Support group - Miscarriages

Hi Shann and Jo

I didnt stay 8 hours at the hospital and still can claim from medisave leh.. I was there from 11.00am till 3.30pm. It was really fast though, before I knew it the procedures is over. Although I was sobbing throughout and have to put up with questions weird and all from the nurses, anthestic doctor before my gynae arrive. Goodness!

Lynn, Yes !! The one at serangoon north!She's good huh.. ok ok I go try .. do you know her operating hours? Any off days?

Christoper Chong is like the creme of gynae according from what I from my ex colleague. She's seeing him for women illness and she praise him until can fly. Maybe if you preggers again can try him see he do any special monitoring? Just 1 visit think about all the others things you paid, you never know if he is the one who can make it works.

Ling: yeap i'm seeing her. but haven't been there for like a month plus =x take a break but i'm gng back to TCM to bu again.

she's off on thursday. weekdays morning till about 1pm then at night from 6pm. weekends i'm not too sure though. i usually go on weekdays.

Hi Lynn and Ling.. just to clarify abt the TCM.. someone mentioned another doctor ban choon wah or something, also at serangoon north.. izzt the same as the one u r referring to? or different? May I also know how often u have to consult the doctor.. most of those that i know requires weekly visits.. very time-consuming..

As for the procedure, I was at Mt A..checked in around 12 and was out by 6plus... was able to claim medisave too..but all the other medical insurance claims (medishield, personal health insurance etc) all got rejected.. @#!

Ling.. me also crying as i was wheeled in.. until the guy pushing me had to gently tell me to try to stop or else might interfere with the breathing later on when i'm knocked out.. sigh... sometimes i still hv flashbacks of that fateful day...

ppcc: different one.
yeap weekly is preferred. but u can work out something with the TCM doc at chong poh. I use to go once every two weeks, but weekly was more effective for me.

Hi Shann,
Oh... how much did medisave deduct for your total bill? Your 2pm is start from the time you see your doctor for the scan? As I wonder how can we stay so long in hospital if jus do dnc alone? U mean kk maximum only give you one week mc or you request for only one week? As I thought we suppose to rest or do confinement for 2wks as wht my tcm doc say...wonder will kk provide 2wk mc? think you spend real cheap on ur dnc, only $50... me will request for dr tc tan too (as worry will end up with trainee doc if choose to walk in..)... so i think if i request, will not be that cheap le... wonder will the rate still be cheaper than go to gleneagles or thomson... Thank you so much for your advise... and i wish you the best that ur af will report soon so that u can try again...

hi ladies.. CD38 today n i tested with HPT again, dunno wat to say abt the result coz like last week, the test line is really like either u see it or u dun see it. haiz.. even the control line is faint. so i conclude either i'm nt preggie or my hormones really nt enough.. should i go for blood test to confirm?

Tks Lynn... do we hv to make an appt or just walk-in? possible to share the phone number?

Hi BluBeri... are u using clear blue? I find that that's the most reliable... those cassette ones were the most terrible, with ambiguous faint lines.. if u really cannot tahan.. then maybe go ahead with the blood test? How many days do ur cycle typically take? Mine's like 35.. so i only tested like CD 40+++. If ur cycle is just as long, maybe u wait a bit bit more?

ppcc, i used clearblue both times wor, the compact one which only show lines.. last time i bought the clearblue which would show either + or - sign, result was faint but at least i can make out a +.. i like the digital one too, coz answer is direct.. pregnant or not pregnant but tis two types more exp lor. these few days my breast still to be sore n i got on n off cramps also.. confused!!!

normally for bloodtest, result will only be known the following day or same day? one test is enough to confirm or muz test again few days later to see the HCG level increase den can confirm?

Blu,

As long as got faint line most likely strike ald!! I highly doubt you have left over prostergen in your blood since your D and C is so long ago. Dont panic.. we look forward to good news for once in this thread =)

ppcc, nasty flashback but lucky the nurses at ESH are quite nice. I was not really sobbing hard just the tears keep flowing. I keep wiping also no use. Sigh... Let me go to the TCM this week and advise you if I kenna the weekly visit or the bi monthly =)

Lynn, thanks for the info.. anyway we do all we can tiao and get well good if not if we not meant to be new parents than we accept it also lah although grudgingly.... =S

Anyway silly me always thinking funny things..Before pregnant I always think if I have a baby that is down syndrome I will do an abortion to cut suffering for me as a parent because I find I may not be able to take care of the child and what if we pass on before him/her. After this mc I am not sure if I am still that adamant because down syndrome is unlike handicap children. They can be very happy and be like normal child. Really makes me rethink about what sort of decision and mentality I had earlier prior to almost being a parent. OK.. OD again...

