Support group - Miscarriages

Congrats SY and Happy!!

Christine, your doc will def be happy with your results and enjoy your honeymoon and baby making trip.

I still have a long way to go..haha..:p

Yes, sticky bb dust to all!!

Happy: Congrats on ur AF! LOL yah me too first time so happy when my AF came. Quick heavy flow for me as well during yday nite time.

Christine: Enjoy ur honeymoon ya! Wish u will hav a sticky bb after ur bb making short trip hehe...

Ham: Don't worry, urs will be coming soon~

Thank you!!! My flow became lighter adter dnc leh....

I dont have to change my pad every few hours. I only need to change once a day.

Dont know if its good or not good.

hi ladies, im back to wrk today aft 2wk of mc at home.. abit tire n not use... yest was too stress to slp, as im worry of facing ppl question..

Christine, envy u gg to langkawi for holiday. tat is my fav plc for holiday, i been there 3 time n took my wedding pic there too. hope u will enjoy ur trip! hb suggested for a holiday too, hope can adjust my mood..

AF lesser? think is normal, i heard from my sinseh tat aft D&C will b lesser. cos during the process it scratch thing out n may hurt some of the inter wall of our womb. dont worry u will b fine dear. =)

Girls, anyone of u know which TCM at west area is good for "bu" health after d&c? Wanna get my body real strong before i ttc again few mths later

Christine, wah, enjoy ur HK trip. My HK trip is 3 weeks away, oso eagerly waiting.

Happy, remember to buy folic acid of sufficient dosage. My gynae recommended 5mg. Those vitamins shops carry a much lower dosage , so must check before u buy.
I bought mine from KKH pharmacy, much cheaper. About $1.60 for 30 pills.

Piggylover: yeah, i fell in love with that place. Thats why i felt that i can go there again. Very relax. Plus the food there mostly thai food. My hub and my fave food. So intend to go there.

Intend to stay sheraton. But still prefervwestin but abit too expensive. Hais.... I sheraton good?

Holidaygal: yup yup! Going there to pray. Going there to do some frens gathering.

Calling for Lings and Athen.

I just came back from the MC clinic in NUH and had my blood test result. Only Dr. Mahesh is around. Vasoo is not. Good news is no major chormosme abnormality detected for both my hubby and myself. However, Dr. Mahesh made a remarks on my NK cells and Proeten S activity reading. He mentioned about IVIG but He didn't advise me to go for IVIG which cost SGD 2000 per injection. He didn't advise this because my last MC is due to chromosome. Only if my next pregnancy also didn't work out and not due to chromosome then he will consider put me on IVIG. Athen, ling, i am not sure if you tested this. What is your reading?

Hey Christine, Thanks
Sorry one more question... shd i still drink DOM and eat royal jelly + my folic acid??? Wah i feel like i am overdosed seriously... hahah

Happy: its fine to take them. I ate my supplements in the morning and drink dom at night before bed.

I take 5 type of supplements every morning. I still take some other fibre drink for detox and weight loss. And cranberry juice for weight loss and dom at night.

I feel fine. So urs should be ok.

Hi bibi,
My NK cells & Protein S readings are ok. Chromosome also ok. Basically, there is no problem with me. What exactly is Dr Mahesh's comments. I'll only be seeing him in end of Mar. How was your waiting time yesterday?

Hi Athen,

My appointment is 410pm. And i am out by 5. so the waiting time is ok. Dr. Mahesh ask me to try TTC and no medication needed for now. Actually, if i read the report, both reading is within expeted ranges. I have 2 others reading which are outside expected ranges as stated in the report but Dr. Mahesh didn't mention it. Well, he is the doctor, i think i have to trust him. My next appointment with him is 3 months later. I also don't know see them for what...
Why you need to see him again in March?
When you see them , did they explain result with you in detail?

Hi bibi,

I'm supposed to repeat a series of blood tests in early Feb. Some conditions varies every 3 to 4 mths. But I was having a bad flu & was on medication then so I did not go for the blood test. I'll be going for the blood test maybe end of next week. My next visit is presumably to review the test results. Well, they did not explain the results in detail. Just said everything is normal. But Dr Mahesh did mention to Dr Vasoo that one of the result is in the higher end of the normal range. Not sure what he meant.

