(2008/06) June 2008

wow.. consider quite fast.. i was only 2cm when labour ward.. after 4hrs only 3.5cm.. another 3 hrs only 4cm.. so ended up epidural liao.. after epidural 3.5hrs i 9cm liao..

<font color="aa00aa">cynthia/bizznow, my # 1 was not like tat, tats why i was caught by surprised with this #2 behaviour. My girl oso tends to fall sleep when drinking her milk. Tats why sometime she only drank 30-40ml and fall asleep. In the end one hour later, she cry for milk again.

Just now, i try to feed her by keep waking her up and finally managed to feed 70ml EBM. But i need 35-40mins just to get her finished tat 70ml!
Today i havent let her latch on yet, just so tat i can keep track of her milk volume. Hopefully my BM wont reduce just coz i din let her latch on. Really so 'ma fan' with all this BF thingy.

Cactus, finally saw ur post. Dont be sad ok? U had make it w/o epidural till 10cm leh! U r very great oredy!
But i dont understand wat is deep transverse arrest? If got free time, can explain? Take good care,ok!</font>

I want to know the hospital bill for MAH, natural w epi (assisted), single-bedded.

My bill came up to $5.1K. After deducting medisave, I got to pay about 2.6K cash.

Am I being over-charged?

jessica,
hmm depends on ur gynae fee oso leh.. and the hrs of labour..
for mine 13hrs in labour ward, with epi and assisted.. 2 bedded.. wif my bb bill.. total is 4ks.. medisave claim is 2ks.. we paid 2k cash..

i got my hubby to get the RIDWIND in guardian.. he said is like the gripe water.. jus try see whether it helps..

Cactus : congrats ! Dont beat yourself over it my dear, you did well to do w/o epi and other drugs !! Like u said, it was due to baby's change in position, so inevitable.
Try for natural for the next one ok ? *hugs* and rest well now !!

Jessica : dpends on your doc fee too.
Mine was natural (single bed - but they ran out of single bed and i was in a 2 bedder for one night, before upgrading to a deluxe + stayed one more night for baby's phototheraphy)
abt 3K for hospital fees (which includes the Maternity package + extra stay + other chargable items)
Your bill sld be pretty well itemized - showing a breakdown of the charges.

Hi Ladies!

New to this thread. Though I would be mother of July Baby but baby boy has his own time table, so he arrived on 20th June, at Mt A, instead of 9th July (3 weeks earlier). Me now on TBF (Also Express it out too).

My bill (2 bedded + C-section + Epi + Baby bill) about 5K plus. Paid cash 3K plus.

felicia,
have u started using the pump? how u find it so far? i find BF very stressful actually esp when my supply is not alot.

feifei,
at least u are perservering. I am intending to stop after bb's 1st mth unless i find my supply suddenly become a lot, hehe.

Cactus,
Well-done girl, u managed without epi! Dun be too disappointed abt not delivering naturally, it was something out of ur control, as long as bb is healthy.

My MIL &amp; mom also asked me the same question about BF my elder child. I proved to them that I could bf my gal. In fact I gave BM (After returned to work, expressed milk more than direct latch on) till my gal was almost 1. Used my mom's extra fridge to store BM even.

Now with the advice of my Confinement lady, I do direct feed and express milk, want my boy to get used to bottle-feed once I go back to work. Also I can rest at nite.

When older folks ask about TBF, just tell them "No problem one, if really not enough then will give FM. Won't starve baby one". Give them an answer and will stop them from asking. Lightly brush the question aside, no need to feel frustrated. Once you are under stress, supply will be affected. Take it easy. Enjoy motherhood.

Felicia,

My bb take 90ml FM from day 1, but it is the recommended amt from TMC according to his weight.

Wat u describe is wat i encounter before. Dun be fool by yr bb lor.. when bb cry can be a lot of reasons, may not be she is hungry. opening mouth n searching for breast also does not mean hungry too. By feeding her again n again, u may be making her too full and indigested leading to stomachache n more uncomfortable, thus she is more cranky. Sometimes opening mouth big big can also mean she want to vomit out wind/or feel too full.

Wat we do is we give bb pacifier to suck cos we found tat he like to suck for comfort.. then if pacifier really cannot satisfy means he is really hungry.

The fact tat yr bb stop sucking or pushing away yr breast after feed means she is full ored (or she dun want to drink).

