(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

My boy also abit on the small size as he is only 7plus kg. PD says he will most likely end up to be 8 plus kg at 1 year old. The average for 1 year old baby is about 9/10 kg. My MIL says he is taking solids quite well. But don't know why when we feed him during the weekend, he don't really like cereals - is it because mummy make not nice or the timing I feed cereal is not right. But he does like his porridge (made by granny - mummy just feed). Now is fish with carrot/pumpkin/sweet potatoe or spinach. I wanted to introduce meat, but don't know how to. Thanks for the advice given by the mummies here. Think I will use metal spoon to scrape the pork after washing before cooking(did I understand correctly - will the meat come out). Target to try this weekend. If not my boy has been having the same fish for 2 weeks liao.

Jamie,
Wow, gathering at your place. Abit too far for me. Though I would love to catch up with you and other mummies.

Poohwei, Sunday at your house is great. Can bring hubby?

Count me in for Eastside gathering, hopefully weekend.

Lily,
Is okie..
I still have one bottle of telon oil! thank you!!

Hi Cheesecake,

K, will try out both methods. Thanks. Between, my PD says don't cook the meat too long, if not, it will become tough and hard, so I will only put in the meat just before serving.

Meat: I have introduce pork last week. I used the soft meat (mei rou) or lean meat. Use fork to scrap out and then make into different portion to freeze it in ice cube box. Each day, I will defrost 1 pc and then put inside a bit of cool boiled water (must be cool one, not hot) and then stir and stir.. the meat will spread out and becomes mashy.. then put inside porridge and start to cook. The meat is cooked as long as the porridge i.e. 1.5hr to 2 hr (I use slow cooker). Because I cook it for quite long so the meat is quite soft actually and I also use spoon to press press and then it becomes small bits before feeding.

poohwei: u stay at redhill right.. I stay at telok blangah so can count me in if you are having a sunday gathering? ;)

sgvp,iLove sashimi

thanks for asking abt my girls's condition

have not logged on for a week cos am so stressed with my girl's condition- From diarrhoea, devloped into fever, then cough with a lot of phlegm and leads to flu with blocked nose.
Her diarrhoea has been more than a week and still not recovered. My mother in law kept asking me to change pd but my hubby insisted on gg to the same pd as he already knows her condition. Do you think it's neccessary?
Is it common for diarrhoea to last so long? i was giving her soymilk for most feeds and breastmilk for night feeds but when i visited the pd again for the third time today, he has asked me to change to total soy milk , it's a bit difficult for my girl to do the total switch but i guess got to try.

I think ur PD is right. Inspite of using medicine diahhorea still ongoing. It could be mostly due to the triggering food from ur BM.

audrey - high 5! i oso freak out when things get dirty. my #1 didn't get to try finger foods until she was 1+ coz mummy doesn't like her to be dirty! she's so well-trained dat she will still guai guai wear her bib as she doesn't wan to be dirty too. but #2 is such a mess. so when it's feeding time, i got to have a box of tissue paper on standby and her face towel. i'm always wiping her in betw feeds. i screamed when she knocked over the bowl of cereal! always got to bathe her after her meal.

ilovesashimi - can understand how tiring it can be when your bb is still not sleeping well at nite yet. learn from the experience and make sure when you have your #2, go for the frills- free method to make your life easier.

cheekz - i've given up on my jelly belly too. super xian. but well, we have 2 lovely gals, wat more can we ask for right?

star - I think what sgpv said is correct. The last time my girl has eczema is also due to the BM as that time she still havent start solid and is on TBM. So PD told me to omit seafood and cow's milk from my diet, then her condition improved.

ling, i many weeks never go hg point ntuc liao..only mil & hb go tog cos i take care my boy...haiz..i miss the only organic sales loh...ang mo selling $2.30 i think

audrey, today u went compasspoint ? i was at cold storage abt 3pm choosing bb jar too ! btw why andrea has sudden fever ? must monitor her temp closely hor..ya sometimes at outside i will break into small pcs too, cos i lazy to change his clothes if dirty..hahaha

juju, ya loh...so now i just take my leave...no need to indicate is CCL, ML or AL..my hr will write for me..

jamie, ok ! any food arrangement is fine with me..as long got food and drink ! so organic baby is another new brand of bb jar ? i never see this brand before...

bbmay, long time never see u posting liao...u now back to punggol or still at bedok ?

feb_mum, wat is frills free method ?? can explain more ? hehe

re : sensitive skin
nowadays i realise my bb skin will get red red very easily..any mummies experience this ? any solution ? i hv change his bath shampoo to Cetapil..but still not very good leh..

