Support group - Miscarriages

hi puppy,
I'm not too sure what is the content in "Sheng Hua Tang".... it's my grandma who passed down the knowledge, when she was still around, she will prepare when anyone in the family go for delivery and she will bring to the hospital for them to drink immediately after birth...... that time my aunt brought me to the TCM sinseh and the sinseh also say I must drink....
if your blood clears liao, then no need to drink.... you can try those old chinese medicinal hall, but I'm not sure if all medicinal hall sells them... I went to the TCM sinseh at 398, changi road #01-08/10/11, castle court. If you cannot get it from medicinal hall. Maybe you can try going to this one and see if you can buy off the counter.. go to the counter on the right... say it's to drink after birth one... i think should be no problem... thou I'm not absolutely sure...that you can buy without seeing the doc. :p
but I believe those medicinal hall with sinseh should have. anyway, just try...

about 2-3 times can liao...
eh... I dunno if it's heaty cos confinement cannot feel heaty one.

if heaty, then can stagger out the bu. Most impt is dun fall sick... must rest more...

It's good that you are taking such good care of yourself......

hi destitonia,
sorie to hear abt ur loss of bb at 24wks..i understd it must be quite stressful tinme u have been through. i know how u must have felt.

can i know how long u take before TTC again? how many cycles have u tried? Jia You & Hope to hear ur good news v soon!!

PuiPui,
I see..hope ur sis will hv her baby soon after tyring os many times for IVF

err...that time I didnt do any message leh
but know I dun feel any wind or any passout gas, so shld be ok hor?
only tummy fats hehe so need to do lots of stiup to get rid:p
how to define toxic after pregnancy, those old blood n gas/wind?

but I got drink the sheng hua tang which Elmo suggest, is ok hor?

hmm....dunno no message ok or nt?

BUt those ang mo also no confinement mah
hehe...ji wo an wei

hi val,

haha, i think u should be fine..for me, i had alot of wind..always pass out gas and keep burping..so i decided to try massage..my body was very achy as well as i was on total bed rest when in the hospital..couldnt bathe or even go toilet. eat also must lie down and get pple to spoon feed me. so i tot i better do massage as my limbs and joints all so sore.

but i didnt drink the sheng hua tang as elmo suggested leh..infact my confinement, i only drank red dates drink only..no special herbs or anything..

yeah lor, i was thinking all those ang mo or even other country, dunno how they do their confinment..dun worry so much hor, main reason i do massage is to help me expel wind and get my blood circulation moving since i laid down for so long and oso becoz i doing ivf as well.

u can always go for relaxation oso if u like to do spa..it really helps to pamper urself once in a while

If I remember correctly, the Sheng Hua Tang is to help get rid of the so called "bad" blood in us after givign birth. I think my Mum cooked that for me too.

Thanks elmo for the info, I managed to get from "Eu Ren Sheng" but bit ex...Managed to find one medical hall @ my parent's place... Sell cheaper... Ask my mom to get and brew for me...

Just wonder... those who took "Sheng Hua Tang" before, do u drink once a week until the "old blood" is clear or daily or alternate days?

Juz wonder how thewife is doing... Hope you are ok... take care... we are all here to support and share... Don't isolate yourself, k...

HI elmo and All

any idea if I can take "Sheng Hua Tang" now to "induce my AF"? Its been 7 weeks since my surgery (to remove the ectopic preg). . .

In case, u want to know the ingredients in Sheng Hua Tang... Managed to ask my mom to "kaypo" with the ppl in the chinese medical hall...

Dang Gui (radix angelicae sinensis)5-15g

Chuan Xiong (radix ligustici chuanxiong)3-10g

Tao Ren (semen persicae)6-12g

Pao Jiang (quick fried rhizoma zingiberis officinalis)2-10g

Zhi Gan Cao (honey fried radix glycyrrhizae uralensis)2-10g

Getting the ingredients yourself will be much more cheaper... Don't go Eu Ren Sheng to get... really very expensive...

Hi ladies.. Thanks for advice.

Hi cookies gal..Ya..I took confinement food for 2 weeks after m/c.

I guess go easy & listen to yr body..

hello mum wannabe,
still waiting for ur AF? spread more AF dust to u....my first AF is over but den onli totally cleared today......flow lasted for abt 5 daes but den spot n haf brown discharge till todae...so seems like this time my AF lasts for almost 10daes....hopefully it doesnt go haywire.....dun worry too much...the more u worry the stress level is there n it mite delay it....good luck!

gals,
wonder how thewife is now? hope tat she is fine.

hey gals,
ya i too haf problem getting to this thread...mayb u wan to bookmark it so tat wif one click...u can get here....

