(2012/06) Jun 2012

Morning mummies...

Petrina, wow.. very good analysis of the different types of strollers! I'm impressed and thankful that you did your homework for us!
Right now, I'm thinking of the Peg Prego Mini which I saw at Mothercare last Sun. It's about 7kg, but still manageable for me. Can fold with 1 hand and is self-standing.. very important cos I probably will travel on train and bus a lot. I like the Stokke design but it's too bulky and heavy. My boss recommends Capella, but I don't really like the design...Like you said, it looks very bulky. She has a car so no problem. I might also get a cheap (below $100) stroller for getting around the neighbourhood.

Re diapers vs nappies, i think for most working mums, diapers is the way to go (although I am apologetic about the environmental impact of disposable diapers)... Already without baby's laundry, my hubby and I don't have time to wash everyday. We accumulate our laundry to wash over the weekends. It's going to stink to high heavens if we use nappies!
kao_dizzy.gif

Greeting to everyone,

I just found this discussion forum from the website and noticed that there are lots of mummies here with vast experience. I'm a 1st time mummy to be for coming June and I just manage to have time & enegry to start sourcing information. Hope to get more advise from all of you. :)

Was suffering vy bad symptoms from week 6 onwards till week 15 and was getting much better now. Throwing out for 4 to 5 times a day, heart burn which cant even sleep well... no appetite and weight loss. Was so worried..now my tummy was vy itchy and having spotted red dots on both left & right side. Even my two legs was vy vy itchy and dry. Not sure what products I can use to apply to reduce the itchness.

Looking forward to all the advise. Thanks!

nattan: *blush*
i niao person by nature.. so i like to compare every darn thing.. LOL
it helps tat my boy is already 3. so i can compare the length n width of strollers n whichever tat is comfy. his ultimate fav is maclaren xt with is 8kg. cause the length and comfort lvl is up to his standard. haha
1 very bad thing abt Maclaren is the unstability of the behind. unless the child is in stroller, otherwise u can't hang stuffs behind w/o toppling. so for ppl who don't have fast reflexes, peg prego is the best suitable replacement.

Adeline: i use organic products for my boy. i tried sebamed bubble bath for infants. works.. then when he uses hose to shower, it's no longer suitable as it is very concentrated, not to be applied on body directly.
my best suggestion is california baby products which u can get online.
there is a similar replacement sold in robinsons.
also yellow liquid with family size abt 600ml $60+. i usually stock up when there is 20%+20% + cash rebate vouchers. which works up to abt $35 per 600ml.
i use tat for hair to prevent cradle cap. even up to toddler age as they sweat alot and we can't scrub their scalp. so u need to get a very mild shampoo.
I tried J&J no more tears - yellow liquid, head to toe.
he gets abit of bumps on body and itchy scalp. i guess it's too drying. the cradle cap is bad as it peels off his hair. w/o pain though.

J&J has lots chemicals in their products though it is highly advertised.

himalayas brand is also recommended though it seems to be made from india. it doesn't state organic but it is the mildest type of chemical shampoo and it's cheap. $4 per 250ml bottle.

bodywise i m sticking to kodomo since birth - the purple bottle as it works well. cleans well n doesn't dry up skin.

i am not sure what Msia sells for organic products but i believe as it is skin related, best to be safe at least for 1yr. after that u can choose to trial n error for best cheapest alternative.

Petrina: Thanks for the detailed analysis! good for first time mummy like me! Looks like I'll be getting my peg perego pliko.

Prenatal class: I've registered for the class last week. supposed to start in March. Heard that Wong BB's classes are very hot, thats y so kiasu register now.

Bubblyval:Welcome =) Glad that you are starting to feel better. Your skin most probably feels itchy coz its starting to stretch. I'm using mustela double action, smells nice and its safe for breastfeeding too. Does help to soothe the itchness. Try not to scratch your skin too much, might leave stretch marks!