Work beckons..

Hi bluberi
how many mths u try after ur dnc that u get a positive hpt? I think u shd go get ur bt done soon so that to quickly get ur medicine to protect ur bb.. Think ur chance are high.. Congrat to u..;)

ppcc: can just walk in. I don't have her the phone. =x

Ling: yah can just tiao and hope for a miracle in my case.

blueberi: the cramps can be womb expanding wor. was there a faint positive?

Hi Joanne, the total bill is 1550, and 1500 is deducted from medisave, so we paid $50. 2pm was the time they sent me to the ward (after they do all the paper work). They don't count from the time you see Gynae.

Gotta wait for 3 cycles then can try.. sooo looooong... Yesterday we just went to book tickets to fly to Taiwan end of the year. Baby making trip hehe..

Lynn,

Have the number also no use.. must go there than can take number.. I tried to call them ald =( anyway never know loh.. no miracle we just need to get the sticky babies who will stick with us!

Shann, Who tell you should wait for 3 cycles? The gynae? Did she comment on your uterine thickness or something? Wah me also thinking going holidays ald.. we go every year at years end but when pregnant everything KIV! Tonight got to provide value proposition to hubby ald! heh heh

Hi shann
oh.. So u lie in ur ward after the procedure for at least six hr?
Btw, could u let me know the hl they gave is it maximum only seven days or u request for seven days only? As i need to plan my work.. Thk u.. One thing strange is ur medisave can deduct quite alot as someone told me they can only deduct $600 fr the bill at thomson medical.. Strange hor.. Oso no government grant if did at kk?

Hi Joanne:
Actually my DnC at Thmoason medical all was covered my medisave. I think also must have enuf in the medisave. The doctor's fee can maximum claim to a certain amount but my doctor;s fee was about $500+ ( < 600) and TMC charged me about $300+ for the hospital charges and miscellanous, after GST and etc $1000++ all claim from Medisave.
But of course if you give birth, then your doctor fee will exceed the $600, the rest need to pay cash.

Ling, i dunno leh.. the lines are really faint until i'm nt clear whether preggie or not. tink later i will buy clearblue digital to get a definate answer.

joanne, this is the first cycle after my 3rd m/c.. menses came 1.5mths after the m/c. i'm wondering whether to go for BT.

Lynn, the cramps nt frequent.. had cramps on sat morning, yesterday morning hubby wan to BD but i scared i'm preggie so we did not, juz petting oni.. liddat already cramp liao.

Hi jtml
sorry, may i know how much cash u pay for ur dnc at thomson medical and which gynea did u engage? How much is ur total bill? Thk u..

Hi bluberi
i see.. Oh.. Did u do any test after getting three mc? Think will be very stress for us for each pregnancy.. But wish u the best for this new pregnancy..;)

today had abit of yellow discharge, wht is it mean? Anyone encounter before? Thk u for ur reply..

Joanne: I never pay cash ler, but I was trying to tell you the $600 max you mentioned maybe the doctor fee, not total fee. They did tell me can deduct a maximum amount but dunno what amount for the doctor's fee.
Even if you go KKH, you can actually deduct one, if your medisave is enuf. so don't worry...

My whole operation at TMC I cannot give exact as my receipt at home... but around $1000 to $1200, all from medisave. I cannot tell you how much you can deduct because your medisave must be enuf lor.

Hi jtml
oh.. Thot medisave can only deduct a certain amt.. Didnt know it can cover all... I shd hv enough medisave so does that mean i can deduct fully?? May i know whose ur gynea? Did he do a gd job to u? Thk u..

blueberi: test again soon! you might be preggers, how many days past menses due? for my last one. i tested 1 week before menses due cause had a very niggy feeling something is very very wrong. and true enough it was positive but very faint. like have no have like that.

Ling: yeah. go down and let her see ba. when u get preggers, she will help you monitor bb also thru the heartbeat.

Joanne sorry i forgot to answer that question earlier on! they gave me 1 week mc i didn't request, in fact i told them whether it is ok for me to still go for my piano lesson cuz i will feel quite bad if i have to cancel lessons for the whole week! nurse still said better rest, so still give me one week mc. if you want more i am sure they can even give you 2 weeks!

My washing is done ard 630pm. As i had breakfast at about 1130am, i gotta wait still stomach is empty T_T.. so i watched tv with my hubby from 2-530pm.. then gotta get ready for the procedure, they also put a small thing inside my vagina to soften the cervix so that it will be easier for the washing. Did a blood test. That's all. I was sooooooooo hungry before the procedure, reminded the nurse to make sure the dinner must be there when i was sent back. Hungry!! Then after i had dinner it was already 8 plus, then i waited till 9pm to leave KKH.

