(2012/06) Jun 2012

Thanks ladies.. Gonna maybe eat something good after he actually gets it in his bank.. Hehe..

On the quiet bus on my way home.. Supposed to go robinsons after work but preg colly backed out. So i decided to go home instead. Save my wallet from further destructions...

My 4yo goes BERRIES for chinese class. Gonna send him to piano lessons next year.

Baby girl will go ballet from 3yo. Then attend BERRIES also. We want her to be perfect princess. No taekwando. Lol
1 taekwando master is enuff to protect her. My boy learns that in his kindy..

I have been using the body shop deep dreamy pillow and body mist since my flying days ( jet lag cant sleep so spray to sleep better) love it!

My husband goes to ma guang and he think its good even i intro my friend also say good. Shouldnt be that bad afterall!

Feeling the tiredness n BH more often.. Sometimes cant sleep well in the night also lo!

Mummies how often u all drink bubble tea and usually buy what drink?

Seems like alot of you use washing machine to wash, my mum dont allow leh. Ask me handwash.

Fleur: DH n I r reading parenting books which we feel is interesting and logical and dispels abt all the myths we hear abt. If ur interested, will let u know the tittle.

Activities
It's good to start ballet classes at the age of 3. I started at that age and completed all my grades. Am very grateful to my parents for giving me the oppurtunity. Loved ballet. Will definately introduce activities to our children in future and will ultimately let them decide if they enjoy it and will not push them to it. I was forced to take piano lessons so I know how it feels.

Cleopatra: We are also hand washing her clothes.
Flying days? Which airline?

thks mummies for the contributions for my maid grd rules.
nw i hv a vry comprehensive list to wk on.

Petrina > wher is the song n song at HV, tat u go to? Am tinkin of goin these few days.

Re flowers
Used to get flowers monthly when we were dating and just got married. I'm ok with that coz we go nursery to buy, very cheap. Then when i moved to his parents' place, he stopped buying, saying they don't like. He would only buy if i leave them at my parents' place. Of course i didn't want coz i won't get to enjoy them. Now move to own house, 9 months already, still no flowers!!! Even after i said i wanted them. Sigh!

Re enrichment
Maybe gym, if not will wait for 1 yr before going to gug. Good for learning phonics, but this time round i will see whether my son enjoys it and participates. For my first son, maybe piano or violin when he's 3 or 4. Right now, i think he learns more by going on trips to science centre and zoo

Fleur: Nope. I ask Dr Chan and he said best to save my money. So I opt not to go.
Been reading a lot so that's enjoyable,surprisingly!!

Chris: u noe where is MayBank? Actually it's just outside the exit of HV Circle Line station. Take the escalator facing the lift.
Along Wendy's, Crystal Jade Noodle House.

Fleur: The 2 books that my DH and i are currently reading is :-

1. The Happiest Baby on the Block by Harvey Karp
2. Nurture Shock by PO Bronson & Ashley Merryman

Both books can be bought at Kinokuniya.

Both are really interesting i must say and being new parents ourselves it will definately help us a long the way to nurture our little ones. Their reasonings and research done are very logical. It is also an easy read and an enjoyable one.

Hope you enjoy the book as much as we have.

I haven't experienced BH. Still unsure what the feeling is like.
But I had a sudden sharp pain on my right ribs area for couple of minutes before its gone. Was wondering is it gastric? Baby pressing against that area ? Coz it sure didn't feel like kicking

Btw when do our babies wear pre walker shoes?

Just visited sg gynae. Baby weigh 1.4kg at week29+ and gynae wanted me to cut down on sugar intake. I didn't eat alot sugar stuffs except occasionally soft drinks and nutella bread, have to give them already. Eating too much carbo will increase baby weight too right?

I'm in foul mood today! My notti baby turn her head up last night!
Just scanned and baby is breech now!! And my placenta is near cervix, though gynae say not covering, it's irritating..
At 5mth scan placenta was well and above.. What the hell happened!

cheer up petrina! Stil got chance, rt? Its nt gona b final bah.

Btw, is the song n song near to the cold storage? Sorry i long time nvr go ther liao.

