Support group - Miscarriages

Hi bb08,

All my friends (except one) had to have a D&C done and their O&Gs said they could start to ttc after their 1st AF. Two had successful pregnancies when they conceived after 1st AF. The rest are still trying! I met a nurse clinician yesterday (she had to terminate her pregnancy at 14 weeks cos foetus had 1 chromosome less) and she too told me that her O&G said she could start to ttc after the 1st AF.

I still have brown discharge. Based on my personal experience, this can go on for quite a while. It also probably means the ovulation day is later. When my AF lasted 2 weeks, my ovulation day was about day 20/21 as I had a 5-week cycle. I think you can to ttc after the discharge clears. That's what I plan to do. Hope it works!

applemuffin
haven't get the bbt thermometer yet... actually also no use if i got to know my O cos my hb so busy working that we can only bd in weekend...
Saw my TCM last sat which i'm still having AF... like what Michelle had said, this might last for quite a while.. think should be normal hor... Anyway will be seeing my gynae this coming wed and hopefully he will not say anything abt the discharge...
As long as your AF is not here, that means you've got a chance to strike... baby dust to you...

Michelle
How many out of 2 were sucessful? Today my mood like tone down a bit...not so anxious of striking...cos there's a sudden fear of MC again... like one of the gals who mention earlier that sometimes i wish that i had never strike before that i dun have to go thru all these kind of sufferings... even my hb suffer with me... just imagine that we had not BD ever since i was diagnosed with threaten misabortion... which is about 3 months liao...

Happy National Day to all!
I'm still waiting for my AF. It's been 4 weeks i last had DC. Like all of u, I'm also fantasising about babies all day. Sigh... Recently, my colleague told me to wait at least 6 months to conceive, else I'll have a greater chance of MC. I just can't wait.

Anyone of u know how to conceive a gal? Which lunar calendar to use? If I use OPK strips, how to time to increase my chance of getting a gal?

Applemuffin:
Just ignore guest1 okie, no point talking to someone who choose to be anonymous. Everyone is entitled to what she wanna say.

Hi bb08,
Out of all my friends who had miscarriages (more than a dozen), only two had more than 1 miscarriage. The others have had successful subsequent pregnancies - only 2 of them fortunate to strike after 1st AF.

Hi Cookie,
I want a daughter too! There are so many lunar calendars which are different - one says "boy"; the other says "girl"! I've decided not to use them - besides, my husband and O&G keep reminding me that it's a 50%-50% chance of conceiving a girl! My husband does not believe in this gender predication stuff. However, my O&G did say that if you want a girl, then BD before ovulation day cos "female sperm" prefer a more alkali environment.

Michelle:
Your first child should be a boy I guess. I've always wanted a girl but got a boy. How many days before ovulation to BD? How to use that with OPK strips?

michelle & cookie,
i am drooling and so envious you gals have a kid already...i hope to be granted one soon..real soon cos i know after 35, a lot more complications and tests to perform..

bb08,
i am far from my supposed AF date. Last mth was 16 July..still a long wait..but again after D&C, AF becomes so irregular..it is v hard to say when..but i bought a test kit yesterday to get ready..haha...hopefully i get to use it. Thanks for yr bb dust..i hope to be drenched with it

i hope yr gynea will give u the go-ahead to ttc.

Hi Cookie,
Just like you, I've always wanted a girl too! Can't really rely on boys to look after parents in their golden years!

You are supposed to BD 2 days before ovulation, so the OPK strips are used in the previous months to help you track your ovulation day so you can chart it down. E.g. you notice you tend to ovulate on day 14-15, then you BD on day 12.

For me, the irony of using OPK strips is that the moment I stopped using them (got so fedup using them without positive results), I got pregnant both times!

I'm not going to use my O&G's method cos I don't know how long it is going to take to get pregnant when you don't BD on ovulation day. Besides, there is no guarantee (just increased chances). I'll be happy to conceive a healthy and normal baby, even if it's a boy.