Girls,

Back from gynae visit. Womb is clean and nothing is left. She give permission to try after the 2nd menses without me asking. I got the results of the blood test and antibodies both negative so not even in questions at all. Gynae say if really so suay mc she will order all the test possible.

After the appt My mum 1st question was, when gynae say must take a break from TTC. When I told her 2 menses cycle okay ald.. she was like are you sure... cannot be lah how can so fast... anyway see how your health is first than we talk abt try.... *sigh* They still doing the recovery mantra.. ai yoh! Lucky hubby was there because he was also chanting cannot so fast etc.At least he gets it directly from gynae!

Jo, I think you dont overstress if really need to do the D and C.. The more you think the more stress. Think most of us went being blur blur and came out alright. Trust your gynae.. Anyway most likely dont need D and C after all. Good luck..

Beri.. you are killing us with suspense. Once got faint line most likely kena ald! =D

the verdict is out.. tink i really 狂想症 until i got all the preggie symptoms which i had for all 3 previous failed preggies now.. clearblue digital result is "not pregnant" wor. it's a relief to mi nw coz i dun wan to be preggie when i go for my company trip coming nov. i'm a little disappointed though.

Ling: congrats for the good test results, now to recovery...

ya joanne: I agree with Ling, in fact I also blur blur go ahead. Gynae will tell you what to do. Don't worry. Just ask your gynae what is the cost if you worry abt the $$ but you have not go down the path yet. Now best rest okie??

my gynae Dr adrain Tan chek Jin...okay and reassuring doc, quite chatty.

Hi Ling.. good to hear that ur test results turn out well.. Keep us updated on ur TCM visit too! oh, and yes... shld plan to go for holiday.. it's the only thing keeping me sane these days.. hope i get a better hold on my emotions after my japan trip in oct... haiz... these two days dunno why get all teary for no reason again... maybe bad case of monday blues at work?

hmm.. all this talk abt the D&amp;C costs makes me realise that my gynae quite ex.. the doc fees was like 800plus...

Bluberi.. jia you!! We will succeed one day!!

sorry ppcc:
don't sad, next time you have baby in your arms...you will forget all these blue days and gynae fees okie...

so sorry...

JTML, mi nt feeling stupid la.. juz wondering y gt all those symptoms when nt preggie. really 狂想症 lor. anyway, i told mi hubby we also dun succeed during 1st TTC cycle, so oni a little disappointment on my side.

ppcc, yup.. lets all jiayou together.. i will stop TTC nw until nov coz i will be outstation for 1.5wks in Hkg (work + holiday).

ppcc, I think Monday Blue.. Dont sad okay.. we are together in this!

Anyway just now at the gynae clinic. Goodness loh.. all preggie ladies make me SO envious! I felt out of place and uncomfotable and so disappointing to know my next visit will be for pap smear next year and not for US of my babies *sad* ...

Beri, Maybe is meant to be you strike after you come back so you have full care at home =) We will reach there someday!! Frankly even if TTC I think I also dont know how long than will strike since our last one was like rocket science (-__-;)

OK submit proposal to hubby for travel and with him all moody about the mc of course he say yes =E

Tks Ling and JTML... yah.. i suspect is Monday Blues... but i never had them soo bad!

Anyway.. i also dreading my next gynae visit with all the happy parents.. somemore now i 'downgraded' to another room liao... think the gynae uses one room in his clinic for pregnant ladies and another one for other women... sigh.. which is good also lah.. dun think i'm ready to go and lie down on that very same bed where i was told the bad news...

heheh... Ling.. rocket science as in measure temperature, OPK and all? me was also like that... was wondering if i was too aggressive abt it and shld perhaps relax and leave it to fate... if only time was on my side...

ppcc, Think we are just annoyed with everything else because of the mc.. I also wondering how long it will take to wear off.

Anyway is a good practise by your gynae leh! Seperate their gynae and obs practise! I will feel better and not so out of place.. esp ppl like us who just undergo a loss.. Like super senstive about what we see also..

Exactly some ppl dont even try and strike while some of us like do experiment just to get the egg and sperm meet! I was just taking the BBT because I tried the pee stick for ovulation for 1 month and realize that the lines doesnt go darker than the control line throughout the month *give up*. On my tracking of BBT it was really fast to strike though so I am going to continue that only. I dont want to leave to fate ald... no time ald! I think we gals all around the same age. =D

I hope i can get some information from you ladies.