Hi Parents-to-be,
I have 5 unopened brand new packs of Drypers Soft (Newborn) for sale.
Selling them at $30 ($6 for 1 pack).
Got them recently at baby fair but my baby has outgrown them.
Interested parties, pls pm me.
Collection can be done anywhere in Singapore, if convenient.

petrina
Don't get too upset. Just now my gynae also mentioned my placenta abit low, wasn't mentioned during detailed scanning or last checkup. And i thought placenta will only move up and not down, sigh.

Petrina

Don't get too upset k? Must sweet talk your girl
Now. Ask your hub to talk to her to be kuai kuai and turn down. Then do those exercises that help baby to turn. Jia You!!

Audrey

Mine was 1.7kg at Week 30! Doc said ok though. I
Have gotten a lot bigger over the last 3 weeks. Soon will be waddling along.

Supposed to be going to chinatown to top up my toiletries but it's pouring!

petrina
Seeing ssmilezz mentioned about talking, my baby prefer my youngest to chat with him. He always moves/kicks alot when my youngest start to talk with him so I get him to tell didi to move down and indeed he does. And I always make sure korkor talk to him at my lower tummy, i feel maybe baby will move the head there to listen? Haha..

ssmilezz
My gynae mentioned my baby and my youngest is 400g difference during 29 week checkup. Not sure how to control, maybe need to cut down on my intake? I hate being hungry!!!

I wanted to go out just now too but raining too heavily and now struck at home.

Petrina: I thought when placenta move up it will not move down ??? Baby movements will continue So hope that your cheeky gal will make another 180deg turn

Gynae also said placenta move up don't move down., tats y i wonder how come i pass my 5mth detail scan then now like that...
Last night i had very bad menses cramp. Then today head up. So i wonder is it she turning tats y i was in so much pain last night.
Aiyah.. I've sweet talking her.. Sing to her, play classical music.. Dunno y she suddenly play punk with me. I was in state of shock when gynae show me head is on top! I almost jumped up!

Fleur, exactly! But my gynae very zail leh.. Say still got 5 weeks to confirm. His idea is latest by 36wks. He got a patient head down then suddenly 38wk baby turned up.. End up csec.. Wah lao lor...
I'm seeing him 2 weeks later..

Talking, my son likes to talk to baby.. Always ask meimei guai.. Then say I love meimei. But she don't seem to reciprocate..

Petrina, cheer up, maybe your baby is an active girl, she will move back to position again when it's time for delivery. Meanwhile, try to do those exercises to encourage her to move back into position. Also keep praying and talking to her.

Petrina

Cheer up! There's still time for baby to turn. Maybe ur waterbag is nice n big n she can play swimming inside.

You boy is so gd to meimei. Mine ah... Sigh i'm getting worried.

Yest we were playing. My son gave me his treasure - pretend strawberries. He shared some with me n we pretended to eat. Then i asked him if he'd like to give baby a strawberry n he said no! No strawberry for baby. Put the baby far away at the corridor. No strawberry for baby.

Hiaz this isn't the first time he's done something like this. We dun mention the baby often coz we dun want to overdo it. Maybe i'll mention baby's existence once in 2 or 3 days? But he still seems to reject baby, or pretend he doesn't hear.

What to do?

Petrina. Audrey

Nvr heard of placenta moving down. Scratch head. Wonder whether mine is cleared for natural delivery yet. Hiaz

Wah! U all r talking abt enrichment liao? I haven't gotten my mind past how to cope with the newborn n infant stage lol

My no1 din go for any enrichment. Except 8 sessions of kindermusik. Went for trial class at 1 of those flashcard places. Bored the heck out of both of us. Anyway with 2 kids on one income, we wun be able to afford it. N the presch they're attending is super ex! So better for me also. No $$ to spend, dun have option, dun need to think

I'm kinda lazy that way haha

Jul, home schooling works.. My boy was taught by me tll 3 cause he's bored at home. Not that he learns anything special in school..

