(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

mummies looking at kindy/carecare. its absolutely crazy.. i've been searching/calling last couple of days, I got TU (insulted) by the consultants of LIL SKOOL HOUSE at AMK HUB!!! condemn them!! shitz...

sorry for the outburst. its like FTM how was I suppose to know that I am so late to even try to register Ethan for their "fantastic" school. *$&*%&(. okie anyways. sorry about the ranting. places like learning vision, kinderland, pat's school house all have waiting list ALREADY!! sighh.. its so painful.

grumpus, ya the half day thingee is a problem for me. I need to see how i can make the arrangements the most i get a helper. I like marymount kindy haha.

hey andrea,

some mummies here hv the same problem with milk feed. some bbs are more interested in solids - if that's the case maybe can feed slightly more solids? if he manages to eat his cereal with milk, u can try feeding him that way. maybe more "bulk" to it so he prefers. otherwise u can try switching milk powders. u can contact nestle, dumex, abbott, friso for samples and try on your boy.

my nephew has also been on milk strike for the longest time, but he's about 15months. he started striking about 3 months back, now my mum is bluffing him by giving him similac instead of his mum's bm 'cos he refused the bm. he is drinking more of similac now than bm.

Talking about schools, before I had a kid, I used to roll my eyes & wonder why parents are so kiasu as to send their kids to school even before they barely turn 2.

Now that I am in this position myself, I more or less understand why. Most parents rationalize that they will have more time on their hands, I agree too. Moreover, as our babies are growing up so fast now, don't you think that it gets harder & harder to entertain them at home? How many repeat songs can you sing? How many times can you pick the same old toys from the floor? And now as I am typing this, my MIL is letting my baby play with the house keys & at the same time, teaching her broken English. Gosh!

I can't wait to pack her off to school at 18 months. I prefer her to learn proper things in a structured way, play included, & also to learn how to socialise. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Muddypaws, I am checking out GUG too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chercat, i juz had to laugh at the "repeat songs" 'cos that's what i do too! i will sing the limited songs that i know on repeat mode, until i get bored of them myself. lol! actually i do pass my housekeys to gwen to play with, 'cos she's fascinated with the metal jingling, and it is a minute that i do not have to entertain her. :p i really don't have that many things to entertain her with, books, toys, songs, everything all i've taken out and she's lost interest. so by 18mths, school's the way to go!

chercat: i totally agree... the waiting list can be madness and hence the kiasu-ness..

i heard GUG is very good.. even the reviews are good... I read in some forum (forget what forum is that), they are also on waiting list..

chercat: I just started Liz in GUG. It's just 1 session (1.5hrs) every sat, and they do songs, art/craft, phonics, waterplay, rhymes etc. Liz seems to enjoy it. If all goes well, I would continue her with this till she's 18months and then move her to GUG class for 18mths (which is 2-3times a week) or Cambridge.

dewdew

i thought we should reduce the solids instead? haha. and yeap i will try to request for sample for enfa and hopefully it works out well for him.

muddy: which branch is Liz gg? so u waited 3 months on the waiting list? is the lessons expensive? they have trial classes too right?

dew: ya ya, this is the forum i saw on the GUG

leelee: She goes to the Mountbatten Centre branch as this is the only outlet that provides bilingual class. I paid S$600plus for 3months worth of class (but that is inclusive of deposit, registration fee as well). Each month is about S$188 (before GST). Yes, they have trial class too.

Heard that the bilingual class is very hot. The class size is only 7, and the teachers are rather passionate. Liz would crawl up to the teachers during lessons, and the teachers would be using liz to demo a dance or song.

Muddy: I see.. I thought it's quite expensive.. It's cheaper than shichida [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: GUG

I paid $50 for the trial class. Will be starting my gal in Oct when she's 10 months. I am not going for the bilingual class, so there is no waitlist for it. Depends on the timing that you opt for. Generally morning classes are less crowded i think.

Every week they focus on an alphabet, like the trial class i went to, they were teaching them the alphabet "E". And there is some handicraft during the lesson too. My gal was painting an elephant with a toothbrush and got her hands all dirtied with paint!

