(2008/06) June 2008

i just called kk to check. for 6 in 1 is 450 before gst. rotavirus is 89 before gest and pd fee of 60+ and p - 150 each jab before gst (total 4) and pd fee of 60+

Felicia,
I find that my bb's first reaction when awake is to open mouth desperately rooting, esp first day back from hospital. But she's not always hungry, just wants to suck for comfort, maybe not used to being awake. If it's not time for her feed, I will rock and pat her. Usually within 5-10 min, she calms down and stop rooting. If she continue to cry and root, then I assume she's hungry and latch. So far I BF exclusively and she's not drinking that much at 2 wks old. I can pump 60-70ml now per breast and she always drinks from 1 side only. Beginning BM only 30-40ml on Day 3-4, but it was enough for her to last 2-3 hrs.

Your bb is quite big though, so may be more awake and hungry. My #1 was also 3.5kg, came out v hungry. Even so, I only supplement with 1 x 60ml per day for Week 1 then eventually TBF. #1 always cry and search for milk, that time I just feed and feed, nipples v sore. After 1.5 weeks I decided I would "train" #1 to drink only every 2-3 hrs instead of feeding every time he cried. I started to pacify him by rocking and patting, to stretch his timing and it worked. Later I realized that bb cry doesn't necessarily mean hungry, even though everybody else will just assume hungry and pressure you to feed / give formula. Sometimes bb just cry for no reason. I find that if I latch bb when bb not crying out of hunger, will just nibble at the breast until fall asleep. Sometimes drink too much, will puke milk. What they say about bb knows how much to drink and when to stop is not true for me. My bb will just drink and drink, then later puke out, waste the BM, so I stopped offering her 2nd breast. One side enuf to last 3 hrs. The true "hungry cry" is unmistakable, it just escalates and cannot be pacified until milk is given. Only way to know if bb is drinking enough is to see if diapers have poo and urine, plus check if bb regain birth weight in 2 weeks.

Priscilla, Fennie,
My bb needs to be wrapped with a blanket leh. Everytime I unwrap her, she will sneeze, esp if fan is on. In hospital, aircon was too cold for her, I simply kept her in the room for 4hrs and she had a stuffy nose. The nurse keep taking her away to put under the warmer. Same thing at home, no matter how I sweat during the day, she still sleep soundly in her blanket without any aircon and often sneeze when I unwrap to change her diaper. I keep thinking she will get heat rash, but better than catching a cold.

babyD,
my bb's nose was blocked, one night when he was in aircon room, then my post natal massage lady told me to cover his head(the diamond shape where is soft) when he is in aircon room, like the hooded receiving blanket, and wrapped him up, and he sleep very well, didnt kick the blanket or sneeze anymore, btw, PD told me, sneezing, hipcups, breathing hard is normal as the passage is small

Veniz..
My MIL also wan baby to grow fat fat and to be like the father... she can carry baby and tell baby with mi around that when mummy not around i will let you eat as much as you want....... cos she saw that once baby is awake not due for her milk she will search for nipple, and will make noise for attention... I have already told her that baby stomach is so small now and if you feed her too much she will vomit and she say vomit it's alrite one... and it means she is growing well..*pengz* dunno how old pple think one leh...

I nearly wanted to tell her off lor... dunno how to let her take care of baby when i return to work man... I was so pissed off....

When baby got flu, she just say its ok buddha will bless her one... I was thinking if like that, i can dun bring her to doctor and every day pray can liao issit...

Fennie
You can use ru yi oil to rub her head... MY CL teach mi... cos baby stomach wind very serious i told her to use ru yi oil on her every time we change pampers.. then after rubbing baby stomach, she will rub baby head.. say its good to keep the head warm...

Hi rooller,
I ordered from sweetest moments. Very presentable. Comes with ribbons so guest can caryy box home without plastic bags. The stuff inside taste fresh. I like their mochi.

Hi sharon
If really constipated, have to see doc leh. If for 3 days, can try diluting FM. Else, see doc for advise, might have to change milk powder.

Hi felicia,
Dunno if I am right, but i gauge by babies' immediate response after milk to see if they had enough. If pull out the bott or breast, baby begins to root or search for food again, means not enough. Or if they finishes what you give them every feed for consecutively a week, then I will increase slightly next week.
Some babies like to suck for comfort, doesnt mean they are hungary. My #1 likes to suck prior to sleep. So I gave pacifier.

Hi Fennie
I on the fan lah, circulation mah. else my house can get hot like oven.

I also be getting vouchers from Bengawan Solo and sending them by post to those people. Have u check what is their denominations like?

Hi Verniz
Not easy handling 2 kids by yourself. I have got a maid and still can get pretty furstrated liao when 2 wants my attention at the same time. Can understand your stress...My hb also dun help out...sleeps till when he like, he works late too. So I also have to handle both kids for night time.

