PCOS patient and trying to conceive, pls share experience here.

Hihi Siew Lei!!! Wow, Sakamoto method, can you share what that is?

Tweetie, hehe.. think you better take a break lah.. else your #2 will take longer to appear...

My friend went through 2 IUI and finally IVF.. got pregnant, then lost one embryo at wk 9, and finally a v bad miscarriage at wk 14.. now she knows she gotta quit and go on bed rest... feel so sad for her.

ruggles, guess you saw my postings on FB lah.. doing OK so far.. I've got a 5cm cyst which is growing a little too fast, not cancerous but needs to be removed before it gets painful.. so depending on whether hubby is around, will do it in June or Dec. Argh.. and my helper will be arriving in May.. loss of privacy :p

catz,
yah.. oh dear. sorry to hear that. at least you have a helper la.. what to do, has to be done has to be done lor.
confine the helper to her room when you don't need her :p *evil*

can you wait till Dec? you say it's growing fast right?

Hi Catz,
OH take good care of yourself.

Just to share 1 good news, I'm coming to 8 wk pregnancy. It is quite a surprise to me cos my husband and I plan to just stop and 1 and you know I'm not the easy type to get pregnant. We do not want to go thru 2nd round of taking western and chinese medication.

We have unprotected sex for quite a number of years after my girl and I did not strike and I also do not know I'm pregnant cos my mens is always irregular. I only suspect something funny when I experience extreme fatigue and my mum said that maybe I'm pregnant and I just laught only. I thought is hormones changes again and maybe my PCOS is getting worst cos my hair drop alot recently and mens seems to be haywire. I did find a bit funny feeling cos I have left and right side pulling cramps and my temperature seems to be rather high and feel feverish too so I think maybe just bought the pregnancy kit to test. I done the test last Thursday and realised it is positive and I cannot even believe my eyes. I went to TB Lim last sat and he confirmed I already in 7 week pregnancy. Another big surprise for me cos I thought was just an inital stage but already coming to 2 months.

My husband said maybe I'm less stressful now and this is the only time I pregnant naturally without medication. EDD date will be 11 Nov very near to my girl cos she borned on 13th Nov.

Baby dust to you all for who are trying.

Dear tweetie,
Yes it is a big courage cos I forgone a high pay job and now my pay is not even half of what I'm getting.

I keep falling sick and the stress and tiredness cannot be describe for my previous job. Can took leave I still need to work from home, I felt like I had no life and like a machine.

I felt very down and get agitated easily, when my girl came to me I always push her away and on TV program for her to watch. It is quite bad for doing that to her but I'm so busy with my work and had no choice. I totally did not have precious time with her cos after a hard day work, I'm feeling extreme tired and I fall sick almost every month or even week.

I thought about it and my husband also support my decision to quit and I quitted and practise my primary school maths and then I was lucky of giving the opportunity to attend the training of sakamoto method and then I also lucky to find some students. I have supported from my ex-collegue too, one of them asked me to teach his son. His son has shown great improvement recently too and some of the kids who I taught really improved alot and I feel more satisifed now.

I also have more time to teach my girl, u know she can recognises lot of words now. For body part she can recognise the words for chinese and english too. She also can recognise words like "milk", "juice" shoes, books etc in english and chinese too. I feel that giving up my full time job is a right choice. If I did not quit the job, she will not learn so much. I prepare lot of slide and doing flash card for her that I had bought from Glenn Doman program and it really help in her memory too.

ruggles, yahhhh we intend to really just get her to do household cleaning, not to take care of the kids unless absolutely necessary. My op ah, try to do it in June unless my hubby gets sent off in May.. then only will have to wait for Dec lor. My gynae says can still wait and see but in the meantime, it's growing.. if it grows too big, it can cause v severe pain. End up emergency op. So might as well do it during school hols where I can plan my days, not having to send Timo to school.

Siew Lei, congrats congrats on your #2! Really miracle baby!
True lah, I was earning good pay but I quit when I was pregnancy with #2 else I think she would have not survived in the stressful womb conditions!

Thanks Catz! Ya think women after having kids, priority is more on kid already. I'm not so ambitious I used to be last time.

Spending precious time with my kids are more importance now and I like to bake and cook so I hope to have more time to cook for my family.

Last year I bake pineapple tarts and give lot of friends and relative all comment is nice and encourage me to sell it next year, ha! I think is difficult cos my no 2 coming...have to stop baking awhile

Siew Lei, yah I've got zero ambitions now.. haha.. it's good that you can coach your girl yourself.. manners-wise, they are also more well-behaved. I get a lot of compliments on how well behaved my kids are.. :p most of the time. Hehe.

