(2012/06) Jun 2012

Thanks ladies. I bought the body shop pillow spray..really refreshing smell. Bought 2 bottle of their aroma oil also...there's a green tea and lemon flavor which perks me up almost immd. Can try if u're feeling tired all the time.

My diaper genie finally arrived from USA!

Morning! TGIF for those working mummies!

Just checked the weather report - usual stuff. Thundery showers over practically everywhere in late am & early pm. How to do laundry? haha

Cassandra

Welcome
Ah another sale! Keep me away haha

I think I shall resist buying anything else, except for those small items outstanding - like gauze, cotton balls, antiseptic wash etc. And Babysafe mattress for the b=cot.

No more buying!

Must resist! Must resist!

jul: When I think of how I would rather spend the money on books for my son, and also pay for his education, aka expensive preschool, I don't have any urge to buy other stuff.

My this 2nd son poor thing. I haven't bought anything for him yet, ok, maybe one or two sets of milk bottles.

glass

Can't be that u din buy anything lah. Surely u must have bought diapers, wet wipes, cotton balls etc also mah. I also din really buy a lot specifically for No2. Just some baby clothes coz No1's were so stained that the stains have turned brown! And a lot of the stuff I bought were for sharing like detergent, washing liquid etc.

But I agree that some things shd be saved on also. I shall use your way to remind myself not to buy UNnecessarily hehe

Good morning, if you guys are going for the OG sales at Orchard Pt, can also drop in at Robinson. There seem to be some promotion going on as well for the nursery stuff.

http://www.robinsons.com.sg/promotions_weekly.php

Don't think OG member card is required for the sale.

Anyone going for the sales, can help to advise if there is any promotion on the Combi Rashule/ Roanju (high chair cum swing bed)? Thanks

Btw, is cotton ball more useful than cotton pad?

Chris

Huh? U better dun go lah.

I bought most of my son's clothes from Song & Song. I used to buy from Old Navy, but find them not that cheap & quite thick. Not really suitable for Singapore weather. Then those shopping centre ones, also nothing fantastic. In the end, I also realised my son doesn't have much outing clothes till he turned 2.

That's when he grew big enough to wear Song & Song stuff, so I bought loads of tees from there for him. And since his sch doesn't have uniform, he has a lot of going out tees now.

cassandra

Depends on what u r using them for. Personally, I think cotton pad would be better for cleaning butt. Cotton balls would be better for the face.

Morning mummies!!

Yes TGIF! Slept very well last night, i guess i have to start sleeping earlier.

I am looking forward to the weekend, SHOPPING for my personal items for delivery and going to start cleaning the nursery!

Gonna have my beancurd now.

Morning gals. Yeah TGIF...though I have started to work from home but will go office and visit customers from time to time.

Jul, Cassandra, I personally feel that cotton balls will be more suitable to clean face too whereas wet wipes for cleaning butt.

Chris, rest well and have a speedy recovery. If you are feeling better, then you can pop by this weekend. I have things yet to buy too, but I'm thinking of getting them during the Baby expo fair in end april and motherhood fair during end may.

Woohoo! It's sunny! Dry laundry dry! Dry laundry dry!

Wonder if I can convinve Hubs to go to Careefour this weekend. Wanna stock up on my shower gel & get delivery.

Carrefour has the 5+5% discount/rebate with POSB Everyday Card this weekend

jul: i also frequent song n song.. but muz see some tees quite thin. i like to buy bermudas for him from there.

Cassandra: i think balls will be easier to shape for eyes. cotton pads maybe face? if u dun differentiate, both also can be used on face.
For my #1 i bought the whole roll. so b4 bath i just pluck n soak in hot water. by the time i wanna use, already cool abit just nice to clean. i like to use pad for face as the surface is bigger, easier to clean. then i'll squeeze small ball for the eyes.

Chris: I get my boy's tees mostly from old navy online. when they have clearance already, then additional 20%, i will grab alot. maybe about 10pcs. 1pc will be approx SGD10 after disc. of course haven't add shipping.
If you wanna save on shipping, best to join spree. cause usually i buy myself, minimum shipping already $30-$40 as there is base weight to be charged. so when u split the shipping amongst 10pcs, its additional about $3-$4 per pc.
If you join spree, shipping per pc is approx $1 only.
For me i chin chye. cause convenience, deliver to my house. so i rather pay abit more. afterall, i only shop in clearance dept then buy only during special sale. my target is usually USD$8-$10 per pc. to cap my shopping.
Otherwise u go Robinsons, when they have 20%+20%, it's rather cheap too.

Cassandra: Thanks for the info on the Robinsons Sale!

