(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

hi mangogal, yes, can try prune juice - it really helps

i booked my confinement nanny too - gonna place $400 deposit on mon, better book early..

wow, some ladies commented that at 15 weeks can feel baby's movement ald? Really? I dun feel any movement leh..thought only from 18 weeks earliest?

jinglebel, u sound as if its heartburn to me..

my heartburn is like got something struck near my chest, cannot burp out, cannot puke out, lay down also cannot, stand also cannot..

if u have this again, try to muach on dry bicuit (ginger based better) or take ginger tea (instant will do)..

its just norm to have heartburn.. come and go.. even until 3rd tri also have.. so prepare more ginger tea at home.. i buy 'super' brand instant ginger tea.. taste good and cheap

hi veron

i'm 14 wks nw...my frens say muz book confinement lady early cos e gd ones v hot....that's why e 1 she recomm already booked.

me oso got constipation 2 wks ago & gonna piles...v painful....nw piles still ard but i tink hv subsided so not so painful liao....tried drinking prune juice but dun like e taste :p so i'm eating > fruits.

shers, is it safe 2 drink ginger tea? any other tonics tt r gd to eat?

veron, dont know whether heartburn will hurt our bodies ornot.. but i do know that most of pregnant will experience heartburn. cant really remember y will have heartburn also..

swt2baby, its safe to drink ginger tea because its scientic proven that ginger based stuff can help to reduce heartburn.

jo/miss83: u r welcome to stay and contribute… =)

maya: as far as i know, if 1st two are C-sections, your obs will be unlikely to offer you anything else but a C for your 3rd [think its coz normal delivery has a very low possibility and the worry that the uterus may tear open
during contractions].

leereiner: over age 35, i think amnio is the test of choice as it becomes difficult to tell if the NT ratio is significant or not [e.g. if by age alone at 35yrs, the ratio is 1:250, its hard to tell if lets say the test ratio of 1:300 is sufficient to not undergo amnio]. i agree with shers, watch the spotting over the next couple of days - if it gets more or persists - you should go and see your obs.

dodos: i think your rationale is reasonable if cost is a concern and if by NT alone, the ratio is big [e.g. 1: 5000] =) coz i heard the blood tests dont usually move the ratio by a lot. sorry, but whats babyplus? and for anterior placenta [yes elina, mines anterior too and its noted on scanning] preventing one from feeling baby movement – interesting and fair reasoning too, but never really heard a better one than the baby is just too small [mine was doing acrobatics while i was doing my NT/blood test scan

karrie: good to see u too. im also waiting for the cute-stories-abundant-moments. =) we live in the Age of Information, and technology has provided a noninvasive [hurts only our pockets] and sensitive [which explains the pick up of more cases than there actually are] test. im sure the medical companies who put in much time and effort in developing this will want to make money out of it - it is a business after all. its really dependent on individuals but i too think most mummies will like to know, and i think u will like to know too [thats why u chose to do NT scan again]. as is, i think most mummies get peace of mind from this test, and only a few proceed onto amnio [and im glad the ones you know too are ok]. from what i gather about CVS [sampling placental tissue], it seems more invasive than amnio [sampling amniotic fluid]... btw, which ones the ON website?

sprinkle: i hope ur MS gets better, though it may last throughout pregnancy – wrote about how to help MS in my previous post.

mangogal: sorry i didn’t see ur previous posts: not sure about the fluttering – not specific enough to confirm, maybe gas? but the small hardening groin bump could be the enlarging uterus [since u r past 12 weeks already] – maybe u can just get ur obs to check for u when u next go for followup… i think baby movements are more easily felt 16 weeks and beyond, though they should be much better felt by 18-20 weeks. eggs im not sure if theres any proven link [im not 2TMTB though], but eczema has a bigger genetic link as shers says.

pat: nobody can really tell how much weight or waistband width u will gain [be it those who were short/tall/thin/plus-sized =) i like this word] – so go for something comfy and expandable which will last u throughout [especially if cost supersedes fashion].

