(2013/11) November 2013

gwen, I'm in the same situation. breech position during my last visit at wk34. I did a youtube search and found a video that teach how to encourage the bb to move head down as I really want to go natural. I did the exercise for a week and also tried to sit as per the video. I also tried to shine a torch light down under & talked to the bb to move his head down towards the light. I really hope it helps. You may want to watch the video here

Thank you girl for your share! It is really good information! I think I will start doing the exercises tonight! LOL :D

littleprince, i tink dun dye ur hair ba cos of the chemical but i noe some mummies still go dye hair using some natural safe hair dye. I tink i read much earlier post before. Forgot who did it.

U noe wat? Im eating RICE for my breakfast!! Didnt finished all e rice, still left 1/4. But hope can tahan long. Cos im going to client place again this morning without my manager. Hope this job can end asap man.

Mumagain, woo! way to go! Hope e CEO will give u something tt is fair n reasonable. I tink the CEO shld close this thing in a mutually agreed way lo. I dun tink he wan his company to be "famous"....

re: circumcision
I tink abt tt before but i doubt my hubby will agree with it. So i will jus forget abt it.

re: leg swollen
My whole legs & ankles suddenly got swollen after lunch yesterday! And i have difficulties walking...like elephant leg.. so heavy n tight lo my legs. At night, i asked my hubby to massage my legs but still doesnt help much. My legs still so light & thick skin kind. How to reduce the swollen? I nv eat anything different yst. Dnuno y suddenly swollen....

Hi Morning, pop in to greet all mummies Good morning before gearing up to work. Counting down to Oct for my AL and ML.
Anyone taking full 4 mths ML? This week and nxt having bb fair. Believe all mummies will cheong to do last min shopping. Enjoy! :)
Fuzzybear, I aslo hope my boy can adapt leh but he siao siao type. sometimes ok sometimes not.
Can we start coconut after wk34?

pinky, then will probably need to survive with my hair for as long as i cont'd bfg? :(

circumcision - my nephew went through it in Jun this year (he is 6yo) coz he is very prone to infection. but the wound healed in 2-3 days so recovery was quite quick with some discomfort.

snakebb, i am starting my ML as late as possible and will likely take 4 mths ML at one shot coz i want to spend as much time at home with baby as possible (the younger they are, the more vulnerable they are). after i return to work, helper will take care of baby so by returning to work later, it will be easier for helper to cope with her too. but will need to see abt work too coz we hv an impt audit next year which i need to be involved.

good morning mummies...

blessedmum, outsource your job scope cheaper than hired you?? what kind of CO is this? Hope the CEO will be able to give you a reasonable package.
Maybe even think twice on the outsourcing. I think If I were to leave my co, my accts dept will sit down with me too... hahaha... cos all my stuff different from others... have to explain to them everytime I did something...

Little prince, you can dye your hair during bfg but the first pump gotta throw... unless you using natural dye like hyena etc...
Hope your helper will be on automation mode soon. Just give both yourself time. She quite honest lah... at least called u and even lock up your room.
I'm still thinking if I should install camera lor since she will be in my mum pl during the day time....
guess only time she alone at my pl might be on a sat.

After reading your OGTT test at TMC, then I realized that they actually do the finger pricking tests for the drink too?
at NUH, they actually draw a test tube of blood before you start drinking... after 2 hours, then draw 2 tubes of blood again...
Result will only be out over the next 2 days.
I muz control my weight gain too else Gynae will be asking me to do another OGTT test. Now she say we shall monitor and see how...
Praying hard.

Attigal, hope your boy gets well soon and his cousins have strong immune system... Not your fault so dun worry...
dun feel bad since you dun forsee your boy has the virus in him too...

Snakebb, you will clear AL and follow by ML all the way?

Talkin abt circumcision, my hubby only suggested for #1 after we discharged from Hospital.
Guess for #2, we will do it when #1 is 7 and #2 is 4 bah... at least of a sensible age...
was told by hubby is cleaner and not prone to infection etc..

Hi Morning, pop in to greet all mummies Good morning before gearing up to work. Counting down to Oct for my AL and ML.
Anyone taking full 4 mths ML? This week and nxt having bb fair. Believe all mummies will cheong to do last min shopping. Enjoy! :)
Fuzzybear, I aslo hope my boy can adapt leh but he siao siao type. sometimes ok sometimes not.
Can we start coconut after wk34?
I starting taking coconut water since 2 weeks ago, when I was 32 weeks, weather too hot, needed something cooling

gelobean, your colleague is alcoholic ah? 5 bottles of brandy?
I got a small bottle of dom also cant finished.... guess she really soak herself in alcohol and herbs everyday.... ahahaha

Gd morning.

Gwen, no i think the doc that delivered ur SIL and BIL (hahaha not give birth!) is probably Dr Fong, also at Glen E. My doc is really young! he only went into the private sector in 1997 i think. before that he was in England. And he is pretty low key. have not read any articles that interviewed him. I made a mistake too.. apparently there are only 46 OBs in SG that can do IVF!