Me not the baking type.. hubby said dun waste money 'cos I used to try baking when we lived in the US. All disasters :p Anyway I got no heart to slave away in the kitchen.

Thread became active again!

Siew Lei, congrats congrats!!! I did rem you said stop at 1 coz v stressful. Wow, u really made it this time with no help.

I wonder when my turn will come coz I am trying trying... Just bk fr hols, and dun tink I striked at all coz last mon, juz went for blood test and progesterone levels r still v low at 2 despite on clomid. So prof ask me to up it to 100mg for the nxt cycle.

So nw, I m just waiting to start nxt cycle bah. Nw oredi day 24. Dunno y since day 18, I keep hvg v tight feelg at my lower abdomen area, keep hvg that tugging feelg, until now still like tat. I tot mayb I nvr clear my bowels properly but not true lei.

But test oredi show my prog so low, so i dun tink i strike this time lar.

Really need loads of bb dust now!!!

Sisters, pls pass some to me.....

Siew Lei, I understand where u coming from. If I really quit, I also dunno if I hv the patience to take care of my girl alone or not.

Thanks tweetie. Don't give up and don't be too stressful I'm sure you will have good news soon.

Last week down with bad flu and the bad cough and cause some bleeding and now my gynae want me to bed rest for this week too.

So tired and have no energy to do anything but no choice last week did not give any tuition so this week no matter how have to give as their exam is coming soon next month. Lucky I din take in too much tuition so still can have some rest this few day.

Hopefully this pregnancy can be stable soon

Siew Lei, must rest.. bleeding is no joke!! I had a rough time with 2nd pregnancy too... low placenta, lousy nutrient flow to baby... end up my daughter premature by 2 months

Tweetie, dun stress.. just eat properly, rest well... *baby dust*

My boy hospitalised from Good Fri till today discharge cos high fever due to bronchitis... now my daughter also starting to get sick. Hubby crashed already... got sinusitis... only me ok :p Siannnnn...

Hopefully really hv good news soon! Now is the 1st cycle only, so quite prepared for bad news. Can't imagine if I exhaust all the 6 cycles, what will become of me?

But dun worry, I will try to keep my spirits up. If really down, then I will drop in again and pour all my woes.

Siew Lei, pls take a good rest. BB dun come easy, so dun overexert yourself if you can't make it.

Catz, oh no... hope your boy is feelg well by now. Usually when my girl has all this coughing wheezing issues, I will always apply some eucalyptus or tea tree oil in their bath, seems to help to kill off the virus. You can try actually.

Hi Catz,
My girl also on and off fever due to bronchitis since Jan till now. Have been bringing her to her doctor, the doctor said is due to childcare bugs..he say if we can stop her from going to the childcare for 6 month will be good but cannot leh. My parent will be too tired taking care of her for whole day as she is super active and mischevous

Her doctor now recommend her a lung supplement called " Zaditen" to be take for continuous 6 month until her lung is more stable. Per bottle cost around $45. HOpefully will be better if not I also tired cos she keep taking medication.

Ya trying to rest more now and my gynae has increased my hormones pill to stop the bleeding.

Tweetie reporting that her 1st cycle failed.

Kindda expected it already, so didnt feel so sad as compared to last time when I was trying for no. 1

So now gg on the wonder drug "Clomid" to try again the 2nd time.

Sobz, wonder when is it gg to be my turn?

Tweetie, awww sayang
Clomid should help with the ovulation.. I should know.. got both kids on Clomid. Haha.

Siew Lei, my boy is also on Zaditen for his lungs too. Worthwhile 'cos it's really a v good drug. Also bought a nebuliser since renting so often :p Remember to rest well. Anymore bleeding??

Hi tweetie,
Sorry to hear that. Yes, Clomid is a wonder drug. My 2 boys were clomid babies too. But you know the funny thing, recent research actually says that Clomid actually works via a placebo effect. They say that it actually doesn't greatly incr ovulation. :p whatever it is, oh well still, it's a wonder drug, it worked for us!! :p

The weather's bad these days, we also don't seem to be recovering. the sniffles keep coming on and off. urgh.. my #2 is feverish now as i type.

Hi Tweetie,
Don't worry, I'm sure you will succeed soon. Don't stress up, just relax.

I'm so busy the last week and cause a bit of bleeding again. My girl was hospitalised for high fever, HFMD and bronchits. Her fever went up to 40 degrees. Sent her to Mount Alvernia emergency and immediately they admitted her cos the doctor felt that she was a bit dehydrated .Recently she just refused to drink water. Her conditions seems to be very serious but guess what she still super active can run around at the emergency wards while waiting for her turn. We were later put at the isolation room cause she had HFMD and she still cannot stop moving.

