Support group - Miscarriages

hi missy, how are U all these while.. Like what lyn said, Since u have done the laparoscopy, things should look brighten for U.. U will sure graduate to be a Mummy one day..

Dun give up... Take care...

guess what? my auntie just came back from Japan, and she said she was told that the japanese govt is very concerned with the high miscarriage, abnormal pregnancy rate and difficulty in conceiving in Japan. So they carried out extensive research to find out the cause and concluded tat one of the main culprit is due to radiation. apparently, they found out that using the mobile in mrt/subway magnifies the amount of radiation. Also putting handphone in pocket for men reduces the quality of sperm. In addition, there is also radiation from our TV, so if you have tv in your bedroom, it is best to physically switch off the TV by pressing the button on the TV itself rather than using the remote to switch off before you sleep. not to mention radiation from computers too!

dunno whether true or not but sounds really scary, coz i'm guilty of all these!

Me still very tired, coz didn't sleep well & menses coming. Didn't swim also coz raining most of the time.

Lyn, u still feeling giddy ah. Could it be poor blood circulation? Got doubleboil Dong Cong Cao?

Coral, understand that it is a very tough decision but I agree with Lyn that you shld seek a 2nd(or 3rd) opinion, this period of waiting is a mental torture for you. So reaching a decision may help you move forward. Hugz...

yasmine, sorry i think i missed your question that you posted to me yterday...here's the answer: not everyone needs to go thru hsg after d n c..mine is a special case...i cant remember how much i paid and i cldnt find my bills for my previous hsg..

after next wk when i hv done my hsg, i will let you noe the price for it..mine is done at kkh...

keep in touch, u take care...

Good morning Ladies!!!

Today I champion again! Earliest among all!

Lynn,
Dont fall in luv wif chubby hor...me warn u hor...hehehehehe. Be gd gal, drink more red dates drink n bu yr blood, so u wont hv giddy anymore.

BellyButton,
Got it liao...thx!

Morning Ladies. Thanks for the recommendations. I'll be seeing another gynae later. Lyn thanks for the help.

Bellybutton, do we still need D&C if it's induced birth? So it means we'll give birth like what every mummy does?

Read in Life! Peter Khoo's story on birth of his boy after he and wife tried for 11yrs. Well, looks like try try try and success will come one day.

Oh radiation. I'm guilty of putting laptop on my body throughout the day when I'm on bed rest. Must change this habit.

Droopyeyes, I'm like you always falling asleep while watching TV, last night doze off again...

299435.gif
<font color="aa00aa">Good morning gals!</font>
299436.gif

Yap... I take double boil pao sheng with black chicken alternate days. I also drink red dates longan drink

299437.gif
chubby chubby I want chubby...
299438.gif
kekeke...
299439.gif

Notti Lyn,

U suppose to rest more....go go go ...go away....go bk to yr bed....needs lots of rest.

Chubby dotes on Lyn.....dats y ask lyn go rest.

kekeke...
299473.gif

K... just finished my breakfast
Now go take a bottle of bird nest... then go fill up my bottle with the red dates longan..
299474.gif
then go lie down on bed.. and be piggy... kekeke...
299475.gif

I really scared I grow fat ah. Everyday eat, then sleep.. And have to eat soooooo much... Really pig liao ah...

Lynn,

Dont think of fat now...think of chubby me now....hahahhahaha

Fat later can go on diet.....if health no good...den later u hv to suffer leh.....so which one whould u choose.

Be gd gal ok? Next time Chubby buy u lolipop....hahahhaah

Hi Lyn, i hope u will get better and stronger each passing days..

DUn think of being fat lah? The most important thing is that u're eating well and right and quickly build up ur body strong..

take care..

hi coral,
how are you feeling today? you saw the gynae already?

I dunno leh, for me, i had contractions for 12 hours, followed by delivery and D&amp;C. not sure if d&amp;c is necessary all the time, but i think most gynaes would want to do a D&amp;C just to make sure that all foetal tissues are cleared out. just to play safe i suppose.

coral,

just in case you want to know bout the procedure.

after you are admitted and changed, the nurse will insert 3 tablets every 4 hourly into your vagina to induce the labour. For first time pregnancy, dosage is between 3 to 6 sets of tablets ie. 12 to 24 hours. For me, I started having contractions one hour after the 1st set of tablets were inserted, and the contractions lasted for 12 hours before bb was delivered. Side effects of the tablets include fever and diarhorrea, so the nurses will constantly monitor your temperature and give you panadol if necessary.