Ankh, hahaha u so funny! i think his accent has put off some SG moms cos they find him pretentious. :p but i still think he is a fab doc.. he just knows how to behave in such a way that it eases u.. my BFF is starting IVF with him.. initially her MCP hb dun allow her to see male gynae but after meeting Dr Foong, he said that Dr F was the best doc ever! Haiyoh, we are talking abt exams now? I still haven't solve my P1 registration headache.

Tequila, ur bb's weight seems ok leh.. i find it so strange that all ur OBs are asking u guys to go for GD test when ur bbs seem to be of ok weight! mine was 1.86kg at 29.5wks and my doc says its ok.. anyway gd luck! the residual u saw is prob the oil from the food that got stuck when it is cooled. overall the food is quite decent right? with my expensive delivery i m thinking to just save the money and go for the cheapest confinement food caterer i can find.

Blessmum, u check with ur gynae ok? because incisions are needed to cut ur tubes.. but i did read that there are different methods to do it. may be ur gynae will allow ligation immed when u deliver. do let me know ok? as for ur retrenchment issue, good that u spoke to the CEO! what did he say? highly likely that they will compensate u fully? update us!

Little Prince, u are another amazing mommy.. dunno how u manage to do everything by urself, including teaching the maid. i so breathless just talking to her! i know what u mean abt comparing with ur old maids. i also can't help but compare. my new maid is really quite blur. as for dying hair, u can dye then pump and throw.. i won't dye my hair when i m preg cos baby has nowhere to go in my tummy.. after i pop i can choose to dump my milk.

Re: breech babies
do note that those turning exercises have associated risks (cord entanglement) and the success rate is abt 60%.

Pinky, water retention will happen more freq now.. prob u sat in a certain position that cut ur blood supply off. just elevate ur legs when u slp.

Snake_bb, just give him time to adapt.. yes i m gg for the Baby Market fair next week.. i m clearing my AL after my ML next year and yes i will be taking all 16 wks of ML at one shot cos i know if i don't it will be very hard for me to clear the rest of the ML, esp since my boss is not the supportive type.

Arghh so mad with hb this am.. i took next Friday off to go to the Baby Market fair to buy NB diapers and milk powder. This morning i told hb i need his help to carry the diapers and milk powder. Instead of saying he will help, he asked me how was he going to go home from work because i will be driving the car. when i m on leave, he just wants the bloody car. ironically he works very near Expo so i told him he can take a cab what. he ended up scolding me, say i selfish. only think abt myself!! wah lao! i took the day off to BUY things for the kids. not like i go jalan jalan with my tai tai frens. And whenever i go for such fairs, i carry all my loot myself including 30 bags of diapers once! just that this time i m so heavily preggie, i thought i ask him for help. ARGHHH! now say i m selfish!

pinky, jiayou for the day if u need to drink just go ahead, dont be bother by ur insensitive customer.

snakebb, i think coconut can take 1month before edd but maybe start with less frequency. nearer to edd then drink more often?

chemical treatment during bfing, actually i do that. i dye, rebond and do treatment when im still breastfeeding #1. i bf her for almost 3yrs, cannot afford to go with any hair treatment for so long. especially i got alot of white hair and im in sales so cannot let customer see me looking like crazy woman. but i opt organic treatments, hopefully less exposure to chemicals. actually i visit chemical lab daily, so im probably full of chemicals now. so wat abt some chemical dye. ha....

leave, im actually thinking of taking AL once or twice a wk till i delivery. im so sleepy and tired most of the time. it will be nice to have a shorter wk. since i have alot of AL left from last yr. planning to talk to my boss abt it today.

blessmum, ur company very stupid lah. retrench a preggie then outsource her work. what's more ur ML is paid by the gov, company got nothing to lose lor. but now they got everything to lose. i wonder how HR in ur company thinks. this is so weird.

SN, pri sch is one of the consideration lah but convenience is the most impt. the estate im looking at got one good sch that need balloting and another one which nv got their seat filled. so in case we dont get chosen, we have a backup sch. but got to agree with u sg edu is so stressful. my #1 is just 3yr old, attending church kindy Mon-Fri, Sat got music lesson and next yr she will start iCreative. i suppose by the time she start pri sch, she will be attending enrichment everyday. and this is not uncommon these days.

fuzzybear, I feel you.... I rather go to those fair with my mum....
we went more than yr ago and stock up on Baby laundry detergent.
me and my mum lug 4 cartons back and my boy was a toddler... not forgetting diapers...
Went with hubby this yr and I ordered 2 cartons of detergent and he kpkb... d*mn it...
they nv understand how much we can save lor....

bluenosebear, I'm with Doc Su Lin Lin... guess she wants to repeat cos I did my OGTT during my early stage of Trim2....
I used to have GD for my #1... guess she just want to be safe but I cant tolerate the drink... the tot of it can make me vomit...

been vomiting on and off for my 3rd trim too... skip dinner at mil last sat and feel so shiok.....

