(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Welcome, MummyLoveBaby!

RE: check up
Hi Poohwei, glad that your baby is doing well too.

RE: Talking to Babies
My HB and me has started to talk a bit to baby. In fact, we try to read bedtime stories to baby during bedtime. My HB will read (I will take over when he is overseas or super busy) and we are also not sure whether baby can hear. But one thing for sure, it make me sleep very well. Yesterday night when my HB was still working when it is my bedtime (around 10), I ask him to read the story to baby later when he can stop at a convenient place. I then went to bed first, but I toss and turn and cannot fall asleep. When my husband come in to read the story to baby. I immediately fall asleep after the story.

RE: Labour
Wow piggy cow, your labour so good - short and sweet. Hope ours will be short and sweet too.

RE: Gaining weight
Hi Jacquise, count your blessings that you have good appetite. Initially, I also eat alot as I am very hundgry all the time, I gained 2.7kg in 4 weeks from 5 weeks to 9 weeks. But I started having MS last two weeks when I am in week 10 and 11 when I started to vomit at night and I lost 2kg within 3 weeks from week 9 to week 12. My husband was commenting that he prefer to see me having a big appetite and gain weight then to vomit. I also hope that my MS will pass and I can regain my appetite and put on weight again.

RE: Birdnest
I checked with my gynae and he says it is ok to take birdnest as it is not a herb.

Re:Talking to babies.

I was wondering if my bb will kick when my darling JRT barks at strangers at the door next time! hahahahaha.... My fren ever mention with bb and dogs in the same house,the bb will "shiver" with the dogs barking. I was hoping bb will get used to it in my womb then when born wun be so "disturbed" by dog barking. haha :p

Re: MS

Baby_may_09 reminds me of myself. Seems like my MS these days is like roller coaster,sometimes getting really bad! I am in my 11 weeks plus now and the serious MS seem to be coming in..

hi all mummies.. I just went to visit my gynae today.. my gynae say I'm actually 10weeks++ le.. edd will be on 12th May.. MS getting worse each day.. he say my baby too small.. I need to eat more.. how to eat more when I keep having MS?? whatever I eat, I vomit out.. the more I eat, the more I throw.. omg... hopefully baby can grow fast.. dun be so small..

mummy_love_baby,

Take small meals will help.
Who is yr gynae?

Bean,

Ya. I also thought it is supposed to subside. I just puke my dinner again! This time I am not stressed leh but dunno why still vomitted.

Hi Mummies, just to share with you all i am a May 2008 Mummy and had been using Palmer Stretch Mark cream b4 i give birth and after I give birth..
Hmm..must say that this cream is yummy and smell so nice.. most importantly it moisturised my tummy well and i am blessed to have totally no stretch mark ... phew..

i have 2 brand new in box Palmer's organic stretch mark cream..interested can please PM me.. will give u gals best price u cant find in departmental store ya... =)

Dear MTB,

I am from the Jan08 MTB thread- I have an extra combi stroller to sell. It was a gift and was used 5 times only. The model is "Well comfort" and retail price is about $400. I am willing to let go at $300- price negotiable. You can view details of this model at http://www.taising.com/Combi/Combi_TJC300.jpg

Interested parties, please sms me at 96910601. Thanks.

So when is it a good time to kick start using the anti-stretch mark cream? When tummy starts to stretch? Stop after giving birth?

hi MTBs, i'm from the June2009 thread. Decided to pop by as i guess ladies here will be more experienced.

currently i'm in my 5th week. have yet to see gynae and problem is, i'm not comfortable with transvaginal scan. may i know what's the minimum number of weeks for foetus to be visible through pelvic scan??

amk_gal,

For me, the foetus will be more visible through tummy scan at ard 7 weeks plus for me. When I was 5 weeks plus,it could not be detected thru tummy scan but only transvaginal scan.

Hi MTBs,

I am currently 11 weeks and just visited gynae 3 days ago. Saw my baby's heartbeart flickering during my scan. Baby is abt 41cm and my EDD is 8th May 09.