I'm back and I'm so glad its over!
Last night i was feeling a little down, while my hubby had to work late. I woke up at 2am and couldn't sleep after tat. I was angry and called him and he could only make it back at 4am.
But still, he accompanied me till im brought to the theatre and came back to fetch me.
waiting on the trolley bed outside the theatre made me nervous and waited 1/2 hr. I was worried when my gynae had difficulty injecting the anesthetic to my vein on the left hand, then she switched to right hand. I kept asking myself when Im going to knockout, next moment, Im already in the ward room. I only have blood stains and mild cramps now.
When I reached home with hubby, he had to leave for a meeting and when he was back, he cooked herbal soup with pork ribs to nourish blood and reduce giddiness. There was also liver and chicken essence. I really didnt expect this. very touched...
On the other hand, My MIL didnt say anything, only emphasis that it's nothing. When i was preparing the red date drinks, I felt like she must be thinking why I'm making such a fuss over such small thing. She didnt even buy anything, or prepare anything...
My gynae Jocelyn is very sweet, she visited me at my ward room and even called me in the evening to find out how I am.

HI d_woof
Yalor, AF on strike...

HI thewife
Your hubby really makes effort to take care of u despite his busy schedule, which is very comforting.

Elderlys are generally less expressive but anyway, nothing is more impt than getting ur body well again.

Glad that you're coping well.

hi the wife, glad to hear fm u again. good to hear tat ur hubby is so supportive despite his busy schedule. u must appreciate his efforts.

yah, dk more chicken essence n cook red dates dk.
cramps better?

Hi Charis,

If you're still feeling weak, no harm continuing to bu yourself. It's good to prepare your body for the next attempt.

Hi thewife,
Good to hear that you're ok. Your hb is really sweet. Anyway, don't worry about your MIL. My MIL didn't know I was supposed to go on confinement diet until I told her - she actually thought I could eat normally after D&C. So maybe that's why your MIL is behaving this way.

hi mum wannabe,
sheng hua tang is not used to induce AF.... it's used only immediately after childbirth, so help expel the lochia....
if you wan to induce your AF, can go to your gynae and get the progesterone.

hi thewife, now it's very impt for you to rest as much as you can.... just sleep more.... and eat well... dun hu si luan xiang, as some elders dun believe that miscarriage need to do confinement cos they think still early so dun need to do confinement, so maybe your MIL dunno....
anyway, dun be bothered by it.... just make sure you bu enuff... take good care ya?

Hi the wife, actually I was told to avoid chicken and liver for the first week as the 'wound' is healing so must avoid these stuff. But i suppose drinking th soup is fine. Don't be upset abt MIL, what's more impt is you hb is so nice to cook for you even when he's so busy with work. So now you must be good and let yourself heal. Your health is most important now. It's right to kick a big fuss over it now.

Im resting well. very mild cramps. feeling a bit bored not going to work already. my MIL threw away my old red date soup, cook a new pot for me. last nite, i even went to mcDondald to wat fish burger. dun know why just want to eat things that i avoided during the pregnancy...haha
Im really feeling good and happy.

Hi ladies..

I want to check with those whose gynae gave u antibiotics after yr m/c or D & C..can u tell me the names of the medication/anti-biotics?

hi thewife,
glad to hear tat u r fine now.....wow ur hubby is so nice and understanding...my hb needs to take abt a few daes to cool himself down as he put the partial blame for this m/c...after 2 daes of my D&C, he has to leave sg for work....i was a bit lost but den luckily my mum is always very supportive n care a lot for me.....
aniway gd to hear tat ur MIL has realised tat u nid her care too......relieved to see tat u r doing well now....meanwhile take gd care!

hi mumwannabe,
maybe u wan to wait for another wk? if ur AF not here den call up ur gynae...

oh dear, i have thrown all of them away after i have finished it. there are 2 types of antibiotics i ate. did u gynae give u any antib?

hi the wife, yes its v impt tat u must feel happy. glad to know tat u are feeling v cheerful now. tat time i was quite weepy esp the first few days. keep it up.

Hi jas...

Actually no not gynae..its my GP, i hav n eye infection, so gave me eyedrops & 2 types of antibiotics..was wondering if its the same as wat gynae gave u all...Cos i heard antibiotics are pretty standard.

