(2011/07) July 2011

janice- whether boy or girl,he/she is still the 'product' of the love between u and DH.love and cherish her.at least u know she is fr ur and DH's flesh n blood....there are other ppl out there who are trying very hard to conceive...

this is only ur #1...can try for #2...

i agree wif zachmommy- working doesnt mean we can spend freely.all the liabilities(bills etc),we must pay..

Janice: Your baby is a healthy girl. She is your own fresh and blood. Do you know how sad it is for a child who is not being able to get 100% love from parents?

Seriously, hwo long do you want to have this mentality? This child is a gift from God, and given to you and your hubby. A healthy baby girl who stuck with you through thick and thin, accompanied you since China and now in Singapore.

Janice, for the sake of your family and your unborn child, please love your child wholeheartedly ok? The child is innocent de. The gender of the kid is predetermined by your husband's chromosome so there is not really much you can do about anything...

Just saying, I have a diploma in Early Childhood Education and have been attached to many preschools during my years of studies and I've seen how these children grow up...

(1) developmentally

(2) socially

and other various aspects.

Janice: I also not wking staying at hm n 'yang' baby. Although is bored but a lot of my friends evff mi can stay at hm no nid to wk. Try to tok more to ur friends n family members. Dun think so much! We only hAve 3 more mths to go, enjoy this 3 mths. When u see baby is out ur feeling towards her will change de. #1 is ger, ur #2 can be boy ah. Not say tat #1 must be boy ah. My mum have we 3 daughters she also loves us! So dun think so much ;p

janice: its not easy to conceive. like me this is #2 live child but i had 4 pregs and 1st two didnt make it.. we wld very much wan a girl for #1 bt i have a lovely boy instead and now i am carrying #2 is a girl, we are delighted bt i went thru alot of tests and checks and spent alot too... so its a joy and blessing to be able to conceive and carry thru 9 mths..

dun tink too much as this will affect the character n temper of the baby as they are connected to our heart so they will be able to feel wat we feel or think...

Hi girls, just back from my gynae visit. I am 24w6d today and baby is sleeping soundly for the first time during scan. She is weighting 800grams. =) Saw her chubby face! Hehe..

ya.. agree alot of ppl ard us trying hard to conceive..my colleague, tried for 11 years!! Still nothing. I even feel shy telling them when I got pregnant cos I onie tried for 1 year..n what is that comparing to him for 11 years..

having a baby is a joy! Seeing ur kids grow up, learning new things, taking step by step into toddlerhood, children, teenagers and eventually adult is alr a joy..keeping them safe with us, hugging them, smelling them, even their poop smells better..

Janice: I know u think that we wont understand yr feeling of not having an extra income nor the fact that hw much u wanted a boy. But thr's always a 50-50% chance of getting a girl no matter what u did trying to conceive a boy. There's no return policy in this, she is given to u and u and yr hb ought to be responsible for it. Having negative mindset doesnt help make yr life and pregnancy easier and the fact that u're staying alone without yr hb with u make it worst with u repeating the same thoughts day in day out. Why not get yrself busy by reading/knitting so as to get 'connected' and keep yr mind off the negative thoughts? I've seen so many down syndrome kids and children who require special needs and life supporting machines. I tried to steal a glimpse of their parents and often they're so full of love and patience with the kids. U wont understand the meaning of the phrase 'as long as it (baby) is healthy, nothing matters" till u experience it, really. So stop taking things for granted and enjoy yr pregnancy. Be fair to your baby, be fair to yourself. This much we can preach, the rest is up to you.

Hi zachmommy, i totally agree with you. I was initially disappointed when i knew it was not a boy but it last only a few days and i felt much more happier after that and everytime she kicks. It is really a blessing to get a baby, some really try so hard and we got it only on first few trials so we are very lucky to have her in own life and i love her more each day.. =)

I hv posted in this thread long time ago so i think no one will rem me. But I hv been silently reading this thread, juz that I m too tired to post.

Jan-ice,

I dun mean to judge. Pls allow me to say how I feel.

I feel v sad to read how u felt towards ur unborn girl. I hv a 2 Yr old boy n went thru a miscarriage in Aug last Yr. I am expecting another boy now. Yes, I do wish I can hv a girl this time n I always like girls. But after what happened last Yr, gender no longer matters. All I hope for is for this baby boy to be normal n healthy.

There are many couples out there who yearn to hv their own child but cannot despite spending $$$$ n going thru the physical pain. Some are still trying even after 10 yrs or after multiple recurrent miscarriages.

Do treasure the time u hv with your girl b4 u start working. Pls do not juz dump her to ur MIL. U will miss being with her 24/7 after u start working. Pls also bear in mind that husband is the one who decides on the gender. It is no fault of yours!

