PCOS patient and trying to conceive, pls share experience here.

Siew Lei, Catz,

Sad to say, I didn't make it for the appt coz happen tat day, my girl fell sick. I really wonder is it destined not to c Dr Foong.

I had a discussion w hubby and we decided to juz go for the surgery actually, partly also coz I feel comfortable with this gynae. And I dunno why I just feel I dun want to waste any more time. So surgery will be nxt mth. I shall c how it goes from there.

Siew Lei, tat's fast.... u must be counting down.

thewife, princesses.... well...for some consolation, u hv another one, so girl boy also same rite? Can save $$ somemore, no nid to buy extra set of clothes :p

Nw i m only counting down to my ovarian drilling surgery only. Hoping its not as painful as I imagine to be.

Hi thewife,
Ya is okay to have 2 princess cos your elder one will have a playmate and more thing to share with her sister. Actually I hope to have 2 girls. As my girl actually ask for sister. I have been hunting new born clothes for my coming prince and luckily to get some from my tuition kid's mother.

Hi Tweetie,
Be positive, I'm sure you will make it this time and baby dust to you. Remember to relax and don't think too much.

Long time since i posted on this forum. Having suffered PCOS for years and subsequently doing two IVFs and still fail. I am on my way to give a try at IVF again.

I'm here to share this news with ppl with PCOS and weight problem. There are some ppl with PCOS that are overweight and normally will have irregular menses (like me). This make conceiving difficult and also difficult to lose weight.

I like to share that recently after doing a special diet programme - no hunger involved. I finally managed to lose weight (5kg in about 2-3 weeks) however thats not whats amazing. What amazing is that after 1 week of starting this diet my menses came (My menses was very irregular - twice a year)

Hence i like to share that for ppl with above symptons like me...losing weight the proper way is essential and can increase our chances on conceiving

Good luck.

I am relatively new to PCOS. found out in Jul this year. On metformin/500mg once a day and just started 1st cycle of Clomid/50mg today. yea, finally my AF came. seems like there aren't any entries from a newly pcos-ers like myself. was definitely disturbed when i learnt of my condition in jul and upfront my gynae told me to go for the op - Laparoscopy if i failed to conceive after 3 cycles of clomid. felt pretty upset cos like she din give me any other options like increasing dosage. i will b gg for a 2nd opinion (most probably Dr Fong Yang) if no successful stories to share after my 3cycles!

fond
i only managed to lose 3kg since i started metformin. yes, indeed very hard to lose weight. could you be able to share the special diet programme? pm me if you can! tks alot!

btw, what does MS mean?
so happy to hear many successful stories from pcos-ers here!

The thread is getting very quiet recently. BTW i am now at 33wk already. Hope to give birth around 39wk cos too tired and my backache is getting worst. Somemore insomnia sigh!!

Hi Tweetie, thewife and catz how are all of you now?

i am new to PCOS...jus gotta knw recently whn my period non stop after preterm labour 3 mths ago!!so doc found out i am PCOS n hard to ovulate n i am jus lucky prev time to pregnant but too bad it does not get thru...now doc start me to clomid...i heard some say v might b higher chance of cancer is tat true??my doc keep say v jus might b higher chance of twin o triplet!!any oter side effect??some say headache etc...wil i gain weight??i am super scare of gain weight...btw, doc said i am not fat thus, no point of losing weight to cure PCOS as i am skinny!!haiz...need advice...

Hi sweetie,
Don't worry so much. I took clomid before for my 1st pregnancy and it help to regular my mens and I got pregnant too. Don't think have any serious side effect of having higher chance of cancer. Don't think so much okay

how many cycle did u take for clomid n u get pregnant??after pregnancy is yr menses regulate??i jus had preterm labour 3 mths ago...u tink its time to b pregnant again??some say i wil get higher chance of preterm o miscarriage again!!i donwan...haiz.......

Hihi Siew Lei, yeah sorry no time to post.. hubby is outstation for a year and the kids just got gastric flu.. Beth's fever was ultra high today - 40.5 deg! Horrible lah..

sweetie, I'm so sorry to hear about your preterm labour. Clomid worked for my two pregnancies.. and of course there is heightened risk that's why no doctor will prescribe more than 6 cycles of Clomid in a row. There is higher chance of multiple pregnancy but that's if you're very very responsive to Clomid. Dun worry so much ya?

