Support group - Miscarriages

Hi Athen,

Yes, confusing. But isn't it good that your last reading looks good? What did you eat/do that your reading improve?
Actually, i have the same thinking..having 2 gynaes same time as i also not very comfortable with NUH.

Bibi,

We really can Hi 5!!!  Same thinking & same bad experience with preg.  Can share why you are not comfortable with NUH?

I was thinking of going to my gynae for regular ante-natal check up & scan as he sees me weekly or fornightly during 1st trimester with no additional charge if I take up the ante-natal package.  Then see Dr Mahesh for whatever blood test that is required.  Do you think this is advisable?

I did not do anything to improve my reading.  Dr Mahesh was also puzzled with the results.  That's why he asked me if I was preg when I did the 1st test.  I wasn't preg. 

Simplelife: ya, am taking multi vits and folic acid regularly now. didn't take vits previously and folic was taken irregularly. am also taking tcm med this time round. must make sure body is well-armoured haha!

Cif-I'm really glad to see your sharing.. I too had 3 mc from 2008 to 2009,almost same timing as urs... Iike u,i finally had the chance to carry my newborn ger last nov n she is now 4mths old.. The joy was so not able to describe wf words..I rem I cried when I heard her first cries n non stop till I carry her.the nurse even said must be tears of joy,mummy kept crying... Enjoy ur motherhood!

To the rest
Jia you! I really believe I will get to see ur success story soon too

Tub is back and still ttc-ing! Dr vasoo advised us to go for karotyping tests last week when we saw her at clinic d. I hope the result us ok... If not, I'll just declare close shop abd adopt. I don't think I can manage anti ro anti la, protein s, thyroid antibodies plus something wrong with my chromosomes. I hope and pray all will be normal.

Dr vasoo has put me on folic, hydroxychloroquine and thyroxine.

I just had the massage and i can remove my body wrap in another 15 mins time. Overall, the massage was good. Can really feel that the massage has help me to relieve the stress in my lower back. Felt as though many knots within my body had been untied.

Actually dr vasoo gave me green light to do so iui. I may Aldo go back to my fertility specialist but do u think dr mahesh may not be happy if I do so? I was thinking do soiui, if strike, then go back to Nuh.

Tub,

How come Dr Vasoo suddenly ask you go karyotyping? Anyway just go with it ba.. Sometimes ironic.. want to give up but boh gan wan to give up without a fight!

If is not medicated IUI meaning no medication assisted I think shouldnt be an issue right?

Aileen, So glad to hear abt your bundle of joy! It is story like yourself that make me more reluctant to give up! Will continue the fight!

Beowie: The massage is it good? I read you girls tried it. I thinking of doing one but it can only be weekday nights or weekend cos Im working.

Haix...no hope this mth..waiting for af to report either tmr or sat. Cd27, supposedly dpo12 according to bbt. Test negative today cos wanted to go exercise so test just incase.

Ling, she gave me a write up on ivig and in it, they explain that karotyping should be done before ivig as the latter is too costly. I think they don't want to do ivig only to find out there are issues with chromosomes months later.

For iui, she gave ok for medicated iui. No point doing unmedicated one because the probability is the same as natural trying. I conceived twice with so-iui. One resulting in my no.1 and the second one was the recent mc. The 1st nc was conceived naturally.

Hi Aileen,
I remember you. You shared your story after your bb is born last yr & we share the same Dr Adrian.

My hubby & I have decided to see Dr Adrian (for regular check up) & Dr Mahesh (for blood test to check if any abnormality during preg) at the same time if preg. Then deliver in TMC by Dr Adrian. No choice as we are really more comfortable with Dr Adrian.

Hi Tub,

Maybe you can be like me see your fertilty specialist & Dr Mahesh at the same time? Hopefully, they don't give conflicting advise or treatment. BTW, who is your fertility specialist?

Athen, I'll see both... I think that's the best bet. My fertility specialist is dr Charles mp lim from Mt e.
he doesn't deliver though...

Im back from my mini honeymoon in hk. In sick now though. Its too cold in hk.

Gain a few pounds. Got to throw off the weight again. Hais.... Guess no money for bb making trip in april le... Spend so much in hk.

Shall hold back my bb making plans le. Got to get my body in shape again and detox finish first then can. Hais....

Welcome back Christine !
yo, how much do you pay for your trip huh?

Ladies, when k we visit TCM to see them for strengthening after D n C? When we k go spa massage huh? Mi thinking of doin all things which preggie ladies cannot do. Yeah like eating my fav sasumi etc.

