kit in the market?
yesterday bought clearblur preg kit.. its so ex... 26++ for 2 tests. any where i can cheap but reliable ones?
my period is due soon, still no sign yet... but i have spotting a few days ago... tested on the kit, show negative.. going to try next week again when my period is really due...

Hi kit_mum2b,

You can get the pregnancy test strips for about $1 each. I just bought two strips last week. Made in the US. Very reliable - I used them for my 2nd pregnancy. The difference is that you have to collect your urine in a clean container and then dip the strip in for 3-5 minutes.

kitmom, u can get guardian brand - $8 per stick. Watson brand also have i think $5 per stick.
good luck in yr testing next wk, hope u strike!

gals,

this time ard, i have no sore breasts... so might not be the case. It's actually accident, din plan for it. Cos TCM told us to try when AF comes this time... so i have been eating rubbish these days.. quite worried if really strike...

ya, may be i shd buy those cheap ones to try... really heart pain leh....
michelle,
those 1 dollars very cheap leh... but sound troublesome leh.....got provide dropper?

Hi Kit_mum2b,

You don't need a dropper. I use a disposable cup to collect a bit of urine and then dip the strip in. I leave the strip in the cup for 3-5 minutes.

I think this supplier also sells the mid-stream cassette (the ones you stick straight into your urine stream) but am not sure of the price. He advertises in the Business section sometimes. If you want to check it out, you can send me a PM so I can forward the email to you.

My AF finally arrived at 5 weeks 2 days!! Looks like I've a really longggg cycle (37 days). Can anyone feel u've ovulated? I feel cramps during my mid-cycle, and calculated 14 days after. Indeed, AF came 14-15 days after the cramps. Does that mean i've ovulated?
I wish to ttc early September. Do u think it's safe?

cookie,
my cycle also same as urs! always range from 32-40 days... super long cycle... i'm still waiting for my AF to come... some crampy feeling already....... now already 38 days liao... if u feel cramp mid-cycle, shd be ur ovulation lor... my gynae and tcm give me green light to ttc liao.....so i'm going to ttc in sept (my 2nd AF since mc..)too! (if my cycle comes next week...), hope we strike together....

Kit_mum2b:
I also get crampy feeling a few days before AF. I think your AF should be coming really soon
Good leh, this is yr 2nd AF and both doctors give u green light. For me, I had my DC on 12 July. But i can't wait to get back to where i was then.... Do u think it's ok? I hope we can strike!! Jia you!!

Celine:
Thanx for yr recommendation. I bought OPK strips from one of the forum mothers. But clueless how to use such that i can get a baby girl.

Hi cookie,

for baby gal, then u have to BD 2-3 days b4 ur ovalution day.For boy, have to BD on ovulation day. u have to keep track of your ovaluation day. If ur menses regular, ur Ovalution day will be about same for every month.

i have a question here, if my cycle is 35 days. so my ovulation day suppose (35-14=21), day 21.But my vaginal got mucus on day 14, and 16.i know vaginal got the wet feeling is pre-O, but how come the wet feeling come so early since my O day is ard day 21. (a week after vaginal has mucus)..

Thans

Piggy_mummy:
I thin it's normal to get discharge a week before ovulation. The difference is the look of the discharge before ovulation and around the ovulation day; the latter being stretchy, thin and clear while the former being white and thick. Hope that helps.

Celine:
Thanx. I dun think i'll be able to tell my ovulation day accurately as i'm going through my first cycle after DC and the one i've noted is from DC til i get my first AF. So not accurate right.

hi cookie,
actually i read somewhere that its alright to ttc straight after ur AF comes... cos there's no prove that the miscarriage rate is higher if ttc straight away... my friend got preg after 1st AF comes (after her mc).. and deliver a bb boy already....so i guess, it shd be no prob if u really can't wait, as long as u r mentally ready... then go ahead!!!

cookie,

still no sign yet...... anxiously waiting...
actually i'm a bit worried that i might strike this month...........actually test on a kit last week but BFN... so wait for another week... if still no sign... will test again..... i test on my clearblue preg kit, heart pain... going to buy the watsons one, its cheaper i guess... hopefully my AF comes soon.... then i dun have to keep thinking abt it.........sigh

i had my D&C done end jul...
the bleeding stopped at day 17... but it continue again 2 days later with slightly heavier flow...
im quite worried, any idea is this normal?