If you had preterm labour, then do make sure you are in good health before trying to TTC again.. body needs some time to recuperate although I have q a few friends who conceived successfully to term after miscarriage.. myself included

hi catz, wat shld i do to hav good health...m pretty blur case...hehe...
wat i do is i drink dom/yomeishu every ntie...thn on n off wif dang gui...n oso bak fong pill...tats all ler...anyting else to take note??its edi 3 mths...i donfeel like waiting to long as i am edi 28 yrs old..i wan to hav bb b4 30 n stop!!hehe...

I am finally back online.

Finally went for the surgery in Sept but got into complication due to invasive internal bleeding of pelvic wall, so in the end, from keyhole to major op in order to stop bleeding, warded for 3 nites.

My dr did explain to me what happened but he didn't tell me why suddenly there was such bleeding. So not sure who's fault is it or perhaps its juz fate that its prob meant to be. He only reassured me that nothing in the system is damaged and objective has been achieved.

After surgery to now is a mth, still recovering from the wound, at times, feels painful and numb ard the area. My period hasn't come yet which I am not sure why. Again, he wants to induce me with Provera and start clomid 100mg.

Its only a mth and I feel like as if I have gone thru a big ordeal like tat and still recovering from the shock or worrying if my system is really back to normal.

Oh, despite of all this, I still manage to fly down to AU to visit my hubby, with the child alone. SQ was really nice when I requested for special assistance.
Didn't really enjoy my trip there but I had a gd rest there.

Siew Lei, hv u popped?

Tweetie
sorry to hear about that! dun think too much, most important task now is to take care of your health and rest more.

Catz
your hubby is in overseas for a year? how are u going to cope with the 2 kids?

Siew Lei
how heavy is your prince now? which hospital will u be delivering at?

thewife,
I m ok, taking the nxt 3mths to rest and recover fully before I ttc no. 2. Hv to let wound heal completely.

Hw abt u? Shd be in 3rd tri now rite? How's everything?

I tink Siew Lei popped oredi, saw in her FB. Charming prince.

Hi Tweetie and thewife,
I not yet popped
Now 38wk, gynae say he still happy inside maybe another week. Now my prince is 3kg.

Once I pop will update u gals.

Both of u take care okay

HI Gals,
I had met the nurse coordinator from Scbb to donate my cord blood and I'm glad I had made this decision on time. I hope to spread this message here of the importance of donating your baby cord blood to public rather than bank it in private bank.

It is not advisable for u to bank your own baby's cord blood and keep for own use cos If the kid suffer from blood disorder diseases like leukaemia, the cord blood that he had banked has already contain some pre-leukamia cell in it and therefore it is always not advisable for him to use it. In the end he still need to find from public bank to get the stem cell that match. Stem cell and bone marrow is different, it don't need 100% match. To keep for the sibling to use the match is only 25% too so the rate of using on your own kids is very remote and the cost of maintenance is also very high.

The lady screen me thru lot of medical history and also even if I have donated the cord blood doesn't mean they will accept it, they will need to test to make sure it meet certain criterias before they can bank it. If it is not met, it will need to be discarded. She told me the discarded rate is also very high. So far since they set up in 2005, they only have 5000 cord blood that can be banked and have saved 39 lives including the bubble boy. That's why they need lot of people to support for the donation

I hope u read the below articles to have a better understanding. I strongly encourage any mummies who are pregnant will step out for donation of your baby's cord blood to scbb. Here is the contact: http://www.scbb.com.sg/4_contactus.html

Articles for u to read:

http://www.scbb.com.sg/images/newsarticles/2007/Pg%205%20Lianhe%20ZB%2029%20May.jpg
http://www.scbb.com.sg/images/newsarticles/2008/october/ST_25Oct2008.pdf
http://www.scbb.com.sg/images/newsarticles/2007/Pg%205%20LHZB%2029%20May.jpg

it seems that the thread stopped since Nov 09. Today is the first day of 2010. Hopefully everyone is still around. Happy New Year.

Hi Tweetie,
I read that you went for an ovarian op. Could you share with me how can this help to eliminate PCOS?
My blood test report has showed that LH is higher than FSH. This results indicated PCOS. I was taking TCM for 6 months until recently, chinese gynae has declared that my body is not absorbing the TCM anymore. HB's SA is not good too... does any one of you have this similar situation as I?