Hi Bubblyval, red spots r onset of stretchmarks

i have terrible marks for #1. cause first 5mths no itch. so i nvr bother with cream. then come 6mths suddenly tummy exploded, scratch like hell, tummy shrank after birth but the silver lines r obvious when i stretch the skin. otherwise it can't really be seen.
another reason is u might be allergic to something. it happens at times. usually external allergies like dustmites. if u dun like cream, then switch ur shower foam to milk foam. try LUX or DOVE brand.
if u r ok with cream, mustela is good but exp. cheap alternatives r housebrands like guardian.
simple olive or rose scented hand cream will do. as these 2 r so called the softest base for creams.

Welcome Bubblyval! I think you're getting stretchmarks from the sound of it. Have you started applying any cream? I'm using Palmers and Topicrem (bought in Jul's spree here) and they both work great. I only apply at night before bed cos I'm lazy :p but so far no itching whatsoever.

Re baby bath products, I plan to use organic brands like Earth Mama Angel Baby or California Baby. Cos even my cats use organic bath products.. haha... For me and hubby, we can use normal toiletry brands but for babies and pets their skins are more delicate so I try to choose those brands with less chemicals.

No problem Noelle. I was thinking of signing up the prenatal class with PEH initially cos I will be delivering at PEH. However after comparing both lessons, I finds that Wong BB's course will be more beneficial for first time blur mummy like me even though it's more expensive as compared to PEH. Will be starting my class on 18th March....one week after my Hong Kong holiday (my last holiday with hubby before giving birth).

Anna, I'll be signing up for PEH classes.. do share with us your lessons at TMC's ;) We can compare notes.. Envy mummies like you who can travel. My hubby doesn't want me to travel and so I'm grounded till after delivery :p

Sure Nattan. Maybe we can scan a copy of our notes and post it online. Hehehe.
We have checked with airline and it will be alright for us to travel before 28th week. If need to travel after 28th week, will need a letter from gynae to prove that we are safe to travel. So my hubby is okay with it too. Moreover I need to clear my krisflyers miles before the expiry date. Now will be the best time to travel, if not I think I gotta wait till my baby is few years old before I can travel again.

Anna, not true that you got to wait till baby is few yrs old to travel again. I have friends who bring their babies abroad even when they are a few months old. Must wait at least 3 months la. Some people even bring newborns along, but I think it's good to wait till the baby is slightly older. My hubby doesn't want to travel not because I'm not stable, but he is afraid if something happens, we can't get immediate help. Also, need to save up for all the expenses coming our way soon :p

I'm going to turn into cow soon...

my baby craves for Caesar salad everyday! salad meals seems to be super exp at food courts. i end up stocking romaine & rocket at home. my colly taught me a new creation which is to add sliced bak kwa into it so i feel full. haha
nvr eaten salad till i burp b4 i was preg. LOL

haha petrina, i also bring my own salad and wholegrain bread for lunch nowadays... super love it and it's just too expensive (8-10 bucks at least) at CBD area lor.. i make simple type lor either add chicken meat or ham, then add in hard boiled egg and dried cranberry, yummy.. hehee..

re stocking up on baby products
Try not to buy too much now.
I bought some during baby fair, and baby turned out to have expensive skin. All the cheap stuff cannot use, must use organic or special doctor's prescription.

Perhaps you can use yourself and your husband as a gauge. Does any of you suffer from eczema or other skin problems? If yes, might want to wait and see.

Re Diapers
Again, don't stock up too much now. You never know which one is a good fit until your baby wears it. some are cheap, but the sticky part becomes non-sticky quickly. Or buy expensive one, turns out the fitting not good, will leak. A lot are trial and error. Me bought bumwear too. Gave up after a few times. Too much pee and poo in the first year esp coz I bf

Petrina, I love salad... Just brought one for lunch today.. mixed Asian greens with penne pasta, chorizo & bratwurst sausage and cherry tomato.. YUMMY!!! Yes, very expensive to buy salad in the city and I still prefer to make my own so I can add whatever I like