Sunbelle: hmm..my air ticket is about 600bucks. Then hotel is about 470bucks for 3nights.

Actually is the spending. Haha...tend to buy alot. Manage to change about sgd 1k. But not eniugh. But lucky that my dad pay for the hotel n air ticket.it was suppose to be a weddin gift. N suppose to go in dec but due to my mc. Everything had been cancelled.

U should be able to resume everything two weeks to oe month after your dnc. But try to avoid cold n raw stuff. It will weaken your uterus.

Take more warm stuff.

Hi Ling, Tub, Bibi,

I went to NUH Clinic G to do my Day 2 blood test today. As the test requestor is Dr Vasoo I got to go to Clinic G. To my horror, the clinic is closed! I went to the reception to check which clinic can help me with the blood test. Guess what she told me? "Didn't you know clinic G is close on Sat? It has been a long time already!" Then I told her that NUH website states that Clinic G is open on Sat & I must do the blood test today! Then she kept quiet without offering a solution on what I should do. I asked if I can go to Kent Ridge Wing Women's clinc to do the blood test. She said "you can try". I walked away very upset. Luckily, the nurse at Kent Ridge Wing entertain me as I mentioned Dr Mahesh's name though the blood test requestor is Dr Vasoo. Imagine if I did not know there is another women's clinic at NUH then how?

Athen, I wouldn't be surprised. Guess what... I ran out of medicine before my due appointment with dr vasoo. So I called clinic g to get more med before i see dr vasoo in two weeks. The nurse said they would call me back but guess what?? I din get a single call from clinic g. The service is still
Lousy despite all the talk about svs quality in govt hospitals. If not for the 2 drs, u wouldn't be there!

wow great that you enjoy hong kong
shop and eat

hi ladies,do you all explain to collegues whm u dun noe well?i dun feel like replying to sms that are sent here to track information.felt quite upset too.yeah gt infection last week after d nc . so din come in here. remember to go see gynae when in pain

Hopefully: its very cold when i reached there the temp. Is only 13 to 17degrees. Its all below 20degrees.

Its better to bring a thicker jacket. I went lantau lsland and victoria peak the temp. Went down to around 10degrees. My toes were totally numb.

And im now sick. Running fever n nose. So its better if u cover yourself well. My lips crack badly only the 2nd day. But still its really fun.

Sunbelle: u had got an infection? Is it bad? What cause the infection?

Simplelife - The massage is good but I don't think I'd go for it regularly or again. Mainly because she said my uterus is in place and I was mainly interested about getting my uterus back where it should be. It is $60 for 45 mins. It is very relaxing. She provided me full body massage (i.e. head to legs to my hands). Actual tummy massage is maybe 10 mins or less only. At the end of the massage, she will wrap by body tummy area using a piece of pink cloth and I have to keep it on for at least 2 hours.

Hi christine - Welcome back
Glad you had fun in HK...

Hi sunbelle, I don't explain to colleagues i don't know well about my mc. At the most i'd say i had a surgery recently. I also don't feel obligated to reply to colleague's questions about personal life unless necessary. I would inform my boss about my condition if it means i hv to take long mc/leave to rest.

I hope you are recovering well from your infection.... do take lots of rest...

Hi Athen,

I am sorry to hear that. I too, really find NUH clinic G administration/ some staff nurse is really lousy. Especially the administration/ appointment service. They are really not helpful at all and do not bother to help you too. So, that is the reason why indirectly i feel not comfortable to see doctor in there. The doctors might be good, but have the feeling that if any emergency when you need advise, no one can give you. I cannot imagine that on Sat , no one is allocated to draw blood when we are ask to do the blood test on Day 2-3. They should mention it when they pass us the blood test form, eg. where to go on Sat.
Anyway, we don't really have much choice. Like you, after hearing your experience, i will definitely see 2 gynaes if i get pregnant.

Beowie: wah... She said your uterus is in place. Good news! She didnt tell me if my uteru is in place. I will engage her again. See if there are any changes in my uterus position. Maybe mine isnt in place thats why she told me not to drink any cold water. Totally keep out.

Which i did. Hope things did change for a better.

Hi ladies need your advice. I had 2 mscarriages last year, one due in mar and another in july. I got pregant 1 cycle aftrr my first mc but sadly the foetus stop growing :/ i had d&c for my 2nd. Was a bad experience, i had blood clot afted that so they gv me cytotec to expel the blood clot, i was bleeding so much like tapwater! When i went back for review i still had a bit of blood clot argggghh so i had to do a minor washing to remove it donnoe how minor also as i was under ga.