As for the Combi Rashule/ Roanju (high chair cum swing bed), my cousin bought it at the Baby Fair @ Expo which has passed, apparently that was the best price she found,but the next baby fair is somewhere in May i believe and i am not sure if the vendor will be there.

Alternatively you can check it out at Tai Sing as they are the local distributor. I believe the price is $459, so try and negogiate for a lower price then that if you can.

petrina

I kinda like the thin tees. Coz Singapore's weather is really too hot! I either let him wear a singlet inside, or pull on a long-sleeve tee when we go to airconed places.

Then my boy quite yimchim also (MIL claims it's my fault coz I'm yimchim). Dun like to be hot - he'll be super bad-tempered when he's hot(Hubs says he's like me
) I have to cut off all the clothes labels too, coz he will complain that the labels are 'itchy'. So it's better to buy soft, thin tees rather than good quality ones.

Jul, ya hot sunny morning....good time to dry laundry...hahaha.
I just bought my algo storage shelf and groceries at carrefour last monday.

Btw where is Song and Song ah?

Anna

Nvm lah. 5% is a few dollars only. For me, I wanna get my super heavy toiletries for delivery. Then shunbian pop into Watsons or Guardian & get my small items, then I can stop shopping liao haha

I usually go to Toa Payoh & Lucky Plaza. Not sure where are the other outlets.

anna
think song and song has a few branches? i've seen one at tpy central as well as chinatown

carrefour sales
issit only for toiletries? or like storewide huh? cheap to stock up diapers/ milk powder then?

i'm a bit terrified of OG sales lei.. that time queued one hr to get in.. then another 2 hrs to pay! me n mum took turns!

i like carters more than ON.. somehow the designs abit brighter.. ahaha.. my two cents.. now got the oh-so-big sale, up to 60%.. grabbing some for #2.. he so poor thing, only hand me downs.. haha

dogs
abit off.. ahaha.. but know some of us have dogs here.. do you vaccinate them annually? like those annual booster? a fren of mine said no need... said only the first few yrs and last few yrs.. in btw, it's redundant?.. any one thinks so too? suppose to schedule him for one soon.. also, he's not sterilised yet.. cos he's a nice bred, yorkshire x silky, i would really like to have some of his offsprings.. haha. and also feels that not v "man" if sterilised, like depriving him of rights lydat.. =/

I actually bought the cotton pads but may just get the cotton balls for the eyes since it's recommended.

Adeline, any idea how much your cousin paid for the Combi Rashule/ Roanju? I intend to go Taising to check out tomor.

Chris, it seems that Robinson is having 20%+20% off the kids'apparel. You may want to check it out.

Talking about kids' apparel, these are what I have bought for my baby. I hope they are enough?

SS Tops side front snap
Newborn : 2 pcs
0 - 3mth : 1 vest, 2 front
3 - 6mth : 1pc (front)
6 - 9mth : 1pc (tee)"

LS Tops
6 - 9mth : 1pc
6 - 12mth : 1pc

Shorts
6 - 9mth : 1pc
Pants
0 - 3mth : 1pc
6 - 12mth : 1pc"

Bodysuits
Newborn : 1pc
0 - 3mth : 2pcs
3 - 6mth : 7pcs (sleeveless)
6 - 9mth : 11pcs"

Sleep suits
0 - 3mths : 6 pcs
3 - 6mths : 2 pcs

Hopecg, I have 2 dogs (mini schnauzers). They are 7 going 8 years old. I brought them for vaccination early this year and the vet at Balestier said after 7 years of age, they don't really need to be vaccinated. This year is their last year of vaccination.

Morning mummies, finally friday !

Thanks Cassandra for the robinsons link, i'm going there later

I also put my kids' laundry this morning near the window, great to have big sunshine today

Song & Song i noe Holland V have 1, Lucky Plaza 2nd lvl also have 1.
HV branch lots kiddo clothes. Lucky Plaza i don't frequent. *I stay at HV. so i always shop there*

Cotton On PS have kids boutique. If you go Anchorpoint, they have outlet sales boutique for kids. AP have lots kids outlet sales boutiques. Giordano, Fox, Cotton On.

Jul: i work in suntec T2. so my downstairs only kfc/mcds/bk, crystal jade bakery, foodcourt.
My baby don't like oily foods. so foodcourt beehoon is out. crystal bakery i'm sick of it since HV also have it.
I need something filling. so it's usually either mcds or kfc. the lesser evil is porridge lor..
but today super hungry. so i bought from both! $2.50 SM + $2.60 kfc porridge

I need my daily dose of soya bean milk *hope baby skin is nice n smooth*

Talking abt yim chim, i think most kids bah.. mine also muz cut labels. cannot wear prickly material = no cheapo polo tees. only cotton material.
tat's y i bought 4pcs of Petit Bauteau in Robsinsons when they had the sale last week. $10 for 2pcs singlet. so he can wear in the daytime. very smooth material w/o labels n soft too.

i m a sucker for cheap things. very niao. not willing to spend much on clothes. unlike when he was a baby. sometimes i go market buy tees for him. 3 for $10 type too. cause all cotton. wash a few times soft liao. my last trip to thailand i bought alot market tees for him. $1-$2 per pc niah.