Happy new year!!!

Start of the new year to receive call from prof that my prog levels are v good. So marks a good start for me, hv to keep trying...

Today is CD26, normally when do we start to have pre-preg symptoms? I really hope can strike this time round.

How's everyone? Any updates?

Sunstillshines, ovarian drilling helps to release the eggs from the ovaries more easily after puncturing some holes ard the ovaries since our problem is caused by thick lining ard the ovaries that dun allow to eggs to be released and remain in the ovaries, tats y u c it like as if it is a string of pearls thru the u/s scan.

I tink most of us in this thread got same problem as u. HB's SA poor, and us PCOS. So dun fret, juz keep trying.

Tweetie, recently, according to my scan report, the gynae did not say that I am a PCOS... However, I do have the symptoms of PCOS like higher LH than FSH.

I heard that having good mood is a pre-preg symptoms as the hormones change.

The chinese doctor which I am seeing said that my eggs are smaller than normal. Did anyone of you heard of this kind of problem?

Anyone of your HB has high FSH? What did you all do to keep it down?

Sorry busy and forget to check the thread, I have given birth to my baby boy on nov 13 and the date is the same as my girl

Now busy, find noone to look after my boy so stop my tuition and now SAHM and busy with everyday routine

U gals take care and baby dust to u all, hope to hear good news from you gals soon

Hi Siew Lei,

Congrats and so lucky, now u no need to think of, juz combine 2 into 1 birthday celebration. Best of all is one boy and one girl, perfect scene isnt it?

Oh, I am still waiting for my day. Period just came,

Sunstillshines, I am not sure abt HB hving high FSH coz so far, he is not required to go for any blood test.

Hihi everyone,

Siew Lei, congrats on your baby boy.. wow, two babies on the same date! My auntie also got her two boys exactly two years apart.. so zun!

sunstillshines, sorry I didn't get my hormone level tested since I'm clearly PCOS from the ultrasound.. but Clomid helped me conceive twice.

Tweetie, aiyah, just take it easy k? Rest more.. try not to think too much.

Hi all, new to this thread!

Just discovered today that I have PCOS. Quite sad although not surprised since i went to doc cos of my irregular periods, but i dont have any other PCOS systems (rather slim, no acne, not hairy too..)

Started TTC last month but decided to go to doc cos i alrdy have prob with my period so wanted to find out quickly whats wrong with me. After the vaginal ultrasound, he prescribed me 50mg Clomid to eat during next period..

Does clomid really help in conceiving? I wonder in my case how effective it will be and what will be the alternatives if not useful for me...maybe u all can share your experiences? feeling really low n helpless now so some advice will really help!!

Siew Lei & Catz, how I envy you.... how long did you TTC that you got your first and second child?
I am going to be 38.... hb is going to be 40... I really don't know how much eggs I still have and hb is still trying v hard to improve and increase the swimmers....
My friends' children are now schooling in primary school and yet I am still trying...

Tweetie, I even thought of adoption. But I wonder what will my neighbours going to gossip and how will this affect the child if I continue to stay in the same place. Or perhaps I should adopt a dog...

Hi jj
Welcome here.

What I understand is that clomid can help to increase the size of the eggs. However, I read of reports that we cannot take more than certain cycle of clomids as it will be harmful to our body. (Hi, Siew Lei, am I right?)

Hi sunstillshines

Dont fret, lets try hard together. Maybe 2010 is the yr?

sounds like u got married and started ttc later than your frenz, so cant really compare also mah... if they married young, chances r that they will have school going kids?

clomid can only take 3-6 cycles. beyond that, will increase risk of ovarian cancer, although i knw clomid is a non prescriptive drug in the US, and ppl basically just buy it like an off the counter drug and eat it up to one yr. but singapore docs r more careful in that sense...

if clomid doesnt help, usually ppl consume it with metformin (i think) or some use injectibles.
the best is the body responds to clomid la...which is what i m praying for...o/w more troublesome lor ...

hey gals,

i am on clomid 2nd cycle now with increased dosage. Today is already CD7, and i am having spotting now with some cramps also.

is this normal? or anything wrong with me?

Hi Catz,

Are you feeling better or not? How are the 2 kids? Must be tough coping alone, I guess. Hang in there, should get better.

Haiz, I am trying to take it easy now, nothing much I can do when my HB is not in town also. Skipping this cycle of clomid until he is back.