Noelle, hopefully I can go on staycation with my hubby.. maybe for Valentine's Day
Hehe.. this will be the last V-day celebration as a couple liao...

congrats Noelle !

petrina,
salad with bak hwa sounds yummy ! good to eat more vege now since we're taking lotsa calcium/iron/multivits, helps prevent constipation too

bubblyval,
nice to have you here. can try baby moisturizer to put on tummy too.

just had caramel bubble tea from each-a-cup, cost me $3, they gave so much ice so only drink half cup of tea, not shiok ! should have bought from Gong cha instead.

glass, exactly! i think bfing babies poop n pee more hor.. my MIL was complaining y always soft stools.. keke
i nvr bother much abt my boy's stools. cause i m the type need to go then go.. not the daily sit there n make sure something comes out kind..

I wanna go holiday! before baby pops. i told hb if nxt time go holiday, bring #1 niah. #2 stay with MIL.. then MIL say cannot, muz be fair. if bring 1 muz bring the other.. haha

my first holiday after childbirth was during my son's 2yo bday celebration. he fell sick on 2nd day. couldn't find proper medication as i only brought enough for 3days. we were in thailand for 7days. saw thailand clinic but dun really trust their meds though i fed him. luckily tat time still bfing, so whenever he no appetite, i just latch. running fever throughout the trip.
So upon arrival in SIN, we rushed to airport clinic.. so sianz...

Felicia: not that i wanna eat salad lah.. my baby crave.. to me i nvr like raw foods. baby simply loves greens. can eat just leaves with any type cream dressing with abit crunchy sides (croutons or bacon bits will do)
make me hungry for veg all the time.. sucks! cause i drink little water, all the fibre make me constipate..

hi mummies, any of you thinking of rebonding or even coloring your hair? Advisable?

Mine is like super maggi mee and lotsa white hair sprouting all over..For my first pregnancy I really avoided all this. But this time buay tahan...

Any suggestions/views?

Hi Asrias, Pretina, Nattan,

Thanks for your quick advise to me. Just saw those information after my lunch. :)

Actually, I went to guardian just now and the sales girl has recommended me this brand Elancyl Stretch Mark Preventative Cream and giving me a sample to try. Not sure whether is this brand reliable. But, I will try to apply a little to nite to see whether it helps on the itchness.

Asrias ~ You mentioned about mustela double action, can i find it at guardian as well and how much. Just read the message after lunch.

Pretina ~ I am using Lux for shower all along and hopefully it is not allergies. ;) I guess so is the stretching causing the itchness...

By the way, I am also looking for Prenatal classes but I have yet to decide which hospital for deliver. If I am not wrong my gynae is tight up with Mt. A, Thomson Med, Mt. E. We are considering either Mt. A or Thomson Med bcos Mt. E is too expensive. Any feedback to share between Mt. A or Tomson Med. Btw, I saw previous message "PEH" what does that mean?

Blessed 09, I coloured my hair last month with a DIY kit. It's safe to do colouring and other hair treatments as very little chemicals actually go through your hair follicles. Of course if you're unsure, can always check with your doctor.

Bubblyval, PEH is Parkway East Hospital.

Thanks Nattan ..newbees trying to understand all the short form ;) Btw, I saw that you would like to sign up the prenatal classes with PEH. How much they are charging? Sorry to ask can our hubby join us with the prenatal classes?

BubblyVal, PEH is charging about $235. Yes hubbies are encouraged to join in. Are you planning to deliver in PEH also?

Bubblyval: the mustela cream is about 50+ can get it from robinsons. If you have robinson card still have rebate. Think there was a bundle deal that time which was quite cheap but I forgot how much it was.

Nattan ~ thanks for the info. Actually, my gynae have yet to mention to me about the hospital tight up with them for deliver but I heard from his assistants. There are only 3 hospitals for selection. MT.A, Thomson Medi & MT.E. I will check with him again on my next appt end of this mth.

AsRias ~ thanks for your info too! I will check if I am around Robinsons. But, I will just use the sample which I got today from Elancyl hopefully can stop the itchness.

