(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

re: big toe numbness
any mummies experience this before? dunno y my right big toe has been numbed for a few days... no pain or discolor, juz numb...

porky,
are u using too big hole for the teat? coz ur boy mayb cannot take the inflow n flow some milk out...

jamie,
the poo watery can due the poo n urine tog tat y look more watery

Jamie, SP, dodo... I think my boy drinks the most! In fact I was quite afraid of overfeeding him cos my hubby wants to give him 130ML so that the interval can last longer but doesn't seem to work. Sigh. Was hoping he can stretch to 3 hrs in the day and hopefully sleep through in the night.

May I know at which month will baby be likely to sleep through ah?

adv sports, yea she only likes to be on tummy when she's fast aslp or else she will scream.. whenshe's really fussy, even tummy time will b only 15 mins max cuz somehow she'll wake on her own n cry..

porky, sometimes hailey stop screaming aft a huge poop session.. haha..n ya she also burp super loud sometimes. very unglam lol

ling lim, dunno lei.. bt it's real gross like muddy like dat.. haha

Re: stuffy nose
Yah, like what Flommy said, my PD recommended me to rub ru yi oil on bb's chest and back. She told me this when one night my bb was coughing very badly, cough and cry and cough and cry for more than 15mins. I called her emergency number and she said as long as bb not breathless, is ok, just rub the ru yi oil and after we did that she's better almost immediately. We also let her sleep on pillow so she does not snort that much when sleeping. My PD said my bb's nose is always stuffy cos it's hereditary - i have sinus problem also, so bo bian gotta live with it. now my mum everyday rubs ru yi oil on bb's chest and back and my bb wears socks all the time to keep warm.

Re: Poo
I asked PD before how many times should bb poo and she said every alternate day is fine. Also read that if bb on BM can be one week without poo also ok as long as bb dun seem to be in pain. My bb now poos mustard yellow poo every 1-2days, a big one, and she likes to poo on fresh diaper.. -___-"" my mum will see her gek sia face and hold up her legs to help her poo faster, usually after my mum holds up her legs, she'll poo in about 2 mins..

Re: rash
My bb also got rash on her face and it got quite bad that time when she was sick. PD gave us a cream with antibiotics. before that, she said can use nappy rash cream on the rashes.

Re: teats
My bb uses NUK since birth. once i tried to change to avent and she dun like at all, so only stick to NUK. my bb still using small size leh.. these days she's like too used to latching on cos if we give her bottle, she'll keep sucking and sucking and dun release air into the bottle and the whole teat will collapse and we have to pull out the bottle to let the air in.. anyone else also experience this?

tinklesmum, initially i also think like ur hb.. then i realised, maybe their tummy can only take a certain amt.. the rest either regurg or they jus dun consume at all.. hailey on a gd day, ie: she gd mood, will slp abt 2 hrs af her feed sometimes she stay up abt 1+ hrs then slp 2hrs.. nite she slp at 12 or 1 then wake at abt 4+ the slp thru till abt 7-8.. so i wake only once to feed her n pump the excess out..

tiny m, long time no see u post ah! haha!
RE: rash
yes porky recommended drapolene to ease the redness before tt's y i use ma.. =) bt nw gt roughness so they say use calendula..

RE: teats
my girl will pause a while n suddenly can see that she release the air back into bottle then she will continue to drink.. ur using latex or the silicone ones?

bean,
yup, besides Pigeon stuff, many other bb related items like Maclaren pram, NUK stuff etc are much more exp in KL compared to SG.. i think might be related to imported tax, Msia has higher imported tax than SG, that's why these stuff selling at higher price..
gal, if u shop ard orchard, go to Tang's nursing room! it's the best i encountered so far!

jamie,
yes, give calendula cream a try, i love it!

haa.. hailey same pattern as yan an, he really can stare at u wi his eyes big at 12am.. and he has been like this for 2 weeks already.. hubby and me tried to coax him to sleep but he just wan to play!

tinkles mum,
dun worry abt overfeed if he does not regurgitrate alot and very often.. maybe ur boy just big drinker!

tiny m,
does ur bb use NUK silicone teat? my boy using the Medium flow (0-6mths) now.. i think i will only upgrade his teat to Medium flow(6mths onwards) when he turns 6mth old..

jamie: ya, i long time never post cos bb was sick. she can't sleep at night at all cos she can't breathe when we put her down and she'll keep coughing so gotta carry her the whole time. and i became sick also.. so better keep ur bb healthy or else very siong!

Re: rash
I'm using the cream with antibiotics given by PD at the moment cos my bb keeps scratching her face. last night she scratched until got 3 lines on her forehead, so ugly! maybe i should try calendula cream also..

Re: teat
i'm using the latex one (yellow color). my bb will just keep sucking and sucking and we have to help her release the air into the bottle.. dunno how to correct her leh..

Re: sleeping pattern
my bb is a super early riser! she'll start her day at 4am! usually we'll give her last feed of the day at 10pm (FM to make her sleep longer), then she'll wake up around 2am for next feed (FM also). then 4am she'll wake up and start "eh eh eh" for us to play with her.. and she wants to be carried around the house to "inspect", dun wanna lie down so I have to change my sleep timing with her, sleep at 10pm and wake up at 4am..