Carrefour PS has kids dept. the baby section i used to buy 2yo tees. 2 for $5. can go see. baby rompers also. very thin but cheap.

Morning everyone!!

TGIF – even though it’s Friday the 13th.

Hope

I have 2 dogs – one is 6 years old and another is 3 years old. They don’t go for annual vaccination but both have been sterilized at 6 months old. Both are the same small breed – long hair mini daschunds (hot dogs?!). How old is your dog? Are you planning to breed him? If not, best to get him sterilized. Personally, I think it’s more important to ensure that the food fed to them are of a certain quality cos afterall, they depend only on the food we feed them. I’m really particular about what they eat and also their cleanliness.

Clothes

I actually received some brand new Carters rompers from the hand me down bag. I realized I have so many rompers now!! Are rompers really good to wear? Like very ma fan leh….looks cute la…but for daily wear like not suitable. Best to wear those simple button tops at home. More comfy right?

Toiletries

I’m going to Chinatown tomorrow to stock up toiletries! *YAY* Must prepare a list tonight.. hehehe…

Cassandra: My cousin is currently out of town, will get back to you.

As for the infant clothings, i am sure that is sufficient.At least to last you for a month as the he wont be going out however after that you can bring him out to try clothes and to be on the safer side instead of stocking up now and he might just outgrow the size. It is much more economical that way i feel. We have forced ourselves to stop buying as well.

I have heard from a lot of my friends that they kept buying clothes to the extent that the baby cant fit into most of the clothes as it was too small and they had to give away.

Finally the weekend is in sight..

Hope, i dun vaccine my dog too since they already had the vaccines when they are a puppy. I agree sterilization is a bit cruel..like turn them into enunch, and they have no say in it. So i wun do that to my dog..but will keep him away from female dogs. like smilez, i am particular about his diet, i believe if they eat well, won't have major health issues in future even without vaccines.

not sure why but seems like my stomach has shrinked..used to be able to eat a lot during 2nd tri...now 1 sandwich i am full already.

clothes
i dun dare to stock up too many baby clothes cos i see that some babies really outgrow very fast. i have seen 6 mo wearing 12 mo clothes. bkk is a good place to stock up on cheap baby clothes..maybe i shld plan a trip there end of the year with my son to buy new clothes for him.

Washing
i am asking the maid to start washing the cot covers and side buntings...finish liaoz then will start with clothes in May. still too lazy to touch hospital bag..

Braxton Hicks
Got a question here, BH is not painful right? Past few days I have been feeling certain parts of my tummy tighten, but doesn't feel like the baby and its not painful. Is that BH?

Morning mummies..

hot sunny morning... perspiring even in my office :p

Re clothes, I haven't counted how many pieces I have in total... will do so when I start washing. I'm not going to buy a lot more cos I think with regular washing, they should be sufficient.

Prettibride, I think you got BH... I also start feeling this tightening feeling now and then.

jul: haha, ok, I also bought 4 packs of goon diapers. I think nothing else already. I think that time might have bought too much, think still got some spare. Need to go and dig out from my mum's place.

baby clothes: My son is so small size, he still can wear 6-12 months pants. Anyway, I have no idea where the old clothes are, not sure whether at my mum's place or at my MIL's place.

Clothes
I used to buy from 3-6mths about 4pcs per range.
though baby is 3.375, he already wear 3mths clothes abit baggy. but save me lots $. so this time i bought about 4pcs NB. then the rest 2pcs each age range. so Manyue look nice lah. then at home just wear baggy is ok.
i remember rompers my son 1yo still wear 6mths romper. below dun button.
save alot $. then go out wear tee n shorts. now he's 4yo, he's still wearing 6-12mths tee at home.. LOL
sexy lah. can see belly button when he stretch. then pants wear higher abit.

So dun buy too many per age range. buy a few will do. since we usually shop all the time, we will definitely overbuy as time goes by.

So the tightening feeling is really BH? I have this a couple of times and can be quite uncomfortable. The tummy really feels like a rock.

On separate occasions, i feel a bit breathless at times. The body feel abit weak for a short while.

anyone going DRYPERS free prenatal yoga? They have a new session again. only 14 slots. go register, the advertisement is on the top of this forum page.

Hello.. will take long to read the prev thread..