Mummychua, where you reg your girl for icreative? I just reg for my boy too... since we stay in the west, we gg to west coast...
was told lesson will only begin in Feb or Mar next yr.

hi ladies, been a while since i log in.

feeling so moody now because going for GD test tmw. Baby weighing 1.986kg at 31w1d. doc is concerned cause her abdomen is bigger than 70% percentile of her peers. arghhhhh so sian. i get the impression most pple wont pass test lo.

twinnie87: do u get the results immediately? my gynae says no le. must wait till following day
T_sunrise,

I went thru the test too... Was pretty sure that I can't make it cos my usually strip test during visits always indicate high glucose and my mum has it, plus I put on weight like nobody's biz this time.. But I passed it somehow! So, just relax and hope for the best! Even if positive, just try to control diet like the mommies who are doing pretty well here. We will all root for u!

Anyways, I got the results fr my dr the day itself in the evening. U check with ur dr ya?

Mummychua, ya education in SG is so stressful.. recently there is some lawsuit for the franchising of I Can Read. My son's classes are all affected. nobody told us what was happening until we saw the full page advert on last Sat's papers. called them then realised that the classes have stopped. grah!

Febie, YA LOR! we save so much for them leh. i m not even asking hb to PAY for the stuff. i just need him to help me carry.. if i wasn't pregnant, i would have done it all by myself. i have NEVER EVER asked him to help me before.. u know when Gain IQ changed their formula recently and was offering big discount for the old formula, i stocked up 18 tins and my hb scolded me for parking my money in milk powder. but sooner or later these will be consumed what, so just buy lah.. ironically when milk powder runs low, he will be searching high and low to buy it at the cheapest price and then have the cheek to tell me we should have bought more during sale!! WAH BIANG! i m sooooo mad!!!

May be i shd ask my dad to go to the fair with me.. my dad is like me, he will stock up like crazy.

U really have to do ur GD test again? rem that time we were talking abt it and i said u were doing it kinda early? poor u..

fuzzybear, I feel you.... I rather go to those fair with my mum....
we went more than yr ago and stock up on Baby laundry detergent.
me and my mum lug 4 cartons back and my boy was a toddler... not forgetting diapers...
Went with hubby this yr and I ordered 2 cartons of detergent and he kpkb... d*mn it...
they nv understand how much we can save lor....

bluenosebear, I'm with Doc Su Lin Lin... guess she wants to repeat cos I did my OGTT during my early stage of Trim2....
I used to have GD for my #1... guess she just want to be safe but I cant tolerate the drink... the tot of it can make me vomit...

been vomiting on and off for my 3rd trim too... skip dinner at mil last sat and feel so shiok.....

Mummychua, where you reg your girl for icreative? I just reg for my boy too... since we stay in the west, we gg to west coast...
was told lesson will only begin in Feb or Mar next yr.
Febie, how many weeks along r u now? I did mine at Gleaneagles n drew three tubes of blood leh.. TMC only prick finger???
Hope u will pass this coming test too! Me also vomiting on and off ESP when hunger strikes...

Shopping with man is very sian one lah, or is it so when the man becomes ur husband? I also busy tahan when gg shopping w my hubby... Zzzzz!

hi ladies, been a while since i log in.

feeling so moody now because going for GD test tmw. Baby weighing 1.986kg at 31w1d. doc is concerned cause her abdomen is bigger than 70% percentile of her peers. arghhhhh so sian. i get the impression most pple wont pass test lo.

twinnie87: do u get the results immediately? my gynae says no le. must wait till following day

i got my results immediately, i heard some places they dont get their results immediately..but if you are doing at TMC..it shld be immediate, and yes, TMC only prick fingers.. no need to collect tubes of blood

fuzzybear, i will be very angry if my hub will to say those stuff to me. ok lor. dont buy from sales then i just go mothercare to buy the full priced stuff and pay using his credit card. luck for me my hub is a bean counter, he is the one looking out for FM, toilet paper promotion on paper every Thurs and Fri. with any of those promotion he will stock up like crazy. but i probably have to go for the bb fair on my own this time round, start of the mth is always a busy period for me, he wont be able to take leave. maybe we meet up at expo for coffee and help each other with the loot.

what happened to I Can Read? so hard to choose the right enrichment for the kids. i read up so much on forum before deciding on iCreative.

febie, i sign up at the west coast too, Thurs afternoon lesson. near my mil place. i think start lesson at Apr. cant rmb, just wait for their email. kids are suppose to know all their abc and must be able to hold pencil properly before the start of the lesson. my gal knows her abc but her pencil hold still not quite right.

vomiting is probably due to indigestion ba. i do puke whenever i have heavy meal esp at nite. mil keep commenting that i eat too light for 2. *roll eyes* not that i dont want to eat lor. but what is the point of eating so much when i will thrown them out later and make myself miserable. plus her cooking is so awful, i cant force myself to eat.

yeah... finally it rain.

Gwen, no i think the doc that delivered ur SIL and BIL (hahaha not give birth!) is probably Dr Fong, also at Glen E. My doc is really young! he only went into the private sector in 1997 i think. before that he was in England. And he is pretty low key. have not read any articles that interviewed him. I made a mistake too.. apparently there are only 46 OBs in SG that can do IVF!

Haiyoh, we are talking abt exams now? I still haven't solve my P1 registration headache.