Of course, the contractions get more intensed as more sets of tablets get inserted as the effect of the medication is culmulative. You can ask for pain relivers (often a jab into your buttocks that would make you drowsy) once the pain is unbearable.

this takes place in the ward, so better to ask for single room if cost is not a problem. also,your hubby can stay over to give you comfort and support. I did it at glenE, the nurses there are very caring and sensitive.

after the delivery, the nurses will call for your gynae. you'll be brought to the Operating theatre where you will be under GA and the D&amp;C will be carried out to clear the remnant tissues. whole D&amp;C procedure is very fast, 10 mins? but you won't rem anything coz you'll be sleeping.

after the op, my gynae gave me 2 weeks mc, after which i requested for additional 2 weeks just to complete the confinement. my gynae instructed no exercise for 2 weeks, no alcohol, tung kwei, red dates for 1 month. and eat lots of fruits and vege. you'll have post procedural bleeding which would normally last about 5 days, so bring a packet of pads along. menses will resume 4-6 weeks after the D&amp;C. gynae also told me to wait for at least 3 menstrual cycles before TTC-ing again. 2 weeks after the op, gynae will ask you to return to him/her to check if your womb has shrunk back to normal size.

you can claim part of the cost from your medisave, so tell the staff at the counter upon admission, they'll do the necessary. total costs is about S$2,200, after lessing medisave of $700 if i dun rem wrongly.

if you have further queries about the procedure, feel free to ask.

Hi Coral,

How's your visit to the gynae today?

share wif u my experience too. I took the pills orally &amp; my contractions went on for 17 hrs. I did not go for D&amp;C (Gynae said no need wor) &amp; was discharged a few hours after I delivered. Yeah, do get a single room because you need a lot of support &amp; also coz of the side effects of the pill. I shivered badly at times &amp; had diarrhoea too. It's like an actual delivery but not as intense since the bb is small.

I did mine at Mt Alvernia. I do not know if it was the state of my mind at that time (because I admitted the very same day I knew my bb left me, so I was still in a state of shock) I was not very happy with Mt A's service. Maybe some of the nurses were trying to console me but I'd rather they did not coz some of the stuff they said hurt me alot.

Aside from claiming from Medisave, you can check from yr HR if you can claim insurance from yr company. I did &amp; in the end I paid abt $300 plus. (Total was $1,200)

Like the rest of the gals here, I did a mini confinement for 3 weeks.

Hello gals...
299671.gif

I am feeling much better today already. I dun feel so giddy already
299672.gif
. I everyday "jiak por". Really a lot of "por" ah. Now pimple also popping out liao... heh... I still scared fat fat
299673.gif

chubby fishes,
Really buy me lollipop ah? kekeke...
299674.gif

Wah droopy...

Going for supper ah...
299679.gif
I have been eating the whole day nowadays... Machiam everynite also eat supper le...
299680.gif
I put back the 1kg I lost during pregnancy already
299681.gif

wow droppy and Lyn, u gals took supper every nite huh?
299700.gif

Lyn, good to hear that ur health is slowly building up.. Keep up the gd work...

These days, I been taking late supper as well.. Guess It has become a routine for me liao.. Dunno why leh? I always felt my mouth itchy... Wanna eat something be4 going to bed... (sigh)
299701.gif