swt2baby: sounds like what happened to me last night too – just that for me, its more of thinking too much about kidstuff and other stuff... dodos/veron, me too, i wake up at least once every night – i just try not to drink too much before i sleep and empty my bladder before getting on my bed… should be normal as long as ur urine test is ok, and shows no sign of either infection/diabetes, and your symptoms dont worsen.

always: every time i go to my obs, which has only been twice and 2 weeks apart currently, my weight gain is about 0.7kg [and im like pigging out]. ive heard of mummies losing weight in the 1st trimester too, but mostly MS++ mummies who dont eat too well. so what i think i may do is properly monitor my weight over the next 1-2 weeks, every 3 days or so. however if u r not feeling well, u r losing weight, or u r getting more and more worried for any reason, just pop over and see your obs earlier, and see if its necessary to do other tests. the way i see it, theres no harm in being more careful anyway if u r concerned – mummys sixth sense may be at work. =)

jinglebel: i think u probably have heartburn – i posted previously also about what to do if it happens. anyway shers gives pretty good advice – think ginger is quite safe – its been mentioned in quite a few reading materials. miss83, i dont think its true about heartburn and benefiting baby though – in heartburn, excessive stomach acid is going up instead of down and people with heartburn generally dont digest well.

veron/swt2baby: whats this thing about experts and sleeping on ones left?

miss83/shers/veron/iwry give pretty good advice on what to take for constipation, but i did read that one should avoid oral laxatives unless needed coz they may cause contractions. sigh, for me, im trying to take more juices now as compared with before…. piles-wise though, as with all things, small ones disappear, big ones do remain so its always good to prevent them…

Juxta, Thanks for the advice... will look around, cus the ON sales is really a bargain. haha!

Me too book my confinement nanny ready...it's okie to be abit KS lah... haha!

any mummies have butt aches? even walk also pain... haii....

DTSmummy,

The below is what i had read and extracted from www.babycenter.com

**QUOTE** "During the first half of your pregnancy, it's a good idea to start training yourself to sleep on your left side whenever you can. This position benefits your baby by maximizing the flow of blood and nutrients to the placenta. It also helps your kidneys efficiently eliminate waste products and fluids from your body, which in turn reduces swelling in your ankles, feet, and hands. Sleeping on your right side is fine, too. You'll probably need to alternate between your left and right side to remain comfortable. (If you wake up at night and find yourself on your stomach or back, don't worry — you haven't done any harm to your baby. Just roll back onto your side.)

Here's how many pregnant women feel most comfortable in bed: Lie on your left side with your knees bent and put a pillow between your knees. Arrange other pillows under your belly and behind your back for extra comfort and support. You can buy special maternity pillows for this purpose, though you may find that regular pillows work just as well. If you suffer from heartburn or breathlessness, you may also find it helpful to prop your upper body up a bit. In your third trimester, wearing a sleeping bra and a maternity belt can give extra support to your breasts, belly, and back.

A final tip: If lying on your side puts too much pressure on your hips, buy a soft egg-crate foam mattress pad. The egg-carton-shaped layer goes on top of your mattress and under the sheet and regular mattress pad for added comfort and air-circulation and is available in a range of sizes." **UNQUOTE**

any mummies going for short trips?? any recommendation on places to go as well as websites/travel agencies to use??

Just saw Dr. Ang this afternoon for NT scan. Baby is now 12wk + and 6.8cm long. EDD has moved up to 26 Apr. NT scan shows low risk of Down Syndrome, hence I have decided not to go for OSCAR blood test. I lost 1.8kg since the last appointment, which is about 4 weeks ago.

I'm still having MS, though the last 2 days, the amount puked has reduced. I'm hoping that it's going away soon!