Hi cookies gal..

U go home, & help me check okie..thanks!

Btw, my gynae said no need antibiotics..I got no fever, or severe cramps..so no signs of infection it seems..

Clinic said they will call me if my betaHCG results are not low..which means there may be leftover tissue from m/c.. BUT so far, no call, alrd almost 1 week..so looks like my condition is ok..then i only need to see gynae in April.

Hi thewife,
Your MIL is quite sweet... made a new pot of red date soup for you. And your hubby too, made soup for you despite his busy schedule.
Rest well and eat lots of these bu now, so we can all look forward to a healthier body for future pregnancies.

Hi Charis,
I only got 1 type of antibiotic after my D&C. Name is Augmentin, and it comes wrapped in a silver foil type. In my case, I wasn't prescribed antibiotics cos gynae said no need since D&C is done in sterile Operating theatre. 2 weeks after the D&C, when I went back for follow-up, doc saw that there were still bleeding in the womb, and because the bleeding is prolonged, she is afraid of infection and hence gave me the antibiotics to "cover" me, just in case.

thewife, glad everything is fine for you and you are moving ahead.. You must recover and nourish your health now Your hb is so goodbeing there for you whenever possible. Rest as much as you can hor tried to avoid food from outside now, especially fast food take more ginger type of food if possible.

Anyway, dont take it to your heart about your MIL maybe shes upset too and dont know how to express herselfIt takes sometimes for some ppl to express themselves dont blame her or anyone lah

Take care hor BTW, if anyone out there want a chatcan chat me on yahoo!messenger or msn. My acct for yahoo! is [email protected] and MSN is [email protected].

Charis, I wasnt given antibiotic And when I went back one week after the D&C, he also never prescribed, he mentioned everything was fine. Asked me to see him again sometimes in April and if theres anything I find puzzling can give his staff a call to check.

Hi ladies...

I called up my gynae. My gynae gave me all clear sign...betaHCG very low. So jus wait for new cycle..anytime now til end Mar is normal. The antibiotics my GP gave is ok to take too. Can exercise, have intercourse, but no TTC yet..hehe. Praise GOD im on the road to recovery!

HI Charis,
my antibiotics is AMOCLA (AUGMENTIN).
HI D-woof,
I guess the m/c is due to both parties, but we women got to suffer both physical and emotional pain. I believe our hubbies feel bad about it, so this is really the best he can do.
By the way, im not feelig nauseous (maybe a little bit), but breasts still a bit sore. should go away soon i guess.

Hi Charis,

Great to hear that you're on your way to recovery!

Hi Jasmine,
My gynae is Lawrence Ang. His clinic is at Sun Plaza and he delivers at TMC and Mt A.

hi the wife, i tik 1 of my antib is also augmentin. forgot wats the other one. anyone its not so good to eat so many medication too. so 1 shld be enoff. is ur flow alot?
for mine, it lasted abt a wk.

hi charis, how did ur gynae tell tat betaHCG is low? i din have these tests. my gynae did a papsmear test for me when i went for my checkup.

HI Jasmine,
i only have 1 type of antibiotic. take 2 per day. my flow is not a lot, seems like very little. what does that mean? just feel that my lower back gets tired easily.

hi ladies - how long did you do your mini confinemt after m/c? How abt the bathing in ginger water? How long did you do that?

Thanks ladies...
Looks like most of u got augmentin.

Hi jasmine..

He did a blood test...It is the same test when u testing for pregnancy..more accurate than urine test. So it measures HCG (pregnancy hormone) level, which shld be 0 or low after m/c, But must be high during pregnancy..how high depends on which trimester i guess..Tat's why during 1st tri some gynaes give u a hormone jab if HCG is not very high.

Hi cookies gal..

My GP gave me amoxycilin too..but tat's for my eye infection..Yup that's why i heard antibiotics are roughly the same to cover certain issues.

Anyway ladies..
I think i having my first AF..this morning started..Its exactly 4 weeks after my m/c. Can u all describe yr first AF? Mine now is spotting, some cramps..I think the bleeding will pick up within next few days..jus like a normal period i guess?

Can i take painkillers? Anyone did for yr 1st AF? Or gynae gave u all any? Mine is Naxpron Sodium. My GP gave me previously for period cramps, he said it also eases the blood flow, so it wont be so heavy..and it helped me then.