(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Hi ladies...
I'm having my OSCAR and other blood test done tomorrow... so nervous and excited. =)

I read the past threads that we are supposed to keep a full bladder for the OSCAR? But my gynae didn't mention that to me... anyone... any advice?

hahah ur gals all so cute! they all say gals are like daddy's previous life lover, can imagine if my hb is to get a dotter. ha!

Speaking of induced labour, my no. 1 had contractions for 24hrs and not dilated b4 I was induced for another 12 hrs, then he decide to make his grand entrance! I was 5 days overdued, boy came out all wrinkly. But I was lucky, I made it via natural birth. My gf induced too, almost fully dilated and suddenly got a high fever, had to do an emergency c-sec.

juxta, is that so for daughter? so cute.. but my little gal resembles too much of my hb.. in their previous lives, they must have 'fu qi lian'

devil's daughter also looks like her daddy.. maybe thats y old folks say that gal looks like daddy is good while boy looks like mummy..

for my no 2, i hope for a boy.. but even with another gal coming, we dont mind so long baby is healthy

Very long never come in here to post. My OSCAR results were out. Doc said chances are very low. In my 13th week now. My edd keeps on changing getting earlier and earlier. From 21 Apr now become 9 Apr!!! Anyway, told my gynae I will be consulting my priest for good date and time to do op, so can decide the date later.

Wah Shers, yesterday was really the longest stressful time. Alot started to make noise liao. I waited for 3hrs+ to see Dr Tham! I think he is taking in more than he can cope with. Sigh, I really am thinking abt changing.

I am anxiously counting down the days to find out the gender. Instinct tells me its what I want but still dare not set my mind till confirm.

elina, i also use the portland oregon one. but i suppose both also can lah...

Connz, if this is your first baby and you don't mind paying a bit more (after all can wear for 2nd pregnancy), can try Swell at Paragon. they got nice work pants. they are fitting so look v slimming..my frens can't tell it's maternity pants

Devil, my boy is very active and quite violent too. he thinks biting equals kissing....so he'll bite his soft toys, my maid and me! i've started teaching him how to kiss. hopefully he will pick it up...

my colleague who has two kids about 19mths apart said when we're preggy, must teach no.1 to sayang meimei/didi in the tummy...then get them to talk and sing to didi/meimei a lot. then when the baby comes out, they'll be very protective :D her boy will actually take care of his lil sis at the childcare centre! will hold her hand and bring her to her classroom before he goes to his. and everyday he reminds her teacher the foods she is allergic to. so sweet rite?

Karrie, your son is so sweet... Knows how to take care of the little sister liaoz...

Ya loh.. Even right now, everyone said my gal looks like hubby... So I told my hubby she is his gf in past life. Then he asked me.. What about son? Is mummy's bf in previous life?

I tried to ask my gal to sayang the baby in the tummy. But she will start hitting my stomach and then jump onto it. But everything before she can jump on it, she got "grabbed" away by her daddy.

She knows how to sayang us (Mummy and Daddy). When we ask her to yang yang, she will put her face onto our face. Then sometimes kiss us, with all her saliva on our face. But so cute...

juxta, yahloh the ON and Gap summer collection really not bad leh. even some of the US$4.99 maternity tees are nice. but i got lotsa maternity n baby clothes liao. must stop myself from buying more. just bo bian must buy sweaters for my trip...(or so I tell myself, hahahah!!)
but of coz, if this time i get a girl...i think i'll go shopping mad again hahaha...

lovespaghetti, my gynae doesn't have a package. so i also have to pay per visit.

Devil, not my son heehee...is my colleague's son who can take care of the lil sis...my boy also jump onto my tummy. but i dun push him away lah. i just say cannot step on baby, then seat him down on my lap...or just carry him and bring for walk.

your girl is so sweet!!

elina,
use the Portland, Oregon address for VPOST. Several merchants inposed sales tax for shipments to California. So don't use the Califonia address.

eunice,
Not sure when I'm starting another spree. Now no longer spree queen liao... simply no energy with all the MS. Maybe when the MS subsides later, I'll organise again. Will want to buy clothes for new baby.

Shers,
Thanks. I'll go and try the ginger tea.

