(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

what else will cos phlegm ah?

anxylyn & xue: i also wanna store cord blood. every year must pay $$?

daec: my mum always says it's very liang. even before i got pregnant she told me cannot eat so much (i like to eat this also!) or else will weak legs (jiao ruan). she'll buy the small bananas and tell me to eat those instead.

Re: Walnuts
Walnuts are good for the brain! My mum bot a pack of walnuts for me also but it makes me wanna puke leh.. i think i should go buy those with honey..

why cannot take orange juice? I drink everyday leh. Cause phlegm in baby? is it true?

Boy, did u spend more than $100 for 3 pcs? How is the quality of their clothes? I had quite a few disastrous experiences with online shopping.the maternity bottoms are truly maternity? Got bands by the side is it? or just bigger size only?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Tiny_M,
yea. must pay every yr. They will store the cord for you till arnd 20 yrs.</font>.

sorry typo error ... should be....

Hi Star... i had browsed the oldnavy.com. their maternity clothes are cheap. but it seems that they can send within US. So sad!!

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> jac,
Dunno how true it is. But still better to take precaution then regret right? =)

Twinkle,
U can join the Oversea spree Thread. Normally will hv ppl organising. Bought tons of mine and son's clothes from ON. =)</font>.

Today's thread is quite active

Re: maternity clothes
I didnt buy any and has not started to wear any maternity pants yet.. so far still can fit into my normal clothes.
As for pants, I will not button it but to wear a longer tshirt/shirt. so long as it doesnt cling to tightly to my tummy i guess it's okay.
My maternity pants are too big for my stage now, my buttock area seems empty, so will only wear at later stage.

Re: food
Actually for me, i eat everything in moderation.. my gynae keeps telling me no taboo in food, so just eat

i had chinchow as well as sugar cane, coz cravings for it. now a bit craving for crabs ler.. haha

My 2nd anniversary is coming up soon in Nov.. let me see if during that time i still have no appetite, if my appetite is back, then i could ask hubby to treat me for sth nice hehe..

morning ladies.

Twinkle, juz a word of caution, when u join the prees for ON, juz go for those who has extra discounts coz if no discounts.. in the end u find that u r paying more for the VPOST postage (from US to sgp), so end up not so cheap liao.

There are a few ppl who has special discounts and do take note of the pick up point, make sure convenient for u to pick up urself then u can save on postage

Rc_cola, by nov..u will have big big appetite liao coz we all will more or less be in 2nd trimester where we become 'ýeow gui' hungry ghost..heheh

Hi RC cola, u can go to Mothercare and buy this BELT BELLY or BELLY BELT... It has 4 bands, 2 shorter ones &amp; 2 longer ones with 3 pcs of cloth. We can then extend our pants by buttoning on the belt to the size of our belly. 2 bands are in buttons, 2 are in hooks. However the limitation is that cant be used for bottoms that only uses zip, and the tops must cover the waistbands. The cloth comes into use maybe in the late 2nd trimester, to be tucked inside the bottoms to shield ur panty. In 3 diff colors.

Appetite
My appetite has always been very gd all the way leh. I cant imagine it getting better!!! Seow liao!

are the clothes from ON good? quality wise and size wise? but with the US$ so high now, is it still worth it?

915: I already become yeow gui liao leh.. i'm hungry all the time.. sigh..

Re: Food
Yes totally agree with cola. My SIL ate pinapple alomost every week during her pregnancy. Her child turned out fine! hahaha Luckily my mum is the modern type who believes you can ate everything in moderation.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Tiny_M,
So far, nth goes wrong for all my purchases..
tt time i bought oso arnd 1.5. Normally i'll choose the bargain or clearance catergory. Much cheaper of cos. hehee.