I was deciding between Shichida and GUG and decided on GUG because I feel that it is more all-rounded. Involves songs, activities, flashcards, phonics, etc. Shichida focuses on flashcards and is used to improve their photographic memory which I think its more rote learning.

abt starting school early,

while i agree that its good for the kiddos to be expose to school early so that they can socialise and learn new skills, i think 18 mths is a bit too early..

my advice is to see if your kid is ready to start sch at 18 mths.. some may be more independent and will be happy at sch, while some needs more time at home b4 going to a new strange environment..

i was late in enrolling my elder one in cc so by time she was on top of the wait list, she was 20 months.. even then, i felt that she was a little too young to be going to school... esp when she had nitemares every nite when she first started.

so for 2nd one, i will see if she is ready, if she's not, then i will jus wait till she's ready, be it 18mths, 2 yrs, 2.5 or even 3! anyway, she has automatic entry into her sis's sch, so i dun hv to worry too much abt wait list.. i dun mind waiting till she's older..

but yes it is very hard to entertain kids nowadays.. i am guilty of using the TV w my older girl... at least for no 2, still quite easy to entertain, jus give her different things to bite.. or bring her ard the house to show her clothes drying, looking out the window at birds, or staring at the fan.. haha

Hello mummies.. I'm back in Sg...

Yvaine: my dad was scheduled to have a surgery to remove a growth from his back. Actually, we do not even know if it's a cyst or tumour coz the growth sometimes gets bigger, sometimes shrink. Then he is a heavy smoker, doc suspect his lung got problem, also spine got problem.. aiyo.. whole chain of problems coming up for someone who hasn't seen doc much.. :-(

Lovebyte: how nice! celebrate birthday overseas with hubby and baby.. enjoy!

dew: hope you are feeling better today.. baby Gwen doesn't look like a grouchy baby at all.. :)

oshgosh: good luck in your part-time job..! Jade is in her terrible two's? you are a good mother, resigned to work part-time also for them.. so, definitely not a bad mom.. but also true, kudos to all SAHMs without helper.. whenever I on and off without helper for a few days, I keep thinking about SAHMs that handle their kid/s without helper.. salute!

Having bf alone at macs after dropping no 1 at daycare.. No 2 stayed over w my parents last nite so i hv some me-time this morn [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wanted to cut hair but my stylist doesnt work so early...

Goin in for my first meeting at the new workplace later in the afternoon..

Thanks bubbly! Hope the docs will diagnose ur dad properly, sounds like they not too sure wats wrong w him..

Maid just told me liz vomitted this morning... don't know if it's because of the yogurt she ate this morning or is it because of some dirt she ate (since she's been putting everything into her mouth these days). Liz has been drooling a lot these days so I suspect her 7th tooth is coming out...

kinda worried about her.... hope it's not a stomach flu.

Amelia, THANKS!!! i'll go down to Toys R Us to buy this weekend. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bubbly, gwen's grouchy when she doesn't get her way - and esp. so when she's in her car seat! another bad episode this morning, sigh!

muddy, oh dear, hope Liz is ok. maybe like u said it's cos she's been putting everything in her mouth.

muddy: dun worry...dun think its stomach flu.. monitor liz for awhile...

dew: it will be a better afternoon for ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi Muddy and mommies,

How R u mommies doing? my girl also juz vommited.. Muddypaws does Liz looked uncomfortable n does she cry alot tdy? im also worrie dbout Chloe donno if its indigestion or how cum she only vommited aftr 3hrs latr frm e tym she finished her lunch..

Can any mommies advised me on tis? thankS =)

yuening: Hope Chloe is doing better. Maybe you can rub some Ru Yi Oil on her tummy? Is she cranky? Did she play a lot after her lunch? Maybe the activities caused her to regurgitate the food out...

My maid texted me just now to say Liz finished her pasta lunch, poo is normal and is happy. No fever or diahoerra, so I'm relaxed for now.

Yvaine: jus updated myself w e 1st pg of thread, my condolences to u and ur family.. Pls stay strong yea?

Muddy paws: LIz finished Pasta?! Wow can u teach me how do u prepare e pasta for her? Wat pasta is tt? Is fit macaroni? =)

Shivan: thankQ for sharing w us tt we cannot feed bb orange foods for a straight period of tym, 1 mommie said cannot feed consecutively 3days, I've been feeding carrots, orange sweet potato n pumpkin for 1mth le!!! Aiyo.. Cuz I'm not sure wat other food I can intro,but I learn tt a few mommies hear r tryin to intro avocado, mayB I can try, thankQ mommies for e advice!