I am looking for a suitable cream for preventing stretch marks. My gynae's clinic is selling this brand "Topicream" anyone use before ?

Any experience mothers can advise ? I am now using the Galenic cream.

I'm using the one from mothercare! Cheap.. good or not.. not sure as I had some marks from #2 as I was not very hardworking applying cream.

Some said olive oil is good.. but I think it's too oily.

Good morning everyone! It's Monday again! Hope all of you had a rested weekend!

Wah.. I see you all describe your birth experience like so scary like that.. I'm planning to give birth naturally without epi (dun like the idea of something sticking into my spine). I asked my mum she said when she gave birth to my sis it took 12hrs (!) and for me it took 6hrs. I hope my baby will be guai guai and dun take so long..

Re: Weight gain
I dun dare to weigh myself at all! I judge by whether i can still fit into my normal clothes. so far, still ok, just a bit tight but bearable. i bot some loose loose clothes liao but will wear after first tri cos dun wan ppl to ask questions.. :p

Re: Talking to baby
I heard several stories where the daddy talks to the baby and the baby can recognise the daddy's voice when it comes out. i'm trying to get my hubby to do that but he always burst into singing (cos he says he dunno any stories) and he sings very badly! I always end up laughing! I think the baby can only hear my laughing instead..

Re: Stretchmarks cream
I using palmer's tummy butter but i very lazy to apply. I only do so once a week if I rem. i also dunno when i should start applying..

Baby May: I have rash like pimples too! And my face very oily! trying to wash my face more often and dun use too much moisturizer now.. hope it goes away soon..

SK: I hadn't done any blood test with Dr. Woodworth at all leh.. He only took my weight during the first appointment and that's it. He didn't even take my blood pressure.. The last two appointments I did urine test (for protein and sugar I think). The coming appointment (this fri!) i'll ask him about blood tests..

Re: Bloodtest
Must we do blood test every appt? It sounds scary! hahah I also didn't had any blood test yet since my first appointment.

Re: stretchmark cream, i only use babyjohnson.. the transparent type of oil leh.. cheap cheap... i used tat for my no. 1.. no stretchmark leh.. so im using it for no. 2 too..

anxyln
regards to epidural, heard the stage of pushing out - either they make it 'faint' or dun have. so that u can feel and use ur body to push baby out. a fren said she had epidural but when time to push out - she can't feel her muscles or anything. so cant push. ended up c-section. any body got experience with this ?

It's Monday again.. looking fwd to Thursday's gynae visit..never look fwd to seeing doc like this before.. hee..

Vomitting is now my morning routine.. when I wake up, brush my teeth..will vomit. Becoming more tired too... btw, the other time, I rem. someone mentioned abt drinking yakult wif collagen..is that ok? My hubby bought a tube..so I'm just wondering if I can drink it.. thanks!

daec - regarding yr q..

i got epid so when pushing, no one turn down e dosage n i dun feel anything at all.. so also wonder how to push but just concentrate n imagine pushing shit out :p
this time round, think i will ask e nurse to lower e doasge so can 'feel' abit..

Helo Daec, i didn't feel anything when pushing out too, tink epidural dosage too high, my baby was engaged for quite some time. Had to b in ICU coz she had water in her lungs.

My 2nd one shd b due 7 May.

Hello May mommies
My edd is 20th may 2009 and I would like to join the group.
some info about me
FTWM to 4.5 yr old gal. I used to go to KKH Dr Irene Chua but have decided to switch gynacs after a bad experience. I have taken an appt with Dr Joycelyn Wong (TMC) on 24th. I read on many forums that she is good. I see many moms here too are seeing her- any comments??

daec - not sure cos with epid i needed forcept to get her out too which inturn caused a internal tear

so for e next 1.5 days i din came down to walk at all.
i got a urine back attached to me too..
only came down to walk when i abt to discharge...