How often do you see your OB?
I'm seeing Dr. Ang in intervals of 4 weeks... I remember it used to be 3 weeks for my #1 pregnancy. Wonder if it's because I'm 2nd time mother?

veron,
I remember reading about sleeping on left side as well from some other books. Even now, I feel more comfortable sleeping on my sides.

Hi MTB,
I have sleeping problems too during my pregnancy and very bad constipation till my delivery. My postnatal massage recently by Malay Heritage Jamu Massage by Mdm Rozita advise me to drink prune juice mix with plain warm water and its really work and always ask me to rest well during my sessions as she knows I've got sleeping problem.I like their head massage as after sessions with her, my sleeping pattern improve now and by 10.30pm I felt really very sleepy. Her advise if you got bad sleeping problem, just compress your eyes with ice cube for 10mins both eyes and its really works on me. Just try their method all you mums and hope it works for you'll too. Lots of advise and as a lst time mums I think worth paying their service for postnatal massage and moreover they're reg company. Their website malayheritagejamumassage.blogspot.com

Queen,
My EDD also changed. Now it is 09 Apr. Glad to hear that ur MS had subside. My next appointment with gynae is 4wks already. Before these was 3 wks, probably it is bcos I got spotting before bah.

hello all Mummies-to-be

After reading all the posts here, i finally decide to register... and join this thread? Can I? My EDD is expected to be 18th April next yr and currently am experiencing bad MS, just finished my check up today and gynae said I've lost 5kg!!! Faintz! Still have not decide to appoint any permanent gynae yet, currently was seeing Dr Han How Chan from KKH, Can mummies recommend me yr gyane and how abt sharing your experiences with him/her too???

hi cadence,

My EDD is 19th Apr - 1 day later than yours
. I've lost weight too since i'm preggy but only abt 2 kgs, my gynae told me 1-2 kg still ok, if 5-7 kgs, u'll need to be hospitalised liow cos scared dehydration!

My gynae is Dr Kenneth Lee from "The Women's Clinic" at Woodlands. He's really good and very reassuring... Both hubby and me feel extremely comfy with him. Everytime after we see him, we feel so happy! Very caring, chatty and fatherly fellow! I think he's with Mt Alvernia but u can opt to deliver at KKH too...

Hi dodos,
I am now 14 weeks...now should be my second trimester.. i m still losing weight... i am now monitering my weight and eat well... i am a little worry.. iF i don't gain weight, it seems like my bb nt growing well.. Does your tummy shows already?

HI DTSmummy,

Thanks... i think i will pop by to see my Gynae ealier ..

Hi bubblybride,

duing my first visit to the gynae, she told me that i have dehydration.. will it affect bb?

hi all, i just saw my gynae again...found out baby is a boy
currently shld be abt 15 weeks, not sure abt the exact date cos this time sys din generate! maybe gynae forgot to press button? May, know the sex of ur bb yet?

I also have sleeping problem. I just can't sleep in my bedroom, funny cos i am able to fall asleep in the living room sofa. So every nite, i toss n turn, walk in & out, as the sofa is uncomfortable to sleep long too.

I am surprised that so many of u have this prob too. I think my prob is cos my aching legs. So aching at nite til i just can't sleep. My gynae say prob i dint have enuff calcium. She also prescribe me some flue tablets that will make me drowsy. Going to try tonite.

Hi lovesphagetti. Initially I find her abit cold. But after a few more visits, find her quite sympathetic to me. But sometimes i feel she likes to talk more to my hubby, rather than me. But anyway, overall she is ok now.

Yah i also agree her charges are high. But i also duno how much other ppl r paying to other gynaes.

Hi Mummies, just to share with you all i am a May 2008 Mummy and had been using Palmer Stretch Mark cream b4 i give birth and after I give birth..
Hmm..must say that this cream is yummy and smell so nice.. most importantly it moisturised my tummy well and i am blessed to have totally no stretch mark ... phew..

i have 2 brand new in box Palmer's organic stretch mark cream..interested can please PM me.. will give u gals best price u cant find in departmental store ya... =)

Sprinkle.. for aching leg maybe u can try to do some stretching of calf muscles, and also try to put a pillow benealth ur feet when u rest... this can help improve blood circulation after that...

queen, usually 2nd trimester is every 4 wks until high risk preg.

