Support group - Miscarriages

min81,

I agreed with avocado. Should find out what he is allergy to, rather avoid altogether. As TCM is consider a more natural way compare to western.

avocado,

Zhong Hua I went to is at Toa Payoh. But they have branches around. My hb see the 不孕组. They gave him 生精丸 & 益精丸. Effects very good. Here is the link: http://www.chunghwamedicalinstitution.com/
Do check on the doctor's time. Cos certain days of the week 不孕组 is not open.

Hi avocado and princessleopard,

I guess to be safe, i would like hubby to stop tcm.. He's not on meds and just taking supplements.. Should be ok.. The last SA we did, doc said sperm quantity was good enough and quality not bad.. Actually, only 3 yrs ago my hubby discovered that he has a congenital defect in his heart.. Only has 2 valves instead of 3.. He's supposed to be on medication so that the 2 valves do not overwork.. In the beginning, i didn't know he stopped the medication for our ttc.. I was a little upset when i found out later on when i noticed why the medication in the fridge did notseem to be touched for some time.. He's already doing so much.. In fact, he was the one who did the reading up on supplements and started taking folic acid himself.. I can't help being a little worried sometimes.. So think better not to take tcm for him.. I know it was so bitter for him also.. Haha..

sandra,

I think american ginseng belongs to liang type. Cos every week my granny cook bird nest for me and hb. Hb's with american ginseng, mine is red ginseng. Cannot anyhow drink leh, I cant drink my hb's and vice versa.

Princessleopard,

My hubby's the kind who'll put in effort when things need to be done.. So i don't stress him also.. When i had the miscarriage, he felt it's his fault cos he said must be his sperm not good enough.. Felt so bad when i heard that.. Now we don't dwell on it and just do what we can..

Ya i think we have to be careful with ginseng cos many types, need to check with tcm.. My mum gave me a bottle of korean ginseng wine after my confinement, supposed to be very 'bu'.. But i haven't taken it yet cos i'm not sure about it..

Avocado,
Thanks for sharing.
Now we already start TTC n taking clomid. What if I strike the bell n duno abt it. Might just follow the Internet to try avoid any harm. *^^*

Min81,
Ur hubby really so sweet!
Realize aft MC, normally our hubby will focus more on us n their own health. Of cos they needs some encourage from us too. *^^*

My hubby is the opposite.
First two weeks after seeing tcm, yes, he indeed start to eat healthy but after that all back to square one, eat junk again... when i try to reason out with him, he say miscarriage is my fault, not his. Now practically, i m forcing folic acid and omega fish oil down his throat everyday... i really dunno what to do with him except to force him eat this and that

Jhw,
Talk to Dr Su abt it, she will talk to him instead. Dr Su alway say, MC is not due to one party. It might be his unhealthy sperm that causes it. Can't push the blame onto u. If my hubby say that to me, I will break down. Big big hug.

Sometime guys dun listen to our words, outsider works better.
Whenever i try to ask him stop drinking cold water, he will argue with me. Only recently Dr Su scolded him, now he using thermal cup to drink his water. Actually I wouldn't stop my hubby from eating junk food, as long dun consume too much. In fact, exercise to reduce weight is the key.

TQT , I trial sending pm to u, I think go thu but in case u c if got recd. I oso dono if there is a diff w receiving.

Jhw, it seems the ladies hv gd recommendations for health products, just to share me n hb taking Nutrilite supplemts from Amway (USA).

Min81, thks for the encouragmt, went c doc n lucky only mild UTI , now taking antibiotics. U r rite to save time try out the natural way first while pending for the cysts to go off. Wish u success in your coming ivf.

Princess, ic.. Thks for sharing too. Will take note. U take care too just saw that u r workg n studyg at the same time.... My mil came visit me yesterday n ask me go for TCM after the confinemt...

Sandra,

Thanks! I will.

Ya, its good to go for tcm after confinement. Tiao your body back and can start ttc again. Take care!!

min81,
agree wf the rest.Ur hb is so sweet & considerate.My hb is oppsosite,boiled the herbs still hv to call him many times to drink.

I tink it took him 4yrs plus to realise & admit that he is part of team,to produce healthy baby.