Applemuffin,
Relax and your turn will come. Stressing about it too much is not going to help your chances. For both pregnancies, when I didn't think it was possible (cos I didn't use the strips to check my ovulation day), I got pregnant!

Hi Apple,
Agree with the rest. Ignore Guest 1's comments. This is a support group thread and really is here that we can lend a shoulder to each other and from all the postings, we know we are never alone in all our anger, fear and hope.

Think anyone who does not agree with anybody need not post such a nasty post here. So far have never come across such post till this one.

Jia you gals!

Hey Apple,
you post before that you dont trust TCM anymore..
hmm..I think any sinseh can prescribe TCM herbs but must find a professional, comfy and qualified one lor...
well if your AF still nt regular, can try my one
Heard of Thong Chai medical?
That time we met did I mentioned to u before?
But of cos I pray hard this time round u strike and hv a smooth pregnancy
!

thanks eunice...

happyger, can u pm me yr tcm contact. is yr tcm brew type or packet type? it is brew type, i dont think i can go for it liao..we used to take brew type and it takes us 3-4 hours nightly to brew..v tiring..sometimes during O period, still gotta jump straight into BD after brewing herb for hours..v stress..

thanks for yr prayers..

Thanks for all your encourages. I went through Eva of uterus aft my 1st MC.When the 2nd MC again,I really worry.Actually I din go though washing for this 2nd MC. A bit of tissue flow out when I MC. But my first gynea (he's a Prof somemore) say is ok to carry on without washing.That why I went to see 2nd opinion,luckily the doc told me that is ok without washing (same opinion with the 1st doc).

Just wonder how long should I wait for TTC again? My hubby doesn't mind without kid. I just can't help it when I carry my sister's baby. I want to try again but still afraid now. I need a rest of mind first then.

Hi Apple,

Actually there is electric pot to brew chinese medicine and all it takes is abt an hour. very convenient. after 3 bowls brew to one, it will alert you as well. bought mine from the medical shop where i used to see the chinese sinseh. You can try to ask medical halls or market around yr place. Bought mine at abt $125. Besides brewing medicine, suppose to be able to use for double boil etc though have not used for that purpose yet. So I can brew my medicine even at 10pm after a night out and by 11, able to take my medicine and rest.

I am new to this thread. I am 6wks preganant but things has not been smooth sailing. On wed nite i was bleeding similar to menses.Called KKH help line and the nurse who attended the call ask me to go to hospital immediatedly. I was admitted to hospital, doctor did a V scan but cldnt see anything not even the sach,blood test was done as well,my hormones level is only 300plus too low. My gyna claimed it is a case of threaten abortion. according to him it may be a case of miscarriage. He cant conclude and ask me to rtn on sat for another round of blood test to determine the hormones level again. Though i am discharged from hospital, i still have sm slight bleeding on n off.abt once or twice a day. Just have a few question to check with those who have similar experiences here:

1. By which week are we able to detect the sach? is 6wks too early to detect anything.I am super worried cos even the V scan cant detact anything really worried if it is a case of ETHOPIC pregnancy.

2. I have heard Ethopic pregancy can be life threatening? can someone share more on this matter.

3. How is D&C done? I have heard of the terms but not in details.

hope i cld seek some advises here, need to be mentally prepared should anything happen.actually i think my chances of keeping the bb is slim since the bleeding is still on.can only pray for the best now.

Hi Mochanerak,

Sorry to hear of your condition. Do stay strong.

