Support group - Miscarriages

i have had a miscarriage last year. till now more than a year already i still could not conceive. please help !!!
i went to chinese physicians... last three months i decided to go back to gynae. but went through 2 rounds of ovulation pills and hormones pills. but menses came today...
aiyo so sad...
anyone of you took ovulation and hormones pills ? i understand from somewhere ovulation pills cannot take more than 6 months is it true ? anyone with experience

Hi BellsBells,

Sorry to learn of your situation.

Are you referring to the ovulation induction drug called Clomiphene citrate (CC, Clomid, Serophene)? One of my friends was on it for 4 months as she was on IUI treatment. She said the doctors generally do not use it for more than 4 months (i.e. 4 cycles) as continuing for more than 4 ovulatory cycles is not likely to increase the chances of success. They usually proceed to IVF treatment after 4 failed cycles.

Hope you strike soon.

Hi BellsBells,

Perhaps different O&Gs may use the drug for more or less number of cycles, depending on the type of fertility treatment. As my friend was on IUI, her specialist does not use it for more than 4 cycles as the success rate does not increase.

Your case may be different if you were able to conceive naturally. It is best that you consult your O&G.

Stay positive.

hi ladies, i am new to this thread.

just had D&C yday. I was initially so excited abt BB#2's arrival, but at 9 weeks, i went to clinic at KK to check on spotting (actually i wasnt even too worried abt the spotting cos I had that for BB#1, but just wanted to scan to see BB#2)....but was devastated to learn tt there was no fetal h/b

<font color="0000ff">can i have your advice on whther it is good to try TCM to 'bu' the body?</font> Also, any good ones u would recc? Does TCM involve alot of brewing of medicine? cos i dont think i have the time to brew...i work full-time.

<font color="ff0000">as for my other concern abt when to start TTC again</font>, the gynae at KK say anytime. I read some mommies try immed and strike, while some prefer to wait for health to build up. so i guess it is a personal choice. for me, i am undecided yet.

<font color="119911">when does AF usually arrive after D&C ?</font>
(actually doesnt this means that before A&F arrives, we have O already....cos we need to O before AF comes)

thanks alot.

hi lilipit,
sad to hear ur case. take care of your health first now. and take ur time to grief.

I guess its up to individual whether to try tcm to bu ur body. I Did that after my d n c and there's no harm doing that, so i am still eating the medicine. My tcm is from bt batok area, and doesn't involve any brewing, just powder mixed with warm water to drink.

Gynae usually will say when 1AF comes, can try already. 1st AF will come 4-6 weeks after dnc and i guess AF is used to track the date of EDD if strike (hope i din say wrong thing)

lilipit

I went for TCM despite my gynae objected to it... The sinseh gave me medicine in a capsule form...the medicine is supposed to help to regulate the AF and true enough, my first AF reports 4 weeks after the D&C and my 2nd AF reports 30 days after... my sinseh is in serangoon north area, if you interested, do let me know..

Hi Gals
Been buzi with work for the past weeks.. no time to log in here..
Juz to check with u gals.. my AF finished last tues but i m having cramps on and off.. any idea wat wrong?

michelle, bb08 & kitmom
been charting bbt, temp is weird..everyday for the past 1 week half, it hovers ard 36.40 and 36.50. no sign of dropping or rising...anyone knows how to interpret? i am in my CD19 thanks

hi bb08
My AF also reported last nite.. very sad, really tried very hard this cycle

Im going to see Dr LC Cheng tomorrow morning.. want him to see what is wrong with me.. dun want to wait anymore

applemuffin
me still not into bbt yet so dun know how to interpret leh...have u tried using the ovulation strips? its less troublesome and results are more accurate...

roxyz, piggy mummy
as my first AF is 28days after the D&C, so i went to buy the pregnancy test kit on the 30th day... hope to strike mah... after i tested and cleaned myself up, saw the AF... arggh..so angry...wasted my test kit....

roxyz
how long have you tried liao? did you track your ovulation dates?

Hi bb08,

I thought I was the only one trying to conceive after my 1st AF. Didn't realise you were going to ttc after the 1st AF too - had thought you decided to wait. Sorry to hear you didn't strike. Well, I'm probably in the same boat. Chances are slim as I couldn't detect my ovulation day, plus now waiting for next AF to arrive - wonder when that will be. I have a very long cycle so it means less chances to try in a year! Very frustrating indeed.

michelle
me very contradicting lor.. wanted to wait cos i got many medical problems to attend to... but still wanted to try..

you know when i bought the test kit, its a mixed feeling... wanting to strike yet at the same time quite worried cos i went for an x-ray 1 week ago...then when tested negative...sad again.. haa.. alot of ups and down...

roxy, bb08,
dun give up hope!
just relax and enjoy bd........ dun stress urself......i told myself to relax too....

applemuffin,
tat time before my AF come, my temperature will remain there for quite some time (no rising and no dropping)........ but i'm not quite sure is it consier high temp.....keep tracking...