Btw, I ovulated at CD16 with clomid 100mg, any new tips to share with me how you bingo with clomid for both kids? I stopped BBT quite some time coz not accurate since I hv to attend to my princess who wakes up freq at nite eversince being enrolled to CC.

hi, can i join this discussion too? diagnosed with PCOS and possibly polyps! doc suggested me to do ovarian drilling and laproscropy to confirm the presence of polyps.

Anyone has done ovarian drilling before? anyone has polyps history please share your experience with me....many thanks!

snow

in April 09, i got married and took a contraceptive jab (the three months jab).

my menses came in early June and that was it. Until i couldn`t take it anymore and visited the Gynae in late October. I was given Provera to induced menses followed by Clomid.

1st try - 50mg - unsuccessful.(not ovulating at all)

Went for 2nd try - 100mg - unsuccessful (not ovulating at all)

I was diagnosed with PCOS too.

SO now i stopped all kinds of drugs.

Strangely, my period came in January 2010, naturally!

We are still trying to get pregnant without giving up.

I`m still confused on who to seek or what to do. So currently hubby n i are taking things easy without thinking abt having a baby.

But no matter what i cannot stop myself from thinking of having one..

Help, anyone? where do i go from here?

Hi pechomuchacha

I am facing same situation as you.
I was diagnosed with PCOS in 2008 and given metformin to regulate mense.

PCOS condition improved and am trying to conceive with clomid pills.

When I see couple with babies, really envy them and hope we can be like them.

Recently I followed my hubby to the US for his job posting. Hopefully the new environment will do us good and we can have our baby soon.

I am also trying to adapt to the new environment first and not think too much so that there is less stress.

Try to relax and perhaps have some quiet time with your hubby.

And most importantly take care of your body.
I am trying to build up my body as I find myself underweight and thin which could be the reason why I am still not preggy since my constitution is weak.

Hopefully it will improve.

Take care...

Ricwife

Hi Ricwife,

i am new in this thread.
i do have PCOS in 2008 and i had taken a alot of chinese herbs but seem no use to me.

Anyway, have you got any good news to share?

I am not sure whether I have PCOS as I am not able to ovulate although reqular menses. Very upset when found out.
Now trying clomid. Doc oso ask me to shed some wgts at the same time.

I am in dilemma now. I tried 200mg clomid last month and supposedly to have menses 1 week ago. However till now, there is no AF yet. So, i went to try the pregnancy kit but it was negative.

So, what should i do now? Continue to wait for my menses or should i see my gynae about this?

Thanks for your help...

snow

Hi, just wanna share my story here.

I was also diagnosed with pcos, and I have irregular periods like every 50 days or so. And in 2008 and early this year, I had menses continuously for 2 mths (anyone pcos and exp the same thing??), stopping for 2 times in between but only one week each. The first time this happened, doc did a d&c... The 2nd time, doc says it's because of my pcos, prescribed me with some med to control the menses and at same time advised me to go for ivf cos I have already gone thru about 8 cycles of clomid...

Actually thru out the 2 yrs, doc has always prescribed me with metformin and clomid but I didn't take metformin everyday cos I keep forgeting and didn't think it was impt. So after this second time that I have continuous menses, I took metformin regularly and I felt better (better mood, hormone seems more in control) and I got preggy!!! So I concluded I should have trusted the doc and take metformin faithfully.....

But sad to say, I miscarried in week 6, I know that pcos pp tend to have higher chance of miscarriage.... I am sad but I don't wanna give up yet. So I try to read the threads about pp who are pcos and yet conceived and given birth to healthy babies! I am taking Chinese med to bu my body first..... I can't say for sure I can conceive again.... But let us all encourage each other to try ;)

Dear littlefren,

thanks for your suggestion. Unfortunately the test was negative and my menses came. I am trying my first cycle of IUI now. Did your doc ask you to try IUI first prior to IVF?

yeah, let's encourage each other to try. Baby dust to all...

snow

here are some reference books that helped me to conceived my two lovely twins. Now selling off as i don't need them any more.

Most are 50% off retail price. Condition of books are 8/10, with some highlight.