1. I could see the sac at 6 weeks using the V scan but not on the ultrasound scan.

2. You can read more about ectopic pregnancies in this link below. It has several FAQs.
http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/pregcomplications/229.html

3. D&C stands for Dilation & Curettage. It is done under General Anaesthesia (GA) so you won't feel it. If you have a low threshold of pain, you may wish to request for GA by gas. The anaesthetist will put a gas mask over your face before the whole procedure begins. You will lose consciousness by the count of three. A small instrument called a curette is passed through the vagina into the uterus and scraping the endometrium, where the sac and foetus are supposed to be. These days, doctors use a vacuum instead of a scraper, so it is much safer. The whole D&C procedure takes about 15 minutes.

apple,
mine is brew..but only brew 1 n 30min or 2 hrs only
so is consider pretty fast liao

well...u consider and do let me know if u interested

hmm..maybe u can try Yu Ren Shen? theirs more reputable and think gt powder types one..more convi

Yaya as what Eunice said electrical pot is very convi!
that is wat I use now lor

Hi applemuffin dear,

Just ignore guest1's message- someone trying to get attention thats all.

We are all here to share our experience and support each other. This is the best forum, people are so warm and helpful.

Have a nice weekend

dear apple,

u r a strong lady..just ignore guest1 lor..i think he is just trying be irritating lor.. all of us went through the hard time and we really understand it..

me have been feeling quite moody recently, one moment happy and then another moment feeling sad..when come to weekend, the sad feeling is stronger because will see so many babies ard us lor.. my hubby also tell me to be strong and move on and ttc again when we ready..

angela,
me havent come my AF leh, coming to 6 weeks liao..should i go see the gynae and check it out??always have the cramp feeling but havent come lor..

gals, check with u all..have you all done PAP smear after miscarriage?should we go for one??

Mochanerak
I can see my sac at 5th week using the ultrascan...The D&C process are painless...and luckily i didn't get any infection and the D&C are successful.

Pray for you that your bb will be fine and well..
Take care ya..

Grace
Cannot advise you on how long to ttc as i'm confused too...My Gynae told me to wait till 3 AF, but chinese sinseh says 1 AF will do...and there's also alot of articles saying that there's no difference in waiting for 3 AF or 1 AF... Like what michelle said, you can ttc once you feel you are ready...

Nickel
understand how you feel...me not only feel sad but abit embarrassed too...dunno why i feel this way...and i still need to smile and joke to pretend that i'm ok and etc... though some of my friends are abit insensitive to my feelings, i dun blame them cos they have not been thru it before and couldn't understand how i feel....

As far as i know, AF usually comes between 4-6 weeks, but others might take a longer period....for me, i've been taking the tcm medicine to 'tiao' my AF, that might be the reason for my AF to come at 4th week...

didn't do any papsmear after the MC....but will be seeing my gynae this coming wed and see if he asked me to do it...then will let you know...

Hi Grace,

i have gone thru situation like you, 1st m/c at 8 weeks (heartbeat stopped), i went thru the DC last July and had a mini confinement.

For the 2nd m/c this april, i did not go thru any DC nor confinement as i was bleeding heavily and sac was no longer there after doing the v-scan, think the blood clot that that came off should be the tissue. It was nearly 6weeks then. It's merely 13 days of happiness, thought after resting for 7 months after the DC everything should be ok, but it happened again.

Surprisingly, i was tested pregnant in June without any AF.

Dear hweiz,
Me quite similar with you, had rest for 6 months aft 1st MC (i do not hv sex wif my hubby at all during this period of time), thought next time round should be alrite.I even eat confinement food,take good care of myself,use those leaves to bathe etc. But second time still MC. This time I din eat any confinement food.

I got many problems now. I got fabroids. So,think not going to try for a period, need to get rid of it now. I just worried cos I am not young anymore. I am going 35 yrs old next year.

Dear Michelle,
You are really very informative.

Dear BB01,
Thank you for your information too.

hi Michelle
tks for the info. I will go n read abt it.still hv sm bleeding every morning...hiaz.

Hi bb08
tks for the well wishes.I hv an apt with my gyna tom..keeping my fingers crossed. but gyna did hint chances of MC is there if my bleeding continue and hormones level drop.
the only consolation is that if my hormones level drop beyond a certain level, gyna say can skip the D&C procedure.

