(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Gd morning ladies.

Re: Clarins Oil

I used Clarins oil for my #1 and i think it's good. Bought it at Duty Free at the airport is much cheaper than outside.

This time round i started to use clarins oil for #2 but i find that the smell is overpowering. last time it smelt so good dunno why.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> morning ladies.!
feb_mum,
congats ! Hope i'll be able to see mine duirng my next checkup. =)

Backaches :
My backaches came as early as 1st tri. aches even more if i do some hsechores.</font>.

dodo.jen
I dun think can just coz dun take epidural that causes c-section. I do agree relaxing is v impt tho

FYI I read the human natural pain-relief hormones in birth is 200x stronger than morphine. Morphine was used for my emergency c-section as its quicker reaction than epidural. but think must relax to trigger it. fear triggers flight or fight reaction in body, one effect of that body cant relax and open cervix.

from : hypnobirthing by Marie Mongan. can get from library

Hi i luv baby,

Re: Dizzy spells
Be careful cos u may be anemic... eat more meat and green leafy vegetable. If u want, can also try liver (chicken / pork)... not too much though cos liver is also where the toxins from the chicken / pig builds up.

i went for the NT scan already. it was 1:1994. i suppose that is considered low risk. But the doc did insist that with the blood test (which i insist not to take) it will give a fuller picture. Becuase there are babies who have normal nasal bone etc, but could be a down as well.
In the end, i just took that assurance of 1:1994 and leave that as it is.

And i paid for my package already as well...

jaime,
What’s NT Scan? I have only heard of triple test and oscar test. If the tests results are high risk, still have to go for Amnio. The nurse told me some people just go straight for Amnio test as that is the most accurate. But the thought of the needle poking through is so nerve wrecking. Pray hard I’m not the high risk group. Still got to wait another 7 weeks before can do triple test. It’s so not easy to be a mummy, especially an older mummy, so much to worry. I didn’t have so much to think about when I had my 2 kids before 30 years old. Now I encourage all my friends to give birth and close shop before 30 years old.

Flommy,
I’m trying to stay positive and pray for the best. Know a number of friends who gave birth at around 40 years old and their kids were perfectly healthy. I took 1-2 glass of wine on 3 occasions during the first month as I didn’t know I was preggie. Hope that it has no effect on the bb’s health also.

Anxylyn: I hv discussed with hubby and if no matter how we r goin to keep the baby whether healthy or not, den its no longer necessary to go for further test...so I m praying hard..

jen &amp; daec,
ya, for my 1st delivery, i wanted a natural delivery so much and hope to do it w/o epidural, so i bear wi all the pain for the 12 hours but it just reluctant to dilate... but anyway, was so happy to see my baby at once after my delivery coz i opted for epidural c-section, and this little boy decided to come out on my 2nd wedding anniversary!

congrats to mummy who knowing bb'e gender!

still quite some time for me coz am currently 8 weeks, my gynae saw the "little bird" of my boy during my 15th week visit last time round, he mentioned it was 90%, and 100% confirm on my detailed scan at 20 weeks.. hopefully will have a girl this time!

xue,
i also having backache now... maybe bcoz i still carry my 12th month boy very often...

So glad to see baby today. The minute the ultrasound was on, it waved. Then after that, it just fell asleep immediately. The gynae kept probbing it, but refused to move anymore. She asked me to cough as well to disturb it. But stubborn...just zzzzzz..... hahaha.

So happy finally 12 wks! She said stable already. And i signed the package. Next mth prob can know sex! then can shop already. woo hoo..

to those ladies who managed to conceive.. jus a word of advice..

jus now my colleague &amp; I took a cab back from work.. the driver was driving quite fast on a straight road.. mainly nt much vehicles on the road.. suddenly come a hump... the driver couldnt brake on time.. so drove past it too fast.. the impact of the cab that drive past the hump is hard.. I can feel myself jump up from my seat.. my colleague can feel it too.. she quickly turn to me &amp; ask me if I'm alright as she knew I'm pregnant.. she worried that this impact will affect my foetus.. I myself oso worried.. but so far, luckily nothing happen.. so be careful on the road esp on the hump...

I went for my gynae check up today and check out the Down syndrome test. I am gng for my NT scan and blood test this or next week.
My baby is kicking! So cute!
I saw the heartbeat flickering on the screen too! Awww....amazing!

