(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

win,
GP can use medisave to claim Pneumococcal Vaccine
charges too.
for my gal's case, the GP ask us to bring the photostat copy the bb's bc, one parent's medisave statement print out and i/C. Note: the parent must be there to fill in form and sign.

Jas - I also realise that when my gal is cranky (teething) @ bedtme (after milk), and once I apply teethign gel, she will fall asleep very fast. I know it sounds weird that teething gel seems to "induce" sleep.. haha.. and for a few nights.. we kinda "abuse" it by keep applying every night (cos so easy to put my gal to sleep).. but then later realise that its not a good idea so I now only apply once in a while.. so just in case, you ended up the same as me.. u may want to take note not to depend too much on the teething gel.. keke..

Createjoy - [Just personal opinion] My mum has been encouraging me to let my gal use walker (cos I grew up in walker) and there are many aunties out there also keep telling me must use walker to "train" bb legs. At 1 pt, I almost give in but then later I have decided not to. Reasons:
a. Books and Internet all said that bb will depend too much on the walker and will be lazy to learn to walk on their own or even crawl. Ive seen a few of my friends bbs are like that and I am convinced.

b. If got exersaucer or jumperoo - also can help to train legs muscle. Even crawling also helps. So not just walker.

So my bottomline is as long as my gal starts to crawl and explore.. Iwill not deny her that by putting her in walker. Even if on exersaucer, its only max 15mins (once or twice) per day.. nothing more than that.. cos I don't want my gal to get too used to it.

So likewise, if you want your bb to be on walker, do so with controlled timing (says 10-15mns).. not full day.. otherwise, they wont get the chance to learn to crawl or walk.. cos walker is simply too easy for them to mvoe around..

Bbs are curious creatures.. so if you just leave them to be on tummy.. they will eventually crawl or walk to explore..

createjoy: my hair loss is at my fringe and my temples. the fringe drop alot. very thin now. bt at the same time also growing new hair. if lift up the remaining long fringe, can see small 1 inch ones growing out. very funny looking. like nerd. lol!

Happy new yr to e super mummies n bbs out there...! we've known each other for 2 yrs liao.. (2009 & 2010).. ;-) time really flies..!

me too... i lost alot of hair... n same like jamie_nov.. i can c new hairs growing out.. lift up e hair looks damn funny.. like nerd lor.. hahha.. tats y i cut y fringe to take cover.. hehe

Hey mummies, check this out.

I found this from the Apr thread. If your bb CDA account is with OCBC, now there is free eye check up for bb below 1 yr at Optic pt (till Mar 2010). You can call this number to book your timing.

Number is for Optic Point Shaw Centre branch: 67378888

Note that its applicable only on Wed and Fri and the last bookig time is 530pm.

This meaning that I will have to take leave to go liao..

ILoveSashimi

wow free eye chk, so gd. that time my gal 6 mth plus went for this chk @ tmc(pkg together with 6-in-1)& if i not wrong, still gota pay more than 50 bucks.

mummies shd bring their babies for this chk since its free till next yr, thumbs up

cant remember the lady's name,but shes nice & patient. my gal enjoys it

Win n jamie, I go Jurong Poly, there quite fast, dun go on mon and sat.. Bb took there no need to pay anything as they deduct from my Medisave...

Win,
i only went amk & yishun poly. yishun poly quite fast. i waited abt 20mins, the nurse say they v slow liao. usu 10min wait only

jamie

i always go pediatric ctr @ tmc since frances born. u lei?

btw, u heard of kidslink? They hv 1 branch in JE. That time i called up to enq on the cost Pneumococcal Vaccine, its $185 per dose b4 GST & consultation, more ex than TMC, though can use CDA lah.

Wishing all mummies a happy new year and great 2010 ahead! How time files! Our babies are turning 8 to 9 months now! Wow!...

Hair Loss issue - Less hair drop but more white hairs are seen. Sigh. Also not sure if it's hormonal changes due to preg now.

good morning mummies! happy new yr! may our bbs grow strong and healthy.

sgpv - no, i doubt they will allow you to bring a carry cot up the plane. you flying for long distance?

re vaccination @ polyclinic - actually with appt, wait at polyclinic is very short. both my gals do their jabs at the polyclinic. very efficient, no complaints at all. i go to bt batok polyclinic.

re walker - personally, i'm not in favor of it coz bb might knock into things and this can be dangerous. also, bb will tend to tiptoe if they use the walker for too long.

my #1 was on walker at my mum's place previously. i decided to close one eye coz it helps keep my gal occupied and my mum can do her chores. but we told her to restrict the time spent in it when the polyclinic nurse found dat my gal was tiptoeing.

my #2 has started on the walker recently. well, just got to ensure dat her time in it is restricted. actually, may be good dat she's in walker than strapped to the bouncer. at least she gets to move around. my gal can actually stay guai guai on the bouncer up to today.