Mochanerak
Forgot to tell you that i did 3 blood tests to test for the HCG level... First time was 10,000 plus so happy cos it was normal...then when i got spotting, dropped to 1000 plus... gynae wanted to confirm if there's anything wrong with the test as it cannot dropped so drastically...then became 300plus... so sad ...thus no choice gotta do D&C...

hi bb08
may i know how many wks pregnant are u then? the nurse in KK told me that the recommended hormones level varies depend on how many weeks pregnant u r. i think my chances of keeping the bb is slim unless miracle does happen. Hiaz hubby kept telling me to stay positive but just cldnt help thinking of the worst.actually kind of nervous for tom apt

Hi Nickel,
You do not need to have a pap smear test done after your miscarriage. We are supposed to have it done once a year and for non-sexually active women above 30, once in 2 years.

If you had a D&C done, your O&G should have sent the tissues to test for possible molar pregnancy (in rare cases, moles may be malignant, i.e. cancer). If you did not have a D&C, your O&G should have asked you to collect the tissues expelled in a container so that it can be sent to the lab for testing.

Hi Mochanerak,
Despite the hormone injection and daily hormone pills which I had to take, I still spotted for the entire week.

If you have been spotting/bleeding, it is better to have a D&C done (if the tissues have not been expelled naturally) as the risk of infection is higher. You can wait up to 4 weeks for it to expel naturally. I opted to have the D&C cos I did not want to risk an infection.

I hope you have good news for us after your check-up.

Even i am okie now.

Still no mood, still not happy. Even i laugh or smile is just to make my love ones feel i am ok. Deep inside i feel very empty

happyger & eunice, could you pm me yr tcm contact? will keep the contact in case i need it further down the ttc journey...never know
eunice, could you also pm me where to get the electrical pot? the last time i brew, we gotta use the traditional claypot (as instructed by the tcm shifu), v difficult to brew...always overflow, sometimes, pot cracked and leaked..

stefie, dont be down
good things will come to you sooner than you think
the never-give-up attitude is an important ingredient in a successful pregnancy

my temp dropped today, guess i gotta get ready for AF..new cycle, new hope.

Hello Nickel

We carried our bb for 5months.. is just not easy to get over and in fact we will never get over.. Till date i still cry at night before i zzz... guess we just ahve to be strong and find something to focus on. Maybe when you ready, start ttc will make you feel beta too.. Be positive and we will go thru this together

If you have crampy feeling. means is coming soon. i had tat crampy feeling for 1week b4 AF reported. Dun have to see doctor as i think they will ask you to wait.

I did my pap smear b4 i am preggie and according to gynae, it last 1year. so far after my MC, gynae never ask me to do pap smear, maybe if you want, you can call your gynae and check if you need that.

eunice,
do u have to take the herb daily? how much per visit? need to call before gg down? do u have the contact no?
sorry so many Qs...if not convenient to reveal, can email or give me yr email?

happyger: this is popz here...are u the happyger dat i know?? the one dat i pm
??..i rec'd ur email..but will reply u later tonight ok?

Michelle,
you still having spotting? our AF came around the same time if i recall correctly.

mine stopped already but was very heavy! usually heavy on 1st 2 days only but this time was like heavy till 5th days and spotting for another 2-3 days.

Hi Apple,

No worries. The sinseh normally gives 2 packets of herb per week unless you stay very far then maybe can request for more. Each pack brew twice, so drink abt 4x a week. If i remember correctly, each packet cost around 10 plus. no consult fees.

You can call 62810373 to make an appt so that you need not wait for too long. But think 1st time you need to go down first.

She will only be around on every Tue, Thu (6 to 9 pm) & Sat (2 to 5 pm).

Hope the information helps.

Mochanerak
I was 7 weeks pregnant when i did my first blood test...and the last was 10 weeks... yes it is true that different weeks should have different levels but the hcg should be increasing....for mine, it was decreasing thats why i can't keep the bb...