Baby measures 4.91cm at 11 weeks 5 days today.
So happy!

Congrat JRT and jacquise for seeing the baby!!!
JRT, so we are coming to 12 wks very soon hor hahaha..

Today i fin my series of folic acid, vit c, multi vit, tom will start on new series of vits - prolacta, iron, calcium, and vit c.. no more folic acid prescribed by my gynae

Yeah, first tri almost ends happy also.. my appt with gynae will be on 14 nov.. stil quite a long way to go.

JRT - so happy to hear dat, i ve to wait till next fri for mine...
hope bb is growing well for mine...
today my fish oil runs out liao, my order just got placed, think will be another 1 or 2 wks b4 i can get them..

Hi, Gd morning,

Went for check this morning, the little one was jumping happily inside!! I have decided not to go for the OSCAR test. Am waiting for full detail scan on wk 20. (now only 10wk 4d) haha.. logn way to go!

congrats, joyce... u must be excited to see ur little one jumping..
Cant wait to see my little ones tmw... not too sure wat to expect frm 8 weeks' scan.. but sure looking fwd to it.

My vomitting is getting more frequent too..sobz..

i'm actually from 2006 july mummies but im havin another one to be due in 22 May 2009.

Anyone here experiencing very bad symptoms? I am having very bad gastric which i never have b4.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> mummy_love_baby,
I experience tt before. Some drivers just don care.! Even with a big stomach passenger, they can just drive pass the hump fast. DOn even bother to apologize. Just be more careful and remind the driver to drive slower. =)</font>.

dear MTB,
Re: Pre -natal YOGA
i remember some of you were keen on pre natal yoga, i happen to pass by como shambala today at forum (heard it's really good) . They charge based on per lesson ($32) which i think will be good for busy mummies or mummies who have erratic schedule. Their lessons are only recommended for mummies who have passed the 12 weeks mark

rc_cola,

Today is 11 weeks 6 days! 2molo marks 12 weeks!
Classmates have discovered my pregnancy coz of my bump. haha. They are all more excited than me!

Hi Mich,

I had gastric pain about 2 weeks ago and lasted for 3 days , the pain was so bad that i got worried and went to consult my gynae and he confirmed it was gastric and gave me some medication which really soothes the problem.

Have you seen your gynae about this?

By the way i forgot to add that at 12wks, i think my bb is very big leh. It measures 6.3cm! my original EDD was 5 may, then now on scan pic says 30 apr!!!

Hi JRT lover, i also saw e flickering! So cool rite? But gynae say cant hear the HB until the 4th mth with another machine i think.

Re: Stretchmark cream
Gynae say can start applying already. Im using Topicream from france, which is also avail in her clinic. But i got dozens of samples frm my colik who used to distribute these.

Re: TMC First Born Incentive
Did u ladies join this? Can get discounts etc if u deliver in TMC but registration is $140.
Along with the brochure there is an abbott flyer, to claim free BABY CD (soothing music) &amp; Similac Mum milk powder &amp; similac milk powder sample when baby older than 6 mths. FYI.

Wahhh.. Jacquise yr bb big leh.
Gynae let me hear the heartbeat at 7 weeks plus. Last night check up didn't,just indicate where is the heartbeat.

Vera,

My appt is 8am.Maybe we mic see each other! I need to rush back to school on that day...took time off from lecturer.

Wow! So happy for those mummies who had the latest update on your babies
am waiting for my oscar test this fri where i am 12 weeks!

BTW, do u all realised that it seems very difficult to post message here? kept getting error message last nite that i gave up and went to bed..maybe it is just my network or computer?

JRT - my classmates still hasn't asked me though i think can see my bump liao. haha...kept wearing those loose clothes as i do not wana wear my maternity clothes after i passed the 1st trimester. Think maybe they suspect but tink not possible mah..haha :D

Jacquise,

I took 2 years off work to study full time(undergrad). I am in my second last sem now.

Piggy_Cow,

I am officialy 12 weeks 2molo... Yippie! I have not wear maternity clothes yet too,still wearing bb doll tops I used to have and those more loose capris and jeans(I can still fit in my hipster tho.)

Piggy_Cow,

I like teh si...
Now I will satisfy my teh si "gian"(craving) once or twice every week!
hahahaha.... But I stopped coffee completely liao... sad.