Wah Feb_Mum, so good that ur #2 can stay on bouncer.. i already keep mine cos she keep screaming.. previously she used bouncer as "poo poo place" i.e. sit on it for a while.. and she will start to poo.. wahha..

BTW, how much is the Pneumococcal Vaccine in polyclinic har?

ILoveSashimi

its range between $140 - $180. so far private practice charge $170 & above & that is b4 consultation & GST.

i believe polyclinic will be lower bah

Thks Win. In tis case, I shall go for poly then.. Didn't know that I am paying so much more.. arrghh.. so far all injections were with PD..

Another silly qn again - how old should bb go for Pneumococcal ?

feb mum,
seems like some polyclinics more efficient than others. amk polyclinic appts are almost pointless. can wait quite long, same like kkh pte children's clinic

sgpv,
regarding travel on plane, if u travel wi SQ they will provide u wi bassinet, baby blanket and baby food. but remember to select the baby food menu, they have a few types of it like post weaning etc.. and when we travelled this dec, the SQ air stewardess even gave us baby bibs, diapers and wet tissue.. all wi SQ logo, very cute!

as for the air pressure, i also standby pacifier for my lil boy but he slept throughout the taking off and landing, he didn't whine so i didn't offer to him.. but best to standby just in case.. if u travel long distance, my advice is take the midnight flight so bb can sleep throughout and u dun have to be "cartoon" entertaining him! wahaha

Hi all, happi new year to all mummies n babies.. Time flies n at this time last year most of us are still 5,6 months pregnant n now our little ones r 8 mths oredi!! Getting emo oredi lol

Happy New Year to All Mummies n babies ...

Today went shopping with Rachel go to KP at Toa Payoh n United Square
Buy HT, Baby Nat n Organic Baby fo her ... Btw today last dat offer at NTUC for Organic Baby $1.75 as at Vita Kids sell $2.50 ....

Cotton On Baby also got sale hehehe ....
Tm Rachel 8th months liao

ilovesashimi,by right is 3mth, 5mth n 1 booster at 12-24mth. but it's flexible lah, as long as below 1yr 3 dose, 12mth-59mth is 2 dose.
jayden took his pren jab at 6mth, next is 8mth then booaster at 1yr+ old lor.

wow lily , toa payoh ntuc qt big hor got so many bb food. sian my hse here suck!! only got nestle & the si sheng cereal. jar food only heinz not even gerber. wow jan 1 , 8mths! that;s nice! happy 8mth rachel!

oh oh joyce will ur mil nag u? my mil sure nag,.. but now she cold war with me didnt talk or look at me or jayden for 1+ wk already..

createjoy,
ya hor ... at my place also not much baby jar. Just happen to be at toa payoh today n went there to see wow got Organic Baby offer so i buy lor.

Not sure if any mummies online @ this hour..

All of a sudden, my gal refused to drink milk since 1pm. Her morning 2 feeds at 630am and 10am were ok but after that she stopped taking.

She skipped the 1pm milk and take the porridge when we feed her at 4pm but when we try to give her milk at 430pm - she refused again (we usually give half a bowl of porridge and 150ml of milk). Her last meal at 730pm - she also refused milk and after trying for 30mins of various method (change milk powder, change to mag mag cup etc) still not use. We ended up give her cereal with milk but she did not take alot. Only 7 tbspn. Super worried that she cant last through the night.

SCared she hungry in the midle of the nigth and yet refuse milk then does that mean I have to feed her cereal again??

Initially I thought it could be teething but she started crying even before the milk bottle gets to her mouth and when placed inside her mouth, before she suck, she started crying like very cham like that.

Any idea whats wrong? tomorrow New Year, doubt I can find any PD to diagnose the prob?

How how.. so so worrying..

ANy idea whats wrong?

lily, thks for the link ! i went to buy the bb jar already..bgt 5 jars only..hahaha..wah vitakids sell so ex leh..ntuc even no offer only sell $1.95

joyce, hui xin fell from where ? jaeden fell from my bed few days ago...fall flat on his nose...his forehead and nose was so red when i carried him up...he cried so loud...nw he is ok liao..can drink and play..else i so worry

ilove, did u check any problem with her mouth ? cos my boy also refuse milk before..then i realise his mouth so red inside...u cant find any PD...can go to GP or kkh...cannot dont drink will get dehydrated..take care

Porky - She can take solid but not milk although she seems that she wanted the milk bottle. But each time I take off the cover.. she will start crying..

When you boy reject milk, does he reject solid too? KKH has an area to see babies??

ilove, my boy reject milk..but he still take cereal..yes kkh can see babies but need to wait if very crowded..depend on seriousness