Which readings are outside normal range? I believe you are seeing him to see if you are preg in 3 mths time? Will you continue with him if you are preg?

Christine: hmm.. westin look real nice! u can compare the review from tripadvisor.

personally i like bon ton resort & rebak island resort.. those more open concept & natural stay there.. if hav chance will wanna try out! =)

Beowie: you should. To relax yourself and also to give your hub and yourself another honeymoon trip to start afresh.

My hub has been too stress at work. So, its good for him to relax. As for me, i am a little stressing on my workout. So, going for a short holiday to pamper myself.

Go for a summer holiday. Giv yourself a good sweat under the hot sun. Feel the sea breeze. Damn relax and shiok.

Athen,

I will PM you my result when home.

Christine,
I just back from Langkawi trip. Went there during CNY. I stayed in Andaman beach resort. Like it as very quiet, beach is beautiful and clear water. Only drawback is far from city and hotel food super expensive. Check on Tripadvisor Langkawi, there is lot of helpful comment there. Westin is Pelangi right?

Bibi: yup! I stayed in westin last month when i went there with my sis. Its very near to the city. So thinking if to stay in westin again but is extreme expensive. About $550 for two nights.

And their spa is good. But also expensive.
so, was wondering which to stay in. To go for another hotel or?

Was looking thru sheraton's seems ok. But dont know leh.. Haha...

Langkawi actually has got alot of resorts to choose from. So can browse thru,

I have been a silent reader of this thread since my first miscarriage in July 08...I said, first, cos i went through one blighted ovum incident in Nov 08 and another miscarriage in Mar 09...

This thread had provided me the encouragement I needed in my time of loss and I remember I felt uplifted whenever I hear succesful stories from others.

So I hope to do my part to encourage all of you who have been through similar frustrations and disappointments as I did, to look forward to what's ahead. I teared this evening as I held my new born baby girl in my arms and remember that though it has been an ardous journey, but we are finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.

At my age (nearing 40), I feel that it's really a blessing to be able to finally conceive, went through 40 weeks of pregnancy with very little difficulties and then landing with a healthy baby.

So baby dust to all of you! It will happen one day...

Cif: congrats! Hope you and your bb gal are doing fine now. Thank you so much for sharing your story with us. Im greatly encouraged! Cant wait for my time to conceive and hold my very own bb soon.

Take good care of yourself. Its really a blessing to have a little angel in your family now.

Cif, thank you for sharing ur motivating story with us! Congratulations to having a beautiful bb gal.
We are all looking forward to this sunshine day too....Cheers

Christine: Yes i am planning a holiday trip for June, guess it shud b summer time then

Cif: Congrats to you
Thanks for sharing with us.

My period came today... after 5wks++... mixed feelings about it. It's not heavy-ish.

Cif: Thks so much for sharing with us this beautiful story of urs! It is indeed a motivating story for us to have hope for a healthy baby in future!

Beowie: Congrats for ur af! At last it came. Although not heavy-ish but maybe cos it's the first af after d&c. Maybe the 2nd af will be better. Mine too was little bit heavy during the 2nd day of af but it was cleared up totally when it was only 3rd day!

Me too had planned to go for a trip in Apr. Hopefully after the trip, my mood will be better and body will be strong enough to TTC again

Hi Cif,Thanks for sharing.  Me too in my late 30s & the chance producing a healthy egg at this age is diminishing.  I'm at the verge of giving up.  So I'm really encouraged to read your story.  May I know which gynae are you seeing?

Hi Bibi..

Good to hear everything is fine!! =)It get hard to locate the thread at times..

My NK also higher side of normal.. The problem with NK cells is that durin changes in the body works like pregnancy etc they get "agitated" and goes really high hence the concern if we have score in the high side of normal.

They ask you to go back 3 months later see if you preg loh since now give green light.. If not preg they probably wondering if we need help like iui etc since we are like so earnest to get pregnant..LOL!

I am going to try this cycle. Only thing I was given was iron tablets and twice daily folic acid.

So Athen and bibi trying ald? ;)

Avocado and Tub .. what about you guys?