My gynae, Dr Heng didnt advice me to go for test she said i won b so unlucky 3rd time. I didnt tink much at that time. Now 3 mths hv pass n i want to hv a go at ttc but im scared. Should i go for another gynae to do all those mc test? Or shd i go straight to nuh? Or shd i go to tcm also? I wanna be sure before i try again. Any gynae gd in mc cases? I read abt Ann Tan but she kinda ex right, any views in her? I prefer a female gynae.

Im a bit loss donoe what to do next... Apprecite you advice

Sarina: most of the time, doc will do a test after a second mc. My doc told me so too. I wanted to do a test on my bb after my first mc. Buthe said, not to worry, if only i happens again then, tests are needed to verfiy.

Its pretty suprising that your gynae did not do that for your case.

I guess u really need to adjust your body again before trying. Are u taking supplements?

Try taking supplement for 3 months before ttc. Or u may visit a tcm to help adjust your body too.

I think its better if u change a gynae. Do a thorough check before moving on. Your doc did not do a good job for dnc. If a doc is good, he or she will do a clean job for u and there will not be any side effects.

I had only one mc and my dnc was well done. I recovered well within a week.

Male docs ar not that bad actually. Majority of us here are seeing male gynae. Sometimes male gynae are more patient than female gynae.

Talk to your hub about it and see how it goes.

Try takin supplements like folic acid, pre natal pills or multi vitamins, fish oil, royal jelly and vitamin E and selenium.

Same goes to your hub. He can take folic acid, multi vitamins, fish oil, royal jelly , vitamin E and selenium.

These supplements are to help you build up your quality of egg n sperm. To help avoid free radical. For ladies folic acid and multi vitamins are very important. For men, selenium is very important as it helps in the growth of sperm.

Take more wheat germ and almond before preggie and during preggie. These food helps to bring down the rate of miscarriages and gives very high vitamins to your bb.

Take a break from ttc. Tone up you body first. Do exercises. Its very good. U have to detox in order to absorb good stuff.

Hi Tub, Bibi,

If not for Dr Mahesh & Vasoo, I won't be at NUH too.

Have a wrote a "very lovely love letter" to NUH to feedback about my "lovely overall" experience on Clinic G (including getting us to do urine test though we are not preg) & "good" service with the receptionist on Sat. I'll see what kind of reply I get from NUH.

Bibi,

I agree with you. I guess in time of emergency, we have no choice but to make a trip to NUH A & E. There is no emergency no on the appt card. There is only nos for change of appt! What is to point of calling the no where these are admin staff taking the call?

My gynae's 24 hrs emergency no is his HP no. At least I know I can talk to someone in case of emergency. Even non-emergency, I'll just send him an sms & he'll reply in less than 5 mins.

Hi Sarina,

I understand how you feel. Typically, it is after 3 consecutive MC then we'll be considered recurrent MC. However, some gynea will leave the decision to go for test after 2nd MC. It is really your choice. If you are not comfortable with your gynae, see another gynae for 2nd opinion.

If you prefer female gynae, then it is really limited no of Dr whom you can see. Dr Mahesh & Dr Biswas from NUH who specialise in high risk preg Dr are male. I'm not sure which other female Drs in NUH handles high risk preg. Personally, I prefer male Dr as they are more patience & sympathetic towards us.

I heard Dr WK Tan from TMC is experience, good & expensive. She delivered my SIL, my fren's hubby & her son. So you can imagine how old she is.

Agree with Christine, build up your healthy 1st & ttc only when you are phsically & mentally ready. Take care.

Thanks Christine and Athen, really appreciate your reply. Im currenly only taking 1 folic acid a day. Keen on the supplements, for a start which shd i go first and where to get the multi vit, royal jelly etc. Im a bit clueless as I never eat supplement before.

I think im open to male gynae too anything goes as long as I can try for a baby. So how do I go about making appt at NUH? I will just let the gynae know that i had miscarriages before and I need to be tesed ya? Is the miscarriage tests expensive? I talked to my hubby, he don seem interested to participate sigh..he just as me to do whatever i wanna do and he will support me. im seeing tcm this friday, hopefully will help to prepare my body..i been having bad aches ever since my miscarriages.