I was in Medan when the earthquake happens and indeed feels the earthquake a bit! Luckily it's not that bad in Medan..

Didn't know MIL is super active in Church in Medan until the archbishop of Medan is the one celebrate the funeral mass in the Cathedral of Medan.
I believe she's in heaven now

Very tired today, just back from night flight yesterday but I go office today becoz wanted to save my leave..

hopecg:
I didn't vaccinate my dog for the past 8 years or so. Recently i brought her to the vet and was asked when was her last vaccination but i said its too many yrs so i cannot remember. Anyway the vet said as long as my dog is a home dog and doesn't come into contact with others it shld be fine.
P.S i also didn't sterilize my dog. Too cruel to put her through an op like that

Robinsons/JL: Any idea when will be the next 20% off? Coz i want to buy the thermos flask.

Prettibride:
I am the opposite of you. I eat triple the amount that i have been eating. First tri is normal amount. Second tri double and now its triple!!! Easily hungry & tired!

Washing Machine & Clothes washing
My Bosch is really silent. I cannot hear it when it is washing unless i am in the kitchen but even then its not noisy.
I don't hang my clothes outside coz scared that neighbours anyhow throw things, dusty or rain. I rather hang inside and keep windows open big for ventilation

Mine is baby girl ... i have a tendency to keep buying and have to mentally try to stop myself. Now i look at 12M clothes ... still give myself a reason to buy something. Jialat hor!

petrina, your son really help you save $$. hehe..sexy at home is ok la..

cassandra, you have the same EDD as me! I am having a boy too. Where are you delivering? The breathless is becos our organs are all squeezed on top of our uterus...so when we're too full or walk too fast will feel out of breath. Sometimes i feel it when lying or sitting down too.

Cotton balls
Isit necessary to get sterilised ones? I bought the normal ones from Giant and intend to use those facial cotton pads for the face...should be ok right?

groovy, glad that you're back safe and sound. hope u're feeling better. we were still worried about you when the earthquake happened. Yup, I am sure your MIL is happy in heaven now.

fleur, as long as wat u eat goes to the baby its ok..i tink i kept most of what i ate in 2nd tri on me...sighx
baby gal sure have many things to buy..all those cute accessories and stuff. you should go to youtube and look at those mummies who is decorating their baby gal's nursery...makes me so tempted to buy pink stuff too.

wah! u guys tempting mi leh. So many pl tat I cn shop in. Too bad I don't hv the robinson card leh. Which part of HV is SOng n Song? It seems to b the only one tat is nearest to mi. Bt the cothes r nt tat cute rt?

For bb, I lik to let thm wear rompers at hm. Cos it is better to cover their belly button. Also easy to change diapers if wearing rompers.

I used to hv a Chiwawa, unsterilise too. I also don't feel comfortable to do it. Thy shld hv a sy in this, i feel. My dog is yrly vaccined, eat primose oil, wolfberries, threadfin, pork liver n all the gd fd. He is still in the pinkest of health at age 5, certified by the vet. Even his skin is still pinkish lik a puppy.

Re pet sterilisation, I think it depends on your perspective. We didn't want to spay my female cat too (my hubby thought it was an unnecessary pain), but when she reached sexual maturity and was in heat, she would cry throughout the day and night for about 10min each time until she seemed hoarse and in pain. Besides being very noisy, we were afraid she would try to escape out of the house. So we had to bring her for sterilisation and after that, she's back to normal... My male cat was also sterilised at about 6mths old. He recovered within a day and is still very active and affectionate.

Pls read this http://www.humanesociety.org/issues/pet_overpopulation/facts/why_spay_neuter.html

http://www.humanesociety.org/issues/pet_overpopulation/facts/spay_neuter_myths_facts.html

Groovy, glad that you're back safe and sound. Maybe you can get an MC and stay home to rest?

Fleur

Can help me check with Bosch model u using?

Petrina

I was thinking of getting my MIL to cut away the bottom part of some rompers and sew up the hem into t shirts. Haha. I don't mind if baby goes pant less and wear diapers only.

Hopecg, I dun vaccinate my husky yearly since he has been vaccinated when he was young. Neither did I sterilise him too. I intend to shave him sometime in May since it will be his shedding of the year.

Jul, I bought $250 of stuff in Carrefour so I have lost $25 of saving in terms of 5%+5% discount lor.

Prettibride, Nattan, I also having BH from time to time. The tightening feeling very uncomfy but if it doesn't do any harm to bb then should be fine.

My bb having hiccups now.

Groovy, welcome back. Glad you are safe and sound. Try to leave office early to rest today. You can save your leave by taking medical leave from your gynae when near to EDD. They are normally very lenient on giving leave when we are near to EDD.