Re: poo-ing.

My gal is on full FM too. Used to poo every alternate day but I thought poo-ing everyday should be healthier?? (hee..dun know) Anyway,heard from a mummy on my blog suggest to rub baby oil on baby's tummy to let her poo. I will rub some baby oil on her tummy after shower and she poos everyday now.

Porky,
How do you carry your boy when you feed him? Do you carry him like he is lying flat? I think you can to carry you boy a bit higher (45 degrees) and feed him, it will help him to swallow better, then the milk won't flow out from his mouth.

ling, i m using Y size teats for my boy now...

jamie, my boy dont like to sleep on tummy...he can only sleeps facing up else he will scream big time ! hailey is gal gal, burp so loud is unglam ah...hehe...

tinym, i also will lift up both my boy's leg so he can poo faster and smoother with a big smile on his face...i like to see that cos aft he poo he will be in good mood...hahahaha..

bean, i let him rest on my lower arm..not very low leh...but sometimes the milk wont flow out...i realise when he is too hungry and suck super fast then the milk will shoot all over the place...haiz...

Just came back from JP. Baby was quite well-behaved. Think she has adapted to the idea of sitting in a car seat. Latched her once in the restaurant while having dinner. However, after dinner, while shopping at Kiddy Palace for her teats, she suddenly wailed for milk!!! Had to latch her in Kiddy Palace using my shawl- my saviour! Had to lean against one of the wall near the cashier so that i can position her well to latch her. Didn't even have time to rush to the nearest nursing room..Grr..Guess this is my worst experience bfg outside...Now i can truely understand how RC-Cola felt while she was standing n BFg.

Re: Rocker
Think my gal has grown to love the idea of being placed in the rocker with the vibration mode "on"! She will only sleep in the rocker in the day time and will wake up if we switch off the rocker before she is sound asleep. =P. Thank goodness that she sleeps in her cot during nite time. If not, i will have to buy a lot of batteries.

porky,
u try to poke the hole for S size.. coz at wk 6 i let my boy use the Y teat, he suck super fast n got milk flow out.. then i switch back to S but made the hole bigger

Re: White head
Anxylyn & Porky
Thks ladies. Seems like this white head is nothing serious & hopefully it will disappear over time.

bean and ling, ok...will make the hole bigger...hope the milk wont flow out again...

win, aft i gently squeeze out the white head, it never comes back again liao..but aft sqeeuze a bit red, then must apply some cream

Porky
i been trying to squeeze out but don dare to squeeze too hard. haiz after all its me who finds it very uncomfortable. Also hubby forbids me to do it, say better let PD chk.

win mum, squeezing it out seems very painful.. Dun la.. Haha..

Tiny m, latex teats r softer.. Maybe tt's y they collapse easier too.. Mayb u try putting her on the silicone ones?

Pooh wei, lucky u bring shawl!! If nt hv to dash to the changing rm in kp to feed!! My girl dun like to slp in her playpen. Admit dat it's my fault for letting her co slp so often. Any way to break this habit or bo bian liao?

anyone want to buy BN Milk storage bag (the first year by learning curve) 25pre sterilizer zipper bag.want to sell off at $15 retail 19.90
81681230sms

Jamie, you may want to let her get used to sleeping in the playpen during the daytime. Or is it because the mattress in your playpen and your playpen got different softness?

Initially, we also let our boy sleep in the playpen, then realised that he wakes up too often. Then we let him sleep in the rocker chair. But he wake up often also though it is more convenient for us as we put the rocker chair beside us. Then we let him sleep between us as some pp told us that baby may hunched if we let him sleep in rocker chair every night. He sleep better between us. Recently, we moved the baby cot from my home over to my IL place and let him sleep there. He also sleep better than playpen. We attribute it to the mattress. Because the mattress for the baby cot is firm, like our mattress whereas the mattress in the bassinet of the playpen is foam like, quite soft. Moreover, Bassinet is also not as firm as baby cot.

Hi sher,
I read about your commend on mdm rokiah. I would like to engage her to unblock my duct. Is it possible for you to pm me her contact or I just contact jamu massage directly? Thanks.

Audrey,

Binder - Thanks for the binder.. tho I still feel the flabby tummy, but today I can fit the last hook, diy! 1st 2 days on the outer most hook, then proceed to middle hooks for abt 3 days, today can fid the last hook.. yeah..

babymay, u let ur boy sleep in the rocker overnight ? usually aft feed i will put my boy on the rocker chair...sometimes he will fall asleep on his own then i will carry him put on the bed to sleep...some ppl say sleep too much on the rocker is not good for his backbones...but that is the only way they can sleep better....

jamie, my boy now also dont like to sleep on his playpen....cos aft full month we put him sleep with us...now he use to our bed liao...

<font color="ff0099"> binders
thanks jasmine n joyce for the feedback! hope it will continue to work. usually its most effective immediately after birth but no worries, it will still be effective!

this time round my dad brought back more pieces so anyone wants just sms me!