1) 3 Steps to Fertility - $20

2) Fertility & Conception - $20

3) Zita West’s Guide to getting pregnant - $22

4) Taking Charge of your Fertility – 10th Anniversary Edition - $25

5) What your doctor may not tell you about getting pregnant - $13

6) The Fastest way to get pregnant naturally - $13

7) Chinese book: 中医治疗不孕不育 - $9
Written by Dr Xia Rong from Yu Ean Sheng

All books inclusive of normal mail. But if purchase more than one, depends on weight, if exceed 2kg, please self collect from Punggol.

Pls PM me to deal, as i don't frequent the forum. Thank you.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/4272272.html?1279873094

Hi Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum and has been looking around for information on PCOS. I have been a long-term PCOS patient and is well aware of my conditions. I was having treatment with NUH for a long time. And because of the condition I have decided to heel doc advice to try to have a baby early dispite job related inconvenience. Recently, I am trying for a baby and was advice by NUH doc to take clomid. The disadvantage of this is that I will have to go for scanning once or twice a week, which my work schedule does not permit. And NUH does not have evening nor sat clinic for this. My Question is, by having clomid and to do twice weekly scan, can I get any private gynea outside to do the all this procedure or do I need a certified IVF gynea to do so? Anyone had similar experience before? And gynea to recommend?

4521634.jpg

RP$33
Selling $9 (incl normal postage)
Condition 7/10 (due to yellow spots on the front and back few pages, otherwise the condition is ok)

PM me if keen.

Hi Crystal,

It is indeed very inconvenient to go for scanning once or twice especially when the NUH clinic does not operate after evening and on weekends.

I can recommend my gynae to you. You can see him after work. For my case, normally I visit him after my work cos of work schedule but you'll need to make prior appointment.

Do let me know if you need my gynae contact.

hello all...

i just went to see gynae yesterday. found out i have PCOS. have been trying to conceive for a year. no wonder no results yet cos of PCOS.

Ricwife (ricwife)

Hi Hi, I am currently under going clomid treatment back in NUH. Thank you Ricwife for your offer. I will check with you if there is a need to change doc. I have a bad encounter with one woman's clinic in AMK with specialised in fertility.

I have been diagnosed with PCOS and the scans of my ovaries shows alot of "bubbles" cysts around 6-8 on each ovary
Just been prescribed with Clomid 2 tabs a day 2-5days for 2 cycles
Tried Metforim for a week mths back but it caused my period to to last for 10days of bleeding.

If Clomid doesn't work i wld have to do laproscopy
But the qn in my mind is shld i do laproscopy as i wonder if i don't will the cysts accumulate and will i have ovarian cancer in future?

I just have to share my story..

Started off with natural trying since late 2006.
After a year or so...went to gynae and put on clomid i think up till 8 cycles before I gave.
Clomid was horrible for me. put on weight and emotional roller coaster.

I was diagnosed by TCM as having PCOS some few years ago. Said my eggs were not very healthy etc
Tried acupuncture for a while from another tcm, mentioned womb weak and poor eggs. Even husband's swimmers were not in good condition.
Was told i have low progesterone as well some years ago.

Tried once IUI under DR Foong Yong in 2008 i think. went for HSG which is normal. Both of us cldnt handle the stress of all the strict procedures.
BY chance we came across a 3rd TCM whom we felt most comfy with.We just mentioned our issue. He said he wldn't see us unless we tried for more than 3 years naturally. He also advised us against any IVF/clomid usage/injections for hormones etc which we didnt want to be subjected to as well. he also said my husband swimmer's were among the best, excpet maybe not as well shaped. that's minor issue only. Contradicting what the other 2 said.
We decided we would try our best on our own naturally.
But didnt really do much work on it actually and pretty much kept ourselves positive all the time
Encouraged each other along the way.

Last year in June, my hb suddenly became a weight lifting fanatic.. changed diet to a paleo one n lifestyle as well. Being his wife, i changed too , increased my yoga sessions to 5-7 times a week plus changed diets as well.
Plus i increased my meditation intensity as well .Our whole lives practically changed since last June. Somehow I happen to come across a progessence serum around same time too, finished one and half bottles of it by dec.
Miracally I discovered myself pregnant in late January , was about 6weeks by then.
It was really a miracle. I think it was everything we did altogether.
I dont know is it good that i have almost zero ms.Particularly active/basically in tip top condition.

Stil counting my blessings everyday!
Reaching first trimester .

Miracles do happen. Believe it!! You can really creat what you want