Food :
Mayb some of the ladies here are modern type. But I still prefer to stick to the traditional old way but not to the extend of total No to the forbidden food.. hahaha... Of cause everything in moderation if can i'll avoid =)</font>.

bean: but it's my gynae who told me cannot eat pineapple one leh.. made me so paranoid, even the pineapple cubes in fried rice also dun dare to take..

i think take everything in moderation lah. if really got cravings, will bo chup everything de.. hahahah..

Tiny, Bean
But my gynae told me if the pineapple is sweet and u eat few pieces, it's okay

Ya like xue's said,
If you think better to avoid then just avoid, if you are not pantang to anything, anything which is eaten in moderation is okay..

Re pineapples..
last week i ordered pizza delivery. the moment i saw pizza, straight away took one piece and munched. forgot the hawaiian pizza had pineaaples as ingredient. later realised got pineapple. quickly spitted it out. end up picking all the pineapples out from my Hawaiian pizza.

Tiny M,
I read in a book that pineapple is one of the good food which provides donno what nutrients for the baby. Hee But I hate pineapple anyway, I do not like it at all. SO I didn't eat any.
I was just stating an example regarding avoiding some foods.

Re: Gynae advise
I realise that different gynae tell slightly different things. My gynae says I cannot drink coffee, tea and coke! But it seems that many mums here are drinking coffee and tea! I'm kinda of confused and frustrated soemtimes! haha

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Twinkle,
Me too ate Hawaiian pizza few times. But the pineapple is only few pcs. So i ate the pineapple as well. hahahha</font>.

hi bean,
my gyane also told me to avoid coffee and tea. i immediately stopped tea. but i only limit my coffee intake from quarter to half cup instead. think will be unbearable if i totally terminated my coffee intake. hahaha.....

twinkle: My gynae also told me to stop coffee and tea but i still drink tea sometimes leh.. cannot tahan.. last time my mum drank coffee everyday, also no problem..

i also ate hawaiian pizza! but i picked out the pineapples.

bean: i usually dun eat pineapples also but last time those small ones in food, i won't avoid but now i try to avoid as much as possible..

hi tiny m,
your gynae also Dr Adrian W, rite? so we got the same advise.
i think tea is "liang", so i try not to drink. now even lemon / peach tea i also avoid.

tiny_M, i bought ON for my #1 and i find that the sizes fits me.But last time i asked my fren to bring back from US for me so it was really cheap lo. But now many ppl doing sprees, so i find that prices are higher and foten out of stocks, normally have to wait at least 1 mth to get the goods.

Haha i hope my "yao gui" appetite is back real soon haha

Re: tea and coffee
this is another one, i have been having coffee for my whole preg during my girl, she is fine, and very fair haha no effect on her.. if i dun take coffee i think i will have dizziness every single day..
I think take no more day a cup per day should be okay..

Twinkle,
U spit out the pineapples? haha wat a waste, i had hawaiian pizza few times since i found out i am preggy, i really ate as per normal... but some taboo food, i dun take as much, one thing i sure avoid is raw food esp egg, dun want the bacteria to have any effect with the foetus.

jacquise

I bought three pants for total amount 56 only. I don't know about the tops, but my pants are truely maternity with adjustable band inside. so far, the quality is good and I feel worth it.

Yup yup, some bad shopping experience online too. should be careful. one time I bought some dress from china online. horrible, the actual product is totally different from the photoes. signs.........

Re: Food intake

My gynae also ask me cut down on coffee,tea and coke. Same with rc_cola, no coffee for me means I will feel giddy. Think take one cup a day is not big issue bah. :p As for banana, my gynae says it is high in sugar,ideally dun take too much.

Re: OSCAR test

Went to TMC this morning to do OSCAR. I was the first patient and the whole thing finish ard an hour. Baby refused to cooperate this morning...still sleeping so the NT scan took some time.
TMC says I will know the result by next week.

Hi everyone..went to see my gynae yesterday... so excited to see my 2 babies in the scan..they are both healthy (2cm now) and hearing their heartbeats make me wanna cry. So glad to know they are doing fine despite my low intake of food.