Always, yes tummy show but didn't seems to grow bigger. Im hoping that the bb is growing well but where does the weight goes to? If i still didn't gain i might need to take blood test to check if im have thyroid or others.

re: sleeping problem
i can't sleep at all at night everyday. I have phobia sleeping tonight liao.

Sprinkle after taking flu med any help? I didn't take calcium pill but i drink milk at night but still didn't help.

re: Gender
So far all boys again. Next time will be very unbalance. I always tell my mum next time the girls very precious...my mum say not enough girls...2 boys will married 1 girl. They will be too modern liao by then.

re: constipation
Very bad for me also. Still trying ways to solve it.

Till the day i feel bb's real kick i worry everyday cos im not sure if he/she is ok inside. Feel like going for a scan to make sure it's alright but can't be doing this every week ley. I scare of the touch wood things..CHOY!

anyone ordered from www.motherhood.com before? do they accept spore credit cards? i keyed my ocbc credit card but they say invalid card. issit my billing address should key spore add instead of vpost address?
didnt hv such prob with Old Navy leh.

Hi sprinkle,
she doesn't have package like most gynea.. so have to pay per visit.. which works out to be quite a lot..

but she is a nice gynea. next time u just ask her more questions and she will pay attention to u. hehehehe

iwry,
Dunno the gender leh. Dr Woody try to scan but direction wrong and legs blocked. Seems like gal leh. He say should be able to see during the next checkup which is 13 Nov.

Dear MTB,

I am from the Jan08 MTB thread- I have an extra combi stroller to sell. It was a gift and was used 5 times only. The model is "Well comfort" and retail price is about $400. I am willing to let go at $300- price negotiable. You can view details of this model at http://www.taising.com/Combi/Combi_TJC300.jpg

Interested parties, please sms me at 96910601. Thanks.

elina, i ordered from motherhood.com using my OCBC credit card and don't have such a problem. Billing and Mailing address i use the Vpost USA address.

DTSmummy, CVS is just as invasive as amnio...just that it's slightly riskier (think 1% or 0.5% higher risk of miscarriage) and it can be done early in the pregnancy unlike amnio which can only be done at 16 weeks or so. Anyway i hated the whole OSCAR and CVS experience lah. can call it phobia haha...so i avoid all these as far as possible. The only good thing was that I knew for sure my bb was normal and that it was a BOY very early on heehee.

dodos, sorry to hear that you have problems sleeping. must be taking a toll. not sure what advice to give u too...maybe some relaxing music? that helped when I found it hard to sleep in my 3rd trimester. for now, usually I'm so dead beat with work and my boy at the end of the day that i just crash!!

But i dream more frequently, and all very dramatic, weird and vivid dreams that i still remember the next day! and they make me feel so tired even after i've slept 9-10 hours leh..

Wow...
only a few days never visit this thread, it's already so active.
And so many of you already know the gender of your baby, must be very excited.

Jo
I do have headaches on and off.
Like today, my headache goes on for the whole day.

Does anyone of you feel giddy and breathless easily? I am only just stepping into the 2nd tri and already I feel these symptoms.
Heard that breathlessness is felt usually in 3rd tri...aiyo

i guess all the mummies here are getting more and more excited – first about the OSCAR, then sex determination…

veron: thanks for that info from babycenter.com. i suppose the only reason i can think of why the blood flow is better is coz the blood vessels to the placenta is located more towards the left…

eunice: i thought someone just went to genting? mummies, help my failing memory, was it dev19?

queen: i think obs see uncomplicated cases less frequently till the later part, which is probably what u note in maywong’s case.