Devil,
Yes, I stayed in one-bedded ward. But the normal kind, there are some suites in TMC which cost more. The Oct mummy's bill is inflated with all a lot of non-standard items. So I think normal bill should be much lower.

karrie,
Wah... I've been trying to tell my boy (he's almost 3) about a meimei / didi in my tummy. He keeps saying "don't want!"

Connz / Jo,
Congrats on knowing the gender! I can't wait to know too. But I'll still have to wait a few more weeks.

can i check how much is the oscar test?

how is the procedure like for it? i only know need to take 2 blood tests and full bladder

Shers, yeah, daughters are supposedly daddy's previous life lover! i'm also waiting to find out the gender so i can declutter or stock up!

my boy is an exact replica of my hb leh, he looks nothing like me, not at all!! I also ask my boy to start talking/singing to the bb, he'll say he wants to give/share his toys to meimei! haha my son thinks i'm going to get a gal!

Hi All mummies,

Sorry to disrupt in..can i check during pregnancy, can we still drink coffee? I tot coffee and tea are not allow to drink during our pregnancy? Now, i'm in my 12 weeks + and still having the MS.. get tired easily especially on wkends..now even vomit more often than b4..especially on wkends...not sure how long am i going to "suffer" still....

Venetia, I guess should be able to. Just dun drink too much. But doctor's advise is not to drink at all... Some doctor will said moderate.. Dun drink too much. Up to individual I guess...

Shers as mentioned mine was done in NUH. The staff there did not ask me to have full bladder when I asked if need any special requirements. They checked on the thickness of the bb's neck and the length. That's when the doc mentioned my date shld be earlier since bb seemed bigger. Than 'donated' some blood for the test and go home. Yesterday Dr Tham told me about the results that the chances are very slim.

Hi shers
I did mine at TMC.. The oscars had two component.. NT scan and blood test.. you may only be doing one.

NT scan at TMC is about $300plus, blood test is $150.

yah need full bladder cos can see better when there is water as our waterbag is still small at this moment.

Hi jas,
all the best and no worries!!! it is quick and painless hehe

Hi lovesphagetti, my gynae does not have package as well. pay per visit - $45 per visit. so far, normal folic acid is FOC. the other medication he gave me abt $5/mth - those "time-released" folic acid & this other thing which stinks haha. if u take more than 10mins, another $20 per 10 mins block.

Venetia, my gyane says its ok to drink coffee, but in moderation. he says its more impt to note the sugar content than the caffeine content. but its wat u're comfy with i guess. even decaf coffee makes me wanna puke, so i rather take tea nw. totally sympathise w ur MS thingie, a lot of us r going thru the same thing, so u're not alone =) my MS is up n down. yday was so bad i went to sleep on an empty stomach cos i really cldnt puke anymore. tdy is slightly better, managed to eat some n not puke (maybe cos im on mc n had more sleep??)

queen, hehe no worries. then u r onz to regain ur queen title, i'll b ur supporter! haha... i just rec'd my ON stuff....like too big leh!!! i followed the instructions =( next order must order smaller size liao.

wa wa... i have not been in for abt one & a half weeks, so much to catch up on the thread... haha

I have changed my gynae to Dr Wong Mun Tat coz he is nearer to my mum's place. Gonna stay at her place for a while as my hubby outstation from next week... sob sob

Recently oso developed some rashes on my tummy, gynae tell me not to use the stretch mark cream anymore. He gave me some pills to take. Now, waiting for the rashes to clear up. But still kinda of worried if later develop stretch marks then too late liao... Anyone experience this too? I'm using palmers. Thought of trying clarins one after my rashes r ok.

I'm now going to reach 13 weeks... heee... so fast...

Stomach growing but not too obvious so kinda xian everyday take train, have to stand all the way. Nowadays seldom people will give up their seats even if they see very pregnant ladies.

My GTT shows a bit borderline diabetes so need to control my sugar and carb intake... Got family hx so i oso try to control....

2nd trimester feels good but also worry cos have yet to feel the baby and no symptoms. Can eat already and gain 1kg so far. I thought i will feel it much earlier cos it's my no.4 but now 14 wks liao still waiting.

I did my NT scan without the blood test to save money.