When she was on drip she still can dance on the hospital bed, doctor say she was very fine and the drip help to subside her fever fast!

AFter discharged on last thursday (she admitted on tue) she got diarrhoea on Friday and saturday and then we went to Mount Alvernia again, doctor say she attacked by the same virus from HFMD. Her case was rather unique cos usually diarrhoea should come first. We only send her to the emergency wards on Saturday night cos I cannot stand that she keep pooing, although she din complain on her stomach pain but we all scare she will be dehydrated. She poo around 5 times on Friday and 7 times on Saturday. She still super active therefore we delay a bit on bringing her to see doctor. Yesterday seems to be much better. Is a tiring week for me.

I am having PCOS also. Tried 3 cycles of clomid but no results. Am thinking of doing the ovarian drilling before anything else.

Do you have any good gynae to recommend for this protocol?

Also, I would like to check whether anyone of you having done ovarian drilling and has managed to conceived successfully without going through IVF/IUI?

snow

ruggles, aiyoh is Ferfer better now?

Siew Lei, oh no, HFMD and bronchitis together???? My son was admitted for dehydration from gastroenteritis last year.. horrendous but necessary. I guess if you girl can dance is good news lor. You also better rest since you have bleeding wor.

Winter, welcome! I highly recommend Dr LC Foong, he won't anyhow recommend procedures and he's caring, not money-faced. He's practising at GlenEagles, think there's a thread on him. Sorry I can't help rgd ovarian drilling 'cos clomid worked for me both times round. I believe you have not exhausted all your drug options yet before having to resort to surgery. There's still metformin plus clomid or PUregon jabs.

Hi winter,
Welcome! Sorry can't help you much cos my babies were clomid babies too.

catz,
fer's fever went away on sunday le. classic viral infection with the temp fluctuation up and down even with paracetamol. went as high as 39++ on sat night. now he's having the post viral rash. the only thing that stayed with him is the grouchiness that came with the fever. *blah* every little thing now also whine and cry.

now it's kieran;s turn. he's been having LS yday and just now, with/o much warning, puked right into his Daddy's face and all over the sheets and blankets. Had to do major laundry at 10pm at night. still got 2 loads to go. urgh..

Hi Catz, Ruggles!

Thanks alot for your input though. So envious of you two conceiving successfully via clomid

winter

Winter, no need to be envious. Actually my sis went through 4 rounds of SO-IUI to conceive. I gave her the daily Puregon jabs.. but thankfully she conceived in the end.

ruggles, alamak.. I just paid a visit to SBCC MAMC too. Both kids still coughing. Argh. Poor Fer.. I find boy shave damn high fevers. And poor poor Kieran!!!

catz, i think it should be poor poor daddy.. haha.. the daddy is still quite upset over the kenna puked face on!!

winter,
no need to be lah.. i know of people who stop all treatment and then suddenly conceive. I think singaporeans are just too stressed. so just keep heart and stay positive.

Hi Ruggles,
Hope your boys will be okay soon. U take care. Poor daddy.

Hi Winter,
Did your gynae do any checking for u? I have a friend her menses is very regular but she just very difficult to conceive. She tried taking chinese medication and western like clomid also cannot conceive but later she went to my previous gynae and discovered that her 2 tubes were stuck. If such cases happened, minor operation will need. She now has 1 baby boy.

Sometimes can also due to stress, this time I conceive naturally without any medication, I think partly because I'm less stressful now and this is a miracle baby to me. The first 1 I go thru chinese and western medication treatment still cannot conceive naturally, at the end I have to do IUI and then conceived. I also have friend taking clomid, doing IUI fail but later conceive on her own.

There are quite a few of good gynaes around in Singapore whether is Dr LC Foong or my previous gynae Dr Charles MP lim, most importantly you choose the one you are comfortable with.

Just do let u know Dr Charles MP lim from Mount E is now only specialised in fertility treatment and no more doing delivery so if you are pregnant he will follow u for the 1st trimester and then recommend you to Dr TB Lim for delivery.

Now my second child, I'm with Dr TB lim and he is a very nice gynae too

ruggles, haha.. I've been puked and pooped on. Men just take it more personally
Are the boys better today?

Winter, agreed with ruggles. It's actually a lot to do with stress... my gynae had said ours was pretty much a hopeless case but when we were in the US on posting, we conceived on first cycle of Clomid. Think everyone was v relaxed.

