hamasaki: what a terrible dream!! must be a great relief for you when you woke up and realise that it was only a dream! perhaps it is all the fears and uncertainty that we harbour in our hearts after an unsuccessful pregnancy that caused us to have such dreams. dun worry lah, it's definitely not a bad omen..just a manifestation of the fears in our hearts, that's all.
droopy, did your baby have heartbeat when the inducement was done? according to what my gynaes told me, mount A, being a catholic hospital, will not do termination as long as the baby's heart is still beating. think in my case and coral's, mt A may be out for us. your company very good hor! can claim for pregnancy related medical bills. mine cannot i think. droopy, how come you never take the jab earlier if it helps the cervix to dilate?? can save you a few hours of pain. 17hours quite long..
coral, yah.. totally understand what you are going through. hubby and I also went through the same, weighing all the opinions of the doctors and finally arriving at a conclusion. it's a balance between taking a chance and hoping for a miracle, as well as giving your bb a quality life. what the gynaes can do is just to make deductions since they can only see through the ultrasound, nothing can be certain until the baby is born and they do tests on the bb. and many a times, their opinion is very much influenced by their past experience. if a gynae is the kind that has witnessed a lot of miracle cases, then he would probably give a more optimistic prognosis. likewise, the reverse also applies.
re epidural, I did ask my doctor before but he said nobody takes epidural in our case. but i suspect the kind of medication we use to induce labour will affect the length of the labour. coz i remember after my delivery, the midwife actually told my gyane that his medicine that he choose is always very good coz all his patients' labour were very short. like mine was only 12 hours, considered very short for 1st pregnancy.. since usually it takes 12-24 hours. I didn't ask him after that if it is true but coral, perhaps you can clarify with your gynae if the medication affects the length of the labour.
just dun think so much for now, wait for the chromosome results to be out first. btw, which weeks are you at now?