Support group - Miscarriages

thewife,

actually the cycle when I got pregnant, i went jogging straight after BD'g. In my mind I pictured the spermies falling downwards with every step I jog..haha but obviously that did not happen!

hey D_woof, u working odd hours one? Why somtimes wake up early smtimes late?

thewife, erm, i dun dare do anything strenous after my O leh. at least till my AF reports then i will exercise (but I dun exercise hor) or drink herbal drinks etc.

haahah, marble, u so gao xiao. Today my temp dip a little..36.74. yday was 36.79...

Hey Marble & Ryes,
really ah? Im in a dilemma, once to keep tone and go pilates tomorrow, but now considered as 2ww, dun know leh.
Err Ryes,
i think you can test this weekend already...try lah.

Ryes,
that's a small drop, i think not considered significant. agree with thewife, try tomorrow morning using first morning urine.

hey ladies,
hows sat? well ....i didnt go m'sia la.....go shop shop.....dunno y....the nagging backache is making me feel sick leh....like dun feel well/comfortable.....

somemore today got brown discharge.....my spotting stopped a few days after DC...now just a week past my DC, brown discharge....lok like those 1st day mens come that type...normal??rather worried.......

hey hey.....ya think better dun do anything strenous b4 u know u preggie....just take precautions la......

Hi ladies..

Yup..happy weekend! But almost one day gone already..

Hi cheezel..

Haha..not all the lumps or the bloody stuf. Jus the water bag or watever it was, that the baby was inside. Ya almost 2nd trimester that time..but not meant to be..well i hoping for the best this time around..

Hi ryes..

U can test sometime these few days..got any symptoms?

hey thewife,marble, cheezel and charis,

wah, u so xiao on one har? I very lazy to exercise leh, come home must do hsework, where got time...that time i once went jogging, wah, cannot make it, 3 rounds no breathe liao..muahaha.

i told hb say i dun want to test. I give up testing liao. coz hor, i will be VERY disappointed if it's a -. Then I got nothing to look fwd to and would keep thinking when AF coming. If I dont test, at least i can either hope AF dun come or hope for a miracle. I am looking fwd to seeing any symptoms, but so far nothing...today is CD15, no breast pain, but I feel is abit bigger lah, but probably coz I put on weight.

ah, got a little brown stain yday and today, not so sure if af might be coming or not, so wait and see lor.

Hi ryes..

Ok lah..dont stress u also. Jus wait n see..until yr AF dont show up within this week, when u see symptoms..or when u jus have the preggie feeling..then u test ok.

HI Cheezel,
same here, my backache is getting a bit worse.
Hey ladies,
do u completely recover from backache after the D&C? The only time I had backache was when preggie and after D&C. I dun understand why is it coming back? could it be that once we had it, it will come back everytime after ovulation?

need yr advice.... just discovered that baby heart beat has stop at week 7. Baby was beating well at wk 6
but it didnt cont'd. Am thinking shld i go for 2nd doc for confirmation. Also what is the process for removing
the baby. Is it a day surgery? What is 'mini-confinement'? How do i 'bu' my body after the ops?
Sorry for asking so many question cos i m pretty lost now....

Hi summer,

sorry to hear about your situation. Do get a second opinion if you're unsure and have doubts. Otherwise, my advice is to listen to your gynae's suggestion.

For removing the fetus, you can either let it bleed and come out naturally. or go for a D&C. A D&C is usually recommended to avoid complications like infections, retained tissues, etc. Yes, it will be a day surgery. You hubby can drop you off at the hospital in the morning and pick you up in the late afternoon to early evening.

For mini confinement I'm not an expert coz i never do. Maybe someone else can ans your qn.

Most important thing is to make sure you heal yourself emotionally. Cry it out if you need to. When you are done with griefing, move on, ya. Take care.

Hi Summer, this confinement suggestion was posted earlier by one gal. I've cut and paste it here for you. hope it helps.

Confinement Suggestion:

If you can go to Chinese sinseh and ask for "Sheng1 Hua4 Tang1"... it's to be drank after giving birth to remove all the "dirty blood".

Please abstain from any cooling / cold stuffs from now for the next 1 mth. also no prawns, sotong, crab... no liang and cold stuffs....cabbage, kang kong, etc.....
Just take more tonic and more ginger. Dun drink water. Drink red date, "Gou Qi Zi", Dried black Longan, "Dang3 Shen1", "Bei3 Qi3" and some ginger. Boil for 30-40 mins and drink as water.
It will help to get rid of the bloatedness, "Bu Qi", "Bu Xue", and "Ming2 Mu" - good for eyes....
it's very impt for you to take all the nutritional stuffs and also to get rid of the "wind" in the body. That way you will be able to nourish your body well.