Siew Lei, your girl better now??

Hi Catz,
Thanks she is much better now, will go for a review again on this coming Saturday. Mainly is more for her bronchitis that I'm more worried. I have asthma so very scared if her bronchitis dread for long time it can become asthma.

Hi Catz, Siew Lei and ruggles,

Thanks for your useful information! Doc suggested me doing the fallopian check but i had cold feet and cancel the appointment at the very last minute.

My next appointment with my gynae (Dr. Fong Yang) is next week. i am thinking to ask Dr. Fong to let me try metformin + clomid for a few cycles (three?)and see how.

Once again, appreciate your encouragement and help. God bless you all.

Snow

Winter, yes do give the metformin 'cos a few girls here conceived on metformin + clomid. Just go ahead and do the fallopian check lah, save yourself mental torture of wondering why TTC fails everytime
Take care and baby dust to you! THERE IS HOPE!

Oh HFMD is no joke, hope all your little darlings should hv recovered by now. Most imptantly is keep hydrated. Brid always gets into bouts of cough every now and then. Cant target to zoom in the reason but when I tried to pump Vit C, the cough went away. Mayb mommies can try to offer Vit C and other multi Vits to strengthen immunity.

Catz, Ruggs, Siew Lei,

Yeah, sad being sad but have to move on. Now starting my 2nd cycle and guess what, I became so forgetful that I forgot to take clomid on one of the days. Now I seriously hv no idea if this cycle is gg to go thru or not.

How many clomid cycles did u try to conceive? This is my 2nd cycle. So if it doesnt work out this time round, I prob hv to upgrade to something else. Somehow I really dun feel hopeful also.

Hope to catch the baby dust from all of you.

Winter, u can check with yr gynae and ask him if u can try metformin or not.

Tweetie, aiyoh sayang.. if you take it ASAP it should be OK? For me, erm, I conceived on cycle 1 :p But I have quite a few friends who conceived on their final cycle 6! My sis did 6 cycles clomid then proceeded to four cycles of Puregon jabs until she struck with IUI. So it really depends.. just try to not stress about it.. and erm, if you can orgasm when you babydance, i think it definitely helps in striking bingo.

Hi Tweetie and Snow,
For my 1st baby, I think I on clomid + metformin for a few cycle but did not strike also. Then try IUI and the jab then strike. I feel that when time is right, it will come so don't be too stress out!

Take care and baby dust to u all, most importantly eat right and have sufficient rest

Catz, I called gynae and he say doesnt matter juz continue to tk until finish. Whether it works or not, juz leave it to fate.
Haha... i try to really get into it when we BD, most of the time got O lar, if not, not enjoyable liao. :p

Siew Lei,
Hope I will get good news for this coming cycle bah. If not, juz gotta keep trying... but sometimes hor, it becomes a chore and very tiring.

Hee...hee.... caught yr bb dust.

Tweetie

HI Tweetie,
I have a friend last time also had the same feeling like yours, she said it was so tiring and don't enjoy anymore cos it becomes a chore. When she really gave up and start to enjoy and relax, she then get pregnant without realising it.

I think the main thing is stress. For e.g my case it is so stressful trying to conceive for my 1st one. I also try so many time until both my husband and I feel so tired already. I decided to try on IUI and lucky I strike for that if not think will give up.

This time the 2nd 1, I never think or prepare to get pregnant and just enjoy and then surprise comes. Maybe sometimes is good to forget about baby making just enjoy the time to be with your husband.

hey ladies
wasnt aware that this thread is active again.

seems like a few kids fell sick recently, hopefully all are well now.

tweetie
dun stress..u are only in cycle 2. when i was taking clmoid + metformine in cycle 3 after miscarriage, i didnt manage to ovulate earlier. i was going to give up and strike without knowing on Day 45 after my mense. miracle isnt it?

been taking clmoid and metformine for 3 cycles, still ovulated late and had to use ovulation strips to find out when i ovulate, tried without success. gynae said next step is SO-IUI. i discussed with hubby and decided to try naturally. no rush. if one kid, then be it. i may try chinese med like what i did when i try #1 and see how it goes.

wish us luck

oh siew lei
congrats! ya people always say its easier to strike when you are are not planning for it!

Siew Lei,
Yeah, my #1 was unexpected also. We really gave up and was abt to proceed to SO-IUI but found out abt the good news abt we came bk from a trip.

Hmmm... I guess I hv to let go a little more and try not to hv any expectation. Then things will be easier.

thewife, both of us in the same boat. Haha, mayb who knows we strike ard the same time.