Wake up with a terrible headache. Prob cos hb and I spent the whole night discussing and doing up a table of all the prognosis and conclusion from the various docs and was not able to sleep properly after the intense discussion.
The gynae yday gave a a more optimistic picture, but he could not tell us why he is painting a more optimistic picture than the rest of the docs. The rest of docs cite mortality of 80-90% and for the remaining survived once, they're either handicapped, or long term hospital care bb for the short life they hv. They mentioned in history only a few (some said 1-2) cases of normal survival. But gynae yday said mortality only 70%, and the rest who survived will hv no issue. That sounds great, but by far, among the docs we consulted, and the literature we read, he's the first one to say anything like this, so we asked for publication about these facts he cited, he said those are new school of thoughts not published.
Now hb and myself are in a real confused state. Should we believe this new optimistic view? But we're worried about subjecting Kaden to such a big question mark. Cos the gynae yday insited that Kaden's condition is cause by weak heart although he say that can't be physically diagnose. So we feel many of the things we hear yday may be subjective as he did not hv the chance to investigate into the case. KK hospital monitor bb's heart for 2days and found the rythem to be normal and the rate of blood flow to be normal. The Glene team also found the heart rythem to be normal. Thus both sides conclude no abnormality of heart. So we also dunno who to listen.

But the table we created yday, show that 3gynae + a panel come to a sad conclusion, only the gynae we saw yday painted a more positive picture. However, he also added if there's chromosonal abbrevation, it's also a hopeless case. Thus hb and I decide to not think about it for now, since the test result for the chromosonal test will be out on Mon or Tue.

Hey Lyn,
Don worry about me. And I don mind having more opinions. I want to make a very informed decision. I already knew confusion is inevitable if I'm going to seek so many different opinions. Conclusions of docs depend very much on which perspective they took, and what limitations they set. Hb and I know that we can collect as many opinions as we need, but at the end of the day, as parents to Kaden, we have to be the ones to sort thru all conclusion and do what we think is best for him. We may make a decision that we ourselves never want to, but we know as parents we should shoulder the pain and uncertainty and not Kaden. He's too young and precious to us. We want to give him life, but only quality life. Not just life or life with more pain than usual.

Bellybutton and Droopyeyes, no need to use epidural? Will heed advice on single bed. Cos it has to be a very private time for if that happens, it'll be the one and only family time for Kaden, hb and me.

Gotta rest in bed. Yday was too intense for me. Later might need to go see another gynae.

Good day to u coral. Glad that u r taking this v positively by going to many gynaes to seek more opinions to make a v informed decision.

U must rest well with Kaden in you. Take care!

coral, dun give up yet.. Hang on..

do keep us update of ur latest news..
299852.gif

We be here for u to give u our strength and support...

Hi coral,
You are a very strong lady. Kudos to you and your hb for being such great examples. You both have not left any stones unturned. You both are not taking the easy way out. You've really gone thru so much and I hope and pray this will turn out to good for your both. I pray to God that your preseverance will be awarded. God Bless your souls!

On a personal note, I really pray to God that you would be able to keep Kaden and bring him to this world. And for such, he will be precious and special one amongst us.

I had a bad bad dream last nite.. Dreamt that i had difficuties delivery my baby.. Bleed a lot but bb still can't come out..

doc told me tat I had to undergo C-section to save our lives so bo bian got to go thru that..
When I woke up from the surgery, i asked to see my bb and was told that baby had died..

I think at the end of my dream, i remember that i went Bersek .. but can't quite remember if I had died as well..

dunno why i had this dream where i did not even think of it... so sian...
299902.gif

Hamasaki,

Relax lah! Dream doesnt mean anything la. Sometimes I also got funny funny dream too. Imagine playing with tiger and lion....wah piang eh...scary leh

hi chubby fishes, thanks..

i think i'm quite affected by such dreams.. esp: it concerns lives and bb involved.. (ai yoh)

wow lah, u dreamt of such funny dreams playing with fierce animals .. hahahha..

the most I dreamt is that i kena killed by a shark..

Hi hamasaki and chubby fishes,
these days I have dreamless sleep. Quite good hor.

The last time I had a dream was that I was admitted in hospital and was in labour. Some how the beds looked like those meant for babies with jaundice. And they were monitoring the contractions....then hor my stupid hb woke me up. Aiyoh, so nice the dream......tried going back to sleep and dream some more....but hor got more sleep but no dreams.....kekekeke

Coral, I am sure Kaden can feel what you &amp; yr hubby are doing for him. You are very strong.