Celestine,JHW,
yes,outsider will convince our hbs.Somehow,they take our advices as "nagging"....right ear in,left ear out.To make it worse,my hb only listens to what he "choose" to listen. We visited different gynaes,some said men sperms play a part,a few said no.My hb chose to listen to the gynae who said no & decided not to go for sperm test or do anything abt it.

At times,i feel very upset coz he refuses to cooperate.Thus,i oso don't feel like having no.2

HI Ladies,
if wanna Vit E,buy the high-end one.I can tell u,it make a difference. I buy Vit E & Borage oil fr iherbs. While EPO,i take kordel.

After did some researches,Borage oil works beta EPO.I've been taking Borage oil & EPO alternatively.My skin condition improve significantly. Unfortunately,skin good but "qi" no good.Everyone says i look pale....sigh....eat no good,sleep no good,what to do?

i did some studies,to hv healthy pregnancy, qi play impt part.To hv good qi,muz hv good kidney/spleen/liver.

Emotional health is impt too.I hv thyroid bcoz i always trouble by my MIL. She constantly pesters my hb.When i preggie(ended up m/c 4times) most due to my MIL.She always asks my hb to run errands & my hb is a YES man.Imagine i've to cope my pregnancy while coping wf all these worries.

When i told my hb my concerns,guess what he says?He said,"next u preggie,we beta leave the singapore" or "i can't do anything unless my parents die"....From here,u can see he is so weak.He always being manipulated by his parents.

avocado,

I agreed. After seeing Dr Su, she told me about this qi thingy. Its really essential to make conception works. I took one week of her medicine, I can feel more energetic than before, and she took my pulse and said my body response well to her medicine, qi improve. But need to continue the medicine till my qi reach the ideal level.

Ya thanks gals!!!
Sometimes i feel upset when i m the only one trying too hard... Dr su also told my hb that his body is very good genetically but he ruin it... and same lor...he only choose to listen and remember the good part selectively... he say yeah dr su say his body good ..but ignored the second part abt him ruining it.
I was happy when dr su say my qi is good now , can ttc le but my hubby like that...

jhw,

So happy that u r start ttc. Sometimes guys are like that. They need external forces. Yesterday I just randomly tell my hb that some ladies' hb were told off by Dr Su cos they drink a lot of cold drinks and eat junk foods. So, its time for him to watch his diet. He said Dr Su din tell him that, that means he is OK and just sit on it. So, my next visit to Dr Su, I am going to ask if hb need a change of diet specifically to let him listen to her. I used my gynae to make my hb quit smoking too. Sometimes really feel so useless, cos as a wife, hb dun listen to us. haha. But its ok, we will work around it and still accomplished it.

Avocado,
We have the same hubby. He a totally mummy boy.
While I'm pregnant, my mil been stressing us up almost everyday. When I needs go back home n rest bcos my foot is swollen due to long day out with the inlaws, he totally ignore me. Cos my mil wanted us to fetch her home aft she have enough mingle with her relatives. But aft the MC, he then realize that what shd come first. That is his partner, as we are the only one that able live with them til dead.

Are u staying with ur in-laws? Hope u not.

Jhw n princess
Guys only open their ears for good words.
It actually works when a outsider starts scolding them.
What I did was, showing them what the possible might happen, if they continue behaving the same. I told my hubby, even now if we have a healthy baby. Without a good health, he wouldn't be able to watch he/she grows up. Most imp, added the words is from Dr Su (which is true). Ask him, does he wish to allow his body to break down n be a burden to everyone? It might be harsh but it works for me. Maybe go for exercise together with them n encourage them. Jiayou!!

Hi Celestine,
nope,not staying wf inlaw.Do u?

But her constant calls oredi drive us nuts!My MIL is the type who likes to do things as & when she likes without considering others' inconvenience.Sickening!And my mummy's boy hb always feels obliged to fulfill her needs.
Unfortunately,my hb still doesn't know how to prioritize after my 4 times m/cs.Thus I am very reluctant to try. I even proposed to him to donate his sperm,then he gets out of the hse & i stay wf my mum throughout my own pregnancy(i mean if successful).Coz i hate to entertain his family politics.

There is this saying:If the elderly ppl "zhou ren",young ppl will suffer. My MIL likes to say thing that make my hb feels guilty that he has to eventually do it for her,if not he'll be labeled as "unfilial".