1) Everyday drink the red date tea mentioned above like water. Dun drink water.
2) Morning drink a bottle of chicken essence on empty stomach. After 10-15 mins take your normal breakfast
3) Lunch/Dinner, mee sua with soup or tonic soup with rice and veg. and remember use lots of ginger.
4) drink DOM before you sleep every night.
Your body is in a very good state to absorb the most now. So, dun let it pass.... take as much as you can.

E.g of tonic soup.
1) "Dang Shen", "Bei Qi", "Huai Shan", Gou Qi Zi, black dates, add half/whole black chicken with 1 bowl of water and 1/2 cup of martel.
You can chose to fry some ginger slice with sesame oil and then add normal chicken followed with martel before pouring into slow cooker with the herbs to boil.
2) Fry ginger with sesame oil and fry some chicken/meat. Can add mushroom is you wan. add water boil and add some salt, pepper and soya sauce... after water boil add mee sua.
3) "Pao shen with Chong Chao" and gou qi zhi , black date with black chicken.
However, I have chosen to mill "Pao shen and chong cao" into powder. Can take 2-4 everyday during this period.
Remember to ask for "Lao Pao shen". It must be warm in nature. Not those cooling Pao shen
4) Fry ginger slices with sesame oil, add chicken dice, add mushroom... stir fry... add some seasoning, add 2 tablespoon of DOM and fry... then add a little of the mushroom water used to soak the mushroom. This also quite nice. Very sweet.
5) After your blood clear Totally, can drink "Dang gui bu xue Tang", "Ba Zhen" and "Bai Feng Wan" with black chicken
6) Liver soup - add water with ginger after boil, add mince meat balls, when almost cook, add liver (dun boil too long). add some soya sauce and some salt and pepper for taste. Can add mee sua to be taken as a meal

After blood clear totally, can add danggui. E.g
1) Chicken /Fish soup with black fungus, ginger slices, danggui, red date, add mee sua. Add some chinese red wine or XO just before you off the heat.
For the red date tea, after your blood clears, you can add danggui instead of dangshen and bei qi as mentioned above.

my sinseh adviced me to take for 30 days then can stop liao....after that drink the prescribe herbal soup once a week... :p

If start to feel heaty, then can start cutting down...

Use the herbs to shower, cos I felt it make a difference.

Depending on each person's constitution.. some are stronger, so can recover better. must just be safe then sorry lor.
Hope this is useful.

In case, u want to know the ingredients in Sheng Hua Tang... Managed to ask my mom to "kaypo" with the ppl in the chinese medical hall...

Dang Gui (radix angelicae sinensis)5-15g

Chuan Xiong (radix ligustici chuanxiong)3-10g

Tao Ren (semen persicae)6-12g

Pao Jiang (quick fried rhizoma zingiberis officinalis)2-10g

Zhi Gan Cao (honey fried radix glycyrrhizae uralensis)2-10g

Getting the ingredients yourself will be much more cheaper... Don't go Eu Ren Sheng to get... really very expensive...

hi marble

thanks for yr reply... I've ask the doc to do a 2nd scan for me to confirm before i go for the ops.
i m just in two minds whether to see another doc. Ya, i have a good cry yesterday and am ready to face it now.

wah Kim,
ur confinement really very detailed leh.....well i took those tonic soups n chicken essence.....once in a while i drink red date drink but not often......most of the time i drink plain water leh else very thirsty. my mom make the martel chicken soup for me......just pour the liqur into a mini claypot n put in drumstick n let it brew think....from morni to night...then will eat at night. quite tasty leh....hehe

Summer,
all of us gone thru this b4....ya....i still think te best is to cry out n u will feel better after tat...i just had my D&C last fri n ya it happen very fast n u will feel confuse at that moment......i didnt go for 2nd option....well cos i did blood test result and it is not promising for a preggie woman n i myself also didnt see bb heartbeat even though i m already into 7-8 weeks that time. at least u saw the heartbeat b4....i didnt even get to see....well...prob my bb didnt even develop till thre to see heartbeat........

D&C a very simple procedure...only abt 10min n its done...but my gynae put me to sleep during the process which i think is better rather than to endure seeing the whole process. i went thru the procedure like any patient going for a surgery. that time i admit into the hospital in the mornin at 7.30am n discharge ard 11+am...very fast. my hubby went with me n wait for me in the ward.....dun worry...just ask if u r not sure...

hey ryes,
just go for slow jog or even fast walk i think is good.....i may be starting exercising next week whe i back at work. prob go park for fast walk 1st instead of jogging......no need to go for marathon type leh....hehe.....

thewife,
well i have the same symtom as u leh....but my one is b4 preggie got backache then stop when i got preggie....after D&C, backache start again n worsen. my mom keep nagging that i didnt bed rest enuff.......which i think may not be true la ...dunno leh....or izzit our sitting posture not correct? but i find that i can stand or walk too much after D&C...get tired easily.....