BubblyVal, then I would suggest you sign up with the hospital that you decide to deliver in, cos I feel that it's better to familiarise yourself with the hospital staff and facilities during your classes. After all, after you deliver, the staff would be the ones providing you with support and care eg lactation consultation, etc. Like in my case, I chose PEH cos it's nearest to my home and I don't want to travel so far just to attend the classes.

Btw, if anyone have the "checklist to buy or prepare for newborn baby". Kindly send it to me as I have yet to start getting any stuff.

Understand there is a baby fair at SIN Expo on coming Feb 17-19 which I intend to visit and maybe the Hypermart which I read from the forum somewhere around Kaki Bukit.

Will start sourcing early Feb. Hope to receive the kind info from all mummies..here :)

Nattan ~ Well noted on your advise. Thanks...Yes I will have to check with my gynae on the hospitals which available or tight up with them and ask him more on the prenatal classes on my next visit. For my case, MT.A or Thomson hospital will be nearer to my house.

BubblyVal
I do have a checklist on my boy's blog for your reference:
http://watchrenzogrow.blogspot.com/2009/05/shopping-list-getting-prepared.html#en

another post of things we bought with brand and price
http://watchrenzogrow.blogspot.com/2009/06/relac-no-more.html

you can click on the list picture to enlarge and view details.. overall dun stock up too many things.. we found out certain items we bought are actually "useless", like the pigeon wipes, well used 1-2 pack out of the 6 packs we bought only, cuz everytime baby poo we just wash him so indeed not really using the wet wipes lor.. although still useful when we go out.. anyway when they are about 2-4 months old, you will figure out what are the things most suitable for them...

just one item to add, i think those soft type rattles are essential for small baby around 2 months and above.. my boy last time got no toys till about 4 months old.. lol but i realized when they are not able to move much, rattles are the best toy for them...

Thanks alot Felicia for your quick reply and sharing the info with me :) I will view the links later as I am leaving the office now. Cheers n nice day ahead!

<font color="aa00aa">Check this website for some useful info like Hospital bag packing list, items to buy for mum and baby:

http://www.<font color="119911">xxx</font>bsupplies.net/survivaltips_sitemap.htm

Replace "<font color="119911">xxx</font>" by bay".</font>

Just came back from 龙众武 gala premiere at cathay... Damn funny show! A muz watch. Making me drool for a dragon boy leh... Hehe. My longing for a gal seems to be lesser n lesser as the edd draws nearer.. Hehe, dunno whether is it fate.

I changed my shampoo to sunsilk the gold bottle. Very smooth. For those with frizzy hair may wanna try. Though it won't look like rebonded hair, i think it will soften ur hair a little.
For colouring, i'll suggest henna colour as there is no bleach. Safe for pregnancy usage since it isn't permanent.

haiz me too tempted to colour and also to rebond la..getting too obvious and when i say mine is curly, its really curly! hahah..

Re: Strechmark
Bubblyval,i use Clarins oil and seems like it was quite good as well..Get it from Sasa and think its abt $60 plus ($20 cheaper)

Btw my gynae was lawerence ang and till my last check up he was unsure if he can do my delivery in June (edd 18 june) till the recent check up he just told me i gotta find someone esle now..haiz...kinda lost out as I cud not get a package and really spent quite a bit for the past few scans..

His recommendation was Dr Hii Hoi Chin (Yishun) and Dr Chen Li Han (Chong Pang) any of you seeing either one of the gynaes? Any comments on both of them pls?

Haha.. Chris.. I was going to say that. I'm a little busier today and just check in here occasionally.

Last night I went home late after work and suddenly had very bad nausea. Was gagging for a good 5-10min, but nothing came out. Just a horrible "want to throw up" feeling. Wonder if anyone here experienced that? I never had morning sickness up till now, but occasionally feel nauseous if I'm hungry or eat too much, but a few times I felt like throwing up and my whole tummy and chest would be heaving, but nothing comes out :p