(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

happy 8mth bday to greg n kayla
yuan2's turn in 2 days time!

glenlyn, i can wear back my wedding ring but still hv 3kg to lose before pre-preg weight.. think i gotta start serious running!!

jean, wah, ur fingers size dun change? mine swell -- realised when i try to remove my ring (do that everyday when i get home) and find it very tight... after that day, i stop wearing the ring...

re: ring
yea mine cant fit either! hahaha!

re: gathering
do vote ur preferred date 19th (tues) or 21st (thurs) jan 2010 ok! thx!!

glenlyn: dun u drive? bt if too far for u then nvm.
anyone else can come if it's convenient for u! =)

Wedding ring:
I think mine is worst! 'cos I lost mine many years back.. haha!! no replacement so far!

After all the party & good food, I gained extra 1 kg in 1 wk.. that's terrible & I seriously need to control my Red meat Intake to reduce my high collestrol level

Another round coming in Feb..

adv, my finger swell at 8th mth onwards..but aft preggy 3 mth later it went back to normal size loh...so i still can fit my wedding band..hehe...but sometimes just lazy to put on and remove it lah...also scare will scratch my bb when i carry him...

jamie, i vote for 21st (thurs) ! anyone wanna share cab with me ???

Jamie,
If got pple to share cab from north area I will go okie. I prefer thurs la cos weird if hb comes along haha.

re ring

i can wear my ring all the while when i am preggy. after preg, my finger bone like suo sui, kind of lose. How i wish is my body size lor.. so swell my body..

adv sports,

gal, 3 kg to loss is okay, i still have extra 5kg of fat meat stuck on me.. jiat lat :p
is yuan's hair still spikey? u saw my FB's photo right, YA's hair still rather spikey, comb also din help much. hee

does ur baby take solid well? my boy just turned 7mth old still take little solid leh.. though he had tried quite a variety of foods..

im giving him 2 solids a day (lunch & dinner), for cereal he takes abt 3 tablespoons with a cube of vege & fruit each (sometimes cant finish..), then for porridge with vege he takes abt 4-5 tablespoons.. and he still fuss for milk after the solids.. i remembered my elder boy takes solid quite well then.. YA is really a milk bb!

he has distinct likes and dislikes, he loves avocado, pumpkin & carrot, dislike apple, spinach and pear the most...

adv_sport

thanks for the info, hope yuan yuan recover fully.

My boy was diagnose with bronchiolitis, airway infection which will lead to very high fever, coughing with phlegm and wheezing sound. Doc say it will worsen on the 3rd to the 5th day, currently monitoring him at home.

joyce: boon lay mrt! jurong pt there!

ilovesashimi: hmm usually gathering on wkdays cuz wkds some wanna love love with hb!! lol!

porky: bring jaeden?

jamie's plc gathering
21st jan 2010 (thurs)- abt 2pm onwards
pls add ur names!
1) jamie_nov & hailey
2) porky jean (nd share cab)
3) audrey & andrea (share cab frm north)
4) joyce

Dodo,
Andrea only eats 1 tbsp of cereal a DAY n she struggles to finish that 1 tbsp. So YA is eating well compared to andrea. Tried all sorts of cereal n porridge but she isn't receptive to it.

If she finishes 1 tbsp, considered very gd already. She's been 7 kg since she was 5 mths.. Going to be 8 mths alrdy..

can gv advice?? just saw pd... commented my boy drinks 120ml/3hrly abit low... hv to increase intake... any idea how to?? cereal so far, max he can go is 4 tbls only lor.. porrible half bowl...
help!!!

porky,
i can share cab w u..

jamie's plc gathering
pls add ur names!
1) jamie_nov & hailey
2) porky jean (nd share cab)
4) joyce
5 ling & kayden

re: gathering
anyone org in east?

re: solids
My baby isnt taking much milk and she doesnt like to eat any solids as well. (pumpkin, banana tried and she wud say yuck. i give her rice cereal wont take even 1 tbsp same for rice... anyone's baby on solid strike and take less milk? )

My baby not yet any teeth le... worried will delay till 1 yr still drool a lot.

