Support group - Miscarriages

chin: yeah. gynae told me the same as well.. I was spotting after i took the pill before the op. it just confirms that the body is already breaking down the pregnancy.

normally they will test after you have had 2 MCs in a row.

chin,
it's not irony
before D&C, your body is purging the tissue away naturally..after D&C, your gynae would have clean out most of it and that explain why there is lesser blood. That's why sometimes gynae will advise D&C instead of waiting for the body to do the work..

Our body has a natural defense system to reject the pregnancy if the pregnancy is not viable, meaning, unhealthty foetus, cromosomal defect,structural defect,etc. It a way the body react to protect us. Well, unless you have some immuno illness which the body recognize your foetus as a foreign object and start the defense system of rejecting it.

Some pregnancy progress to 2nd trimester though it's not healthy foetus and that is more painful for the parents because when they know it, it's so difficult to make the decision to terminate it or to carry on... This is how i console myself when I had my miscarriage in 2006. I was abt 7 weeks preggie.

Thought of giving words of encouragement..
I went thru 2x miscarriage before..was in this support group forum before..
like you all, couldn't come to terms with it and was very bitter over the loss. But I never give up..After my 2nd loss, decided to seek TCM to 'tiao' my body and continue to have faith in God. After 2 cycle, I was pregnant again ;)

I thank God for giving me strength and blessing me.. just delivered my baby boy on Tuesday ;)

Very importantly, stay positive and don't be stressful..
Don't look back and Never give up ladies!

i'm suppose to be 8 wks preg but after 2 visits to Gynae, i can only see water bag but no baby..

Gynae is not so positive abt it.. and i'm not sure if this is considered chemical pregnancy

can i ask how does the Doc to D&C? do i need to be under GA?

hi Gitz, it's done under GA for my case a few mths back at 9wks. You wont feel anything, and you can go home on the same day.
Stay positive as you can always try again after that
jiayou!

Gitz

I did mine last Wednesday. Though physically I was fine, I tired easily on that day, and the day after. But no pain at all.I have gone back to work already. I feel alright. Just try to rest more when your child is napping - don' try to do all your housework. After a few days, you should be back to your old self immediately.

It is a day surgery, and you can leave once the doc/nurses are satisfied that you are not dizzy and you can pass urine after the surgery.

Carebeary..thanks for sharing your story. And congrats on the arrival of your baby! Though I am not bitter, I am almost afraid to hope for anything - it just feels so numb now. May i ask where your TCM is?

thanks all ..

now i dunno how to break this news to my grand ma /aunts etc.
i was just happily telling them the good news. and no one in my extended family ever had miscarriage..
sigh just dunno how to handle this.

i mean.. hubby and i are fine with accepting this loss.. its about how our relatives gonna react.

gitz,
your case is called blighted ovum. try to do a mini confinement after D&C for at least 2 weeks. boiled nutritious soup to drink and drink DOM also.

Hi ladies, i was here very briefly after my last MC in Apr and then now TTCing as per normal.

Want to ask you ladies, does MC makes our cycle short? Today i should be in CD25 or CD26 thereabout and this fri is the CD28. My cycle usually very accurate, 28 days so AF should be here this fri. But this month, today at CD25 or CD26 thereabout already got blood discharge. Not bright red yet but watery brownish red. My AF is here? So early? I am confused! And sad if the cycle cut short so much!

Anyone has any similar experiences or can advise?

i just did D&C today as mine was blighted ovum that is a waterbag without a baby in it.

i stayed overnight in TMC bcoz i was bleeding and having cramps as the waterbag was trying to dislodge inside.

anyway i was surprised that the whole D&C process was so fast and smooth.

its the sending down and waiting in the OT that was the scary part.
my gynae was chatting with me as she injected me on my hands.. and next moment i woke up .. i was oredi back in my ward. and D&C had oredi been done.

its painless and i was back to normal again with lesser bleeding.

is there any instant packet tonic soup (those that can be bot fm major supermarkets) that i can boil on my own.

i won't be doing traditional confinement as no one is cooking for me.

any TCM in Toa Payoh or bishan to recommend? wanna bu my body so that we can try for another one.