No need epidural coz my bb is small. Just a painkilling jab (dunno the name) which also helps the cervix to open. Once I took the jab, the rest of the process was very smooth, in less than 1/2 hr bb was out. I also took the gas mask, which gave me a floatish feeling, pain killing too.

hamasaki: what a terrible dream!! must be a great relief for you when you woke up and realise that it was only a dream! perhaps it is all the fears and uncertainty that we harbour in our hearts after an unsuccessful pregnancy that caused us to have such dreams. dun worry lah, it's definitely not a bad omen..just a manifestation of the fears in our hearts, that's all.

droopy, did your baby have heartbeat when the inducement was done? according to what my gynaes told me, mount A, being a catholic hospital, will not do termination as long as the baby's heart is still beating. think in my case and coral's, mt A may be out for us. your company very good hor! can claim for pregnancy related medical bills. mine cannot i think. droopy, how come you never take the jab earlier if it helps the cervix to dilate?? can save you a few hours of pain. 17hours quite long..

coral, yah.. totally understand what you are going through. hubby and I also went through the same, weighing all the opinions of the doctors and finally arriving at a conclusion. it's a balance between taking a chance and hoping for a miracle, as well as giving your bb a quality life. what the gynaes can do is just to make deductions since they can only see through the ultrasound, nothing can be certain until the baby is born and they do tests on the bb. and many a times, their opinion is very much influenced by their past experience. if a gynae is the kind that has witnessed a lot of miracle cases, then he would probably give a more optimistic prognosis. likewise, the reverse also applies.

re epidural, I did ask my doctor before but he said nobody takes epidural in our case. but i suspect the kind of medication we use to induce labour will affect the length of the labour. coz i remember after my delivery, the midwife actually told my gyane that his medicine that he choose is always very good coz all his patients' labour were very short. like mine was only 12 hours, considered very short for 1st pregnancy.. since usually it takes 12-24 hours. I didn't ask him after that if it is true but coral, perhaps you can clarify with your gynae if the medication affects the length of the labour.

just dun think so much for now, wait for the chromosome results to be out first. btw, which weeks are you at now?

hi belly
299982.gif
thanks so much for comforting me..

Its not the 1st time i had such terrible nightmares.. It always bothers and affected me a lot as I'm not the sort who will think of such things..

Guess, i will still dream of such again next time which i pray hard that it wun come true..

Good morning Ladies!

Hamasaki,
Jus treat yr dreams like watching movie lor. Dont think too much abt it.

Yasmin,
How nice if I hv dreamless Zzzzzzzzzzz......leh.

I am very tired today cos I slept late last nite....YAWNING!!!

BellyButton,
How's everything?

Belly Button, my bb was detected with no heartbeat at my gynae's clinic, he just left without a reason loh. My gynae's clinic is at Mt E, we wanted to book Mt E but was fully booked at that time, so I went Mt A instead.

The jab is another thing that pissed me off. The staff nurse seems so reluctant to give me the jab. My gynae already gave the green light that I can ask for the jab if I cannot stand the pain. But the staff nurse, when I told her I want the jab, she kept monitoring my contractions. Even when my contractions were very close already, she took some time to give me the jab. I do not know if she made a call to my gynae to ask for "permission", but my gynae already said ok mah.

I also think the type of medicine will affect the length coz I remembered my gynae told me the rationale for using that type of pill for me, but I forgot.

i finally have some gd news to announce after soooooo long. i tested this morning &amp; got a BFP!!! i'm still at a very early stage of pregnancy, 4weeks only. didn't want to test initially coz scared false alarm. i had some spotting 3 days ago, thought my AF is coming so didn't pay much attention. its only when my spotting stopped completely 2 days ago &amp; there's still no sign of AF that i decided to test. and also my boobs feel full &amp; sore. true enough, this morning tested BFP, i was a bit kiasu, tested again just now, also BFP. i've made an appt to see Dr Sheila Loh at kkh in 2 weeks time. coz i had a mc before, my colleague, a doctor thought it would be safer for me to go in to see a gynae earlier in case i need jabs to support my pregnancy. my this dr colleague will be doing an u/s for me when i reach 6 weeks to see he gestational sac &amp; also to rule out ectopic preg.