I had my D&amp;C on 21 Aug this year after 7 weeks of pg. After that, I did not have a heavy full flow of bleeding. i will say maybe a day of bleeding and spotting for about a week.
For the past few days(11-14/9/09), I seems to have some spotting again (brownish discharge).
I wonder if that is consider the start of my AF. Actually, I cant wait for it to come so that i can start trying again

Anyone can share their D&amp;C experience?

Hi Su.. Sorry about your recent loss.

What I have read is the 1st AF can be VERY HEAVY or VERY LIGHT from the local or foreign forums. Also it probably come by 4-8 weeks. Do you happen to have Basal Therometer? You monitor your BBT and if it increases it will clearly indicate you have ovulate.

If you are okay to try ald I think you can just go ahead and BD and forget you have a mission to accomplish. Less pressure too =D

Good Luck!

Hi AhJo77,

Thermometer can get from leading pharmacies. Ask for basal thermometer. Comes with 2 decimal. They would know what it is.

Test it when you wake up and while you are in bed when you first wake up. Dont move around too much and try to take ard the same time every day. You can see the gradual shift in your temp after 1 month. I didnt believe much in BBT until I took pain to track it.

Hi lynn
jus measure early morning before u get out of your bed once daily.. Then jot down the temp everyday.. I use that last time always so that able to estimate when period come too as if it is high above 36.6. Means u already ovaluate and after two wks of high bbt, ur af shd report when the moment u detect bbt drop.. If it continues stay high after two wks then most probably u r pregnant..;)

I have nvr use the BBT before thus would like to know how does it helps in TTC and when we 'work' to get conceive

Hi Girls..

I think if you do it regularly you will be like clockwork and just reach for the thermometer on it and pop in your mouth while lazing in bed. I wouldnt give a definetely temp at what you will ald ovulate because everyone is different. If you however notice the BBT is too high or too low it can also indicate possible thyroid problem.

High BBT if not pregnant and maintain at very high- possible Hyperthyroid condition

Low BBT - possible Hypothyroid

I have subclincal Hypothyroid and didnt know the effect until I read on it from the net. My BBT after CD 1 is around 35.XX *scary* which is not common.

BBT doesnt really indicate when is a good time to TTC but after charting for a couple of months, you will realize that after your CD 1 to the date after ovulation (day where temp rise) you take an X number of days before ovulation and because everyone is different we cannot use the 14 days after CD1 as per textbook. Using the info than you can plan your baby making session if required.

BBT also is not after charting for a week you will be able to see any pattern. You need to do it consistently and over a few months you would understand your cycle much better.

The thermometer is not expensive and below $20 for sure.

Hope the above helps..

hmmm.. I still don't get it, so its only good to know when we ovulate? and what's the normal temp and what is considered high? won't being covered up in blanket the whole night after wich affect the temp?

lols. i think too much. >.<

Hi Ling.. did u get a doctor to confirm that you have hypothyroid? My BBT also sometimes in the 35.XX range sometimes..I heard ladies with thyroid problems could have problems with fertility issues too =(

Hi Lynn... i think there's no textbook normal temp as it differs depending on the person... u just have to chart for few mths to see what's the range for your body... for the wks before u ovulate, ur BBT will be relatively lower.. after u ovulate, ur BBT will typically increase by about 0.5-1degrees... it's not very obvious, that's why must use thermometer that shows up to 2 decimal places...

Can take a look at this webpage which show the BBT changes over a typical cycle. http://www.ovusoft.com/library/primer004.asp

Can also download the BBT tracking chart from the site. I bought the book that spun off this website and think it's quite gd in helping us understand our system..

hi ladies:
My period changed from very light to VERY Heavy with clamps and backaches...

I am just going to work and home that all now. I am afraid to strain my clothes...signz.

oh dear JTML... hope u are feeling ok... u recovered from ur flu? Maybe ur body held back last few days cos of the flu, then now compensate the flow? Take care okie??

hi ppcc: I almost recovering from flu, yeah maybe hor. I almost thought it was something abnormal never cause I never bled so much before. I changed pads every 2 hours. Last night I woke up because I felt I was expelling blood so changed my pads. Can you imagine how a baby will feel, change pampers...so wonder they cry when they are wet and and change pampers. It is so disrupting.

oh dear... sorry ah.. can i ask if u are using those overnight, heavy flow pads and still hv to change every 2hrs? Trying to get myself prepared for my first AF... and I'm STILL spotting though it's coming to three wks...

JTML: I think you're experiencing heavy flow, do let your gynae know. she can prescribe you medicine so that the bleeding not so much. for me after first m/c. had heavy flow, those kind where u need to change pad like every 2 hours? bleed till toilet bowl water turn red kind. gynae says its abnormal. tcm has so far tiao it back such that i do not need the don't bleed so much medcine from gynae.