Y ur boy like that? Did u prepare gofts for him in arrival of baby?
Try bringing him out and get gifts for baby together? Let him choose. Then maybe get him a small item along with it. Then say baby have, u also have. Mommy love u both the same.
I guess young kiddos need assurance? Mine is older. So he was already longing for a sibling. Get books on family. They have korkor n didi n mei mei and jiejie..

Today weather is perfect for laundry! I did all the necessary washing of BN clothes already.. Next weekend ill be washing yellow stained ones

Petrina

I'll try the buying stuff for didi together. I intend to get bks n the present from didi. Just haven't round to it coz hsebound now. Sigh i also dunno y he's like that.

He's not used to sharing coz he's pampered by ils. But still, y this negative feeling towards a baby? He doesn't seem to be interested in other babies. I also dun hold other babies. Aiyah fan leh

Haha just washed the baby's blankies yest n his mittens, socks, n bibs just now. Shall try to wash some clothes 2moro. Think i still have 2 loads of clothes, 1 load of towels, 1 load of misc items left to wash. Thank god my own stuff is washed.

Can't pack my hosp bag next weekend coz i'm gog for staycation. Aiyah keep feeling that time's running out

Hi ladies!!

Petrina: Pray n hope baby will turn head down soon!! U should have abt 8 more weeks or so right? Think positive!!

Anyways,finally managed to tidy n cleaned the baby's room, of course with the help of hubby n maid.
Now we will be able to buy her changing table and then start to place everything nicely.
Need a break now, am off for a tea break and a lil shopping!!
Hope everyone's Sunday is going well.

Great Sunday weather!

Just came back awhile ago from Plaza Sing after lunching with my family @ Nandos.

Stocked up on my toiletries at chinatown yesterday! One thing less to worry. Will start washing baby's bedsheets and pillow cases next week onwards. Also started packing the hosp bag finally. Slowly adding on the items.

Going to rest awhile more and go out for an evening walk before dinner. Spend time with hubby and get exercise.

My husband's relatives say the most pantang stuff. One said I'll give birth prematurely. Touch wood. Another said I should have stopped vomitting bynow. Damn it! I'm starting to feel nauseated.

Put on 1kg in 1day. Think it's all water. Yesterday had sweated buckets.

Jul: my son is also unhappy about second sibling. I made him read one book aloud yesterday. "I'm a big brother. My baby brother still wears a diaper..." he was ok but today I asked him, he said my hubby is a big brother and he is not. Actually my son still wears a diaper, so a bit hard.

People tell me to get presents, but my son gets new stuff very often, I don't think he will be particularly attracted by anything.

Jul, glass, perhaps if you or your hubbies have good relationships with your siblings, it's easier to show your #1s how nice it is to have a younger sibling?

BTW, I realise that Carrefour can deliver my plastic drawer for $8, no need to fulfill $150 worth of purchase. It's cheaper than taking a cab home

Nattan: my son sees his uncle everyday and even calls him by name. But he doesn't really translate that info. Every time I talk about the baby, he will act up. He cried when I went up to my place and he was supposed to go to my in laws' place for a shower, so my husband gave in and brought him over.

Then we were supposed to go over to my parents' place, he cried and demanded to go to my in laws' place. But I was firm enough plus I distracted him And didn't allow. AfterwArds, he kicked up another big fuss when I washed his feet. Took him some time to tell me the reason - water too cold and he wanted another tap, but he would act up whenever i mention the baby.

glass, how old is your boy? I guess he feels a bit insecure about his position in the family once the baby is here. If he is doted on my your ILs, he may not want to share that attention. You need to be patient with him cos he may not be able to vocalise his feelings.

Talking about sibling.
My boss wife just given birth to their 3rd child(gal) in march. His eldest is a gal, going primary 1 next yr. Second is a boy, now only 2.5year old. And very active one.
You know what he did to his little newborn sis?!
He scratched her face like cat when no one see.. So blisters all over poor a 2week old baby face. Can u imagine. Because of jealousy.

Priscilla, that's terrible!
Did your boss' wife punish the boy? If she did, he might feel even more upset...