Can't wait to know the gender.

hi mummies, on mc cos my ms came back with a vengeance

eunice, what size did u order? i followed the sizing and ordered XS leh. u mean it'll be big anyway??!

dodos, this your no.4?! fantastic mummy!! im gonna stop at 2. dun think can handle more than that liao...

Hi Eunice,

Thanks for your advice. Anyway, now i smell coffee also wanna to puke.... =(

Hi lovesphagetti,

How long u take to do your Oscar test? So the NT scan and blood test is on separate cost?

Hi Vtly
I am not sure about other hospitals, but for TMC is separate charges. I paid for the blood test at my gynea, and i paid for the NT scan at the scanning unit..

total time taken for both is about 1hr.

hi eunice
that's a really good deal.. mine is kind of expensive. at least $100plus per visit.. with medicine can go up to $200 plus.. no choice got to save more..

dodos, how can u survive with the MS and pregnant with no 4 now?? i told me hb that if after 1 yr, i tell him that i want no 3, ask him to slap me hard! hahha... because after that, u forget abt the MS during pregnancy..

what is the blood test about?? test for what?

i thought at the later stage, we will have to do another compulsory blood test for HIV blah blah..

Hi lovesphagetti,

okay, my gynae is at TMC, and when I asked the nurse roughly how much, she told me around 400++, so that's the reason..the nurse told me some might take up the whole day depending how cooperative the baby is...but yours only 1 hour....hope mine will not last that long too..im going this friday..so how long it take to know the result?

Hi Karrie, it my 2nd bb. when pregie w 1st one my work place k wear casal pant bt has since change company n nw must wear corporate wear
....wil drop by Swell 2 hv a look. thks.

i paid total $420 for my oscar test at TMC.

Hey, anyone....u all start 2 feel e bb?? i feel mine tis morn again...since like my princess v active in e morn

recently my hubby has been educating my son on e bb....everynite teach him to sayang meimei in the tummy....tell him tt meimei is his own biological meimei...mus protect her, etc....v funny listening to his teaching :p hv u start any??

hi lovespaghetti, which gynae r u seeing? $100+ is a bit steep, esp since he/she doesnt offer packages.

hi venetia, most welcome =)

hi karrie, haha i think XS is the smallest possible already la. I ordered L cos i usually wear 10 or 12 but the L machiam XXL leh...think next time i order 8 can already.

hi Connz, wow so fast can feel bb??? how many wks r u already?? i cant wait for the next checkup to see bb. so cute his teachings. mine is my hubby singing silly songs to the bb, makes me luff.

Me 15 weeks now and I got some little bump like a small ball forming above my groin area, I msaage or pat pat the hard ball bump flatten, hee..so cute! I feel fluttering or itching inside my lower tummy, are these baby movements?

How come all of your scanning is so ex?
My NT scan only cost $192+ leh. This include the detailed scan that I will be having in TMC again when baby is about 24wks. Difference between OSCAR and NT?

Connz, no worries. hope u find something suitable. wow the OSCAR test at TMC is so ex??? luckily i cancelled my OSCAR appointment...feel that it's unnecessary since the usual scans show up normal.

Connz anf eunice, haha ur hubbies so cute. mine just plays his PSP when he comes home...

Me 15 weeks now and I got some little bump like a small ball forming above my groin area, I massage or pat pat the hard ball bump flatten, hee..so cute! I feel fluttering or itching inside my lower tummy ocassionally nw when i lie flat, are these baby movements?

hi mummies, it seems like a brisk past couple of days!

juxta: wah u r so fortunate to have a maternitywear spree-er =p and get such good lobangs on maternitywear. next time must share the good news with us... kekeke...

eunice/juxta/karrie/shers/queen: like eunice, i think my tummy fat is showing coz of eating more than baby needs, but so far can still squeeze into my normal pants, but need to look for maternity pants too liao... i think most pp who dont overeat show at about 16 weeks. MS for a few blessed souls dont even affect them much in the first few weeks, but some mummies can feel horrid THROUGHOUT pregnancy, especially if u have multiple pregnancies or as u have more pregnancies. to reduce MS, apparently these may help: ginger-tinged stuff [even biscuits], small frequent meals, lotsa water/sleep/rest, more vitb6 [in nuts, bananas, avocados, whole grains], more ironrich foods [beef, sardines, eggs, leafy greens], cut down coffee [probably tea] and alcohol], avoid overly milky/oily/acidic stuff.