Arghh so mad with hb this am.. i took next Friday off to go to the Baby Market fair to buy NB diapers and milk powder. This morning i told hb i need his help to carry the diapers and milk powder. Instead of saying he will help, he asked me how was he going to go home from work because i will be driving the car. when i m on leave, he just wants the bloody car. ironically he works very near Expo so i told him he can take a cab what. he ended up scolding me, say i selfish. only think abt myself!! wah lao! i took the day off to BUY things for the kids. not like i go jalan jalan with my tai tai frens. And whenever i go for such fairs, i carry all my loot myself including 30 bags of diapers once! just that this time i m so heavily preggie, i thought i ask him for help. ARGHHH! now say i m selfish!

Haha Yah i think so! Dr Fong is old old one? LOL I don't know. I only know my MIL is always very proud when she talks about her OB Gynae.

If you are not particular about sending the little one to a "popular" school, shouldn't be too stressful. Can try during later phases if you are unsuccessful during the earlier phases.

Chill girl, maybe it's because it's not your first pregnancy, so your HB thinks you are competent to complete the tasks on your own. Go soft and tear and he will feel bad. LOL Tears are a girl's best friend! ;)

febie, i chkd my GTT results slip this morning. prick for 1st test, cannot exceed 6.6 then drink a bottle of glucose (best within 5 min) and go for 2nd prick test 2 hrs later, cannot exceed 7.7. based on the reading, you will know on the spot if you pass or fail. okok, abt pumping milk to throw if i want to color my hair, shall see if i hv enough milk to waste after i deliver. :p if yr helper is not going to be alone most of the time, you can buy a portable CCTV to view? can buy fm challenger and self fix kind. its cheaper lor compared to me installing for the entire house.

fuzzybear, not necessary a good trait for me. actually, i tend to do too much for others and not for myself so i do try to pamper myself once in a while too. i remind myself to take it slow since helper has 2 mths at home before baby is here. if she forgets to clean something or clean properly, ask her to clean again the next day lor. hb just wanted the car to go to work? maybe you can drop him and then go to the fair? sometimes guys are not very thoughtful lor, i hv to specifically tell my hb what i want else he will think i can manage everything all on my own at times too. discuss with him again abt the arrg for next week? i will be on leave next Fri actually for my ps but #1 will be with me, will think again if want to go to the fair on Fri itself.

primary sch, mummies do remember there are times when kids need to stay back in sch for certain extra lessons or what not, especially fm P3 onwards. unless you are a SAHM, will be tiring to drive up and down. i usually tap on SC to help me and luckily, my office is abt 10-15min fm his sch so at times, i will fetch him myself if SC cannot do it. but agree with fuzzybear how stressful education is these days ... it was #1's birthday yesterday but he only managed to complete his hw at 11pm (had to do an EL compo and CL compo on the same day!). even his tutor commented that's a lot to complete in a day.

mush, ICL is very popular but atas, they only accept students within certain birth years at each reg and if you are too late, they won't accept your child.

totorodino, my friend's one was natural..she delivered 4 mths ago..yea she said she din need any painkillers and she could walk ard a lot..wow, that's quite exorbitant! but i guess it's worth it..given that he is so gd.. :)

btw, will the nurses brief u on the delivery charges nearer to the date? coz i haven't asked them abt the charges thus far..i only know abt the hospital charges during the hospital tour..

yea, I read some of the thank you cards pasted on his clinic walls and there was one that mentioned about being able to walk a day after her surgery. haha. If i ever have a #3, i may not be able to afford to see him if he increases his fees further. but of course, I don't intend to have #3!!!!!

so many posts today! seems that all the mommies gone missing yesterday have returned. haha.

My son had fever in the middle of the night for the past two nights. On Monday night, it was 38 degrees but the fever broke by itself in the morning. Last night, it went up to 39.4, I didn't want to wake him and so tried to sponge him instead but he kept brushing the towel away. He woke up at 5am and wanted to drink water. His fever dropped to 38.5 degrees by itself. Then this morning, it completely broke. So strange. Have any mommies encountered fever that just appear during the night and will go away by itself in the morning? I didnt administer any fever medication at all. I normally would give medicine if it's more than 38 degrees. but somehow my instinct was that i didnt have to give him any med last night.

morning mummies!!

ankh> thanks for advising on the delivery charges! i realised this is one impt qn that i haven asked my gynae! lol..

mummies, when must we start booking the hospital beds huh? is there any other qn to ask at the 32nd week visit other than PD, booking of hospital beds and delivery charges? the due date is drawing near and i am starting to panick! haha..

febie> i have no idea why she needs 5 bottles oso, but she did mention tt she finished all 5 bottles for her first pregnancy...den irritating colleague keep asking me to 'model' after her coz the fellow pregnant colleague of mine is very healthy and seldom falls sick..

mumagain> gd luck in ur negotiation with the CEO! i hope u have a big fat package for all the work and nonsense you have been through.. :)

pinkyloving> perhaps u can try drinking more water? i heard tt drinking more water helps..sounds ironic, but it's somehow true..u can try propping ur legs up and moving ard frequently oso..

snake_bb> i will be taking 2 weeks of AL before my ML..provided the bb comes out early..coz my AL ends on 22 Nov and my EDD is 26 Nov..wanna take my ML on the day i deliver and take 4 mths at one shot..if not, it will be quite disruptive..

re: babymarket fair, guess hub and i may have to make a trip down afterall coz the discounted price for the cot tt we wanted to get online is no longer valid! price diff is 100 plus..and somehow the amazon discounts for rocker, play gym and thermometer was not as much as a few mths back..sighs, shud have bought these back then..hope we can get something from the baby fair..