Due to my frequent nausea and giddiness, I seeked advice if I should wear sea band to ease it.. my gynae said it's worth a try as there is no side effects.. I'm wearing them now. It's helping so I hope this will help all of you who oso have the same awful feeling as me. Can get from Guardian...think it's abt $13. Cheerios~

re: banana
Ya reaally heard that del monte banana can't eat. Babies and children also can't eat because it causes "gas" in stomach. If you buy from wet market, the seller will tell the same thing. Del Monte bananas are from Philippines. My maid told me in their own country, their children also dun eat so there must be some truth to it. Better believe it. But I guess if "accidentally" eat should be ok bah.

Hi Tiny M,

The sizing charts are quite accurate except for the nursing bra, you must get a size larger if you are shopping from gap.com

Hi Twinkle,

Do you have a citibank credit card?
I signed up with Citibank who has a tie up with borderlinx.com . After registration with Borderlinx, they will provide a US address where you can send your purchase to and Borderlinx will send your buys to you via DHL. There are 2 ways you can do your purchases:
1) If the US website accepts Singapore credit card, you can buy direct from the site and ship to Borderlinx which will then ship to you via DHL, i find the shipping charges cheaper than the others.
2) If the US webiste does not accept Sin credit card (which is usually the case for gap and old navy), you can make use of Borderlinx 's concierge service (they don't charge), just fill in the form and tell them the items you wish to purchase and they will do the buying for you and charge to your citibank credit card.

Hope this helps

RE: OSCAR
My bb very naughty this morning, refused to get into right position during the test.. ended up I was there from 9am all the way until 11+ then finally settled.. I was in and out of the ultrasound room 3 times..

Then nurse told me to keep drinking water after each attempt.. until I super full bladder then the radiologist was trying hard to scan so that I can go pee haha.. then imagine full bladder and she kept pressing the scanner onto me, feel like dying man... then after shaking many times (think 25mins) but bb only turn body but not the head.. wah.. super torturing..

JRT - the result should be out on the same day. The nurse told me that the result will be send to my gynae this afternoon.. but my gynae said she will call me on tues..

Hey Vera,

Did u see me there today? I was wearing a brown jacket and 3/4 pants.
I was there at ard 8:20am and left at 9:30am.

Hoops,

Yeah... Can imagine it that.. Amazing to see 2 heartbeats!

I have arranged mine to be on 4th Nov for the Oscars Test at TMC. WE all got the same advice from Dr Adrian. No pineapple, tea, coffee and coke. *shrugs*

JRT - I reach at around 9am but I did not see anyone wearing specs.. I was in demin shorts and green top..

Today the nurse from my gynae clinic called me to inform the result for OSCAR, she said I am low risk.. so happy =)

Vera &amp; JRT > Can roughly explain how does OSCARS procedure work? Like to keep myself prepare what would be done to me and baby.

Vera,

Ermm.. think I did not see u. The nurse from my gynae clinic also called me to inform me that the result for OSCAR is satisfactory!

Re: Tea cures my headache!

Had been having headaches lately. Just now,went to make myself a cup of milk tea (my only cup of tea today.haha.) and headache like instantly gone! haha....Think I am suffering from tea/coffee withdrawal symptoms...

SK,

You will do s tummy scan first where they measure the neck bone (correct me if I am wrong) of the baby. After which,they would draw yr blood sample for testing. It is a very simple procedure and I am surprised that I got my results so fast!
Btw, I paid ard $318 for the test. If u sign up for TMC first born incentive then u can get a 10% off I think.

Hi JRT, that's pretty exp. I think I was told by Dr Adrian's nurse that the OSCARs Test takes slightly pass $100. If package, think will be about $300, but need to conduct twice for different test. Cant rem what's the 2nd test about. Need to wait for couple of weeks for test 2.

wow,
what a happening thread. So much posts.