Re: finger ring
Hehe ...mine fits now PERFECTLY... I was very very thin when got married so hubby got a bigger ring exp me to become fat in future... hehe I wud roll thread behind ring to wear. now fits nice

jling,
my nephew is doing Biotec in UK and few weeks back we discuss on this bronchitis.. he say if lungs got water which is hard to identify in tests then need to bring out phelgm and test the phelgm if got water in lungs. If ur doctor already say what was the problem and medicine cure then not to worry but if clueless and no medicine work then u may want to check w doctor on if got any phelgm test.

re: wt after delivery
anyone got super flat tummy? mine still look like preggy 3 months...
go out gotto wear belt inside. any tips ladies?

Jamie,
Walking distance from MRT? .. good.. at least dun nid to beg my hubby for the car!

Solid:
My girl takes little solid too (each time less than half bowl), have not even finish a pack of cereal (only open 3 types so far).. only tried little variaty which I'm a little guilty.. last wk managed to make brocolli with Carrot, luckily she likes it. So far, she dun like banana, avocado. have tried, pumpkin jar, homemade potatoes/carot puree, pear jar only..

audrey,

ya manz, how to entice them to eat more solid leh? did u try to change the feeding environment? the feeding spoon? andrea drinking milk well?

YA is gaining weight, but i think he drinks quite alot of milk leh, i wish to cut down his milk abit and upsize his solid.. but he seems to be not much interest in foods..

gal, dun worry abt weight gain.. i asked my PD on this issue b4, he told me most bbies will go thru this stage that very little weight gain when we starts to intro solid.. once they eat solid well, their weight gain will increase more and more steadily

firefly - thanks and happy 8 months to kayla too! times flies and sometimes i wish i could hold on to it a little more.

adv_sports - thanks. happy 8 months to yuan2 in advance.

jamie - thanks for the invite. i can't attend. have a good time.

sgpv,

or is it because she teething now? so she dun feel like eating & drinking? normally they feel the pain most when their pearlie abt to cut thru, so when us saw the lil white tooth coming out, their pain is much minimize already..

talk abt tummy man! mine is super flabby and overhanging type loh.. so ugly

i find that my skin not that elastic anymore after the birth of 2nd child.. jiat lat!

joyce,
YA also hates banana!
weird, my fav fruit and i have been eating since preggie till now.. and im still BF, thought he already used to it :p

porky, yah, me also dun wear ring now -- afraid will scratch bb, too
will wear if we hv to attend special events...

jamie, my work schedule is not out for new year... cannot confirm if i can make it for west gathering...

dodo, let's jia you to shed the extra stubborn weight! maybe by the time winter is over in bj, u hv burnt off all!

yes, yuan2's new hair is still spikey! comb also will stand up when dry... so i try to "tame" it by hair clip :p

like audrey said, YA is doing well with solids
yuan2 is almost 8mth -- she is only taking 1 solids a day... my first try on porridge, she dun like... yet to let her try again...

mummies whose baby r taking 2-3 solids a day, how many feeds does ur baby take a day? yuan2 is on 4 feeds a day :-
7am - FM 120ml
11am - cereal with veg/fruit puree + FM 120ml
4pm - FM 200ml
8pm - FM 200ml

as her feeding time will stretch when she take solids, afraid she will skip the 8pm feed if i intro solids @ 4pm -- coz she will zzz ard 8.30pm... she is one baby that cannot suckle in zzz mode -- mouth will be tightly shut n her tongue will block!

adv_sport,

Spiking hair, recently a friend told me can use baby oil on bb's hair to smooth the hair.. you can try.. tho I have not tried it on HX's hair!