Hi kit
of cos we won't give up... actually sometimes i told myself that if i dun strike, its a bonus to my hubby..hee...

thanks kit_mum2b and bb08.
i guess i'll probably wait for 1 or 2 AF before i try again. currently, my abdomen area still feels stiff and crampy, but i am trying not to take the painkillers the gynae gave.

i think kit_mum2b ... you are right abt the AF date giving the EDD if strike.... didnt realise this logic earlier on.

anyway, i had been confiding in a fren who also had a m/c. She tried again only after 6 mths, then on 2nd try strike...now her gal is 2 yrs old. Thank goodness i had her to talk to. When i returned yday after the D&C, i told her the GA knockout feeling was almost like deep sleep....almost like a good sleep...felt silly and guilty to even describe it as good sleep.....

can i ask how long did u gals take to go back to office? i got 2 weeks mc, but dont think i will use it up....2 weeks seem so long, and the gynae said i can go back to work as & when i am ready.

by the way, what is "2ww"?

lilipit
you are very lucky that you had a friend to talk to.. i dun... my friends are all very lucky, never mc before... thats why i always come here to seek for comfort and advice...

My gynae only give me 4 days mc...( actually he only want to give me 3 but i beg for another day cos its got long weekend). Anyway, i went to other clinics to get another 1 week cos me not ready to go back to work...

As for 2ww, i have asked the question before...but nobody replied...sob..sob... hope someone will know what is 2ww and enlighten us...

hi guys, 2ww means two-week wait the two weeks (or more if you have a longer than 28-day cycle) that seem like an eternity while waiting to find out if you strike or not.

gals, 2ww = two weeks wait (that is the period of waiting time after you have Ovulated, waiting to get a BFP)

bb08, i bought some O strips from lady in this forum...but hor, i dont know where to pee on!! in the end, i didnt use them...i use the cassette type instead (recommended by TCM). Didnt use them this few cycles cos never visit tcm liao, dunno where to buy them.

kitmom..that spell no good news for me then
temp still hovering...strange..maybe no O cos i could see a distinctive difference (up n down) in temp in the last cycle...anyway i am prepared for AF to come on 13 Sept..

roxyz, dont be sad *hugs*..maybe yr gynea can help to shed some light...did u use bbt, O strips to help you track O date?

Applemuffin,

Are the O strips similar to litmus strips? If so, you are supposed to collect your urine in a clean container (just a little amount would suffice) and dip the strip in it. Leave it for several minutes before interpreting results.

<font color="ff0000">bb08</font> - 'lucky' in a sense yah, tho we dont wish to know anyone or even ourselves to be in this position
sigh, it seems that m/c is quite common - i think among the pple i know/hear of - so far it is around 30% who had m/c before.

thanks <font color="0000ff">xuanting and applemuffin</font> about the 2ww....see it so many times...finally unravelled!

<font color="ff0000">bb08</font> - your gynae so 'kiamsiap'. My 2 week MC is from KK. Or maybe it is due to different circumstance. cos mine was after D&C done at hospital.

lilipit,
tat time i also did not take painkiller cos heart pain is more than anything... crampy feeling is nothing compare to that...
yah, when u got friends who got the same experience as u, u'll feel comforted as we are not alone... and when u see them having sucessful pregnancy, u'll be even more relieve... so its good tat we talk it out... we'll feel much better!

bb08, applemufffin, xunting,
i'm going to try this cycle... but my cycle is quite long (ard 37-42days) so my tcm yesterday told me to bd every 2 or 3 days in order not to miss ovulation. Hope i can strike again really soon.....................but i got feeling my 1st AF never ovulate..... cos din see any mucus that time...... hopefully this cycle will ovulate...

lilipit
mine was also a D&C... but my gynae believes that we can recover in 3 days time.. he told me some of his patients even went clubbing on the day itself... To my knowledge, my friend's wife also had a D&C done in KK...and the doc gave her 2 weeks mc and asked if she needs a counsellor... So i asked my gynae how come he never counsel or recommend me any...and he said the best way to recover is not to talk abt it.... sigh... almost go into depression...