Hi i_lve_bb

i'm with Dr JW, my 1st time with her too... at moment i'm very happy with her...

is yr appointment 11 plus?
cos dat's my previous appointment, gave it after but later wan it back already fully booked...

she is 1 "HOT" gyne i may say.. :p

i luv baby
uerm can share ur experience ? I was with Dr JW then switch to Dr Irene Chua at KK. switch was becoz premature baby. KK is more affordable. I liked both dr but cant say much abt the birth management coz I had emergency c-section due to high blood pressure.

jen
oo sorry to hear that. hope this time better..

flommy
oo I c. in ICU? must have been scary.hope things better this time

daec - frankly even with e tear, not much pain except when bathing e wound which i need to sit in a 'pail' with solution on e toilet bowl... i ve to soak for 15 mins but when i sat on it, i kept asking e timing... hubby ve to tell me 'not even 2mins yet'...hahaha but after 1wk is ok liao.. but e 1st wk, i was in self pity (cos i very scared of pain) n needed TLC from hubby :p

also do prepare fibrogel in case of constipa after birth which i ve so imagine e tear n constipa at e same timing... terrible feeling..*sob**sob*

Monday's blue for me.. training today and tomorrow.. now lunch break!
Got a bit of time to post thing :p

Worse thing is that I am having flu again!!! Gosh gosh gosh!!!

Flommy, welcome,
We have same edd :p

I am using clarins oil too, i dunno if it smells nice, i think the M/S makes me super sensitive to any smell.
I think the oil smells a bit strong, but still acceptable for me.

Thanks Daec!

Hi Jen, I had to sit on the pail the last time too..hope i won't hv to sit on the pail tis time!!

Hi rc_cola, wat a coincidence!! I'm delivering at Mt. A, u?

Floomy,
I will be at Mt E. I think some mummies also deliver on 7th and at Mt A.. should be JRTlover, if i am not wrong haha

Hi Jen
My appt wit Dr Wong is at 3 45 so I guess i did not get yours ;)
HI daec
my bad exp was a total 4 hr combined wait at diff places- to register, to do the US, to see the doc, to do the routine tests, to get the medicines etc...all at different places... I guess that is typical of KKH... then the doc finally sees ne for not more than 15 mins (in which she takes 3 phone calls). She actually charged me $140 for the so called 'long consultation'.... My hubby was sooooo angry.. he refused to accompany me to KKH again so i had to look for an other doc. The doc seemed to be OK but for $140 I am better seeing a private doc. I asked the nurse what was the definition of 'long consultation' She said it depends on the doctor... anyway i may be wrong but i felt a bit cheated

i luv baby - whoa $140 is alot, didn't remember I had to pay this much for any of my consultation. (If u r talking abt juz for an US)

HI I_luv_baby

only advice for Dr JW, if appointment made, die die must go if not most likely needed to wait at least 2 wks for e next unless luckily got mommy cancel...

good afternoon ladies

welcome new MTBs!

hoops&yoyo, thursday will come very soon -- u will c ur twins soon
me also looking forward to my next gynae visit on wed!

rc_cola, take care -- wish u speedy recovery from ur flu!

re: stretchmark cream
erhmm, when have to start using?

re: indigestion
yesterday, my indigestion was so bad that i cannot sit up (will throw up non-stop) and had to lie on the bed... the food felt like stuck in the throat
anyone has remedy??

i_luv_baby: i not sure abt emerg cases or MC cos most time i take leave or time off to see her..

furthermore, company allows MC on these gyne check up??

hi Jen i wanted to take time off but my friend is suggesting taking MC and then asking the doc to give cert. What if doc says no??? anyway if my MS on that day ok then i guess i will just take time off ...

welcome flommy/i_luv_baby!

Hi Daec, i oso have epid for my #1. same s Jen, no feeling at all..so when the nurse asked mi to push, i juz push..but i ended up wif forcep delivery oso s i m too tired aft on drip for almost the whole day w/o food. i got no energy to push anymore.

rc_cola, u look veri young!