I tot of detox too..i guess must go all the way out..exervice is a challenge for someone lazy like me :p It hurts to see other woman who dont take care of themselves well, for e.g smoke, drink, bochup abt their pregnancy and hv bad lifestyle but they still go on to have healthy pregnancy and baby. While ppl like us need to go through so much just to have a chance to haev a healthy pregnancy. Such is life i guess

digress a bit... is tcm medicine really heaty and will cause pimple outbreak.. hehehe call me vain but i heard its quite common to have pimple outbreak if u under tcm treatment. True?

Hi Sarina,

You can book an appt with NUH on the website by indicating your medical concern. But by doing this, you'll be classified as a pte patient. But you may get to see the more senior Drs such as Dr Mahesh or Dr Biswas on your 1st visit.

Another way is to go to poly clinic to get referal. You'll be allocated to a medical officer on 1st visit & try to get them to refer you to Dr Mahesh. Going by this route (longer though), you will be a subsidised patient.

Doing MC test as pte patient regardless of your gynae or NUH is expensive.

I'm not sure if TCM helps as it does not work on me. I get really heaty after taking TCM. I do heard that it works on some mummies. BTW, Dr Mahesh advise to avoid TCM as he does not know how TCM reacts with the medication he gives us.

Mummies who are on aspirin, avoid taking vit C at the same time. This is due to interation of aspirin & Vit C causing Vit C to be flushed out of the body faster. I'm not sure about aspirin & folic acid. I'm taking both aspirin & folic acid separately now just in case.

Thank you so much for your support. yeah just wondering where k I order raspberry tea huh? Can ladies like me with endometrosis and adeyomosis take this tea huh?

I been wanting to go see my Chinese physician. But not sure whether the medicine she precebing will conflict with gynae one or not. Not sure whether gynae wan to put me on jab for my swollen womb.

Anyone gt similar experience or friend experience to share?

Christine, can share your diet n exercise plan huh? Like eat what food per day?

Thanks Athen for your advice. At least know I know what is my next step. Definitely will book an appt at NUH as a pte patient. If you dont mind, can you share the type of test and cost that I will be expecting? I read somewhere it cost abt $6k? Need to know a rough figure so that I can sound my hubby out and set aside a budget for this.

Thank so much!

Athen!

Sorry to hear abt the bad experience! I also had one on Sat with SGH... suppose to take blood test for my thyroid test and I reach there 12.30pm the cashier told me they are closed? The sign say at 1pm loh!! And ask me to seek outside clinic help!?!?! What the!? I WAS SO PISSED! lucky the lab assistance later help me.. send a nasty letter abt the cashier after I finish my blood test! Goodness!

I totally agree if is not for Dr Vasoo and Dr Mahesh I wouldnt even bother! So tub bibi and athen we are in the same boat. I just wonder why the dispartity in service level when the doctors are so nice but the nurse and admin are so terok!?!

Sunbelle, Can take raspberry tea leaves for your condition as it promote toning of the uterus. In a way it will attempt to purge your backflow if any bah. I am getting my supply from www.babydustshop.blogspot.com so far 1 pack can last me a couple of months. However if you are TTC dont take after O and start again on CD1.

Sarina, 6K is too much I really dont think it was that much.. maybe 2-3 K at most for private and 1K+ for subsidized.

Sarina,

The list of tests to be done is really very long. My gynae did the general ones such as Protein C & S, karotyping, lupus, etc. This costs me $1400 for both myself & hubby.

NUH did more tests which cost me $1700 including consultation. Last Sat I repeated some tests which made me $500 poorer.

Be prepared for xyz service from NUH.

Ling,

So did SGH reply to your lovely letter? NUH have not reply yet. I wander if they will reply at all. Ha...

Sunbelle: oh... I start my day with psyllium husk and my supplements, breakfast i usually take either cereal with milk or vegetarian food.

I skip lunch though, cos i take late breakfast and i do my exercise in the afternoon. I do brisk walking at around 3pm. For 1hr 30mins. Then bath, drink psyllium husk again. Ate dinner. But i skip rice. I just eat lots of veggie. Avoid fried stuff. Eat more fish esp. Steam fish. And drank soup.

Ate fruits after dinner. Esp. Apples or grapefruit. Then drink lots of water. I take about 6 to 8litres of water per day.

I do drink raspberry tea twice a day too. That is to help my uterus though not much with weight loss.

I do my exercise everyday. But psyllium husk do help alot though. U can get them from the 24hrs ntuc. Go for th organic section. I should be there. I take organic cranberry juice too. Mix with a 2 litre of water. And drink it down like water.