jo/connz: that’s quite fortunate [and a pretty cooperative baby] – i thot most people have to wait till the 20-22 weeks’ scan before they can see baby’s gender…

dev_19: thanks for that bill u posted – so we can see the actual things the october mummy’s paying for. =) i think gynae fees make up a significant chunk of it , then extras [extra day + companion bed], plus baby’s fees [which im not sure is included in everyone else’s bill]. thus my gut feeling is that if she didn’t get 1-bedded, her fees may not be so high [coz its like ‘unsubsidised]. have fun on vacation!

dev_19/sher/karries: your kids sound adorable – im waiting for the day that ive my own stories to tell… ;-p

maya: hi, if u don’t mind me asking, how come uve to do an op too, and the priest is for…?

venetia: in general, i think most people advise on a reduction in caffeine [if im not wrong, to 1 cup of tea or coffee a day, i.e. not exceeding 200mg/d] in pregnancy, to prevent miscarriages [though its not very proven] and to some extent in selected mummies, cut down on MS. im fairly paranoid when i found out i was pregnant, so though i used to polish off 1-2 cups of coffee/day, i cut down to 1 cup of any caffeinated product [tea/coffee/coke] every 3 days or so, and take 1 cup of decaf coffee every day instead. i was so moody when i started, but im more energetic now after 2-3 weeks.

dodos/karrie/maywong/vtly78/shers: to my understanding, the NT+blood test is the first trimester early screening test of choice. it combines primarily the scanning of baby’s neck fold thickness with mummy’s blood tests results [which are two of those in the triple test – which was the screening test previously] to give a likelihood ratio of baby having Down’s syndrome and two other less common chromosomal problems, according to mummy’s age, and the test results. the sensitivity is about 90-95%, compared with NT or triple test alone [about 75-80% - which is not so acceptable]. this test is usually done from 11-13 weeks. its usually charged outside packages because its up to individual choice – there are plenty of mummies who decline testing for various reasons. this blood test is different from the other antenatal blood tests such as HIV or blood count because this is for screening baby problems, whereas those are screening mummy for infections, blood problems etc.

maywong: maybe u can share with the other mummies what package u bought actually for that price [is it ur maternity package & doesnt include the NT scan]– the price difference could be due to other reasons. according to the internet, OSCAR seems to be the same as the NT+blood test, but u need to verify with the clinic u do it with.

karrie: besides amnio [which is THE test to check for chromosomal problems such as Down’s syndrome, and highly recommended for mummies above 35yrs, but is invasive and carries a significant risk of miscarriage], the NT/blood test is the next best available test [especially for mummies below 35yrs]. Down’s syndrome or other chromosomal problems cannot be detected by a normal ultrasound test; furthermore, these illnesses can only be implied if the foetus has major [as in big and visible] physical defects seen in these problems.

have a good day all!

Hi DTSmummy, my first had to go for emer-c after being in labor for 17hrs. Hence 2nd also C and now third also. I have been thinking about VBAC for this but havent decide. We have belief that the day and time the baby is born is important and whether it will be good or bad for the parents. Since I most likely will be doing C, want to choose a good date and time. Cos for normal you cannot choose mah.
1794319.gif
Apart from having a healthy child, I also want him/her to enter this world on a good day.

halo mummies, alot of books mention that mummies can feel babies kicking after 16 weeks for 1st pregnancy and earlier for those experienced mummies..

so sometimes if u feel something, might not be yr baby kicking because the legs, arms, limbs not form yet.. maybe its gas.. dont be too sensitive or anxious over y some mummies still cant feel it..

i can only feel my no 1 kicked when she was about 25 weeks.. so not to worry..

whao.... so many postings again.... past few days buzy @ work, so didnt really came in this thread...

me got bit of spotting over weekends. think me carry my gal too much lor.... she still wanna me to carry her... ut y cost shall be the most ex one... like me mentioned b4, even for the unschedule appt, me didnt have to wait for see my gynae. partly is my SIL is working there. she can help to slot in my appt so me really dont have to wait, wait...

for the extra test OSCAR/NT, me gotta do lor... coz me is over 35yrs old leh...

baby kicking? too early wah???

leereiner, u got to take care.. monitor yr spotting.. i had spotting around 5weeks.. then become brownish discharge.. quite scary.. then gynae gave me 2 weeks mc to bedrest. plus 'an tai yao' to eat..

take care wor..