porky - frills free method means the lazy, bochup mummy method ;p i dun rock or carry my bb to sleep. rite fr the beg, i will juz put bb down on the cot and bb is supp to sleep. i dun sing, i dun pet. bbs are most trainable when they are 3mths and below. so bad habits formed then are very hard to undo.

feb_mum,
yup! but next time when my girls get preggy, i will make sure they dun eat excessively like i did, haha...

porky,
mae ann has v sensitive skin too. she's always getting rashes on her cheeks after starting solids. so far i think wheat is the maim culprit, so i avoid all food containing wheat and her rashes is better.

re gathering in the east:
count me in for gatherings in the east
can use my place too, if u guys need a venue.

feb_mum,
sighs, if only i dare to use ur frills free method with my #1...now am trying to undo the bad method on #2...still working on it...

ling,
i tried it on mae ann for 2 nites, so far still ok...i expected worse but she didn't cry that badly...fingers crossed!

cheekz,
good for u that mae ann can still adapt to it.. my boy cannot la.. slp must pat one..zzz... so regret last time shldnt pat n sing song..

feb_mum,
i also screamed when she knocked the bowl of cereal over.. den i will feel very guilty for screaming.. i hope she will like the baby jars that i bought.. if not... sian.. haha!

porky,
yah i was there about 3pm also! never see u!! i ate lunch at the kopitiam den went down to buy den took train to boon lay. the cold storage there like got alot of jar food n biscuits.. feel like buying the pigeon small round biscuit leh. haha.

dunno why she suddenly got fever.. started with cough, phlegm, den fever den runny nose.. hope she will recover soon cos i want to try the jar food haha!

ling, thank u..

feb_mum, i think usually #1 is more bao bei...so we sing song, pat and do all kinds of things to pleased them...for #2 i swear i wont do all these anymore ! is so torturing...

audrey, oh..we missed each other..i was there quite long cos i cant decide wat to buy..hahaha...then aft that i shop ard at basement see the clothes...wah u took train from sengkang to boon lay...so far ! hopes andrea recovers soon

cheekz, my bb is not rashes leh...is like red red marks or patches on the neck, body or thighs..aft a while will recover..so i think he shd hv sensitive skin loh...

Star - My gal also on/off diarrhoea for a few weeks. The first time was 1 week befor i bring her to see doc then realise its lactose introlerant. BUt each time when i intro regular FM, she will diarrhoea again hence diarrhoeaing a few weeks...haiz. This week, I am starting to put her back to regular FM and her poo was funny althogh not frequent so fingers crossing as I type that her tummy can accept lactose now.

REmember when ur gal diarrhoea u need to make sure shes not dehydrated - give smecta and lactorel forte - it helps alot.

Actually if u still don't feel comfortable with seeing only 1 PD, u should then follow ur instinct and look for 2nd PD (it may not be a bad idea to have 2nd doc opinion). My hubby was like urs and last time when my gal was coughing non stop and upon seeing 2nd PD - from SBCC, then realise shes been overdose with med by my 1st PD. Faint.

Feb_mum - ya, i agreed!! actually i did try to train my gal when she hit 3rd mth using Cry to sleep method but she cry so hard that I eventually give in cos hubby and helper both said I too heartless and cannot have drastic change. haiz. i should have stick to it

star when my boy got diarrhoe...i took abt 2 weeks to see the improvement...i change to total soymilk without thinking if he can adapt or not..cos at that time, i just wan him to stop his diarrhoe..cant think so much...very stressful i knw..mayb u wan to consider using nappy liner so no need to change so many times of diaper..this is ifc teach me..hope ur girl recover soon..u must take care also

wow feb_mum if i dont pat my boy he can toss ard or cry till 1am dun slp lor..bobian i want him slp early so i start pat now bcm habit but usually qt fast i guess he too tired cos he catnapper in aftn so evening v slpy already.

porky , my boy got sm dry patch on face duno what n y.. been putting california cream for him these few days no improvement.ur boy discharged? hope he's doing well

audrey i feel like eating up his jar fd... he dont like them, so x.. faintz... hope wait another few weeks he will eat.

consider as last night i just went eat buffet..ahh i miss salmon sashimi!so great to taste them again..anyone here expecting 2nd bb? cos june forum got 2 gonna hav nxt bb in few more mths time. i cant imagine hw hectic it's gonna b but cos i nt wking yet feel like going for it settle once n for all haha just think only cos c sect think must wait a yr.