I make the mistake of feeding my bb too much like u.. end up bb gain too much weight.

cactus,

grats on yr bb.. dun tink so much abt yr labour. most impt is u deliver yr bb.
why need to go for c-sect when u ored pushing well? so u do epidural c-sect?

mommies with 2nd child, my #1 oso easier to take care and i TBF her till 6 months old and direct latching. i stopped after 6 months to try for #2. this #2 very nottie and problematic....1st month i managed to TBF him then as he started votmitting more and more milk, so i mix wif FM but he still votmit. so now he is on soy milk and no votmitting liao. however he still cranky in the nite and today went PD and his urine test result came back and he got a bit of infection...not serious as PD said it is only slight urinary tract infection and gave antibiotics and she said it shld help him to be less cranky. my mom said if #1 easy to take care, then #2 will be harder to take care which is true in my case...dunno if it is the same for u all as well?

babycupid, the jab done by nurse n cost $15 only. for other jab listed in bb health book understand frm nurse that is subsidize. got to reconfirm during next appointment

thanks sharon

i didn't know polyclinics have 6 in 1...i remember asking at pasir ris but think they only have 5 in 1

will recheck with them again. thanks

haiz.. trying to put my bb to slp frm 1030pm after feed till now.. at last! eyes open big big.. haiz.. goin to grab my slp nw b4 he wakie for feed again..!

Nick: samsoon
Pop Date-9June EDD-13June NUH 3.58kg 51cm Natural w/o epi Minnie

My bb is 22 day old, she is drinking EBM 120ml every 2.5hrs.. Is she taking too much??

Recently, she has been getting crankly often. Realise its due to the stomach wind. Very often after farting or poo poo will be alrite. Sometime if she cried too long from the pain, i will feed with gripe water which help most of the time.

I was told polyclinic only have the 6in1 in oral form.

Jessica

They will mail u a itemized bill in a week time.
Mine was in total 2.5k at NUH. CPF-$1.8k++ Cash-$600++
Prof charge was 1.1k, 4bedded $180/nite, bb $120/nite plus other misc..
Time in delivery suite 3 hrs. Spend two nite in 4bedded. Actually can discharge aft 1 nite but bb havent got the 1st urine so an additional nite stay.

Sorry to intrude.
I'm from the May 2008 thread. I have a Medela Swing pump that was used twice to let go. I'll be selling it together with Medela microwave sterilize bags @ $150. Collection at Woodlands MRT.

samsoon
you can try to use ru yi oil on baby tummy each time you change baby diaper... and buy tummy binder for baby...

it works for mi... My doc told mi that baby not yet 1 mth not advisable to drink gripe water leh...

pris,
u mention b4 can get the tummy binder at kiddy palace is it?
mean to expel wind or bb wont get frightened easily?

wat's the brand n how much?

felicia, mine is oso 5k+ for GA c-section single bedded (free upgrade to deluxe), after medisave we top up another 2k cash n + deposit is around 3.5k

roooller
The tummy binder i bought is tollyjoy...
I bought at 3.50 each... it at a pharmacy at East Shore Hospital when i bring baby for jaundice test

I didn't buy from kiddy palace... but when i go shopping i saw tummy binder.... Can go check out the price...

Maybe you can ask the staff at kiddy palace...

Jessica,
I had normal delivery with epidural 2 days stay and stayed in the family suite in MAH, per room per nite is $680, allowed my hb n son to stay over , with all meals, my total hospital bill comes up to $4846.81,after 10% less with the Family Card(as this is my #2 child in MAH) and deducting medisave of abt $1350+$450, hb paid cash of $1400(deposit upon admission) + $1126.81(balance payment when discharged), so cash payment was $2526.81 which also includes my gynae's delivery fees and also my bb's Paediatrician fees.

If not wrong, single bed room is $310 per room per night. Epidural/Gynae/Paediatrician charges also varies

Jessica,
I had normal delivery with 2 nite stay at Mt A double room, total bill for bb and myself is 1370.99 (before 10% less with the Family Card). The double bed room is $260 per nite. The Gynae and PD charges total to $1044.32. Total Charges was $2415.31. Minus medisave claim of $1800. Cash payment is around $500.

The charges varies for the delivery type and doctor's fee(gynae/PD/anaethestist) and usage of epidural. For gynae fee, also varies between different delivery type.

For Mt A single room:
normal delivery with epidural comes to $2153.91 assisted delivery with epidural amt to $2244.86.

For second time mum,
I also find that #1 easier than #2 in terms of feeding habits. I am TBF, and #2 baby shows all pattern, from sleeping while nursing, and wake up 15 minutes later(mostly around 1am to 3am.) Added in #1 asking for attention in the evening. Sigh... When will they grow up...

any1 know how i can put up my rarely used Ameda Dual Electric Breast Pump for sale on the forum?currently using Avent Manual Pump and very comfortable using it, thats why like to sell the rarely used Ameda away.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi gers,
Good morning…have MIA for a while cos quite busy wif bb as well as starting on my new job.