Kit
agree with you... i also did not take any painkiller... dunno its because i dun feel any pain or i was busy crying so did not detect the pain...

I also did not see any mucus for my 1st AF... still remembered i asked i had this slight yellowish crumpled ball but a bit dry... then michelle corrected me that mucus should be clear and slippery thingy... Prior to my 2nd AF, I also did not see anything leh...so i also did not ovulate in my 2nd AF? Starting to get worried now..

Gals
I have a question...needs your opinion
I have a wisdom tooth surgery on the 17th Sept..
My Ovulation should be in the 10-12th Sept...
If i decided to TTC and if i strike... will it affect the embroy if i go for surgery and take the painkiller....

I really wish to get preggie asap...i already had 2 colleagues and 2 friends who are pregnant with 2-3 months...mine is also 3 months plus if this this thing never happen... so sad...

bb08,

i read lilipit's website saying taht we might not be able to ovulate 1st AF... but no worry too much, we just do wat we are supposed to do... ok? ha ha if we stress ourselves, chances are we might not be able to get preg easily.

If u r doing surgery, its best that u inform the doc and call them regarding the matter... better be safe mah.........

my colleaques also preggy too... feel sad seeing them.... i usually avoid them or walk away when they talk abt their bb...

<font color="0000ff">bb08</font> sigh, i took much longer than u.... i took 1.5 yrs to get BB#2, then m/c in 9 weeks
so i am worried abt how long i will take to strike a good one next round.

====
last few days, i had been at mom's place, so she was cooking stuff to 'bu' me. i know she tries hard, cos she still needs to take care of my #1 while there i am also needing her care.

today, i am at home with #1 and DH. Spent so long cooking the different dishes (cos DH cant take the heaty sesame oil/giner stuff), feel so tired; and my #1 didnt want to take the lunch i cooked him, cos he wanted to nap.

Now DH and #1 are napping... while i am waiting for bedsheets to be done in the washing machine, and had just changed the bedsheets to our king-size bed.....otherwise the bed was damn smelly....after so many days of neglect of housework.

sorry ah ... i very lor-sor...just wanna complain only.

Hi Everyone, I'm new here

Would like to share my experience here, I'm about 7weeks pregnant,visited my gynae yesterday could not detect an embryo in the gestational sac(Blighted Ovum). Will be going for D&C this Monday.

This will be my third unsuccessful pregnancy in less than a year. The 1st pregnancy in Oct last year was a blighted ovum. As for my 2nd pregnancy in Feb this year, I was bleeding in my 6th week and despite rushing to my gynae and given injection, my baby's heartbeat stopped the following day.

Was hoping that this pregnancy will be a success and am devastated with the outcome, more so that I've taken all precautions this time to the extreme of refraining from doing any household chores, resting most of the time and even doing minimal walking. But I guess what is not meant to be yours will never be.

Glad to find this thread here where we can share our experiences and seek solace amongst one another.

All the best!

Kiwifruit:
I'm so sorry to hear that. U rest well and share with us yr feelings. I also had D&C in july at 7 weeks. Had been feeling very upset. Talking about it with the ladies here help me sort out my feelings.

bb08:
Actually I'm quite clueless about this thing and need advice on this matter. Better to tell dentist about yr ttc, so that he can prescribe appropriate antibiotics. I had wisdom tooth surgery yesterday afternoon. Got to do a mouth x-ray. I'm on Erythromycin all the way until Wednesday afternoon. Wonder is it ok to ttc on Tuesday / Wednesday / Thursday.... I din ask my dentist cuz haven't started my ttc yet. For yr case, u should ask dentist. He may then use the right medicine on u in case u preg.

hi bb08,

I share the same dialima a few months back when i had to extract a tooth that was potentially going to cause problem. And guess what the dentist told me, if i take the anti-biotic, it's best i abort the baby should i be preggy. He told me either i wait 9 months with a time bomb in my month or i have it extracted and abort the baby if i am preggy.
I decided to seek a second opinion. The 2nd dentist did not want to give me an answer she just told me it's my decision. So i decided to put off with it as i am not ready to abort if i get preggy.
Thank God my AF came and i quickly have the molar tooth done. so i quickly had 2 crowns and a filling done. before i ttc again.

I was really depressed when the first dentist told me about having to abort and settle my teeth problem before i conceive. As i really long for baby since my mc. Sometimes i do wonder why it's so difficult to conceive sigh.

Hi Cookie, thanks for your empathy and I'm sure I'll be alright. Hope that you're feeling better now and good luck to ur ttc too.