Michelle
My gynae did not sent the tissue for any tests... maybe he want to save money for me..haa..

My AF cleared liao , took almost 10 days to clear the brown discharge...but having the tinted yellow discharge now...

Btw, I spotted mucus today...(the so-called clumpy white discharge that looks like eggs)...that means i ovulate today, is it? But mine is not those white slippery discharge, its a bit dry and tinted yellowish that crumpled together....

Anyway, I still cannot BD until thursday...hence will gotta wait for the next AF then i can TTC... sad...

Stefie
I feel the same too..especially when one of my best friend is pregnant and she dunno abt my MC case cos i dun want her to feel sad for me and affect her mood... we are just a few days difference only... So i will have to act as if nothing had happen and advise her to be careful and talk abt bb thingy... but overall i'm very happy for my friend as i know she had been ttc ever since she got married...

Angela
I thought 5th month is still in the 2nd trimester and it should be quite safe... how come? Sorry to ask abt your past...

hi bb08 n michelle

just to inform, my baby is gone. seen my gyna today, was told HCG dropped from 300 plus to only 54.last blood test done on sat.gyna sent me for urine test and result was negative.the only consolation i had was i am able to skip the D&C procedure cos according to gyna HCG is too low thus the procedure was not necessary. although feel sad but life still hv to move on. will try and BU my body before trying again.

tks for all yr concern. good luck and hope we will hv good news to share again.

Mochanerak
Sorry to hear that... I heard someone saying that this is the God's way of quality control... this is how i comfort myself... hope you will rest and 'bu' your body... do take good care..

Angie
If you are really worried, do give your gynae a call and ask him... think he's the person to know your condition best..

Hi Mochanerak,

I am very sorry to learn of your loss. Do focus on nursing yourself back to health so you can try to conceive again. Baby dust to you.

Hi bb08,

Your discharge today does not sound like the ones we get close to ovulation day. It is supposed to be transparent, slippery and able to be stretched a couple of inches. You still have a chance!

Mspiggy and bb08,
Today is day 14 and I still haven't cleared my AF! How frustrating. Seems my AF is getting longer and longer ...

Hi bb08,

Is ok to ask as we are here to share...
My case is incompetent cervix and usually happen on 2nd trimister. My cervix dilate sliently with no sign... my 1st mc was chemical mc at 6weeks, 2nd and 3rd were incompetent cervix at 17week and 21weeks. Reali unluckily, but is ok... will try again and i am sure next want will be better.

Hi Angela,
I also have . How come you never do cerclage for your two pregnancy when you was diagnose with incompetent cervix? Me and my sister managed to have 2 kids after doing the cerclage.

hi apple
Long time no posting here and I'm sorry to hear about guest1's harsh comments to you. You are perfectly normal and we welcome all your comments. Perhaps guest1 has not gone through a mc before so he/she cannot comment on how we feel. It is perfectly normal for us to be happy one day but suddenly down the other day. And most of the times, we just put on a front in front of people

hi mocha
I'm sorry to hear about your loss, please take care of yourself and bu please

Hi Chloegal

I dint know is IC until this recent miscarriage. If the gynae is aware my 2nd mc is due to IC, maybe my girl will be save this time.. But is too late to point finger now also. In fact i dun have any sign of IC until when the gynae check me at 19weeks, i am already 4cm dilated. Sent to do a emgency cleclage and bedrest 2weeks at the hospital but after 2weeks the water bag burlged thru the cleclage and can be seen from my V, the doctor hv to remove the cleclage and induce my labour at week 21 to avoid further damage to my cervix.

I was told for my next pregnancy, have to do the cerclage at week 12 and the success rate is over 80%. Now with your success stories, i feel much better as at least i know i have a chance to carry my bb to full term if i got preggie again.

thanks roxyz, i have gotten over it

how's yr ttc going? my 4th AF showed up yesterday..
but happy that it seems cycle are getting back to normal