There's no way mummies here can change ur mindset. Maybe u can learn to count your blessings n not ur problems? U will live happier this way :)

Let's chat or share something positive. Don't let the negative thoughts spread here. Let's curb it and spread the positiveness! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ok elch! i be the first...

yesterday when i was reading in bed...i suddenly have the urge to read out loud...and i am surprised bb responded and kicked me...feel very happy coz the little one actually can respond to my voice...first time for me...hehe

although not sure if it is true but i choose to believe that it is bb response!

jan-ice...you gotta change your mindset...talk to your hb if you can...maybe he can assure you that the gender doesnt matter...what matters is really the health of the bb. jia you!

sing to the baby the same song daily and when ur bb is born if she/he is cranky u sing the same song again will calm the bb down..

tried n proven with Zach..i sang Baa Baa Black Sheep daily and till now he still associate well with that particular song.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ST>> baby can hear u by now.. should be the response she give u..

my ger gets excited and move about when my hubby drive.. think she enjoy the vroom vroom sound like her daddy.. so i was telling my hubby: "die la.. next time she like u, like to go speed.. i will have to worry everyday liao.."

zachmommy...aiyo i must start to learn nusery rhymes liao...i think i only know the basic...like twinkle twinkle and baa baa black sheep...nowadays the rhymes all diff from what our mothers used to teach us...haha

piyo...i can imagine your gal in walker next time going at high speed at home...haha!

My bunny is very responsive to noises like the tap running, she kicked a lot while I was washing the dishes.

actually, I have to confessed that for #1, preg time was free and easy, but after giving birth and when bb was in his 1st 3 mths, I was not coping well and stressed and bb was v colicky...hub and I had a very hard time.

but recently bb seems more independent as he went to sch and as I looked back, I really missed the time to take care of him till who he is now (seems a long time hor...)

janice > not enjoy lor.. is the begining only, need to do moo moo duty, get the hang of handling baby, always not enough sleep/rest.. after that, is back to work but still need to handle baby after work..

if got confinement lady, it can also be headache..

in a way, can understand how u feel. this society, no matter how modern it claims to be, is still very much gender bias. the society pressure of giving birth to a boy.. if firstborn is a boy, 1) most of the 'society pressure' is gone. 2) u r deemed to have fulfilled ur 'duty'. 3) lesser people will ask, r u trying for a 2nd one.

however, if firstborn is a girl, people might ask when are u trying for a second one, etc etc..

girls are said to be more fillal when they grow up. but i think it varies for individual.

having a baby, is a god's gift. some want also might not get it.. so much cherish it. do not let the kid feel that she is unwanted. it might cause resentment when she grows up . of course, saying is easy but doing is hard..

tell me abt nursery rhyme, nowadays Zach sing those songs from childcare, i dun even know what are those.. One Finger, Two Finger, clap clap clap.. but then again, if u sing to infant, they cant say NO! NOw Zach will say Dun Want if i sing Twinkle Twinkle.. he wants Barney song...arrghh..crazy! n worse sometiems ask me to sing in Mandarin which i noe nuts abt..

janice > earn more = spend more.. doesnt mean extra income de..

j2010t > how was ur taiwan trip? hai.. this world is, the grass is always greener on the other side. those working will envy u. those not working will envy the working class.. :S

actually with a kid or more, you will feel that it is very hard to spend enough time with your kids.

I felt very bad to work full time and let my #1 go cc, at first tot to put 7am-7pm, but hor, very poor thg to spend his time all in sch. so maybe try to ask in laws take care of him 1-2 hrs b4 and after sch, so that he got a mixed of time outside sch.

zachmommy yes to suit her schedule means all her patients will go thru her calendar to give birth hahaha .. unless u got special dates n insist..

n u r jus v different from my colleague she wants a boy both #1 n now #2 both girls.. but yes she still love love her bb de.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

u all soo good le! my bb.. i still dunno what she will respond too. most probably to the music when i was sitting down working in office..other than that, if i lie down for a while, i can felt she kick one two time..and makes me feel so blessed!

now hor, my hubby likes to molest my tummy.. i think bb will feel shaky inside on every morning le! hahaha

just had korean bbq spicy chicken with beef for lunch.... big serving and just nice to satisfy my growing appetite!!

usually when raining n i m walking home w unbrella....i will sing this chinese song to my gal..."zuwa ni qui"...is like tat: "chi tang de shui mann liao, yu ye ting liao, gege hao bu hao za menn qiu zwa ni qui..."