Beowie: thats great! Its normal ba. My af also not heavy ever since my dnc, not enough blood. Haha. Bu its fine. As long as you do have the flowing its a good sign.

Hi Ling,I'm not trying yet.  Still don't have enough courage to do it.  I really need time to digest Cif's successful story.I'm also on folic acid twice a day & 1 aspirin alternate day.I guess Avocado is busy with her P1 son.  Just got to know from a seminar on Mon that going to P1 is such a challenge as compared to our time.  Kids are so poor thing these days.

Cif: congratulations! indeed a heartening story for all of us here.

Beowie/SY/Christine: waited 7 weeks for my af, also light.

Athen: i'm also in my late 30s, biological clock ticking away, scared. yes, kids today are thrown into a competitive world. but this generation is also lucky to enjoy the better things in life that their parents can afford for them. sigh, after my mc i wonder what would life be like for me if i had not spent my most productive years chasing for the paper and ladder.

I am glad to learn that my story has served its purpose.

@ Athens: my gynae is Dr SF Loh from KKH, started seeing him cos we wanted to go for ivf though he didn't encourage that. Our chromosome tests and other tests showed that both my husband and I have no issues, in terms of health. And I could conceive without much difficulties. He also said ivf won't solve my MC issues. We sent the foetal tissue for analysis after the 2nd miscarriage and it showed triplody, a chromosomal defect in the foetus, which meant that it would result in MC as it was incomparable to life.

Hence, I was indeed worried when I got pregnant again in June last year, a week before we were due to start the ivf process. I feared of history repeating itself, feared of down syndrome due to my age, feared of perinatal factors causing abnormalities...

Looking back, I guess certain things helped in the smooth pregancy. We took a break of 6 months before we tried again after the last MC. In these 6 months, we tried to stay as healthy as we could, I exercised, ate a balanced diet etc.

In KKH, I was invited to participate in a free study to investigate my ovary function. The outcome showed that my left ovary isn't as healthy as the right, but at least I have the right ovary to help with egg production.

I also went to Tong Ji Chinese Medical centre to consult a Chinese physician and took Chinese medicine for 3 months, but stopped once I found out I was pregnant.

And family and friends prayed for us to the different Gods.

And the whole 40 weeks of pregnancy went really well, apart from the nauseous I had in the 1st trimester, and backache in the last trimester, basically I was mobile, active, had no bleeding, no gestational diabetes, preeclempsia etc. Therefore I think, staying healthy before pregnancy is important.

And really, if I can do it, all of you can as well

Cif: your story motivates al of us here. Gives us hope.

Athen: no worry, take time to recover spiritually. It took me 2mths to get close to my hubby again after I seen. Yself mc at home toilet. The image is still very clear in my mind til now. Build ur health up.

I finally back from my business trip...so tiring...seem like this month is no positive for me. I o during my trip when. Y hubby is away.

May: kids have a tough time nowadays, ido worry what happen when they grow up. Well, I have no kids yet. Always in a dilemma of having one. But the joy of bringing them up teaching them well hope will overcome my dilemma. For me, I want to have one child will do.

CIF,
Congrats. I am really happy for you. AFter been through the MCs, i really really feel happy for those who finally make it. I am also in late 30s, hearing your success story is really encouraging for me.

Ling, Athen,

My NK cells (blood test on day 2) reading is 15 (he say should not >12, if i hear him correctly).
Protein S activity is 85.
These are the 2 reading Mahesh made a remarks.

However, i read my report later, i found my Protein C activity is 166 (ranges is 70-130)
APTT is 26.8 (ranes 27-35.6). Doctor never mention anything on this. So, i also do not understand what this mean.

Actually i tried TTC last month but on the same time, i also pray to GOD. Let me pregnant only if you allow me to carry the baby till i can deliver the baby healthy. I really do not know how to face another MC. Everytime, i talk about this, everytime i see Dr.Mahesh , i cried or tears in my eyes. So, when i found that i am not pregnant , i am very disappointed (as i hope to have baby) but i feel relief. Mix feeling and just don't know how to describe.
Dr. Mahesh only ask me to take folic acid twice a day.