Porky, I am mostly at Bedok now, my hubby don't like to go back to Punggol.

Ling, no lah, we never bring my boy to see PD yesterday. Our PD is at TMC, may switch soon cause the parking and waiting time at the clinic is terrible.

RE: Baby sleeping
50% of the time, my baby will fall asleep after his last feed, we will carry him awhile longer before we put him down in his baby cot. The other half the time, when he refuse to drink his last feed at 8pm, he will either play by himself at the baby cot (which is very rare) or he will want us to carry him out (most of the time) and my hubby and I will put him between us and pretend to sleep. My hubby says I always sleep earlier than baby and he end up playing with baby for 1 hr before baby sleeps. Oops, I am so bad hor but really very sleepy when pretending to sleep.

Re: Sleep training
Personally I think its difficult to sleep train unless you are staying by yourself, haha... no mum no MIL to interfere. Due to my working hours, most of the time my mum puts the baby to bed. My baby used to be able to sleep without any fuss, after my maternity leave, she needs to be patted cuz my mother pats her to sleep. Until about 6 months, I decided that enough is enough! hahaah So I tried to train her to sleep by herself.
So now, on days when I'm not working.. she sleeps by herself, on days when I'm working my mum still has to pat her to sleep. See how smart are babies!!! They know when to behave and when not to!

Adv-Sports,

Happy B-day Yuanyuan ! Anymore BBs 8th month today?

Baby Sleeping
most of the time she can sleep after her last feed....drink till fall asleep. but less than half hour she will wake up (think due to milk havent go down thoroughy?)
I have to carry her walk around then about 10mins she will dozes off again. After this she will sleep thru till morning abt 630am.

I also pretend i am still sleeping when she wakes up. Usually they will play by themselves first. If u moves a little... they will try to get your attention again. Babies are indeed very smart.

fireflies,
u jus reminded me of wat happened this morning.
my bb was still cranky & woke up at 5am this morn, wan to be fussed over. but she keep crying & screaming away. then i got tired, put her in sitting position & i fell asleep, ltr on when i woke up half hr ltr, i found her slping like a log liao... *faintz* same thing happened last nite. the more i fuss over her trying to get her to slp, the more she dun wanna slp. once i go into dreamland, she follow suit!
before her recent fever, she usu latch & slp. no hassle!

good morning mummies

thanks, fireflies! oops, we forget to sing happy birthday song to yuan2 this morning! will do it tonite :p

happy 8mth bday to shermay & keagan!

re: baby sleeping
on good nites, yuan2 can play n fall asleep in the cot herself... sometimes, i need to carry her over the shoulder before she zzz...

yes, baby very smart! yuan2 will pull down the cot bumper to see where is mummy/daddy...

babymay, haha, the pretend-to-sleep game sounds like the one that i mentioned before -- usually the parent is the one who sleep first!

good morning mummies, going to be end of the year soon, time flies!

Happy 8 mth bd to Shermay, Yuan2 and Keagan.

Re: Baby sleeping - It's time to train my little boy now else is never. Just moved back to CCK last night, without maid and mum so can train Isaac to sleep on his own from tonight.

Hi JasC, please share once you manage to train Isaac tonight.. cos I have been wanting to do it but keeps failing.. haiz..

Worst cos my gal knows how to flip on tummy but doesnt flip back so her head is always lifted up.. she doesn't like to put her head down when on tummy.. so if I let her cry to sleep.. she will flip over on tummy and the cry will be endless..

I really envy mummies whose babies can stay on bed and play pretend to sleep with bbs.. cos I can definitely not be able to do that.. my gal will start crawling all over the place and crying if she cant move about.. so will end up making her more frustraed and too angry to sleep.. arrghh...

createjoy, the dry patch is it ringworm ? cos my bb also hv tat on his chest..dry and round patch..then bring him to see pd..is ringworm..aft apply the cream will recover in 3days

bbmay, oic..thot u at punggol then we can meet up..hehe

bean, yes u r right ! i cant train my bb anything when my mil is always ard...whenever bb cries..mil will ask me why dont faster go to carry him...my mil works half day in the morning..so when i am at home taking care of bb alone...i just let him cry sometimes..cos i also need to go toilet or do my own things right

last night abt 3.30am i carry my bb rock and pat him for 30mins he still refused to sleep...then i fed up just leave him on the bed and i lie down myself...end up he just fall asleep on his own...

ilovesashimi

I'm trying to train Isaac before he could stand on his own. He refuses to sleep and I have to carry him and pad him as he was sleeping in the playpen. Tonight I'll leave him in the playpen and let him cry. The problem with him is he wants to be carried even lying on the same bed with me he still made noise.