HX is also taking 2 solid a day provided my mil is at home.. tho I still think 1 solid is good enough for now.. (she is mid May bb) other time, she is on 3hrly milk feed of each 120 to 140ml (hmm.. still little I thot)

I'm not so concern as I think she is growing well..tt's most impt!

Ling: I think its ok right, if he is gaining weight? Maybe can increase his solids? Claire is not drinking alot of milk but she takes in a lot of solids. 3 full bowls of cereal/fruit/vege puree a day! She finishes a tin of happy bellies every 10 days!

re: Ring
Me same as Yuki! I could wear my ring all the while during preggy times and now its loose!

Re: east gathering
I'm on for east gathering too!

Re: jamie's house
Where is your house ah?

Dodo
I'm using the pigeon stage 1 weaning spoon n on gd days, andrea can take 1 tbsp of cereal n on bad days, she will only take about 5 spoonful (pigeon spoon) and the thing is, its a tiny spoonful cos she will vomit. So basically, 5 tiny spoonfuls she will cry already.

She doesn't like her high chair and only eats slightly more when she's being carried. So I carry her one hand, the other hand I feed her.

But she loves baby bites n gerber puffs.. but then again, not healthy to live on snacks right? Very sian haha!!

bean,
gaining v little lor.. 400g 2 mths.. difficult to increase leh.. gv him more solid.. he will gv the vomit face.. his happy bellies takes 1mth to finish haha..

joyce: my plc quite far to walk frm jp altho walkable la. suggest tt if u wanna tk train, u cab in frm jp. abt $3+ only. maybe u can get a few n cab in tog. $1 each. lol!

bean: at jurong west area..

adv sports:
Claire schedule is like that.
530am: Latch (recently she wakes up at 530am for milk!!!

930am: Latch
11am: Solid (1 Jar)
1pm: Latch
3pm: Solid (1 jar)
5pm: Latch
7pm: Solid (5 tbsp cereal + 1/2 jar of puree or 1 baby cube of puree)
930pm: BM150ml + Latch

ok, this sounds like Claire is a glutton! But I think when she latches.. she doesnt drink that much...so she only drinks her full feed at 1st and last feed

Audrey,
have you try giving her toys/spoon or bowl when she is on high chair? try changing spoons?

whenever we put HX in the high chair, mil will give her some toys, sometime also give her small spoon to hold, & she will wait for her food to be served.

We give HX baby bites when we are eating our dinner & she will be in her high chair.

Re: Hair
After hairwash & bath when you dry hair w towel when its still wet/ semi wet if you press hair to nice shape it will stay in that position.
If I put clip on her hair then if remove also her hair still look standby w/o clip. that time apply lil oil and press shud stay intact.

dodo,
dont know le.. i dont see any teeth. everyday look look tired.. I put my finger and she press hard can feel her gums bit hard but no white white at the root also. she used to happily take HT cereal. eversince on & off ezcema she dont want to eat any solid.

sgpv, jling, this could be due to teething. My boy didn't have appetite for 2 weeks. drinksless than 100ml per feed compared to 180ml. Can't even finish his porridge (half milk spoon when uncooked) then his teeth sprouted out last thursday and suddenly his appetite is back and will ask for more. So try to massage the gums to help teeth to come out

Joyce,
Yah put toys n let her hold a spoon.. She will bite the toys n throw it onto the floor.. Den give her more toys, she will throw n den cry to get out. And she will make a mess!!

adv sport,

wah! i hope so too! it's so cold here.. -12 yesterday.. maybe that's explain why YA drinks more milk, coz warm and filling.. hee

thanks for the assuarance gal.. maybe his solids-eating pattern rather different from my elder boy so im abit worried if he continues to take lil solids.. but he drinks lots, abt 800-900ml a day beside latching on once..

i read that bb's most nutrients still from milk in their 1st year, solid is supplement and slowly take over the role when they turn 1 year old.. i just hope he continues to like milk and gain more interest towards solid as well.. hee

Audrey,
aiyoh... so tough.. little Andrea.. u try her on stroller?