Have u considered getting a part time maid? Those that comes in to help re household chores weekly? It will help to lessen your burden. I think for now, can leave the house untidy lah, what to do? If your hb complains, ask him to do lor. That's what I used to say. Some men have it easy...expect us to be superwoman lor.

As for #1, I also feel that she is neglected. But no choice, I make up by having personal time with her when baby is asleep... Partly cos of her I also didnt want to continue BF, cos I feel that pumping takes a lot of time away.

Come in and share your woes with us, makes u feel better.

Hi pris
Wow, your MIL very typical leh.... Hmm... have you talk to your hb properly about it... Cos it is impt that the caregiver can share same views on taking care of baby with the parents....

Hi sharon
Wow, didnt know 6-in-1 so expensive... Do you know if we have to wait long at Polyclinics for jabs?

fennie,
prima deli dun have meh? i rememeber my colick received prima deli voucher wor.. i jus checked wif her.. she said yes..

hi linda,
just talked to the sweetest moments sales rep hehe
in fact, decided to take up w them, like u say, convenient c/w ribbon.

may i ask which package u order?

they exactly allow to mix n match also.

roooller,
wah ur filo maid so cheap? mine is indo and no off day.. $320 leh.. but i am lucky.. she really help me alot.. she can cook.. can take care of bb.. understand english.. can do hsewrk..

wat is the minimium order for the sweetest moment ar?

babycupid
mine also indo maid same salary as yours 320 no off day.....can do all hsework, cook and automatic too no need to ask and tell what to do.

danryan,
oh.. gd gd hor.. really glad i chose her.. so worried b4 she comes.. kept tinking whether she can do this n do tat.. kekeke.. nw at least not so worry liao..

babycupid,

ya she's ex-sgp, this is her 3rd x in sgp.

now filo n indo no diff
so rather take filo

communication no prob at all.

sat just came, so far automatic lor
loan $1700

roooller,
oh.. my indo maid supposed to be 2000+ but cos she is transferred maid.. work 6mths here.. so we paid 1k+ only..

she requested 5 times to trfs out frm her ex emplouyer.. her ex employer bery bad.. got 14 ppl under 1 roof.. den ask her go malacca n clean hse.. cook.. go sabah clean hse cook.. running here n there wif them.. she told the agent.. agent told her its illegal.. if she kanna caught.. will ban frm sg.. so she request to be out.. den nw she here.. like so free nothing let her do.. she will kept finding things to do.. kekeke..

priscilla,
will try ru yi oil, thks

babycupid,
i checked their website, only see that they have the gift packs for full month, and order online, never see any voucher, maybe have to go to their shops

BabyCupid,
oh dear.
once i start work, she has to go IL's pl in the daytime.
now home alone w her, askg her to wash my MBR toilet :p
getting ready for bb shower this sun

roooller,
icic.. mine too.. she will go my IL plc on wkdays.. fri nite follow me back..
now oso home alone with her.. she cook confinement food for me oso..
soon asking her to pack the hse abit more.. cos sat n sun having bb shower too.. kekeke..

Linda,
For Jabs is different room. Jab room not crowded. Not sure do we need to go into consultant room first. If yes, then will be quite long. Last week I went there for jaundice checkup + 1st dose. My bb was 1mth old already. When reach there right, there are more babies younger then my girl. So got to wait long long lor.

Polyclinic number is 63553000. Can call this number to make appointment for the polyclinic near ur home.

roooller,
bb oso follow me back lor.. of cos!! haha..

sharon,
so u took ur bb for hep b in poly? hw issit? hw much? done by the nurse?

roooller,
ya.. bb and maid stay with IL on wkdays.. fri nite i will bring them back.. kekeke..

ar.. so u only brign maid back n no bb? or both bring back everydya?

babycupid,
wow
ur #1 or #2 bb?

this is my #2, but i will miss him leh

i want bb, dun want to bring maid back
weekday nothing much, n since i'm gotta bf

roooller,
wahahahhaa.. my #1.. i oso will miss him.. but too young to shuttle him to n fro.. not gd for the bb.. so will wait when he is older.. no choice lor.. haiz..

Linda, so wasted you stop pumping milk just because of your #1. Do you think your gal attention seeking? I find my boi very, trying to find out isit due to they born in that yr (2004) then extra attention seeking, you know lar, their year character very hyper active one lar...

I thinking of getting PT cleaner, dunno where to look for good one. I rem that time Zuen mentioned her PT cleaner auntie good, want to ask her but she seldom log in nowadays. I also scare later those agents get filipino or foreigners with no valid passes to do for us how? Maybe time being if house dirty, then get hb do first.