Fuzzybear, hahaha ya the milk powder saga I went thru before too... #1 on isomil and we managed to get at $30 a tin for 900gm, I ordered 2 cartons 1 short, kena niam geng too... before milk almost finished, I make him go giant and NTUC to see how much etc. When he saw $42 he screamed his head off and start saying should buy more etc etc... piss off man...
Go with your dad since he's more like a caregiver to your boys. He knows more and will tell you which can save more too...
I like to go with my mum and we will discuss and see what to grab.

Gynae say monitor first so might not needed for the test... :p keeping my fingers crossed...

Mummychua, I signed up for the weekend class on Sat also late afternoon...
yes was informed the same thing as what you have mentioned. like your girl, my boy also cant hold pencil well. the rest is fine.
for me is MIL cooked the same every week, only his son got appetite... me and #1 always force the food down our throat...
I also eat as little as #1 and she starts to make comment, I used to diam diam, now ans back say no appetite...
imagine my #1 eats half the qty at her pl and can eat an adult bowl at my mum's pl...

littleprince, like I say TMC only do the prick finger test... so u can know immediately...
usually my gynae will call me personally and inform me the result over the next 2 days.
Portable CCTV??? hmmm where should I place it? hahahaha... ya can consider this too...
looking at foscam... :p

Fleefly, I need not go for the test unless Gynae insists. keeping my fingers crossed to skip the 2nd round....
week 31 for me today...

SN, is your boy ok now? sometimes it's viral fever and only attacked in the evening...
Hope break free and he will sleep will tonight.

Gelobean, dun entertain the wayang anymore lah...
tell her everyone is different lah... if same, then all of you look alike?
damn boliao lor your colleague... dun stand and turn ard and show her your dressing/tummy etc...
if she kena me, think she will be cursing and swearing... I sure make her go crazy....

yea, I read some of the thank you cards pasted on his clinic walls and there was one that mentioned about being able to walk a day after her surgery. haha. If i ever have a #3, i may not be able to afford to see him if he increases his fees further. but of course, I don't intend to have #3!!!!!

so many posts today! seems that all the mommies gone missing yesterday have returned. haha.

My son had fever in the middle of the night for the past two nights. On Monday night, it was 38 degrees but the fever broke by itself in the morning. Last night, it went up to 39.4, I didn't want to wake him and so tried to sponge him instead but he kept brushing the towel away. He woke up at 5am and wanted to drink water. His fever dropped to 38.5 degrees by itself. Then this morning, it completely broke. So strange. Have any mommies encountered fever that just appear during the night and will go away by itself in the morning? I didnt administer any fever medication at all. I normally would give medicine if it's more than 38 degrees. but somehow my instinct was that i didnt have to give him any med last night.
My 5 year old son gets fever like this, without any other symptoms, and will disappear the next day, I usually just sponge him , and make him drink plenty of water, without giving any medicine first. This happened number of times already, but sometimes will drag for 2 days, usually I will monitor for 3 days, before bringing him to the doctor.

morning mummies!!

ankh> thanks for advising on the delivery charges! i realised this is one impt qn that i haven asked my gynae! lol..

mummies, when must we start booking the hospital beds huh? is there any other qn to ask at the 32nd week visit other than PD, booking of hospital beds and delivery charges? the due date is drawing near and i am starting to panick! haha..

febie> i have no idea why she needs 5 bottles oso, but she did mention tt she finished all 5 bottles for her first pregnancy...den irritating colleague keep asking me to 'model' after her coz the fellow pregnant colleague of mine is very healthy and seldom falls sick..

mumagain> gd luck in ur negotiation with the CEO! i hope u have a big fat package for all the work and nonsense you have been through.. :)

pinkyloving> perhaps u can try drinking more water? i heard tt drinking more water helps..sounds ironic, but it's somehow true..u can try propping ur legs up and moving ard frequently oso..

snake_bb> i will be taking 2 weeks of AL before my ML..provided the bb comes out early..coz my AL ends on 22 Nov and my EDD is 26 Nov..wanna take my ML on the day i deliver and take 4 mths at one shot..if not, it will be quite disruptive..

re: babymarket fair, guess hub and i may have to make a trip down afterall coz the discounted price for the cot tt we wanted to get online is no longer valid! price diff is 100 plus..and somehow the amazon discounts for rocker, play gym and thermometer was not as much as a few mths back..sighs, shud have bought these back then..hope we can get something from the baby fair..
The clinic already booked my hospital ward & delivery suite many weeks ago, think at the beginning of 3rd trimester if not wrong, I also got confirmation from Mount Alvernia via sms.

Febie, I am still fuming.. graaah!! freaking mad.. he is always depending on me when it comes to household and the boys' stuff. last night he woke me up cos he dunno what medication to feed my #1. he ALWAYS leave the meds and the feeding to me.. doesn't bother to find out or understand what meds should be taken.. end up giving my #1 from a bottle of meds that was prescribed 1 yr ago. when i give my son meds that long ago, he will scold me but when it comes to himself, he can do it. bloody mad.