Gitz
glad to hear that everything went smoothly..hope you are trying to get some rest. i know it is hard with a kid, but u have to really try.

Lynn/ Gitz
I have been boiling soup every other day - using the packet herbs and meat/ chicken.
You can also buy the packets of herbal and other types of soup (such as "ba zhen" soup) from NTUC or medicinal hall.
Have also started taking some DOM every night.
I am not sure whether all these will help us - but for now, I feel fine.

I am also looking for a TCM doc...any recommendatins?

Gitz - for these days, when you cook for yourself, perhaps you can add some ginger to the cooking. since you will not be having any confinment, maybe taking more ginger will help a bit.

Gitz, rest well and get stronger ok? I also just had a MC in Apr, same as you, empty water bag at week 8. I also bled so much have to hospitalised but i didnt opt for D&C.

Chinlee and ladies here, as for tonics to bu our body, some of you drink DOM and Yomeishu? Can i ask why as in what will be the effects and are DOM and Yomeishu the same? Which is better?

sunflower,
i think it's too early to tell if your cycle has become erratic. let your body recuperate for a few months..as long as every month your mense come around the same time, i would say it's not erratic right? if you're worried, visit your gynae again to ask her opinion.

my_sunflower: i'm also taking supplements along with TCM pills. stopping now for awhile before continue again.

I'm wondering about the D.O.M and yomeishu as well. which one is better?

Thanks Aria jo, yah so far every month got AF and surely around CD28, just that this month alittle earlier. Maybe its the supplements i take, will have to monitor somemore.

Lynn, what do you take? I take alot > EPO or Flaxseed (alternate them after O), Folic, Antioxidants and Vitex. Going to add Wheatgrass and Royal Jelly too. Alot hoh?

All i know about DOM and Yomeishu is they taste differently. One very herbal and other very alcoholic. But i dont know their effects and why must take.

I have TCM from my chinese doctor but also dont know should i take or not. I seem to be so busy taking this and that everyday loh.

I posted once here.. had D & C in Apr. Hv started TTC, on one hand being hopeful, on the other worried it may happen again.. my foetus had no more heartbeat when scanned at wk 12.. every now & then I keep hearing bad news, frens losing bbs.. sad.

Anyway Lynn,
I tried both, I can't take D.O.M cos it's too strong for me, would get sore throat.. I'm ok with yomeishu so dunno if D.O.M is better if based on my case.. mayb can ask TCM pple?

sunflower, can i check if you are ttc-ing now? i took 2 half boiled eggwhite in AM & PM, total 4. 2 tea spooonful (neat) of really raw honey when ttc-ing. it helps to produce better egg quality. i heard you shouldn't take EPO after O? or i remember wrongly?

mummy A, our dates quite close. my D&C in May, also no heartbeat during 12 weeks scan. try to stay hopeful & positive and you will strike soon again.

my sunflower: i take a multivit, calcium pills and something that has grape in it to prevent from falling sick often as well as folic acid.

i cant take EPO, take already kidney area feels very 'suan'

I usually take DOM cooked with food. but now my MIL wants me to just take it like that. don't know if it will be too strong..

erh.. i was told royal jelly can cause cysts...

how to improve/better egg quality? I have chromosome abnormality, is it going to be harder?

she never say anything. just that there's no cure and no reason why like that. (sorta like its just how god made me)

only can keep trying and depends on luck, cause I'm at about 50% chance of abnormal baby and as we all know they usually end up in m/cs. and say if it works out... 16 weeks like that need do the amniocentesis and if the chromosome is abnormal also must terminate.....

I've read that some girls who has the same condition like mine have had like 13 m/cs and still no baby...

scary and disappointed.

Lovinglife, yah, i am back to ttc. Thanks for sharing. I take EPO only before O, you are right after O cannot take so after O i replace with Flaxseed oil. Hmm, raw honey? Ok, i can add that to my daily cocktail of drugs! Anyway honey good for general health too!

Lynn, i also heard royal jelly not suitable for those with cysts threat. But i also read that if no cyst threat, take royal jelly can boost natural conception. Dont know how true but i am already at my wits end so kind of like anything eat wont die one i will try. Crazy? Maybe i will take alternate days to lessen risk of cysts.