Actually my colleague also shared with me about her son feeling jealous and somewhat sad about being "usurped" by his baby sister. He told his parents that he wished he could grow smaller so everyone will love him like his sister. He's about 3 yrs old..

Ya lor, pity his baby gal.. They didnt really punish his boy la.. He is still2.5yrs old..they are still innocent at that age..scold also no use...

Oh dear.. Poor baby girl.. Middle child symdrome. Too small for be smart, too big to be coo-ed.. My friend's girl also have this issue..

I'm just glad my boy is ok. In fact toys he want, he'll ask us to buy for mei mei so he can teach her how to play. I think he's just being cheeky that he gets to play it instead of meimei, while we won't buy new toys for him, he knows he can use meimei to get new toys..

I m talking to baby. Hope she turns in time fo delivery.. Meanwhile, we're stopping all intimate acts so she can rest..

Petrina, your boy is quite unusual la, meaning you're blessed with such a sweet boy
You still having intimacy with your hubby? My hubby stopped liao cos he's scared of hurting our baby :p Sianzz..

Nattan, it does hurt.. Hehs, not tat i enjoy now though i think my hormones r raging.. Kinda pisses me off when i dun get a sense of satisfaction while he did. So we stopped.
I can feel mense cramp if i get satisfied. So better not anyway.

I hope my boy remains nice to meimei post natal. Not just providing lip service now. He is already planning my routne lor.. Meimei gets carried by daddy or slp stroller so i can carry him..
I fixed up his haenim playyard for him to play and he asked y. So we told him that is used to lock meimei so she dun go anywhere dangerous. Then his duty is to make sure she stays n there.
I guess we make it like he's a big deal to protecting his sister, so he's rather keen that i pop soon. Get to be bossy mah.

Chris, same lor, my #1 doesn't really understand yet there will be mei mei.. She's 18 months old now.

I remember my sister, 3 years older than me is very very jealous of me when I was born. And that makes my parents already told me, later when your #2 is born sure they will fight a lot becoz of jealousy.. Sigh..
But I said maybe they will be close to each other since the age gap is very close.
A friend of mine only 1 year gap with her sis and they are very close.

I don't remember feeling that jealous to my younger bro, 4 years different than me though..
I think it's also depends on personality. Last time I was middle child, my sis always insist to get what she wants, and I feel I need to give in to my younger bro since I'm older. So in the end, if for example we have 8 pieces of candies, my elder sis got 3, my younger bro got 3, I got 2 only.. haha..

Hux.. Hasn't clear my #1's wardrobe to make space for #2.. Also hasn't fixed the bed rail for #1 to move to her own single bed, even though we have bought it 2 months ago!

Right now #1 at night will sleep in that single bed together with us first before we move her to her cot..
Later her cot will be for mei mei.. Hm..

Petrina: haha I'm having insomnia and nose runny as I read the posts update. Lol really wanted to laugh out that u are still having intimate acts. We only managed twice this whole time and stopped. Same reason hb scared to hurt bb

Fingers crossed and hope I don't come down with flu coz runny n stuffed at same time

Oh i'm so sleepy coz i stayed up late to watch the game. Yawn... Hubs n i plan to go to ikea to buy some living rm furniture. Hopefully the carrefour delivery cooperates n we can get out quickly. Yawn...Maybe i shd close my eyes fir a while...

Morning mummies..

Watching AM Live! and there's a senior ob-gyn talking about deep vein thrombosis being 6x more likely to occur in pregnant women. If any of you are having pain on one side of the leg, esp the left side, better get it checked out and do NOT go for massage.

Petrina, sounds like your boy knows about responsibility at such a young age.

Groovy, don't worry... I haven't even done baby's laundry and sort out my own wardrobe yet! I think I need more space bags for storage and trash bags to throw away old clothes.

Fleurfleur, do have a good rest, if you need, go and get an MC to stay home today.

Re intimacy, Hubby and I stopped cos I had spotting one time and we both freaked out a bit :p I guess if you have placenta previa or other risk factors, then better stop. If not, then depends on whether spouse is ok with it. I read that many pregnant women continue until delivery!