Tot oni my bb having problems wif plegem, not sleeping @ nite &amp; vomiting out her milk, now I read tat u gers are ‘fighting’ these issues too, at least I not so scare…was thinking something wrong wif my bb liao cos she seem to cry more often than laf. Her PD said although by calendar date, she is 6wks old but by chorogical age, she is considered oni 4wks oni cos she is a borderline preemie, hence I ve to be prepared tat some of her development may be slower &amp; benchmark to tat of a 4wks old bb…hear oreadi so ke sim…

Felicia,
CONGRATS!
I bring my lil one to the PD @ 400+ - Ooi BB &amp; Child Clinic. Her PD is Foo Ai Leng. She jus had her 6-in-1 (ard $500) &amp; Rotrovix ($190 for 2 doses) for a total of $680+. </font>

<font color="3FC4E5"><font face="Comic Sans MS">congrat to Cactus... get well soon.. so long as BB and mother are safe.. way of delivery doesnt really matter.. u r great as u can endure the pain without epi.. ;p

Crystal.. my boi oso hv phlegm n sometimes like hard to breath.. doc give him some liquid to put into nose n he seems to get a bit better liao

</font></font>

any1 know how i can put up my rarely used Ameda Dual Electric Breast Pump for sale on the forum?currently using Avent Manual Pump and very comfortable using it, thats why like to sell the rarely used Ameda away.

Hi cactus,
Congrats, hope you get well soon - good u managed without epidural. Keep it up with the bf

Fennie,
Do you need help to post in the For Sale forum as member less than 1 year cannot post there. You can pm me with ur email if you need help, I can help to post on ur behalf.

hi cactus,
congrats! nice to hear from u... wat an ordeal for u... but i'm glad to know babt matthew is born healthy and safe... dats more impt than anything else isnt it?
u take care and update us whenever u can. so is bb able to latch now?

crystal...
dun be disheartened by wat ur doc said. rembr that these are oni milestones... and ultimately u can be sure ur bb will be able to achieve all the diff milestones... dun wori so much...
sometimes even fullterm and normal babies reach certain milestones later than others.

nss...
its never easy to deal with 2 kids at one time. my #1 is oso rather attention seeking now. but thankfully, my hb spends alot of time with him now so alot of the daily things he actuali goes to my hub. in fact, he is now much closer to daddy which i am glad cos father-son bonding is there.

aiyo! my bb hand n legs suddenly appear red dots. is it because dirty? she's now 1mth+ is it okay to let her wear long shirt n short at this kind of weather? direct fan her ok? anyone knows?

<font color="aa00aa">Cactus,
CONGRATS to u, salute u tat u can tahan to 10cm w/o epi. like wat the other gers said, dun be down wif yur mode of delivery. so long bb is ok, then alrite oreadi, yeah. when u ve some time, then post yur boi boi photo here to show us lar...

ioio,
wat liquid did yur PD give u? can give me the name &amp; i chk wif my PD for it?

Veniz,
how come yur hb like tat one? u can take it? for me, i sure blow up long time back liao. any chance can tok to yur hb to make him understand tat u can be a superwoman now, esp yur bb jus NB &amp; u need rest, not to teach sch work to yur elder boy now. even now when my bb wun sleep at nite, i make sure hb wakes up to take care of bb too, it is a shared responsibility.

soya,
i know they r oni milestones but when i think of it or when i look at my ger, i somehow or other will sub consciously look out for her "coos", "smiles", "huuuu", etc n when she dun but jus keep crying or act cranky, i feel very down n disappt. now tat i m wking, n bb is taken care of FT by MIL &amp; FIL, i worried tat bb may not recognise me n hb in days to come. so i make it a pt to spend a lil time wif her every am &amp; rush hm immediately after wk. dunno if wat i do is enf. </font>

crystal...
hehe... ultimately u r the mummy... and baby knows that... u r already making effort to spend more time wif her...

sharon,

bb wear either a top, short-sleeve or long-sleeve n diapers w aircon on the whole day

i cover him w blanket n he will kick away

my bb got 'pimples' in his face though. nt sure is it my breast dirty is it

<font color="aa00aa">just finished my pump sessions. hehe...

Tera, this is my 2nd day using the pump. I think i'm not use to the button and speed to use. But so far i had no problem in using it but just tat i had no time to research if i'm using it correctly. Btw, asked u a silly question, when we pump, is the pump was supposed to stick to our breast or we still need to hold to the bottle? Very tiring holding it leh.

ellysia, yest nite we intro pacifier to my ger, she sucked few times and push out and cried. I think i overfed her loh. Now on mix FM with BM, coz she keep cried for milk. Yesterday nite at 10pm plus feed , she request milk about an hr later, so we try to delay, but she cried, so we give in, but an hour later she request again. We really had no choice and give her milk, only then she fall sleep which by tat time is 1am plus liao. Then she manage to sleep thru 3 hrs before cried for milk again.
I can only hope tonite will be better.

ioio, you got the wrong person,i'm not the one asking about the hosp charges leh.

Crystal, thanks for the info on the charges.

cactus, now understand ur situation. Sometime things is beyond our ctrl, just be grateful as long as our baby is safe and healthy. And is good enuf tat you know urself, u had try ur best.</font>