She calls in AM/PM/night.Call until we've no time to make love!

Yes,exactly! I told my hb tat he has to continue to take care his health even we r not ttc.We're now parents & we've to make sure we're healthy so we could take care our son.I always tell him to live for "himself",not for his parents.At the end,i don't wanna him to overtired himself just to fulfill his mum's endless attentions!get what i mean?

Hi Princessleopard,
I tink other than taking TCM, regular exercise is impt. I realise the more i feel tired,the more i shld exercise.I was on 6yrs of regular aerobics b4 i had my boy.And I was hardly fell sick when i went aerobics.
Exercise improves Qi also.

avocado,

I do exercise, I alternate swimming and cycling on stationary bike. No rest day for me. Cos my hb loved to eat, esp good food, so I need to exercise so that I do not put on any weight. But Dr Su recommend me to add in brisk walking. She want me to go under the sun more.

Avocado,
Lucky u not staying with ur in-laws. Is ur hubby the only child?
I use to stay with my PIL n whole Sil families in a 5 room flat. Whenever we at home, day n night they will expect me to take care of Sil's child. When we need a good rest on weekend, Sil's son will bang onto our bedroom door. We ignore n yet they got guts to say we bully their child. Until I BTH, we shift out the house.

Totally understand how u feel. I have such a mummy's boy n drama Mil.
Try not to argue with ur hubby. The more we stop them, the more our hubby will stuck in between. Now my hubby try not to talk on phone with mil while I'm ard. They will only talk during office hrs. Hehe! Still she will call him almost everyday but I will walk out the room n try not listen it. What the point of making us mad right. It wouldn't helps or good for our mind n health. After my MC til now I wouldn't care to visit my mil. Now we shd live for ourselves n not live under their thought etc.

Princess,
Exercise is good for us. Help our Qi n blood circulation as well.
However pls don't jog or run now, as it might harm our womb. Brisk walking is the best of all exercise, as it only mild n really can sweat out alot. I have stop brisk walk for a while, shd start my engine soon. *^^*

Dr su ever say that no yoga and jogging during ttc, just brisk walking will do...

Min81
Thanks for sharing..
Can u advise if your kordel bio liquid multi vits contains zinc and selenium?

Jhw,

There's 500mcg of zinc in it.. I just realised there's also 500mcg of folic acid too.. My hubby also takes my 5mg tab folic acid.. Hope he's not overdosing..

Celestine,
my hb is the youngest,he still has a elder brother.Ur hb is the only son?

We r reali in the same boats.When we first got married,we stayed wf inlaws home alternative days despite we've our own home.Reason was my MIL miss my hb so I've no choice but to let him stay there for some days.His SIL's son also always banged into our room & disturbed us.Moreover,my hb also nid to fetch his stupid nephew fr school during our wedding preparation.

I tink it is depending on individual,coz my mum doesn't behave like my MIL,despite she stays wf them.My mum is fiercely independent & doesn't bother their affairs.She nvr question my bro+SIL wherebabouts.

Ya lor,try not to argue wf hb bcoz of one crazy woman.

YES YES! my hb also tries not to talk to MIL when i am ard.But i noe my HB set his hp to Silent mode & answer her call secretly.My MIL calls extremely often & she likes to call when we r busy or just abt to sleep.Now I set a rule that she cannot call at night.My hb n me used to quarrel a lot coz of her frequent callings.

To my MIL,she calls bcoz she "cares".So she keeps telling my mum tat ur wife stops me fr. "caring" u right?

JHW & min81,
my frd gynae recommended her hb to take Mega Men multivitamin fr. GNC.

Zinc & selenium work beta if tak in natural form than synthetic.

Hi Princessleopard,
TCM will always encourage us to sun more.I ever read an article fr. "i" magazine,we shld try to avoid stay indoor & aircon pl too much coz it will cause "dampness" in our body,if the dampness too heavy in our body,we'll get weak & ill easily no matter how much "bu" we eat,

To know if ur body has too much dampness.here r the symptoms:
1) tiredness
2)coldness in hand+leg
3)skin disorder
4)gastrotestine related pro

Sg weather is hot,most ppl like to stay in aircon & drink cold water.Besides,if u don't exercise much,anyhow eat,stress & not sleeping enuff.ur body will go haywire,cause gastric & immunity lower.