Because i want to improve egg quality. I havent havent test for chromosome abnormality but after 2 IVFs and 10 embryos yet only the last one made it and that ended up also MC, i think i have an egg issue. Otherwise why cannot preggy or even when preggy is not normal. I also scared i keep trying will just keep failing so now trying to make a difference and take more supplements, hoping for a breakthrough!

You got seek 2nd opinion as to whether really no cure?

lynn, do you have any siblings whom also hv chromosome abnormality? ok, talk about the 50% chance, you still have 50% to give birth to a healthy baby! stay hopeful yah!

sunflower, yah, honey is good for immune system. strong body is essential before pregnancy! do you discuss the failures with your gynea?

sunflower seed: I think you should test! cause it might be the problem that is stopping u. and yes. IVF is not an option for me. cause same thing depend on luck also.

never seek 2nd opinion. we only found out after the foetus we sent for testing came back with the chromosome abnormality, before i got tested.

lovinglife: aye, i don't think so. my sister haven't get checked. get my mom to test also no use right? as far as i know, this kind of thing you can get it from either your parents if they are "carriers". and it could also be a de novo case only happen to you when in the womb.

the ratio is like 1 out of 500 newborns.

the other 50% consist of 25% totally normal baby and 25% same chromosome abnormality.

Lovinglife, my gynae cant pinpoint the exact failures but just say that it can be alot of factors from embryo quality to womb condition. But we know quality might be the issue because we always get average grade embryos only. So he gave me some supplements to take hope next round will be better, thats all.

Lynn, i also want to test but they didnt do chromosome test for me because only MC once. Think they will only do for those MC twice and more. So now i want to insist to test also cannot because no more POC left how to test.

Sometimes feel abit frustrated hoh that we have no control over this, can only keep trying and hope the next one stay! Like this, even become preggy already also have to be on tenterhooks. Sigh.

sunflower: no need POC. you can just ask your gynae about karotyping. It's done through a blood test. we did the testing was because gynae was also puzzled how come so young (i'm in my mid twenties) will keep miscarrying.
truned out the POC had balanced translocation - chromosome abnormality that's why my hubby and me got tested as well.

now that we know the problem.. get pregnant also not happy lo. cause also don't know will work out not.

i think DOM and yomeishu both contain alcohol in it? i took DOM and i think i'm pretty tolerant to alcohol. I can down more 1 cup neat. It's suppose to warm the womb

sunflower,
yeah, perhaps it's the supplemant you took. my body is also very sensitive to suplements or nutritious things. so, i usually avoid them when my mense is nearing and when my mense is present. If not, my mense will drag for 7 days!

lynn,
why is it IVF is not an option for you? I thought they will choose the good egg and good sperm?

my sunflower - i have not tried yomeishu. Only tried DOM, so can not comment on the difference.

aria - agreed, when my mense is near, i also try to avoid things that are too "bu". for example, once i was taking "bai feng wan".. my menses got delayed for 10 days. it is best to take after menses have cleared.

i think for many of us, the next TTC journey will also be a worrisome one!

hope you all have a restful and good weekend ahead...this has been a very hectic week for me at work!

Like Gitz & sunflower, my gynae told me yesterday that I have an empty sac, ie. blighted ovum at 6 weeks.

Gynae advised me to do a D&C next week. But I'm thinking of waiting until 8 weeks.

Any advice?

Thanks Lyn, i hope KKH can do for me, my gynae is at KKH but he sure dont allow cos i havent MC twice, sigh, must really wait till MC 2 times mey? Sigh. Am looking around for private clinic to do, saw that CARE have, maybe will find out more from there.

Ya hoh, why IVF is not option for you? Actually they can choose. They just have to do genetic testing and then transfer only the good embryos into you. Will cost more than normal IVF but i think if they can do that, you will surely preggy cos you can hold the baby just have to put in a good embryo.

Thanks Chinlee, maybe i will buy both and drink alternate. Haha, kill all my doubts about which is good and simply try both. I think i am crazy about all these supplements now, anything that dont kill, i eat and eat. What to do, so hoping next round will be normal and ok.