Someone was asking about Choz cakes rite? the cakes are nice, and also if for baby shower and you all getting Ang ku kwae and the glutinous rice, theirs are very tasty. I am getting from them.

babycupid,
miss ur enq abt the min. order for sweetest moments
nt sure, their price nett.
photo card is free, unlike other need to pay

think any orders free delivery but if 2 locations, the other one has to pay $15

Hi rooller
I took "The Popular Choice", I change 2 Mochi to Custard Puffs... but honestly, I think mochi nicer.
The presentation is quite good too.

Hi babycupid/rooller
Now indo & filo same? Wow... i heard tt filo maids are generally smarter & quicker in response. but tend to create trouble (cos smarter mah). my current indo maid contract expiring in Dec...
quite sad cos she is pretty good.

Hi danryan/ sharon
hmm... if no need wait long can consider polyclinic. else will be so ex leh. I remember my #1 was less than $100 but not 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 lah, every mth must go...

Hi verniz
hehe..wun say i gave up pumping solely for #1 lah, me also lazy & MS also reduce... I was just "quite glad" tt MS slowed by itself lor. haha...

My girl has been the centre of our attention since birth. She has NEVER been away from me, so i guess she is quite sticky lor. Now i still 'in-charge' of her daily affairs like toilet visits, bath, feeding etc. She wont sleep with others. Is that attention seeking? She can self entertain by watching TV. But occassionally wants to play.

Can try asking around in the forum... I read that there are some good recommendations. I used to have a filo maid who worked part time for me on Sundays. Illegal lah, but well... :p

Good that your hb can do. Mine doesnt lift a finger.

babycupid
minimum order is 10 boxes for sweetest moments.

Felicia,
Your case looks similar like mine esp during the 1st week. Its tough to judge as different bb really different pattern. Sometime she is latching for comfort and may not be drinking much from latch. By right 1st week bb should be taking 45ml - 60ml of milk. If give her 90ml straight I afraid might chunck her too much and vomit esp 1st week bb and best to intro slowly.

My #1 & #2 also totally different pattern. #1 alot easier to take care.. #2 most headache esp 1st week basically cant sleep for me and I do all myself cos HB need to work I do not wish to disturb him. Somehow I no choice will subsitute FM at night lo. If not I will give EBM to see how much she drink and judge the hours. Just remember sometime bb can sudden want to have milk even not her feeding time... So bo bian at times have to discard those leftover milk,

Maybe after 2-3weeks time will be easier... right now my #2 is drink 90ml every 3hrly or sometime 2hr30-45mins. I give her FM at the night and day time EBM & latching lo. Now MS also drying up for no reason so I will be stopping since she keep hunger and cry so poor thing. Anyway stepping 1mth liao and no doubt how I do the MS don come back I will just forget. JIA YOU ok!

<font color="blue">felicia,
my bb like urs initially..i realised if drink BM will geet hungry very fast..around 2 - 3 hrs hungry liao..now we change to let him feed on FM for the nite feeds @least can last longer..n i increased his milk to 90ml leh..sometimes he can finish..sometimes he cant..but @ least now can get @ least 3hrs of sleep between each nite feed.. if he drink too little i will try to coax n let him drink somemore..or wwait a while then let him drink again..my bb has very bad habit..likes to fall asleep in the middle of the feed.. dun understd y leh...

Linda, wow you in charge of your gal which is good. My boy is being taken care of by my MIL at her hse so he very sticky to her. But he comes home every weekday evenings but since now having #2, he has been very jealous. Like my gal wants to latch on when he is sleeping, he ordered me that mei mei cannot stay same room as him. Sometimes if he good mood, will tell me he loves mei mei, sometimes he noti and we scold him, he will say he hate meimei or dun want meimei. He thinks we scolding him becoz of the bb. I kept telling him we scold him due to his notiness, etc. Haiz, he is one big pampered kid by my in laws, so have to keep teaching.

My MIL also quite selfish. She thinks that with this additional baby, she can have my son stays with her everyday. I told her no, I need him to bond with the family, she still doesn't understand, the ways she do things and say remarks are like I am no better than her and her daughter. Keep pestering me to make passport for son so she can bring him go cruise (and if he goes, he will keep hearing them talking about gamblings, who win etc). That day still raised her voice at me 'telling' me why I havent make passport for him. I just push the bulk to hb la

Just want to update – I’ve delivered on 24 June. Emergency c-section due to deep transverse arrest…managed to labour without epidural and only with use of gas until 10 cm dilated. Pushed for over 2 hours, before c-section under GA.

Baby was born at 3.05kg. length 49 cm. head circumference was at 34 cm. I feel it's possible to birth naturally without epidural and feel quite sad I wasn't able to do so... due to sudden change in bb's position

cactus, dun be sad.. at least u make it without epidural till 10cm dilated.. tats bery gd liao..
how long to reach 10cm?