I hope u don't have to do the GD test man.. poor thing u.

Mummychua, Little Prince, sure we can always meet up at the fair to help. Actually i m very independent. when i go to such fairs, i usually tell my frens to jagar our shopping and i will carry them bit by bit back to the car. usually i give my frens a lift home too.

Mummychua, ironically my hb is also a bean counter but u see he nv has to do housework or grocery shopping ever, cos his mom is the one doing everything. he is like the ah sia kia at home. he doesn't know that u can save money buying essentials in bulk and that these savings can add up to a lot. u know when we didn't have a maid, he argued with me that there's no need to change the hot water in the flask daily because the water in the thermos is still hot. how lazy is he???!!

Here's the link to I Can Read dispute: http://singaporemotherhood.com/forum/threads/end-of-7-i-can-read-franchises.35097/

Little Prince, i understand the part of being an independent woman.. sometimes its not gd for us to be so independent but what to do, things have to be done.. yet ppl forget that we too need help sometimes. Happy Birthday to your #1 yesterday! hope he had a fab day at least though he has so much homework to do.. u know the whole hoo-haa abt the MP Indranee commenting that tuition is not needed? how stupid is that? if not needed then don't set such high standards. some of the primary school math qns i see, i can't even solve it without simultaneous equations!

Gwen, i m ok with neighbourhood schools but even then there are different tiers of neighbourhood schs.. some of them really have kids from really poor background.. also cultural capital is impt.. not just academic performance of the school.. u will know when it is ur turn to send ur kiddo to P1. hahahaha

Sorry if i m ranting like a mad woman today.. just so bloody annoyed..

Fuzzybear, hahaha ya the milk powder saga I went thru before too... #1 on isomil and we managed to get at $30 a tin for 900gm, I ordered 2 cartons 1 short, kena niam geng too... before milk almost finished, I make him go giant and NTUC to see how much etc. When he saw $42 he screamed his head off and start saying should buy more etc etc... piss off man...
Go with your dad since he's more like a caregiver to your boys. He knows more and will tell you which can save more too...
I like to go with my mum and we will discuss and see what to grab.

Gynae say monitor first so might not needed for the test... :p keeping my fingers crossed...

Mummychua, I signed up for the weekend class on Sat also late afternoon...
yes was informed the same thing as what you have mentioned. like your girl, my boy also cant hold pencil well. the rest is fine.
for me is MIL cooked the same every week, only his son got appetite... me and #1 always force the food down our throat...
I also eat as little as #1 and she starts to make comment, I used to diam diam, now ans back say no appetite...
imagine my #1 eats half the qty at her pl and can eat an adult bowl at my mum's pl...

littleprince, like I say TMC only do the prick finger test... so u can know immediately...
usually my gynae will call me personally and inform me the result over the next 2 days.
Portable CCTV??? hmmm where should I place it? hahahaha... ya can consider this too...
looking at foscam... :p

Fleefly, I need not go for the test unless Gynae insists. keeping my fingers crossed to skip the 2nd round....
week 31 for me today...

SN, is your boy ok now? sometimes it's viral fever and only attacked in the evening...
Hope break free and he will sleep will tonight.

Gelobean, dun entertain the wayang anymore lah...
tell her everyone is different lah... if same, then all of you look alike?
damn boliao lor your colleague... dun stand and turn ard and show her your dressing/tummy etc...
if she kena me, think she will be cursing and swearing... I sure make her go crazy....

Febie, thirdtimemum, thanks. My son was completely ok when he went to bed the past two nights. The fever only came at around 4am and then by 7am, it would be completely gone. I happened to be going toilet at least 2 times every night, that's y i noticed his fever, else i might not even know he was having a fever cos he was just sleeping soundly and making some groans here and there which I thought was just his active dreams....

gelobean, i already booked my room with TMC during 2nd tri, the nurse asked me so we went ahead to decide and confirm the booking. maybe you want to check with your hosp on yr next chkup?

fuzzybear, thks and yes, he said he enjoyed himself although there was a lot of hw. i was also glad tt he accepted the load and continued doing till he completed but i couldn't help feeling sorry for him. kept motivating him that once exams are over, we can take a breather and wait for mei mei to be out! he is looking forward to hv mei mei celebrating his bd with him next year too! haiz, no tuition is crap lor. the sch tchrs keep emphasizing on good grades tt those who don't do well really feel demoralized. i know my #1 feels it in him coz he has a competitive nature and he is in one of the better classes. tts why i try and coach him as much as i can though i keep emphasizing to him i can only do so much and actual results still depend on him. nvm la, just rant coz thats what we are here for as a support group! :)

Gwen, i m ok with neighbourhood schools but even then there are different tiers of neighbourhood schs.. some of them really have kids from really poor background.. also cultural capital is impt.. not just academic performance of the school.. u will know when it is ur turn to send ur kiddo to P1. hahahaha

Hmmm, I think it really boils down to family support in that sense. No doubt, the demographics in the school will affect the child's character, however, the family is the one that shapes the child ultimately. In society, there are all sorts of people, it is good to expose them to different influences and correct them accordingly when they are young. And also always remember, all teachers come from the same place --> NIE. Every school has their own fair share of good and lousy teachers (sad to say). And the programmes of most schools are similar, because there are sharing seminars between schools all the time. Just a different name for a different programme maybe? The spine of the programme is still the same.