Just can't wait for Monday to be over and am contemplating whether to tcc again as I'm afraid that the MCs may be due to genetic abnornalities.

I totally agree with BellsBells as to why is it so difficult to conceive. Seeing so many parents with children around, can't help but wonder why can't we be one of them. Haiz...

Hi lilipit, my gynae had done a blood test after my 2nd MC on certain components which are listed under the 'early testing'category.The results came out to be negative.

Will check with her with regards to the other series of tests. Thank you for the valuable info. Really appreciate it.

lilipit, cookie
i really envy you all for having the #1 baby liao... at least you know you are capable of conceiving and a mother liao...

kiwifruit
do take care and rest well... are you still seeing the same gynae?

Bellsbells, cookie
thanks for your info... then i better be good and wait for the 3rd AF to start my ttc... i am just being impatient...dunno why i recently started to go gaga over this bb thingy...maybe got alot of bb pressure from my colleagues and friends... so envy them of wearing the maternity dress....

Bellsbells:
Your first dentist is so insensitive. Thank goodness u had your teeth done. If i were on antibiotics, i can't ttc? My last dosage will be on Wed afternoon, do u think it's safe to ttc that night? How long must i wait?

Hi bb08,
I've joined your club - my AF came last night. Just as well, since I pigged out on sushi & sashimi big time at lunch yesterday! Like you, I didn't think I actually ovulated - no "ovulation mucous".

Cookie,
Ideally, you should not be taking antibiotics (or other medication), particularly in the first trimester, unless your O&G says they are safe. The cells multiply most rapidly in the first trimester.

can i check with u... what are the signs of miscarriage?
I had severe MS for a week, and then after that, the MS seemed to have disappeared. I get occassional spotting. I havent seen a gynae yet cos this is my 3rd pregnancy and i thought since i'm an experience mum, can delay gynae visits.i it has never incurred to me that such a thing could happen until i had more spotting today and i realised that strangely, the MS disappeared.

hi cookie,
I think you better call up your dentist to check. Yeah that dentist was really very very insenstive. I almost was near tears when he told me that. anyway when in doubt better seek a second or third opinion that's what i have learnt ! Do double check with your dentist or your gynae and see what they say. I would agree with what Michelle Wright have mentioned in first trimester better don't take the risk.

My AF came today also.. sigh.. After on chlomid i noticed that my menses getting longer 40 - 42 days is that normal ? I am not sure if i should continue my chlomid this month. after i read on the website that chlomid actually drys the mucus that helps the sperm swim :{

Tidal,
sometimes it may not be a miscarriage you may want to visit your gynae soon as they can give jabs to help prevent the miscarriage.

hi tidal, i think you should get a check up as soon as you can, to be safe and to ensure that you receive the necessary treatment in time. i hope it's a false alarm too. take care!

Michelle Wright (mwright) ,

if i am not wrong, lastime u mentioned u have discharge for almost 2 weeks then AF come.izzit?coz my AF suppose to come these few days, but i keep on got brown discharge for almost a week. I worried it is a bad news...coz normally if my AF is coming, i will have discharge a day bd AF, then then the next day AF will report. But this not yet..

i dunno what is wrong with me!!! i keep having emotional/anger outbursts these 2 days. I just had my 4th one this weekend, and it is always at DH and DS.

DH has started to be fed up with me now. I cant control my anger. Sometimes i think i let the anger culminate and blow up, so that it can be an excuse for me to let out and cry.

I am not sure if this is something like post natal blues, but don't want to find an excuse. However i usually do not fly into such a rage.

What ticked me off seem to be little incidents, like :
- son accidentally bit me in the leg (accidental cos I believe he thot he was biting his nappy cloth comforter...which is a habit of his). there's now a bad bruise on my leg
- son taking so long to fall asleep for the night and kept crying. and i was mad at DH just now for not waking me up earlier when i fell asleep next to son, cos I find that time was wasted - i still needed to take a bath, need to pack for tomorrow to go to my mom's place etc
- overall, i also get irritated with my DH for watching so much of soccer on TV.
- i also feel quite tired and grumpy, havnt felt like i've got enuff rest.

Well, if it is due to hormones, i hope it will get better. I feel bad now....sigh. I dunno if any of you encountered this too? or is it jus me?

Hi Piggy mummy,

Are you referring to my 1st AF after D&C? If so, the bleeding/spotting/brown discharge did not stop at all until my 1st AF came about 3.5 weeks later! It then continued for another 2 weeks!

If you are waiting for your 1st AF after D&C, then there is less cause for worry as the cycle tends to run wild.