Sweating will help to get rid of dampness in body,help to regulate our blood+qi.

Avocado,
Wah! Ur mil is photocopy like mine. They could be sisters. Lol
Try not to argue with ur hubby. Believe he also stuck between both of u too. They wanted to be a fillial son but they duno how to draw a line n how to say No. We can't change them lor. It their way of bringing since child, so we have no choice. Only can hope they wouldn't allow that to affect our marriage. Focus on ur son, that way u wouldn't care much abt him anymore. *^^*

Thanks Avocado for sharing your advice !!!
I am trying to eat alot of sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds now for zinc and selenium intake haha....

Thanks Min81, for sharing me the knowledge about the multivitamins..... i think your hubby is not overdosing.
i read before, Folic acid recommended daily allowance is Up to 1000 mcg..... and Any Excess folic acid, will be flush out of our body system, so it will not harm your body.

avocado,

My only time to sun is only weekend. And I am been doing so for all these years. Sat I went for morning swim, Sun morning I went cycling in East Coast. How to get more of it? Weekdays after work, I can only go for night swim, if lazy then I just step on my stationary bike to cycle.

I stay north.

princess

the only time i took multi vit is the Principle Brand.... took for two days , fell sick liao.
and found that it is vit A overdosed.... so from that time until now, never take Multivits liao
hahahha

jhw,

Thanks for the link. At least have a guideline. Do u know what does the unit ug stands for? I only seen mg & mcg. Dunno what is ug.

Girls.. i saw a very meaningful poem online.. juz wanna share it here..

What Makes A Mother
I thought of you and closed my eyes
And prayed to God today
I asked, " What makes a Mother?"
And I know I heard him say
A Mother has a baby
This we know is true
But, God, can you be a mother
When your baby's not with you?
Yes, you can he replied
With confidence in his voice
I give many woman babies
When they leave it is not their choice
Some I send for a lifetime
And others for the day
And some I send to feel your womb
But there's no need to stay.

I just don't understand this God
I want baby here

He took a breath
and cleared his throat
And then I saw a tear
I wish I could show you
What your child is doing Here

If you could see your child smile
With other children and say
"We go to earth to learn our lessons
of love and life and fear,
but My Mommy loved me so much
I got to come straight here!"
I feel so lucky to have a Mom who
had so much love for me
I learned my lessons very quickly
My Mommy set me free.
I miss my Mommy oh so much
But I visit her each day
When she goes to sleep
On her pillow is where I lay
I stroke her hair and kiss her cheek
And whisper in her ear
"Mommy, Please don't be sad today
I'm your baby and I am here"

So you see my dear sweet one
Your children are okay
Your babies are here in My home
And this is where they'll stay
They'll wait for you with Me
Unitl your lessons there are through
And on the day that you come home
they'll be at the gates waiting for you

So now you see
What makes a Mother
It's the feeling in your heart
It's the love you had so much of
Right from the very start

Princess,
i found this from the internet...
How many micrograms (µg, ug or mcg) in a milligram (mg)?
1000 micrograms = 1 milligram, and 1000 milligrams = 1 gram.

Princess n celest,
Dr su say evening primrose oil can be taken daily, irregardless of menses or ovulation....

Min81,
Dr su say u can continue to take ba zhen even if u have ovarian cysts. And there is no such thing as having cysts cannot take dang gui...

As for dom, please continue to drink even when u are ttc , only when u realise that u miss your menses or hear that u are preggy from your gynae then u totally stop. Even if u drink for first two weeks of pregnancy without knowing u are preggy, it does not harm u.

Haha somthing to clarify... that time i told u dr su say cannot do yoga n jogging... its actually during menses, not during ttc. As long as having menses, cannot do such exercises .... ttc still can do yoga and light jogging
sorry that i hear wrongly.

Jhw,

Thank you so much for clarifying all these stuff with your tcm
Okie then i can take ba zhen tmr.. Yesterday took dom for 2nd time.. A little better, but still can't help and cough after 3rd or 4th sip.. Haha..

Yup last time also read before women should not do yoga during menses..

Avocado,

Wah so perspiring is good.. Good thing i perspired a lot in my job.. Cos no air con
Most of my make up is gone in just about 2 hrs at work.. Some of my colleagues still have impeccable make up after half a day.. I was always amazed how some people don't seem to perspire easily.. I sweat buckets.. Not that i enjoy it though.. Haha..