MS:
My MS isn't improving too. Like May Baby and many others, my nausea doesn't seem to subside. To make things worse, i seem to suffer from indigestion everytime i try to go to bed at night. =(

OSCARs:
I just went for 1st check just now with Paul Tseng. He asked if I did OSCars before and i didn't so he just let the matter rest. so dunno wat you all are talking abt. hehe.

POOHWEI!!
Fancy seeing you here. hehe. =P En en doing great?? Running around I guess. Take care of yourself.

SK,

I think the 2nd test is the Amino test (where they extract something from the waterbag,a more invasive test) if you are found to be the high risk group.

SK - so far the OSCAR test that I did is same as JRT. During the scanning, they need to get the baby in the right position for them to measure the neck portion. Then they also did more accurate measurements to determine a more accurate EDD. After which, they will do a blood test and based on the combined results to determine if we are in the low, middle or high risk. If high risk, then the gynae will ask u to do more tests.

JRT - glad to hear that your result is ok too =)

I signed up for the TMC first born incentive card on that day and they gave me 10% the bill.. and it comes with a big goodie bag with full sized milk powder for mummies, bag for carrying bb stuff, books and many small stuff for bb.. then I also went for the free TMC hospital tour and receive another goodie bag which got diapers etc..

Sk: I'm going for my OSCAR test on 4 Nov at TMC too! So qiao! Mine is in the late afternoon, at 330pm. Urs? I'm going for the scan with my mummy, cos my hubby won't be in town for two weeks.

Vera &amp; JRT: Glad that your results are ok! Thanks for sharing your experiences! It's just scanning right? My gynae took blood test for me during my checkup on Fri, do I need to take another blood test on the OSCAR test day also? Is it possible to see the BB's gender during the OSCAR test scan or do they just focus on the head/neck?

Vera: Did the hospital tour take long? I wonder if we can go twice, since I'm going for my OSCAR test with my mummy. wanna arrange for another one with my hubby also. I'll prob sign up with the FBI when i go for my oscar test also..

Re: My checkup on fri
My BB is growing very fast, 4cm plus liaoz. When the doc first scanned the BB, it was moving, throwing its hands up (as if it got a shock!)! then it refused to move even tho' the doc was shaking my tummy to make it move. hahah.. quite cute. just a qn, does the EDD changes everytime? Cos my last scan it said 19 May, now it says 13 May. Does it change everytime? Next checkup will be 3 weeks later (not counting the oscar test).. so long..

Tiny_M,

I had my blood test at the gynae's too at 11 weeks+ check up. Heard is to access blood grp and other stufffs (can't rem wat he told me also). The OSCAR test is another seperate blood test as u will be doing it at TMC. I think EDD could change coz gynae gauge based on the size of baby.

Re: gender

I did my OSCARS at 12 weeks 1 day,so guess it is unlikely to tell the gender. I heard easiest is 16 weeks then can tell rite? The person doing the scan did scan from all angles like from the top,from the buttom.

When is yr appt for OSCARS tiny_M?

Tiny_M > I be doing mine at 11am. =) Hubby will come with me if workload is not heavy. So all we do is just to lie on bed and let the doc ultrascan our tummy?

Think I think too much..haha..there's a ghost move "Jian Gui 2" starring Shu Qi. The doc like inserted a very long needle into her navel for scanning. Pls correct me if wrong. I think that's pretty scary.

Think I asked the question of changing EDD after each scan by gynea before...somewhere. But din really know the answer to it. Do hope that bb to share same birthdate as me. Hehe. Then 3 of us including daddy can celebrate bday together. My birthday and hubby's only 3 days apart. See..I think too much again. Hahaha...

Just got back from a baby shower. The glutinious rice was so yummy. But the Vinegar Pork Legs were like ..eeekkkk..... But cant have much cos later MS playing tricks on me again and poorer digestion.