But, at least now she wants to take some cereal. remember last time she refused a single bit! It's so tough on u too, nid to carry to feed her.. give urself a pat on the shoulder!

sgpv,
agree wi muffintop, maybe teething.. does she drools alot more than usual?

audrey,
shang nao jing right.. we just have to keep offering to them, and i always make sure i "act very happily" when i about to offer him food.. haa.. hope will make his mood better and eat more :p
oh ya, have u try jar food? i haven.. maybe at a later stage.. worry abt sweet-tooth..

Joyce
She prefers to latch.. She can latch non stop throughout the whole day.. So I try to pop a gerber puff every now n then to make sure she knows she's eating solids. Everyday little bit little bit..

Stroller? She cries when she's iside haha. Last time went out with some mummies, she cried soo loudly when she's inside the stroller. She wants to be carried.

Actually I feel guilty cos sometimes I eat junk food.. Dat means low grade bm haha!

I guess I'm also scared to feed her cos she has vomited all over me many many times.

jamie's plc gathering
pls add ur names!
1) jamie & hailey
2) porky jean
4) joyce
5) ling & kayden
6) mikojade & nigel & jen (can fetch max 3 frm train station bt cannot fit in any strollers)

Audrey: I think you just let Andrea take her time lor. I read that some babies are only ready to start solids like at 9 months. Its okie one! When the baby is 9 mths, you can straightaway offer her finger foods, like carrot sticks, banana etc... better for you! no need to feed her puree or cereal.

Dodo
Tried jar food once but after 48 hrs, still left more than half! So had to throw. Very sayang.. So don't buy anymore..

Audrey,

Some useful info for you, quote from www.kellymom.com:

"Some babies thrive on breastmilk alone until 12 months or later - as long as your baby is continuing to gain weight and grow as he should, your milk is meeting his needs well"

Jamie, I will continue to give cereals (for variety) even after I start her on porridge, cuz i think its funny to eat porridge for all 3 meals leh.. like so sian! haha How often does Hailey eats solids? If also like 3 times, then maybe can conitnue cereal as her breakfast?

For now, she only eats porridge on sundays as dinner cuz my mum cooks it. I'm so lazy to cook! Then occasionally I will give her pasta at lunch time.
I read that if baby has a few teeth already, can start to give chopped/finger food from 9 months. NO need to puree anymore. And they can also start to try to feed themselves, so chopped food will create less mess.

sgpv
ic, thanks for the info, can x ray test for water in the lungs? my boy went for x ray and the doc say there is nothing wrong. Its a viral infection and he has to fight it himself, all we can do is monitor him and sponge him and give med if his fever increases

bean: hailey's on 2 meals a day. lunch is cereal and dinner is coarse brown rice.. hailey nw only gt 2 teeth. hahaha! altho nw i puree bt the texture is drier and less smooth. i hope im on the rite track. lol!

joyce: yup i hv tt webbie too! thx! =)

jling, seems water in lungs cannot identify thr x ray need to test phelgm only but babies hard to cough out phelgm. Since doctor say viral infection give medicine monitor if no improvement several days then check w doctor if got any test to check phelgm and if got what test and what they check? (my newphew study in UK Now and this is latest research seems so could be pretty new thing here of phelgm test if not usually done before)

re: drool
there is no significant imrpovement/ diff in her drool so i bit confused if she teeth or not?

annabelkarmel how much is the book in singapore? I got one from US for $32. Never used so thinking of selling. I got avent feeding guide (for steam & blend need to put proper measurement) so using this.

Bean,
Actually I don't mind letting andrea drink bm most of the time but I worry not enough nutrients cos sometimes I don't watch my diet haha!

Joyce,
Thank u! Will not force her to eat liao. Sometimes v frustrating.

Andrea still no teeth lol.

Audrey,
Just remember, starting solid should be happy time for both mummy & baby.. if she fuse, no point giving...

I/we stop giving if HX shake her head or clam her lips.. haha