I couldn't train Isaac at my mum's place as old ppl will feel heartache if the little ones cry.

re: pretending to slp
i do tt with hailey every nite. lol! sometimes i open one eye to peek at her and i see her looking back at me. hahaha! does anyone have babies who are not yet slping thru the nite? hailey lk nv anymore. altho she still wakes at abt 5am, her eyes are close and she doesn't seem hungry but she gets restless. then sometimes she will cry then i latch, jus to get us both to slp. bad habit, i knw. =p

graceofgod: order captured! hahaha!

porky: organic baby, they hv at some ntucs i tink. i bot a few times liao. promo price is $1.75..

Happy 8 mth bd to Shermay, Yuan2 and Keagan too!

fireflies..ur b so gd.. can slp thru...mine stil can't. stil waking up 3 times to latch on! but nwadays i notice she only latch on for abt 5-10mins, then she wil go back to slp... and nw chloe has got 2 teeth liao.. so far stil ok to latch on..but got one time i caught her trying to bite me..luckily i stop her on time..phew!

Chloe is nw slping with us on our bed.. i did nt let her slp on her cot cos when she wans milk.. i got no strength to carry her up n dwn.. lol.. but i thnk its time to let her slp her own nw right> she 7mths odd nw..dunno if it works..

Jamie,
Yess!! Me me me!! Andrea used to sleep thru but now she stopped!! Waking every few hrs, not hungry, eyes closed, but will jus cry n cry.. Den muz rock her den she'll slp.. Once put down, will wake up again.. Maybe got nightmare? Haha but very sian to see her like dat..

I also try to peek at her when pretending to slp but she knows. So far, hasn't fallen back to slp on her own yet haha!

Jamie's place gathering
21st jan 2010 (thurs)- abt 2pm onwards
pls add ur names!

1) jamie & hailey
2) porky jean & jaeden
3) audrey & andrea
4) joyce
5) ling & kayden
6) mikojade & nigel & helper(can fetch max 3 frm train station bt cannot fit in any strollers)
7) okipoki
8) lily & rachel & hb(maybe)
9) sk & charlene
10) createjoy & jayden
11) sgpd & baby & helper

Email HT orders to me at [email protected] by 8th jan (fri) and u guys can collect on gathering day itself!

audrey, hailey only wake once where she will be restless to slp. then i cant be bothered. so i latch. and she drinkkkkk!!!! bt once in a loooonggggg time she wake n i dun latch i jus pat her to slp, she ok. wat does tt mean huh?!!!

Oh andrea is many many times a night..

I gave her abit of barley water to drink leh n now v slight rashes.. Can't be the med cos gave to her before. Babies can be allergic to barley one meh?

JasC: So you will be training at night?

The last time I done it was in the day time and I failed terribly.. till I have to promise my gal I wont do it again.. haha.. but that was day time.. kekek.. I din say I wont do it at night right.. Perhaps tomorrow u can share your experience and I can consider doing it over the next few days since long weekends.. keke..

Adv_Sports: My gal was like your gal,every morning pull down the bumper to see me and then start calling out to me. When I cover myself with blanket, she will start crying and thats the time I decided "she has to sleep in her own room" cos I'm worried it becomes a habit for her to see me when awake.

Last 2 nights, I realise she cried lesser.. Fingers crossing that she can soon sleep through the night.. *praying hard*

Jamie's place gathering
21st jan 2010 (thurs)- abt 2pm onwards
pls add ur names!

1) jamie & hailey
2) porky jean & jaeden
3) audrey & andrea
4) joyce & Hui Xin + Hui Ning
5) ling & kayden
6) mikojade & nigel & helper(can fetch max 3 frm train station bt cannot fit in any strollers)
7) okipoki
8) lily & rachel & hb(maybe)
9) sk & charlene
10) createjoy & jayden
11) sgpd & baby & helper

elder girl has been complaining that I bring HX to outing everytime.. so this time to include her!

Sleep Through
Mine not yet still, will wake 2 to 3 times to latch.. nid to rock her or pat her to sleep on my bed then transfer her to her cot.. if latch at 3am, I will leave her on my bed & co-sleep till 7am. she wakes around 7plus daily..

Now, we will put her in her potty every morning once she wakes..& she will poo/urinate in her potty..

ilovesashimi, I could only train at night. My sis in law is taking care of my boy from today n i believe she could train him in the day too
she has a month to do it s aft Jan her girl will go back to school so she's more keen to train him than me!