Also collected my ON maternity wears from a mummy...kinda huge for me. First time buyer so maybe advice for those who likes to purchase mat wears from ON to consider buyer a size smaller than what you usually wear.

RE: Maternity Clothes
Hi Tiny M, I haven't receive the clothes yet. My HB asking his colleague to help to bring back, so will only be getting them in mid Nov. I will let you know when I get them. Actually, very paiseh. Don't know whether he will get a shock when he see such a big package.

RE: Test
When I asked my gynae whether I will be doing any test, my gynae told me that I will be doing a blood test during my 16th week on 17 Nov at my gynae's clinic. When I asked the nurse what the test is called, she said it is triple test. I forgot to ask about the price leh. Just blur blur, gynae says must do so just fix appointment to do.

Hi Vera &amp; JRT, congrats on your good results.

RE: Gender
My gynae says hopefully we can see baby's gender during my next appointment on 17 Nov.

RE: Coffee, Tea &amp; Coke
I read somewhere that we have to limit our caffein intake (~2 cups of coffee daily - forgot the exact limit), so a cup or 2 cup a day is ok. I have however stopped my regular cup of coffee though I still drink ice lemon tea and tea occasionally. But we must take note that caffein can be found in food like chocolates etc.

RE: Food
My gynae says only cannot eat 2 things: smoked salmon and soft cheese and avoid herbs during 1st trimester (by the way, birdnest is not herb). He says can drink a glass of wine occasionally. I only drink 1 sip after I know I am pregnant. I don't intend to drink if I can help it. I rhink the rest of the things can eat, as long as eat in moderation.

RE: Appetite
Hi rc_cola &amp; 915, I am also looking forward to my "yao gui" appetite.

RE: Birdnest
I take bottled one because I don't know how to boil myself. I only take 1 teaspoon in the morning. I didn't take before I sleep as I normally don't feel so well by then. I will start to take twice a day when I feel better.

OSCAR is made up of 2 tests - one NT scan where there scan the neck and nasal bone and a blood test. if both test are done is more accurate , however some may choose the NT scan only...less accurate..cost cheaper as well. I understand that triple test is an older method..superceded by the OSCAR test already.
ABout the bananas, it is quite true, i hear from lots of people, those longer bananas (not sure what type) like dole adn del monte, not good to use. somethinhg to do with epilepsy.

Tiny_M - I am not sure if the blood test that your gynae did is the same test.. cos the blood test on the day I did OSCAR, they took 6 testtubes of blood for testing. Then they will combine results of scanning and blood test to determine the risk..

The OSCAR cannot determine the gender as bb is still too small to tell. They did the measurements of bb from all angles so its more accurate to determine EDD.

As for hospital tour, its less than 1/2 hr only.. also depends on which room are available for viewing.. but if you are signing up for the TMC incentive card, must get hb to come along cos the goodie bag is pretty heavy as it got a full size milk powder, books and a bag for putting bb stuff.. unless your mum can handle that..

SK - you are scaring yourself! Its just scanning.. but whether able to scan the neck portion depends on bb position.. need to tell bb to be guai guai haha..

glad to hear everyone is doing well and congrats vera and JRT for ur good results
sch work getting busier liao with assignments piling up. sigh...

i also went for my oscar test last fri, saw my baby. Baby's length was 63mm..really lucky that the postition was perfect for the scan so i was done pretty fast. Now is to wait for my next gynae's appt on 4 Nov. The next scan that am waiting for is the 20 weeks scan where most prob we can see the gender liao
hehe...

Noi - any news on the breastpump from ur lobang?

I will be going for OSCAR at TMC on 6 Nov, anyone having the same date as me? Was told by the nurse that it cost $318...my fren says it is ex...I did not research so duno what's the price too.

Hi Piggy_Cow, all the best for your OSCAR test results.

Hi littleone1705, Sorry I cannot help cause I have not done OSCAR. All the best to your OSCAR on 6 Nov.