Well, I am in a Primary School environment for the past 10 years, cos' I "iz" a school teacher. :p

Hmmm, I think it really boils down to family support in that sense. No doubt, the demographics in the school will affect the child's character, however, the family is the one that shapes the child ultimately. In society, there are all sorts of people, it is good to expose them to different influences and correct them accordingly when they are young. And also always remember, all teachers come from the same place --> NIE. Every school has their own fair share of good and lousy teachers (sad to say). And the programmes of most schools are similar, because there are sharing seminars between schools all the time. Just a different name for a different programme maybe? The spine of the programme is still the same.

Well, I am in a Primary School environment for the past 10 years, cos' I "iz" a school teacher. :p

you are still a teacher?

Eh no eh, they pricked me on the arm and drew 3 syringes-full of blood over a span of 2 hours!:eek: My pain tolerance is rather high usually, but I cringed at that experience.

As for dyeing your hair, I think better not ba. It's rather scary to hear what goes into you, goes into the baby too, though I desperately need a dye job too :rolleyes:

ya, mine was also prick on the finger.

Febie-Dr Su is a nice dr.
Crossing fingers & toes, hope U do not need to go OGTT again.
Pinky-Are U ok?
Try placing cold compress AKA ice pack on the ankles, elevate yr legs also.
If too swollen, maybe need to c Dr.
Take care

Thidtimemum, my tummy feels okay. Jus my legs. Gg tcm for my sprained ankles later. Knee cap bruised. Haiz. Hope my bb is safe n sound... felt so upset...jus wanna end my day!

Fuzzybear, I understand the anger lah... dun angry liao...
super like to chat here as it gives us a place to let off our agony, complaints plus strong support.... hahahha

so we have a teacher here.... Teacher Gwen, what u said was right...
some teachers have the passion, some was burnt by the moe... some just stay on for the pay....

bluenosebear, Dr Su is super nice lor... I'm so glad with my choice 4 yrs ago when I was choosing gynae blindly on NUH website, I was hooked then...
super gentle and nice gynae...

pinkloving, go see tcm and get a good rest... bb will be fine... dun worry too much....

Pinky, call ur gynae and let him know u fell.. because u are quite big now, such jolts can cause small tears in ur placenta. best to get a check or at least let ur gynae know and see what he says. as for ur sprain, u might wanna refrain from TCM now. just ICE and rest. poor thing u.. see a doc and get a few days mc to rest at home.

Gwen, i do agree every school has its merit (every sch is a gd sch) and that there are different types of teachers in each school. for me cultural capital is something that even the teachers cannot influence. i do agree that the family env plays a big role too. but also the kids' character is equally as impt. i know my #1 is those easily influenced type, not the leader type. hence a gd sch env is impt for him. i also have gd frens who teach at those really neighbourhood schools where abt 30-40% of the kids come from broken family. he also told me that there's a difference btw those schs and other neighbourhood schs.

Febie, Little Prince, thanks i m feeling better.. dun wanna think abt it anymore.

Little Prince, gd that u guide ur son that way. :) luckily for u he is those who is sensible and competitive.. he will be a good bro for his mei mei!

febie> yea she just spoke to me to comment on me eating fruits and drinking soya milk at the same time and i just ignored her completely..pretended i din hear..

third3timemum and littleprince> thx for advising! looks like i have to start booking the hospital ward soon!

pinkyloving> oh dear! i hope you managed to get some food prior to that. yea agree with fuzzybear tt you should consult your gynae and refrain from TCM. afterall, your gynae has been following ur case all along.

re: schools, the debate about gd schools will always be there i guess. i personally came from a pri school whereby retaining for 3 yrs for P6 is considered normal, public caning is commonplace and students 'visits' to boys' home is common. agree that parents and individual kid's character play a part, but i believe the peer influence plays a major part too. this is especially the case as students spend more and more time in school these days. in fact, they spend more time in school than at home. an RI boy wrote an article regarding good schools and neighborhood schools and i am inclined to agree with what he says.

in fact, i tink the govt themselves believe in good schools too. if not, why are their kids are bunched up in schools such as nanyang primary, henry park primary, etc? they claim that all schools are the same and all schools are good schools. perhaps they should walk the talk and send their kids to neighborhood schools instead.

pinky, oh dear hope nothing too serious. ya, i think shldn't see TCM too coz we are close to edd already. when i sprained my ankle during #1's time (at 4 mths preggie), gynae recc physiotheraphy to TCM too. take a few days to rest coz usually it gets more painful in the next few days and not the day you fell. the fall i had on my knees, though the dried skin has fallen off, the spot is still a little sensitive and hurts if i just kneel onto my bed.

student cares - btw, i personally feel SCs do hv many kids who are bad influences. most kids who are good have parents who are very supportive, and many of them have SAHMs. but for those kids who go to SCs, many do not have parents who bother to do much (or have time to do much) for their kids. but for FTWMs like us, no choice lor. take it as a training ground for our kids, i will at times ask my son how he feels about certain sch mates in SC and what he thinks about their behaviors.

pinky, we are not suppose to rub our ankles rite? heard that it trigger contraction. How did u fall? Better take a few days off to rest ur legs. Careful while walking, get someone to hold u. Take care.