jovina: u sound as though u r advertising for the jamu website… =D

cadence teo: welcome to the family. i think a few other mummies are with dr lawrence ang and dr yvonne wong – as for me, im undecided.

always: tummy showing doesnt always mean baby is growing well [scanning is usually a better choice at this early stage], and dehydration hurts baby if you arent having sufficient nutrition at the same time, but could be due to various reasons [like waiting too long for the obs and going hungry/thirsty! =D]. however ur obs should be able to advise you accordingly… coz severe dehydration warrants hospitalization, minimal dehydration means go drink more fluids [u can take several small amounts frequently if uve bad MS].

sprinkle: u can try massaging ur legs, or adding a small amount of salt in your water [could be a salt imbalance]. choc’s ideas sound good too…

dodos: u can actually lose weight if u r anxious and have poor sleep – try to relax more. of course, go for whatever tests u need to if the obs thinks it necessary. =) u tried the methods the mummies suggested for constipation already? anyway, i think for the time before one can actually feel baby kicking, besides scanning [which the obs will already have planned out for u], one can only watch out for touchwood symptoms like vaginal bleeding and tummy pain.

maywong: i think for the naughty ones, they can only try to see at each scan, but i heard the best time is usually at and after the detailed scan at 20-22 weeks.

karrie: somehow the idea of poking at the baby’s blood supply seems more invasive to me than poking at the fluid around baby. with an amnio risk of 1% miscarriage and a CVS risk of 1.5-2%, it shouldnt be too far off to say theres a technical 50-100% higher risk doing CVS than amnio in the same hands. besides an earlier peace of mind, i dont really see what the extra 2 weeks can gain anyone. but i really do understand your phobia. =) hey, yeah, ive the same experience too with regards to bizarre and vivid dreams – i definitely remember them a lot more than i used to – almost everyday im telling my hubby about them… =D
jo: uve piles? have u read the mummies’ posts on constipation? jo/leeuwin: hope u guys dont have history of migraine – i hear it usually gets worse during pregnancy; otherwise what about trying to sleep more and in quiet areas, and drink loads of fluids…

leeuwin: do watch out for leg swelling and chest pain – then u must tell your obs ASAP, but in a less sinister and more common way, try to keep fit and sleep sufficiently…

<font color="119911">Hi Queen,</font>
I had bleeding in the first place, so, i go to my gynae almost every 2 weeks. Now, it is stabilised, my next appt is in 4 weeks after my last.

<font color="0077aa">Hi Cadence,</font>
My gynae is Dr. Yvonne Chan from TMC. So far, no problems for me with her. She is good, very detailed and also very reassuring esp when I have bleeding during my first trimester. My EDD is one day earlier than yours on 17 Apr 09.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Sprinkle,</font>
I have aches on my upper thighs as well and the ache is keeping me up at night. My hubby needs to massage for me every morning when I wake up.

Hi Cadence, congrats &amp; welcome! We have the same EDD =) shall see if it shifts during my next visit... I'm seeing Dr Aziz who delivers in Eash Shore &amp; Raffles. So far, seems like his charges r pretty reasonable tho he does not offer packages eg. $500 for unlimited visits but he does have delivery packages of cos. He's nice &amp; funny =) Hubby &amp; I are v comfortable with him.

Dodos, sorry to hear you have trouble sleeping at night. Do you sleep in the afternoon? I realise when I do, then i'll have a bit of problem sleeping at night. As of now, my biggest "problem" is waking up numerous times to visit the toilet!! its quite irritating =P n same as karrie, I've been having very weird n vivid dreams...

DTSmummy, thanks for the info. Still wondering if I should even go overseas. Friends are concerned I'll have bad motion sickness on the ferry haha...

Reg ginger tea, I tried some last nite &amp; it works!! Thanks shers for sharing!