ni qui = earthworm

hahahaa...she like enjoy as i feel trembling inside...hahahhaa...u can imagine if she wear the rubber boots with rain coat...very cute, right??? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wendy, if we choose date and time, need to pay double..my mom said as long as not 'chu yi' it is ok wor.. so juz go for it..she alr decided on 21st June but she din tell me the timing. Good oso, it's school holiday.Zach can stay home with my parents and visit me in hospital..keke

kimi, that's my worry too.. when i hv 2 kids at home come July I need to split that 3hrs between 2 kids, expressing and some housework! I alr tink Zach shuld hv more attention since he is older and naturally needs more nurturing.. infant most of the time are sleeping, drinking milk, poo-ing. when latching #2 in the evening, can oso read story books to Zach and after latching, pass #2 to hb..now i m onie praying hard the other half can improve on his usability at home..haha

feimei, Lizzie,

I've been bearing with the pain from late 1st trimester till now. Told my gynae about it he just says take Panadol if too painful but I don't want to. Hope it doesn't get any worse than it is as pregnancy progresses.

zachmommy,

Dylan too! He'll choose the song that he wants to hear me sing and strongly disagrees if he doesn't want the song I pick to sing. At times, he'll ask me not to sing and leave the singing to him!

hi all mtbs...this is quite apt for today's thread...do read..it touched my heart.

A baby asked God, “They tell me you are sending me to earth tomorrow, but how am I going to live there being so small and helpless?”

“Your angel will be waiting for you and will take care of you.”

The child further inquired, “But tell me, here in heaven I don’t have to do anything but sing and smile to be happy.”

God said, “Your angel will sing for you and will also smile for you. And you will feel your angel’s love and be very happy.”

Again the child asked, “And how am I going to be able to understand when people talk to me if I don’t know the language?”

God said, “Your angel will tell you the most beautiful and sweet words you will ever hear, and with much patience and care, your angel will teach you how to speak.”

“And what am I going to do when I want to talk to you?”

God said, “Your angel will place your hands together and will teach you how to pray.”

“Who will protect me?”

God said, “Your angel will defend you even if it means risking it’s life.”

“But I will always be sad because I will not see you anymore.”

God said, “Your angel will always talk to you about Me and will teach you the way to come back to Me, even though I will always be next to you.”

At that moment there was much peace in Heaven, but voices from Earth could be heard and the child hurriedly asked, “God, if I am to leave now, please tell me my angel’s name.”

“You will simply call her, ‘Mom.’”

- Unknown

elch, feel so sad when i wanted to sing that particular song and he kept saying dont want and when he sang Incy Wincy in Mandarin, I dont even know what he is singing - only he knows..haha

mine responds very well to american idol! omg...DH says when she grow up,maybe she wanna go america join american idol..skip sg idol..hahha

but when i let her listen to other music,she kicks but very soft de...maybe she likes the american idol opening sound or ryan seacrest voice

everytime i watch american idol,she very active,keep kicking :D

elch> same same lol...my gynae oso said take panadol if 'ta-bu-leh tahan'....but i dun take lah...even my bad migraine hit me...i oso 'REN'...din touch on single panadol!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pray we will hv a smooth 3rd tri.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] soo excited moving into 3rd tri...very look forward...hahahhaa...

Elch: same. my pain has been there since first tri...untill I cannot take it and asked my gynae if I can do anything apart from taking Panadol. so she recommended me to do physiotherapy. Which I've been doing and I find it helps. At least with my neck. My back/butt pain still persists...and Im told its gonna be worse as pregnancy progresses lol haiz...

zachmommy,

Our boys has grown up! Haha! They are now little men with their own mindset!

feimei,

I'm looking forward to the day our little ones arrive and yet at the same time I have cold feet thinking about it. Not sure how I'm going to cope mentally and physically. I don't even know how I pulled through caring for my boy!

zachmommy,

the good thing is my hub is trained to take care of #1, so #1 wont stick to me for milk or bedtime. but u know, he maybe jealous by the time. Hopefully my CL or my in laws will give him some attention too during this time.

Of course I have to juggle with #2, intend to latch more at nite and expressed in the day so have excess to spare. Ever woke up to expressed in midnite or morning, but was interrupting my sleep. Also try to keep up with #1 by playing or reading to him when I can.

housewk, CL can help a bit but after that, have to juggle lor. luckily #1 in full time cc so hopefully I can cope.

elch> with ur new member to the family...it will be more fun n dun tink how to cope 1st bahhh...everything will hv it's solution, planning now only give urself more pressure...i meant, plan for neccessary things lol...but those worriedsome things...push aside 1st bahhh....

ST> very touched n emotional when reading wat u hv posted!!! really very meaningful!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thats y ppl always said: nobody can replace a Mum's job!!!