Princessangel
its a touching poems, i actually teared when.i read the baby stroking the mother hair part... thanks for sharing and letting me know my bb love me too..

Min81
Drink very very slowly.. hehe i also not used to it... but soon we will get used to the taste
jiayou!!

Jhw,
Thanks for checking with Dr Su. *^^*
Oh... Regarding the DOM. I wouldn't drink it alone, alway I will mix with some warm water. At least it not that strong n easier to swallow.

Angel, thks for sharing this comforting poem, like Jhw, I teared too...

Jhw, thks for the updates from Dr Su, I m oso taking DOM too, I wonder if one only discover preg like in wk 5 or 6 n still drinking DOM ok or not.

hi princess,
u r very active.I only go gym/swim twice per wk.If busy,once per wk:p but i walk a lot...coz i cook lunch/dinner almost everyday,I go to ntuc/cold storage/market almost everyday to buy ingredients.Gosh..not easy to be full time hsework...train my muscles & strength,to carry few bags of carrots/vege etc fr. market to car to home.....I appreciate my mum more even since i start to be FTHW.

For the multivitamin,i am taking Centrum & works well me.I tink u shouldn't worry abt the dosage enuff.Once, a GNC pharmacist told me that so long u take meals with right proportion of meats/vege/fish/fruits,don't hv to worry if the multivitamin enuff or not.Of coz,hv to see u've any medical condition,for e.g.if got anemia,hv to choose multivitamin with higher doses of iron.

So we always hear doctors say balanced diet+exercise+healthy mindset=healthy body.Supplement is impt but cannot depend solely on it.

JHW,min81,
I ever encountered similiar situation as yours.I took some high-end Multivitamin n ended up sore throat n sick....So now I stick to Centrum..

I did heard abt if got fibroid/cyst,shld avoid hormone stimulated herbs such as dang gui.My aunty who has breast cancer & frd got fibroid,their tcm physician advice them cannot eat "bu",esp.danggui...

MIn81,
I perspire a lot also.Mainly bcoz i've hyperthyroid.If my condition is undercontrol,i'll hv cool hands & feets,can't stay in aircon room for long time.

Princess,
too bad u stay at north,if not,we can be exercise kaki....i tink u've had enuff of exercises....u muz be very fit...

for me,i get tired easily(coz of thyroid),so can't exercise too long time....

i go to gym wf my son...he'll b on his fav stationery bike while i do up stepper...ya,to tone up my bum,haha...

Sandra,

Ya i had the same concern.. Cos normally when we know we're pregnant, it's already at 5 or 6 wks.. Earliest is probably 4 wks plus..

Sandra,
hmmm dr su briefly mentioned early pregnancy like first two weeks. So i guess if really five to six weeks liao, better dun drink already ... i think as soon as u realise u miss your menses or feel pregnant , stop dom immediately ...

Avacado,
Hmmmm, thats weird.
Because i ask dr su if dang gui cannot be eaten in cysts situation , she say 跟你朋友说没关系的, 继续吃。
Especially bazhen, she say ask min to take as usual.

Celest,
Today she ask me to add dom to her med, like wat princess is doing

Avocado,

I like the feeling to sweat it out. No choice, when hyperthyroid is still here, I dun put on weight at all no matter how much I eat. Since under control, I find that I put on weight easily. So got to exercise to maintain it.

Ya, too bad we stay so far apart. Exercise sometimes need kaki to movitate us. But doing housework is a good exercise too. Sometimes when AF is here, I dun go exercise, so just stay home do housework, still can sweat it out & work on those muscles..hehe

Princess & Celest.... & Gals,
Today she give me two weeks medicine, so Yeah! no need to go back for another two weeks !
because all along i misunderstood before TTC cannot do exercises, so i never do exercises for Very Very long liao.. now i am really very fat liao...
Even Dr Su feel my pulse and ask me have i not been exercising? Then i asked her, i thought you say cannot exercise during TTC? then she replied, No lar, i meant Menses lar...... thats how i clarify the whole thing.... haha
then my Hus started to complain say i very lazy..
anyway today is like a complaint session for me and my hus.... each of us have things to complain about each other to Dr Su...