Paradox, i waited till week 8 because one of my friend has this experience at week 6 cannot see heartbeat, gynae ask her to D&C but she held on then week 8, just as she was about to D&C, they saw heartbeat! Baby is borned and coming 9 months already i think. So its up to you and your gynae whether want to wait abit more but its very stressful wait because alot of hoping.

Paradox - if you are not spotting / bleeding, I guess then the choice is really up to you whether you want to wait. I also contemplated waiting for a while cos I, too, read many stories about heartbeats being detected later..BUT, for me, I was bleeding (not spotting) for about 2 weeks already. I also starting cramping a bit.

sunflower_seed: I don't know why also. gynae just say not an option. I think its cause, IVF they just see that it become a foetus then just put into the womb already. I always cant cross the 7th - 8week. always gone at that time.

genetic testing and transfer is another process.. which i think currently singapore doesn't allow... cause its like choosing?

It's called PGD. From Wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preimplantation_genetic_diagnosis

now also dun know how. can just pray that the next one will work out only..

Hi sunflower seed

Thanks for sharing. I'm thinking of giving myself another chance so most probably will wait for another 2 weeks.

Hi chin

Me so far no spotting/bleeding. So thought of waiting for another 2 weeks.

Btw, how's the D&C like? Any pain?

Hi All.

I just had my D&C done
and the doctor is going to sent it to the lab to check on the reason of MC. Anyone here can advice how much will such test cost? Kinda of worried with the cost now....Sigh.

Im new here. Im glad I came to this forum and especially to this thread. It was rather comforting to read this thread.

I jus had my 1st m/c 2 weeks ago. It was really devastating and the fact that its my first preg. Sigh. Anyway, had a D&C done last week. So it has been about 1 week already after D&C was done. Surprisingly, im still bleeding. Ever since D&C was done, the bleeding kinda subside gradually to spotting, but suddenly yesterday i had fresh blood coming out (just like day 3 of menses). And now, it stops again. Weird huh?

Im curious, does anyone have any sort of infection after D&C was done?? Im beginning to feel slight discomfort on my lower right abdomen. Im so afraid that it will turn out to be a pelvic infection. Anyone experience this before??

Btw, im confused. Natural m/c doe not require any GA and scraping right, unlike D&C. For my case, my baby was expelled naturally (just like normal birth) with the help of some tablets taken before to dilate i suppose. Then next day, i had to wash my wom, which is then considered as D&C already right?

paradox - dun worry abt the physical pain for D&C - you will be under GA, and before you know it, it will be over and done with. there may be some slight discomfort immediately after, but the doc would have given you pain killer - so you will feel almost nothing. just have a good rest after that.

tiramisu - is this your first miscarriage? my doc said she wanted to check whether it was molar the last round, and she charged me about S$100+ for the test. i have not done any other test, and my doc does not seem inclined to.

first m/c they usually won't ask you to go for testing. I'm thinking if i should take any more tests to rule out any other factors.. but money-wise seems to be pretty expensive. :S

paradox
if no bleeding then no harm waiting till 8 wks for a miracle
but if bleeding esp like menses + blood clots.. pls do see gynae.

for D&C.. my gynae told me that we are being put on sedative and not GA leh

the only painful part was when she poke my veins on my hand to insert sedative.. after 1min then i black out then when i open my eyes.. i was back in the ward and din even realise that D&C had been done

for bleeding.. i only bleed for abt 3-4 days and its very light discharge like ending days of menses. once in a while will see abit of red.

i think my Gynae may hv wash my womb pretty clean

Bai Feng Wan
can tell me what is this for?

when will our menses come back?

not bleeding much is a good thing.

I only bleed for 1 day this time. after that slight spotting. on and off. damn sian. now still have.. a week after D&C already..

Lynn and Chin Lee,

This is my 2nd MC. It is really heart wrenching when I think about it.

Chin Lee- What is a molar test?

Lynn - My doc is sending for blood test and genetic testing. What test did you ur doc tested for? Dun mind to share with me your cost?