Rice n noodles are my main cause of weight gain. So i keep them all out. Best is to have dinner before 7pm.

As lon as u keep your calories intake between 800 to 1000 a day will help u see a better result in weight loss.

Thanks Ling, Athen I have booked appt with NUH,t hey assigned me to Dr Mahesh. Looking forward to the appt end of the month

Hopefully can get good news so that I can leave for my holiday this May with a light heart. Hv been on a holiday since the birth of #1, so I begged hubby to bring me to holiday coz i deserve a break after 2 miscarriage. Even if its only HK, im a happy bunny

Im gonna get royal jelly and multi vits later.. love this support group for all the tips shared

Sarina: if u going hk, u can buy organic royal jelly n fish oil from guardian. I bought mine from the hk airport guardian. Its a one yr dosage. 990 hkd for the royal jelly. The fish oil is cheap also. One yr dosage.

With the current exchange rate, its pretty worth it to buy. Plus its organic and its from australia. I search about the brand before. Pretty well known.

Rather buying it in sg. Gnc royal jelly is expensive.

Maybe u can take a look around hongkong's guardian or watsons.

Hi Christine,

thank you for sharing with me all the tips. i have bought the psyllium husk tis morning. it is really good. mi try including more vegetables in my diet.

hi Ling,

i admire your perservance. i am working hard to reduce or contain my endometrosis now. i have swollen womb so now i am thinking whether shld have GNRH or TCM plus acupucture huh?

yeah ladies, anyone here has adeyomosis or endometrosis huh? mi not sure whether my two previous miscarriages due to that. sign...been thinking a lot. recieved a pretty get well basket from my buddies in office. so touched. frens have been dropping to my house to visit me. yeah so happie to see them.

hope to do more to contain my illness so thatg my monthly menses will not be painful too.

Hi sunbelle, I had endo and went through a laproscopy in march 06 b4 getting a gnrh jab that stopped my menses for 6 months. I don't think endo will cause a mc, only subfertility.

Sunbelle: no problem. Its good for detox too. Thats why i took it.
glad u enjoy it too.
take 2 tablespoon mix with water 30mins before meal. it will be very good. Effect will be even better and more obvious.
try eating baked beans with scramble egg in the morning for breakfast. Its good too. Navy beans are good for us.

U can add 1 tablespoon of husk into the egg before frying it. Good for digestion. U can take a heavy healthy breakfast n skip lunch and take very light early dinner.

Drink soya bean milk as snack at night is good too. I think giant got sell organic soya bean milk those instant powder form.

Buy the one without can sugar. Drink it down before bed. Will have good dreams.

Sarina,

I'm seeing Dr Mahesh & Dr Vasoo on 28/3 in Clinic G (again). Where are you seeing him? Kent Ridge Wing? Remember to bring along all medical reports such as blood test results, pap smear, ultra sound films or printout you have to reduce the no of test you have to go thru. Also to save $$. If he request blood test, don be shock of the amt of blood they'll take. My record was 15 or 16 tubes of blood. Hope you don break my record.

Envy your perservance. Jia you!

Anyone seeing dr zuo at Ang mo kio huh? Wanted to see her but no one picks up the phone. So not sure whether are they open or on leave . Anyone knows huh?

Yeah christine, I drank the cransberry juice n is so sour. How much u drink huh ?

Sunbelle: oh, i added about 20ml of the juice to my 2litres of water.. And drink it for hours.
yes...its very very sour.

Holidaygal: oh... Enjoy! Yeah...packing is always the tiring task. Haha

Christine - thanks, but what is the name of the royal jelly brand? I tot of trying the babydustblogshop first since im only going HK in middle may. U want me to get any for u in HK?

Athen: my appt at NUH is on 31/3 at 640pm. They told me to see Dr Mahesh at Level 3 Kent Ridge Wing 2. How come you seeing 2 docs. Oh dear, I dont keep all my previous reports. My last blood test was when was pregnant with #1, I dont even noe where is the report. Is it ok to come empty handed.. OMH u sure 16 tubes....honestly i have phobia of blood test and docs hv difficulty to draw my blood out because my veins are not obvious. Wish me luck then, im already having cold feet at your comments. But for the sake of another baby, I will have to do this! Btw do I have to bring my husband, he is not sure if he can make it for the appt leh.

Btw, I have a TCM appt at EYS Paragon this Friday, remembered u said Mahesh dont encourage TCM, so I should cancel the appt or go ahead ya?

holidaygal - how many days are u gg? let me know how is it over there ya. im heading HK in mid May!