JRT,

WHen you talk about teh si, reminds me again of my constant craving for bubble milk pearl tea "zhen zhu nai cha"
Sigh... cannot drink often

Star,

I am a tea and coffee lover before preggy, and I love bubble tea too!
Now already cut down a lot liao wor... *toturing* haha.

JRT,
I know... cant function properly , can only steal a few sniff from my colleague cup of kopi xi.. very cham. But i have a colleague who just gave birth and she drank 1 cup everyday throughout her pregnancy!And the baby came out big and healthy.

Jacquise,
I signed up for FBI for my #1. The disc will more than cover the sign up fees - 10% off detailed scan, gynae charges, pharmacy, antenatal class, hospitalisation etc. Quite worth it.

I've already signed up for SBI for my current preg.

Good morning everyone! haven't been coming in due to work..
I see a few new comers!

feb_mum: where can i sign up with FBI? when's a good time to sign up? there's discount off gynae charges?

star &amp; JRT: I miss my tea also.. just thinking about it makes me wanna cry! i had to give up my daily morning green tea and try so hard to not drink tea at all. But i really cannot tahan one.. i need to drink lemon tea (those brew ones, not the canned ones) at least twice or three times a week. I miss bubble tea too! so far, had managed to control bubble tea but i kept craving for lemon tea, cannot control.. sigh..

Re: Pre-natal yoga
My friend recommended me this place, called Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Centre, at Spottiswoode Park (near Outram Park MRT). Website: http://www.sivananda.com.sg It's charging $20 per session (1hr). Seems to be the cheapest so far? But it's on Sat morning, not sure if they can have another session for us, if more of us are interested.. Let me know so i can check with them.. I intend to start maybe around my 14th week (Week of 17th Nov)..

Re: Bird's nest
May I know which brand of concentrated bird's nest is good? wanna eat concentrated ones cos no time to cook bird's nest so often leh..

I wanna ask those experienced mummies here, how does it feel to feel the baby moving inside you? I think i can feel some tummy flutterings but dunno if it's the baby or not.. is it too early to feel bb now? I'm in my 11th week.. dunno if it's just gas moving around also.. ahahahha..

good morning ladies

congrads to MTBs who have passed their 12-week! me have 1.5 weeks to go

good news to share -- yesterday, visited my gynae and bb is now 3.5cm! bb very active waving &amp; kicking ard during the scan
so relieved to know that bb is doing well -- such a long 4-week wait! gynae gave me more pills to take -- fish oil, obimin and calcium tablets *faint*

tiny_m, same here -- i also feel some fluttering but not sure if its from bb

RE: FBI
Feb_mum, if i dun deliver in TMC, would i still save as much? What is the cost of detailed scan, forgot to ask my gynae!

Re: Tea
I used to be tea lover too...Everday must drink 1-2 cups otherwise zombified! but strangely after expecting, when i drink teh i wanna puke. So now i totally dun drink at all. And i survived. haha. Bubble tea still can. But no craving. my craving is for spicy sourish stuff like tom yam, hot &amp; Spicy soup etc. hehe.

urgh.. can't wait for my checkup tomorrow! i'd been trying to talk my baby into moving and opening its legs for the scan.. told my hubby to talk to it also but hubby told bb to give him 4D numbers instead.. -_-" my bb's first measurement in length came out 4D twice liao but twice my hubby missed it, never strike so he v upset.. hahahha..

jacquise: I also crave for spicy, sourish stuffs.. my mum said she never seen me eat so much spicy stuffs before (cos i usually dun take). it makes my appetite better. but i not like you ah.. i need tea ah.. especially when i feel bloated, lemon tea helps a lot.. just thinking of it make me wanna drool..

Hi Tiny M, lemon tea i like and can drink. Maybe bcos sourish. Hahaha. In addition, i like curry and french fries. :p

So cute leh, buy 4D for the length? That has never crossed my mind. hehe. So soon 3 mths can see boy or girl? My gynae say 16wks.

JRT lover,
May I know why you chose oscar test over triple test? I wonder if it is painful or not. Is it the normal tummy scan or transvarginal scan? Doc say I've to decide which test to do within next 1 week. Still haven't made up my mind tho I've heard friends who went for oscar test and it was low risk (hopefully it's the case for everyone!)