Globean, I read that RI boy article. Seriously he write really well. Better than me. And I agree with him too. Gov can say that all sch are good sch but in reality there is a obvious difference between the top and bottom sch. The culture and influence is much better in top sch.

Yesterday went to see my gynae and he is very concerned about the weight of my baby.. My baby is 2.31kg (91 percentile) at week 32 and the fluid in my water bag is consider normal to high. According to gynae, this could mean that my sugar content is relatively high too. I asked him whether I need to go for any test but he said as long as I control and there is no family history of diabetes, I do not need to waste the money. Not sure whether this is a good thing or bad thing.

Another thing is my baby head is too big and round. He haven't latched in yet. Gynae mentioned that by week 35 and if baby haven't latch in, he might ask me to go for c-sec. ohmigod... I want to go for natural because I am scare of the after-ops pain.

I felt pain at my right ovary area and gynae prescribe hormone pill for me to take every night. He is afraid baby is heavy and my womb cannot tolerate the weight and my baby will come out at week 34-35. Haiz... so many issues..

mush> yea i tink he writes extremely well, but poor him..got slammed by people on fb..

littleprince and mush> yes, there is a stark difference between top schools and neighborhood schools..smoking/ gambling/ playing truant/ theft is much less common in top schools than neighborhood schools.. perhaps they shud do up the stats on the delinquency acts/ cases and justify how all the schools are "equally good"..it may be true that some kids perform better under a less competitive environment but i feel that it's better that the kid gets sent to a top school intially and switch to a neighborhood school if he/ she really cannot cope, rather than sending him/ her to a neighborhood school and regret that he/ she cannot move to a better school later on..

happygal> did ur gynae say how u can go abt preventing bb from getting bigger and to have normal level of fluid in the water bag other than controlling diet?

Yes, I am still teaching. Well, it is a never ending debate of schools. To me, all schools have their merits and flaws. Even pupils from popular schools suffer from the type of system their schools have, parents regret sending them to such schools etc. Many 'clever' criminals come from popular schools too. Many successful people come from less popular schools too. It boils down to parents' preference. :) I think I am not indulging in that debate.

However, just a hint. If your child has very good family support and good foundation in pre primary education, that is, you have sent him/her to many enrichment lessons before he/she goes to primary school and he/she can read, write and count very well, no harm sending them to popular schools. However, you must be confident that you are able to continue to provide that kind of support throughout his/her primary school education till P6.

happygal, are you of a small built? Cos there is a mommy in my #1 thread who gave birth to a 4kg plus baby naturally, but she is considered big sized. So, doesnt mean that your baby is big will naturally lead to C-sect. depends on the mommy's size too.

gelobean, what's wrong with drinking soya bean and eating fruits?

regarding schools, my personal view is that, there are three types of schools -
1) Elite schools
2) Neighbourhood Schools
3) Notorious Neighbourhood Schools.
I think it's ok to send to category 2 schools and sometimes, it might be even better than being all stressed out in Cat 1 schools. It's better to be in the top class of Cat 2 school than the bottom class of Cat 1 school.
However, I will avoid Cat 3 schools at all cost. You know there are some schools that are well known to be full of problematic kids and gangsters....eiii

totorodino> precisely lor! she said it's v filling and it's amazing that i can finish all..but when i refuse to snack when others offer me food, den she will tell these people to not bother offering me coz i dun snack and dun eat enough..blah blah..basically, whatever tt i do is wrong and deserves a comment from her....the best part was that she asked for sour plums from me, den she commented that my sour plums are not sour enough..hers are nicer..well,thank god my mum and in-law are so unlike her. if not, i will suffer terribly from these incessant nagging

little prince, I like the discussion you will have with your boy... I will use peer pressure to motivate him or to tell him his mistakes too...

gelobean, just ignore them and they will stop? tell that colleague since her sour plum better, ask her buy for you next time...
not a word of thanks but so much to comment... kns...

happygal, dun worry too much if baby of suitable size to give birth and the lungs fully developed, suggest to your gynae that you wan to induce?

I think some TCM will know which area not to rub etc... I rem when I was in Taipei for massage, the auntie avoid certain area... :)
pinky if you are worry, just place ice pack to reduce the swell and see a doc for MC for a good rest....

Gwen, i do agree every school has its merit (every sch is a gd sch) and that there are different types of teachers in each school. for me cultural capital is something that even the teachers cannot influence. i do agree that the family env plays a big role too. but also the kids' character is equally as impt. i know my #1 is those easily influenced type, not the leader type. hence a gd sch env is impt for him. i also have gd frens who teach at those really neighbourhood schools where abt 30-40% of the kids come from broken family. he also told me that there's a difference btw those schs and other neighbourhood schs.

Don't be too early to judge him. He just has not have the opportunities to glow. Leaders are nurtured, not born. :)