Btw, hw long is yr cycle when u tk both med? Mine is abt avg 40. I dun tink I ovulated during cycle 1 coz progesterone on CD22 is v low still.

Lotsa bb dust to u too!!!

So true about striking unexpectedly

babydust to everyone who is TRYING.. hehe.. I no need anymore.. 2 is ENOUGH! Keke.

Hey Tweetie
my gynae didnt check my progesterone level after i ovulated. basically i just take the pills and go back to scan my egges around DPO18 but it never happens. with the pills, my ovulation occurs from DPO18 to DPO45...even when i had my #1, it was not the typical DPO14/15 like normal women :p

my hubby's work is stressful, i can't command him to return home on days i suspect Im going to ovulate. oh and with metformin, i'd diarrhea, so i gave up on it.

someone mentioned Gynae LC Loong? is he good?

Hi thewife,

My gynae checked my prog levels. This cycle is my 2nd one and juz gotten the results. Still v low, nvr even gone up despite increasing clomid to 100mg. Sigh....
nw he wants to send me for full hormone profile test and then tell me what he plans to do nxt. A/w, prior to striking no. 1, my hormone profile test v bad results also, in post menopausal stage... So I m not really surprised its the same also.

Yeah, with PCOS, v hard to track Ovulation. I tried for cycle 1 but didnt try for cycle 2 coz not motivated to push on when i know that results r not gd. I guess I hv to be more diligent in my nxt cycleand use the O strips.

I u/s, my HB used to wk v late also. But since change job, didnt get better coz he can bring work home to do. So end up, didnt mk a lot of diff except if its time to BD. Its easier. Hee...hee...How's yr HB's SA? Is it ok? If ok, actually chances will be much higher.

A lot of mommies go to L C Foong, he is reputed to be gd. Also Siew Lei went to Charles Lim which I heard gd also esp for infertility. I didn't opt for private gynae now, coz tot i might go further to adv treatment like IVF, then at least can hv some subsidy since I m with NUH. If really no progress, then I proceed to c private gynaes.

thewife, yes LC Foong is really good. He is so nice and such a gentleman, not to mention his treatment is really good BUT he is pricey lah.

Tweetie, aiyah, can try for Puregon jabs?

hey ladies
I've been feeling feverish lately...temperature ranges from 36.8-37.00

the last time we done it was on 1st May evening. told hubby its not for baby-making cos i didnt test my ovulation kit, and its been 2months plus since my last mense so i kinda gave up testing and trying.

on 3rd May morning, i had a darker positive line on my ovulation kit. so i told myself...oh so we done it before i was fertile. my mense is still not here till today.
I've no courage to test.

thewife, isn't raised BBT a sign of successful fertilisation? Test lah..

Tweetie, Puregon is the better version of Clomid but it's injection-based. You gotta buy the Puregon pen and each month the Puregon is a few hundred... BUT it's way more effective than Clomid. Worked wonders for my sister. That's what they use for ppl doing IVF or SO-IUI.

ladies i tested. Its positive. Just felt thirsty and cant eat too much. A bit worried because not many symptoms. Hope this bb sticks. We were in pleasant shock. I took 200mg of clomid this cycle but did not ovulate. Wanted to see chinese doc after this cycle but i strike at cd70plus. Thank god.

Hi thewife,
Congratulation. Yes you feeling feverish is already a sign. I have that this year too and thought is falling sick and do not know actually pregnant. So happy for you so will be 2010 baby right, near to CNY???

hey siew lei
im also feeling thirsty and burp a little after meals, and slight cramp as well.

yes, it should be around 3rd week of Jan, before CNY. i thought i cannot make it for the year of bull, who knows when i found out CNY falls on Valentine's Day next year!

is yours a Dec baby? come to think of it, i also announced after you when we had our #1!

thewife,

Shoud be a BFP la. So happy for you.

Am I gg to next??? Eagering and Hoping I will be reporting nxt also. Envy.....

Catz,

Thanks, mayb tats the nxt course of action my gynae will adopt bah. Lately no mood to work. Stopped BD - ing like after CD25, now at CD35... temp still high.... keepg fingers crossed it wont drop even tho report shows no ovulation.

Hi thewife,
Ya, I remember that, you are after me.

Mine is novermber baby EDD on 11 Nov and my girl was borned on 13 Nov 2006, hopefully this can delay 2 days and fall on the same day as my girl heee...

Guess what! My sister's wedding anniversary is on 11 Nov and mine is on 8th Nov, all fall in Nov month

Hi Tweetie,
Yes trust me your turn will be soon and don't worry so much