Klitz: wah Si En really haf slot of hao Liao! I will try to prepare tis vege stock also but do u add porridge in to cook as well?

good morning mummies and daddies..

yuening: yeah, cannot feed consecutively for 3 days. you can give broccoli, cauliflower, corn, tomoto (remove seeds and skin), purple sweet potato, leek, etc... for cereal, you can add apple, banana, blueberries, pear, avocado, peach, etc..

Mommies, is anyone keen to take over the Haenim play-yard from me? It's 6 panel (with 2 activity panel (1 melody, 1normal), 1 door, and 3plain). Liz used it for less than a week as she hated it so much she was trying to climb out all the time. Going for S$180 (neg), self-collect.

ThankQ Leelee n Muddypaws, she also has hard stools, so will give her more fruits as suggested by Leelee=) Haf a nice weekend peeps =D

morning mummies and daddies... heavy rain and weather sooo nice to sleep..

jovan had fever on sat..and went as high as 40 degree.. sponge him and went down and gone up again to 39 degrees... quarrel with my hubby, telling him fever cannot play play.. so i suggest to bring him to see PD tonight... furthermore tomrw is a PH..

Can i check could it be teething or viral infection? what are the symptons for viral infection? he also has abit of cough and running nose.

leelee,

definitely not teething.

teething doesn't cause high fever.

possible viral fever.

viral fever will go up and down and be much higher at night.

my elder girl having viral fever with running nose and very bad sore throat

oh really grumpus? thanks! come to think of that, that time when he is teething on his two below teeth, also dun have such high temperature... sigh, not sure why will have viral fever? but he still quite active.. but sometimes very sticky and also cranky... and not much appetite..

leelee

fever is no play play...my gal aso sick, cough for quite long den nw gt running nose n gt mild fever but to play safe i bring her see PD tis morning...she aso dun hv appetite...sigh

PSH: i just saw ur reply in FB saying u cant join [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] if my boy still dun recover, i wont attend tomorrow too... how long did she had a fever? did u sponge her? issit teething? I will be bringing to see PD tonight.. my MIL just called and mentioned his temp is 36.8...

Leelee,

viral fever is cos of virus lor. like bb get flu etc. viral fever will up and down, sometimes bb will be very active like ok already then sometimes fever come back up and they get cranky. can last abt 5 days.

if fever up and down is ok, just keep giving fever med and sponging etc when high. but if many days already then still better see dr.

if consistently high over 2 days then better see dr immediately

Athena,

Thanks for organizing the gym class last sat. It's a totally new experience for my gal, as she doesn't have much chance to mingle around with other kids. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] As what other mummies have mentioned before, my gal was totally tired out, she dozed off before I can finished buckling her up in her car seat. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Grumpus, PSH, LeeLee, speedy recovery to your kids. You mummies take care too!

To all Muslim Friends,

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri!

Have a great holiday to All!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Grumpus/PSH/Leelee: Seems like this virus is spreading like wildfire.. Guess my boy also had viral fever last week together with cough, runny nose and very very bad phlegm, then broke out with rashes on his body. I didn't bring him to dr, I just gave him his med fr last month but tonight gonna bring him coz his phlegm is quite bad, can hear it when he breathes. Appetite also very bad, we wasted alot of milk initially but now, we give him only 90-120ml but give more frequently, still waste at times.

Hope our kiddos will get better soon. Anyone give any vitamins? Later gonna ask PD if got any vitamins to boost their immune system.

I read on one forum that EVOO and flaxseed oil supposed to be good also for general wellbeing and eczema but i haven't done research.

leelee

she started to hv fever since yest, temp ard 37-38 deg...i gt giv her panadol, put Koolfever pad n sponge her...PD told me its flu cos she gt running nose n he say fever will last abt 3-4 days...hope she better by tomolo...sigh

cel_cel: heard from my sis ard one year bah

can buy those kids cheese sticks from supermarket. packaging red in colour. think kraft brand has cheese stciks as well