My baby gal is 7 weeks old. She had very soft watery stools when she started formula and has diaoorhea 2 weeks ago (she can poo like 6, 7 times a day :-|...) Then PD suggested switching to soy milk (Isomil) instead of cow milk till her stools gets better. Now that her diaoorhea problem resolved and her stools get better, but she still poo 2 times a day. Do you think that's normal?

She's only taking 580ml per day - wonder if that is too little? Any advice to help babies to take in more milk? I'm afraid she's not taking enough..she seems to be on the skinny side, weighing only 4.5kg.

Hi Joanne, pooing twice a day seems okay but 580ml seems too little ley, tats only about 70ml for each feed?

My boy was already drinking 60ml at his first week ley..your gal has no urge to feed or?? Otherwise, why is she drinking so little?

Joanne,

BB's poo
my girl is coming to 8 wks, she usually poo 2 to 3 times a day, she is still on total bm on demand, hence, no idea how much milk she take a day, but if given ebm occasionally, she can finish abt 120ml.

Hi Audrey, I may have 2 friends who wanna buy. They are coming later to 'test' the belts I bought first. I will let you know later k.

Btw hearing Joyce and Jasmin's feedback are really inspiring... hope I can fit the S size by next week!

Jamie:

Sallen's method is drink one. Mine is wipe one.. hmm.. don know if can do both hor :p

Either way, they are all using rice water - aka Home-made SKII... hahaha

Audrey,
i only put on the binder on sat eve - outermost hook. i'm realli fat, had to lie down then can hook. put it on all the time. by sun nite, i forced the middle hooks (also by lying down, cos binder on outermost hooks feel loose liao. last nite started innermost hooks cos felt loose, now still holding on cos feeling very tight.
when i remove binder, hubby also commented dat tummy is smaller despite still flabby.
hope i can start the S size in a few days.

Porky, yeah, we let our boy sleep overnight in the rocker for a few days so that I can just stretch out my hand to put his pacifier back into his mouth when he drop it and make the eh eh eh sound. Before that when he was sleeping in the playpen, I spent the whole night walking to and fro the playpen.
Realised that he is in deeper sleep when he shared the bed with us, so my hubby and I decided to move the baby cot from our house to our IL place to try. And, he really sleep better in the baby cot now. Perhaps you would like to get a firmer mattress for your boy. I find that the bassinet in the playpen is not as stable as a baby cot and the mattress tend to be softer (at least in my case).

Audrey, how much is the belt? What waistline is S for? Thinking of getting S size. If too small, can squeeze in or not? How much is the postage?

<font color="ff0099"> hi yvette, i replied u already!

hi tinkles mum, ok no problem!!

juju, hang in there! can one! thanks for ur feedback. really appreciate it!

baby may, the belt is 35 and 1.50 for postage. 33 inches n below can squeeeeeze into S! </font>

Hi Audrey,
Thanks for the binder! I started use on Sunday. Try on the outer hook first.

After seeing how others do, then i realise i need to start to squeeze into the middle hook le, bcoz I also feel a bit loose liao.

Although haven't switch to middle hook, but i can see my tummy tighter. hee!

RE: Binder
i think most mums here can squeeze into s size de. my mum can fit into s too!! outer la.. but once she got into it, she says its not tight already. maybe because its elastic?? i think the binder does helps!! my hb commented that i look much slimmer... whhahaa...

most importantly, i can fit into my pre-preggy clothings already.. but some tops cant wear due to bust area..

yvette,
i got S and M

audrey,
if can squeeze into S, i will b very happy liao. now, waiting for this hook position to feel loose

audrey!! do a bp for the binders!! it's really very comfy!!

baby may: i think hailey likes to slp whr there are ppl ard her or she can see ppl ard her frm whr she's slping.. cuz afternoon she can slp on the couch or on my mom's bed. Bt put her in the playpen and she screams in like 3 secs max. I also suspect maybe is the mattress prob. the playpen one more hard ma. bt i think, my couch also hard lei!! i really want her to slp on her playpen so me n hb can have our "2 person world"!! hahaha

porky: i let hailey slp/rest on rocker for max 30mins aft a bath.. shiok shiok ma.. hahha

tinklesmum: wipe n drink.. ok i tell my mom see wat she thinks. hahaha.

juju: u so funny, say u really fat. hahaha.. hw long u wear the binder for? 24 hrs?

Wah so many inspiring stories about the binder.

I am using M on the inner most hook now and it felt loose cos my waist now in between S and M. I tried S but cant even put both ends near each other
Think I have to wait a while even though M is loose now.

Shers - how to wear so that it fits into S? Your mom must be very slim hor to wear S leh.

Wow... the topic today is the binder..hee

I also got the binder S size,now on 2nd hook liao..
It's indeed very comfy wor! I wore it in the day at night take out. Wore it since Saturday. Can see tummy smaller.

Teach u all another tip: Wear the binder and exercise! Do brisk walking and sweat it out! I believe this will enhance the effect of the binder! hee.. I got dogs for rent..who wan? LOL