Shers, ya i have forgotton all about the MS and "xin ku" cos it's been 3 yrs liao. Hehee that's a gd one ask your hubby to slap u if you forgot.
So hopefully we got what we want this time lor.

NT scan + blood test same as Oscar(both do the same test). Since my NT is normal i opt out the blood test. Think no need lah. I paid $100+ for the NT. Blood test cost $200+ this i save up.

So i should worry lor since im not 1st time preg but still didn't feel bb movement now.

dodos, no need to worry la.. i think some mums are too sensitive so they can 'sense' early..

so long every 3 weeks or every month u visit yr gynae, heartbeat is regular and baby is growing well, no worries at all..

i dont feel pregnant at all except for tummy bigger and sometimes horrible MS only..

indulgence_queen, maybe u can join the oversea spree is easier.. cheaper because got others sharing shipping..

oversea website doesnt do international shipping. u have to send to domestic address then through vpost or other international shipping to send over to sg..

DTSmummy, nice to see u again
don't worry in no time u will have very cute stories to tell about your little one!

I have an aversion to excessive testing, which seems to be the routine nowadays...i think creates a lot of unnecessary emotional stress for the parents and also it's a way for medical companies to earn money. but i think most mummies will differ from me because they would rather have peace of mind. it really depends on your preference

i went for OSCAR and CVS (an invasive test like amnio) before with my first pregnancy so i do know about the accuracy rates of the various tests etc etc...i mentioned before it was the worst 2 weeks of my life because i cried a lot and worried a lot while waiting for my CVS results (the OSCAR test said i had like 1:95 odds of carrying a DS baby).

i only went for the tests coz my bb had a high NT measurement--it just showed up during my routine ultrasound scan with my gynae. this time there's round there's no such marker so risk should be low, furthermore my background risk is already low, so i dun see the need

FYI, all of the mummies i know who had "bad" results for OSCAR turned out having perfectly healthy and adorable babies including me :D

this time going for VBAC...

oh yah DTSmummy, u can still order from ON website. they're still having a sale. maternity tees going for like US$4.99 and up. just sign up for a vpost account at www.vpost.com.sg to save shipping charges.

This is the 1st time I am here. Had no mood at all to online initially. But thought mayb its good to hear what all of you are experiencing too. I am in my 12th week. Bad MS.....sometimes whole day nauseous. Tom will be my 13th week. I heard ppl say after 12th week will slowly subside. I really hope so.

My feet nowadys ache alot til I can't sleep at night. Sometimes i feel hot, n sometimes cold. I really duno what to do. I tend to break down easily too. No appetite at all.

hi vtly
The scanning is immediate cos u can ask the technician.. as for blood test.. they will send back to the gynea.. if gynea no call u means good news lah. hahahaa

the people at the blood test centre told me the results will be out the next day.. but then when i called my gynea two days after the test.. the nurse told me the results not out yet.. so i only got back during my visit which is 2 weeks later. but i received no call from gynea so i just assumed is good news. hahaha

hi eunice
my gynea is yvonne soong at TMC..

hi sprinkle
i had really bad ms too.. but now is better.. i m in my 15th week.. and don't vomit so much already...hang in there!!

hi shers
for the blood test.. one tube is drawn for testing of down syndrome.. the other 3 tubes are for things like red blood cells, hep b, HIV etc....

just ranting! heh
everything is going up up up lioa.. prices for tests/scans etc have increased at TMC also..

hi sprinkle, i just passed my 13th week and been having the 3rd good day for a long time, slight nausea and bloated but at least not vomiting. I was throwing up daily throughout the day too so hang in there!

i'm going for my checkup on sat! cant wait to see the bb on the monitor!

indulgence_queen, you can try the overseas spree here. I've tried ordering with them a few times cos if is only a few items, e domestic and int'l shpg wont be worth it to do it alone