ST: Thanks for sharing. Even though i've read it somewhere, it still brought tears. Perhaps the pregnancy hormones are acting up or perhaps it reminds me of my 3 miscarried babies. Ok, brush away the unhappy thoughts and embrace the last lap of our pregnancy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piyo> mine also gets excited n kicks when hubby is driving.. i also think jialat next time sure siao car like dad

zachmom> wah if tats the case i think my girl will react to jay chou when she is out.. daddy puts tat on repeat mode everyday

feimei> i thought ni qu = mudskipper.. earthworm = qiu1 ying3

ST> tats the loveliest thing i've read.. wah abit touched to tears.. now so motivated to be a good mummy

actually I thought of quitting my job to take care of baby when she's out.. its either i lose the income, or i lose the chance to see and experience her growing up years.. and once gone it will never be back.. recently getting more n more emo.. tear at the slightest thing. must be pregnancy.

i got all my stuff!!! baby cot + mattress + 7 piece bedding + combi urban rocker + old-school pink walker + baby safe mattress and pillow

now left all the wu eh bo eh cotton buds and stuff.. all set and ready for 3more mths!

px> hahhhaa...pai sey...differienate wrongly...i oways tot is earthworm becos i HATE earthworm becos c how they move make my fur stand...eekkk... -.-"

very fast in action...majority of stuffs done...i oso left with those small items...but i din get those big ticket item...cos will be hand down...

typo.. should be combi urban walker + old school pink rocker, not the other way round..

feimei> i dont have handme downs.. my frens all not married, cousins still schooling too young, and those married frens happened to be pregnant with #2.. this year very fertile lol. Only one smelly angmor colleague asked me if i want his bjorn carrier and maclaren stroller... he sell me at DISCOUNT. horrible....

PX22...hmm i tot of quiting also coz cant turn back the clock once bb grow up...but DH says will be quite stress for him so most prob still con't to work lor...admire those who can really be a stay home mum...it takes alot of courage actually.

btw, how much you buy bb safe mattress?

cactusnah...dun think of the past coz cant undo...think ahead...chiong ah!!!

feimei...the ni qiu song difficult to sing...most prob i have to use my own words to fill in the lyrics..haha

i actually had a nightmare last week that i gave birth suddenly and everything at home was still in a mess and baby had no where to sleep and had no clothes to change into ~!! i am usually a scatter-brain and last-minute kind of person but this is a "project" that i cannot "fail" or complete at the last minute~!! hahahaha..

so over the last few days, i went on a shopping frenzy and bought most of the big neccesary items.. feeling relieved now..

now can start planning when to wash new cothes & hand-me-downs, clean up bb's nursery, look for curtains.. etc.. to think of it, 3 months is not enough~!! hahha

i have some preloved Mothercare/Foxbaby Rompers for sale. All in very good condition. 9.5/10. each piece is worn 1-2x only.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243826.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243827.jpg]

Mothercare longsleeve rompers 3-6mths. in pink/floral/stripes design

selling 7pc for $18. or $3 per pc.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243828.jpg]

Mothercare shortsleeve rompers 3-6mths. Pink stripes design.

Selling 1 pc for $3 or $5 for both.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243829.jpg]

Foxbaby winnie the pooh rompers 3-6mths.

Selling at $4 each or $6 for both.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243830.jpg]

Foxbaby longsleeve wrap top with button 3-6mths

Selling at $4 each or $6 for both.

giving away free Brandnew 1pc Foxbaby Hat or brandnew 1pc Mothercare bib for every $15 purchase. FOC postage for $10 and up.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243831.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243832.jpg]

Free gift of Hat and Bib is BRAND-NEW

pls PM me if interested. thanks

px> Arrghh...tat angmo Really smelly lah...wan to sell u at discount...damn crap...ask him to keep for himself...he shld be generously give them to U la...still hv the cheek to sell... =P

ST> hahhhaa...i like those old folks chinese kids song...i hv this song when i rem that my mum sang to me n if i sing it myself, i will tear...becos make me think of her... :~( esp now soo emotional period...when i read ur post just now...oso make my eyes watery!!! =P

feimei,

Those cold feet thoughts only come to me once in awhile. I'm generally a pretty positive person. Come what may there's bound to be a solution!

Also selling some Brand new Disney baby Clothes

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243882.jpg]

BN Disney Baby romper 6-12mths $6 Retail at $15.90

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243883.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243884.jpg]

BN Disney Baby 2pc longsleeve PJs set (ladybird) 0-6mths $10 Retail at $19.90

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243885.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243886.jpg]

BN Disney Baby 2pc longsleeve PJs set (stripes) 0-6mths $10 Retail at $19.90

Selling some Combi Socks ($3 per pair, 2pairs for $5, 5pairs for $10)all brandnew

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243887.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243888.jpg]

Free gift for every purchase of $15.

Pls PM me if interested. Thanks

elch> i oso hv been telling myself to be a +ive person becos i myself very 'bei guan'...i hope to be +ive so that my ger will be +ive as she grow up, dun get affected by my -ive thinking....hahhaa...thats i tink more +ively now n try to see broken on most thing...no point hanging n struggling on... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i tink i will hv ur feel when i gg to hv #2.... =P

ST> thanks... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]