Athen,
I have no courage to try too. Last month, i just so tense , emotional knowing that i trying to TTC. But it is just the first step that you need to step out. I decided to try and others i let GOD decide. I know i will be under super stress if i really get pregnant.

Hi Cif,

Very motivated by your story. Went thru one miscarriage in late 2009 but fetus gt heartbeat which stopped at week 8. went thru d n c. Gt adeyomosis and doc say harder to get preggie thru normal way.

When we are abt to do ivf, I find out I was preggie. We tot it was a good joy as directly before Chinese new year. So happie that goin to get a rabbit baby. However, when bleeding started in week 5, went thru emotional roller coaster to dismiss the claim of etopic pregnancy. After which, the sac grew but is an empty sac. Oblighted ovum. Started bleeding this morning and decided to do a D n C to wrap tins up. Just came back. Everything went well of cos still coping with the loss.

Wanted to get back my health fast. Any recommendation for good confinement food huh? Thinking of ordering it for next week. What other tins k we do now to build up our health huh? When k we exercise huh? I m thinking of losing weight fast cos think my big size might have contributed too. Hmmhmm any tips to share? How long do u all do your mini confinement? When we k go ivf after miscarriage huh?

Hi Sunbelle, very sorry to hear about your loss. Things will get better eventually! Stay strong ya..
Besides taking confinement food, I also went to see TCM after I miscarried to get some herbs. As for exercise, I think it depends on the individual body's rate of recovery. Two weeks after DnC, I would still feel cramps in my uterus if I walk too much. However, some people could even begin exercising or resume work after a week. My mini confinement was around 10 days. Think Christine may be able to share more info on losing weight. She's done a great job in this... hehe.

Simplelife: I'm also facing a similar situation like you as my hub travels as well for work. Can b quite difficult to TTC sometimes, so we must make the best of each month that both parties are around.

Sunbelle, am sorry to hear what happen. Please take good care of yourself.

Even though it was a mini confinement but my mom made sure i had alot of bu for at least 1 month. I drank chicken essence, longan dates drink and drink pig liver soup to regain my strength. In addition I also drank dom every night.

Is about 2 months since my loss, I have resumed my folic acid and took supplements like royal jelly (intro by the girls here)

Please please rest well and esp your emotional health as well.

Hi Cif,

Thanks for sharing your experience. I went to NUH to do an investigation on MC. All tests came back ok. They did not check on the function of my ovaries though. I guess it is normal for women at our age to have "not so healthy" ovaries (as in wear & tear of the warehouse due to age). I'm trying very hard to live a healthy life now. Cut down on fast food, exercise more regularly, etc. Really a challenge due to the commitment for my 5 yr old son who is really fond of fast food.

I regretted not starting a family when I was young. My SIL who is 28 yrs old, not on folic acid & other multi vit b4 preg manage to have a really smooth preg. I guess age really plays a part in child brearing. What to do, just have let god decide our path.

Hi Bibi,

Dr Mahesh did not mention anything about my NK cells though the reading is 5 which is within the normal range. He just drew a circle on the results. Dr vasoo also did not raise her concern.

Protein C & S & APTT are blood clotting problem indicators. I did Protein S test with my gynae the result is 85. Dr Mahesh also mentioned that it is on low normal range. 2nd test done at NUH was 116 which he mentioned ok. Very confusing right? I guess I have to do my 3rd blood test then see how lor.

Beowie: thank you for the compliment.
appreciate it.

Sunbelle: so sorry to hear about your loss. Not to worry. My aunt went thru etopic preggie too. But she eventually got a healthy preggie after that. My cousin is now in her teens. Fat and chubby and healthy!

For exercise, i dare not say im very good in it. But at least i did went to my extreme in order to slim down to get ready for next preggie.

Its important to keep yourself warm and sweat if u can for the first two weeks when u do your mini confinement.

Take as much ginger as possible. Red dates black dates,dry longans, dangshen and ginger tea. Brew it.

Then drink it like water. Make sure dont drink over night water or tea. And dont take over night food. Especially rice.

If u are one not allegy to alcohol. Can try making rice wine chicken soup. Add ginger, chicken, rice wine, water and then egg if u want. Just stir it in your soup. Then add salt or soya sauce for taste. Then drink it. Add mushrooms if u wan. Its fine too.