SK, yes, can see baby gender ald, prob becos its a boy
gynae says he is 99% sure cos can see that long thing...hahaha

hi may, ok, hope u can see at the nx scan! so u prefer boy or gal? 2nd one rite?

morning mummies! all feeling better now as is tri 2 for most?

just had my checkup on sat, baby is doing good and could see the little limbs moving, so cute! my son was like, how come bb looks like that?! e head is big and body long and limbs short. the dr also measured the neck fold and said it should be low risk of DS. what a relief!

Jo, I've been having a consistent headache for the past 3 days...dunno if it's due to being in the 2nd trimester or just lack of sleep from all the exam marking.

MS seems to be easing off BUT can't be too sure *touch wood* everytime i think it's gone it comes back.. *bleah*

DTSmummy, yah u got a point there. I hate any kind of poking!! im squeamish about even blood tests!!

eunice, i'm going Japan end of this year. looking forward to it. Will be the first holiday with just hubby n me ALONE, without in-laws, without baby, in 2 years...haha. Not too worried about travelling, coz I previously went to Perth when I was 5 mths preggy with my first one. Actually planned to go scuba diving in Nov/Dec but suddenly got preggy...so cannot liao :p

Going to see gynae later, can't wait to see bb again. it's been a month!

Hi Mummies, me back from Genting and KL trip... Nice weather in Genting... And it was a first best trip I ever had so far. My gal was so guai this trip that she slept throughout the journey to and fro... Brought her to the indoor theme park.. She was so excited with the merry go round horses. Initially thot she wont like it, but in the end, she went up and does not wants to come down. In the end, I had to buy an adult ticket and bring her around the theme park games. It was tiring but fun. She slept everyday at about 7pm till next day morning 7am. Think she is really excited and really enjoyed herself this trip... Hope can go for more.. Haha...

Congrats and Welcome all new MTBs...

Hi Jo, we having the same EDD... Me going to see gynae tonight.. Was supposed to be on Friday, but went Genting, so extended to tonight. Gynae said can see the gender this visit. Cant wait to see the gender of the baby...

Congrats Mummies.. For knowing the baby's gender...

Hi karrie, wah so nice!! but it'll be cold so prepare more warm clothings!! sigh i wanted to go japan as well...but hubby is afraid it might b too cold for me. even now sometimes at night i'll shiver w just the fan n open windows. marking exam papers? so u're a teacher? hehe...
so exciting!! i can wait to see our baby next wk as well. just want to know my bb is growing well n is safe n healthy =)my hubby is hoping can see the gender as well hehe. as for the tea, shers recommended super. i bought something kili w milk type (gold kili i think) i bought the one in a blue box called ginger tea latte. $3+ for 10 pkts. frankly, i dun think it taste v good but it works la. going to try super next time.

Sorry to barge in. I'm a Feb 08 Mummy.

I have the following items to give away.

1)Pigeon Battery operated breast pump(Used less than 5 times)

2) Avent ISIS Comfort Breast Shell Set (Brand new)

PM me if interested.

Want to check with u all.
Any one got good stretch marks cream to recommend? I used Palmers Cocoa Butter or something like that cream during my first pregnancy but dun really like the smell. Recently noticed that my tummy is getting tighter, can feel the stretch, so must start applying already, else the stretch mark will be very obvious again.

Hi May
I'm using Clarins... I like the smell &amp; I read somewhere its better to use oil than cream. Its a tad more ex though. If u're really interested, get from SASA or Peaches &amp; Herbs (@parkway parade). Abt 20-25% cheaper than retail.

Hi eunice, yah it'll be cold so I bought a new winter coat that will fit my tummy...and some sweaters from ON...excited coz it's my first time to Japan
Actually i'm v prone to feeling cold too! i'll be shivering in our air con rm while my hb n bb perspire haha.

May, I swear by Clarins like eunice...I buy the body tonic oil, yapp Sasa sells it cheaper...

just saw the gynae, he said everything is fine with bb. could see it moving ard, so cute
at this point can't see a pee pee yet, so could be a girl, will only know for sure when i go for the detailed scan next mth. can't wait!