Add as much ginger as u can. It can keep you warm.

Basically, i had been taking almost he same food every day.
everything are with rice wine.

Eat fish alot of fish. There is this fish that is specially for wound recovery. In hokkien call nor hee.

For veggies eat kailan or spinach. Both can help to bu your blood. And wound.

All cook with ginger. Eat as light as you can.

You can resume exercise during your third week but if u think u are not ready, start with walking for 30mins.

Then slowly increase. I eventually stay on 30mins walk a day for about one week then increase to an hour and now 1hr 30mins every day.

I take organic cranberry juice and organic psyllium husk cfor weight loss.

U can take rice during your confinement. But try to cut it out after third week.

I manage to throw away my 5kgs of fats in about three weeks. Until now. I had loss about 12kgs since the end of dec.

Just focus on your recovery first.

Try drink raspberry tea leaf every day. It helps to build and tone up your uterus.

U can buy from baby dust shop, an online blogspot.

U have to take good care of urself.
cry if u want. Let out your emotions. But do not fall into depression. Thats important.

Athen: im 22 when i got preggie but i still face the same fate. Sometimes really isnt the age. My friend's wife. In her mid 30s just gave birth to a 3.8lbs bb gal on chinese new yr.

Keep yourself stress free. Do some light exercise. Drink lots of milk. It can build up your body. Im sure u can do it. Worries will make you stress and upset.

Dont think about mishaps. Just focus on bb making. As long as u done your part. Im sure u will have a smooth preggy.
be positive,

SY: my flow is heavier today, day2. Feeling less pmsy aledi.
I also booked an appt with Sharon for a massage next week.

Athen: At least you have a 5 yr old boy and has experienced motherhood.

Bibi,

Try with Faith ba.. Actually at least nothing is basically very wrong so I though just go with the flow liao.. Otherwise getting and older by the day!

Athen go and see the blood test ba.. I think those that is slightly higher or lower than average they are concern a little because once pregnant the readings will get whack so they know what to look out for when you go back to them.

simplelife: i also do not have any child yet but earnestly hope to a child of my own. if god permits, would love to have two. i can forsee the difficulties of bringing up a child but still the yearning to hold one in my arms is simply too strong to resist.

sunbelle: take care and have lots of rest. all of us here have been through it and understand the heartache.

athen: like you, sometimes can't help thinking that age plays a factor in the pregnancy. it's a fact though i hate to admit it. looking back not sure if it's worth it, but it's all too late.

btw i read that some are on folic acid twice a day... or one a day is enough? i'm taking one a day.

Hi Ling,

I'll go for the blood test & see how it goes. Frankly, I'm not sure if I should go back to NUH if I'm preg. I believe during preg, I'll be super stress & I need a gynae who I can call to talk to when I'm not well. Furthermore, having to wait so long to see Dr, go through the mess in O&G clinic & the inconvenience may put me into depression from past experience. Really in a dilema now. Maybe see 2 gynaes at the same time?

Hi May,

I think some of us are high risk so we are advised to take 2 folic acid 2 times a day. How many mg are you taking? I'm taking 5mg 2 times a day.

I believe age does play part. The risk of MC is higher in older women. The older we get, quality of eggs will deteriorate. This also raise the chance of MC.

Athen, i'm taking 5mg one a day. Will start taking it twice daily. Hope it helps to prevent future mc. Yes, gynae did gently mentioned to me that age is also one factor.

Hello all, haven't log in for some time...

Cif : Thanks for sharing

Sunbelle: Take care and get well soon.

I just had a consultation with a new gynae this week. She did a blood test on me due to recurrent mc and am still waiting for results. If results ok, she say i can start trying in May. So looking towards it but at the same time, so afraid same thing will happen again... I lost the heartbeat for both mcs during first trimester... Never thought these will happen as everything went smoothly when i had my first girl. Kind of regretted for waiting so long to have another one..

Athen : Would recurrent mc consider high risk group ? Currently am taking 5mg a day. The gynae reminded me that am not young anymore, have to rely on food intake and ample rest for better quality eggs.