Summer, are you having any symptoms of miscarriage? Eg. bleeding, cramps?

If no symptoms, I suggest you go to another gynae and pretend to be 'new patient'. Don't mention that you saw heartbeat b4 and see what the gynae says.

I have heard of cases where MTBs refused D&C, wanted natural miscarriage so they waited. 2 weeks later went back to gynae cos no spotting, no bleeding, no cramps. Turn out the baby's heartbeat was alright after 2 weeks. Baby's growth was also normal according to LMP date calculated.

Regarding mini-confinement, you need to do it cos D&C is just like giving birth. Have a week or 2 off work to do a mini confinement. It makes you feel better also. During this time can sort out your thoughts and prepare yourself to answer questions that others might ask.

second opinion,
i have slight cramps initially...but then after it stop.....scan shows no heartbeat, waterbag not growing since last visit and theres blood clot ard the waterbag.....i ddint go for second opinion.....cos blood test also confirm my fear.

summer
agree though...theres no harm in going for a second opinion consider there heartbeat at week 6 n week 7 no have lia...i have a colleague who was into 10weeks, saw the bb hearybeat but when she went back to visit the gynae again at week 12, no heartbeat detected....but when she did V scan, then can see......
......so no worries ok.....

Hi summer,

Im truly sorry for what u are going thru..most of us have been in similar situation. I also heard the heartbeat in the 6-7 weeks..then at 8th week, gynae cant detect the heartbeat. I was really numb..cant describe the feeling..but my gynae was still optimistic n told me to wait 1 more week..But i decided to see a 2nd opinion who told me worse news..that the baby is gone, either absorbed by the placenta or dispelled into the placenta..at that point i didnt have any bleeding..I was devastated..The way the 2nd gynae described my scan was scary as if my baby who was jus there the previous week, had 'broken' into many pieces..I cried for days. But after praying..we decided to go for 3rd opinion..Amazingly he found my baby..intact..but sadly couldnt hear the heartbeat. Anyway, I decided to wait for a natural miscarriage to follow..which happened only about 1 week later.

My advice is..no harm to get a 2nd opinion. I can recommend a gynae from Gleneagles, Dr. Fong C.W. He was my 3rd gynae..my friend saw him too when her previous gynae couldnt find her other twin..then Dr. Fong, found her other twin. He's very skilled with the ultrasound, very good equipment, very experienced.

Take care. Keep us updated.

Hi cheezel..

Backache could be a muscle strain..basically cause of posture or not enough rest. Anyway, when did u have the D & C? It shouldnt be because of the D & C.

Hi cheezel..

I guess for u a blood test was done, n it showed yr HCG has dropped drastically..was that true? I guess the gynae should be able to tell..

However, low HCG may not be a definite indication that a miscarriage has happened..It could mean jus a threatened one..Some women have low HCG..but if its steadily increasing, could mean the pregnancy is stabilising. Also HCG is a very wide range that differs from woman to woman.

hey ryes,
not working odd hours lah..but juz tat itz later than office hour....so sometimes i slp late n wake up late lor.....

summer,
sori to hear tat..but i guess u heed the advise of other gals here recommended...maybe there's a miracle..so go for second opinion...

marble,
tat's amazing leh..i oso thot tat after BD n if u stand up immediately or go for exercise, the spermies will flow out..din know tat it can get preggie...so i guess the spermies muz b fast swimmers...hehe

cheezel,
yah I had a fixed gynae in singapore but only can be fixed when i come back sg by end nov bah. It is quite troublesome now, becos i dunno the gyneas here well, and before anything lese, i will be transfer to another place. I must transfer my record back to sg gynae too. I will talk to my sg gynae when I come back sg in jul.

wah sey, so many posting today har...

Hey charis, today housework day leh, so tiring. Then today raining also, woke up late, so just went to my mum's place for makan. WEnt NTUC to shop instead lor. haha.

hey marble, today temp is 36.74, same as yday leh, no chance. But hor, after that I went back to sleep, then woke up at 11am, 36.92 leh. Maybe it was hot, coz hb off the aircon at 8am liao.

Hey summer, sorry to hear about that. Seems like most of the girls have given good advice to heed. Do keep us updated and be strong.

hi Charis,
i took the blood test on 2 separate occasion to compare the hcg level. though the level is within the limit, but the increase in hcg level only a little....not even half of what it should be...plus the fact that the water bag is notgrowing at all n my yolk sac has increase in size to what it should be....my gynae told me normally the max size for yolk sac should be ard 0.5cm but my one increase by 0.18 in just 2 days .....

i did my D&C last fri.....i also think prob not enuff rest ba......anyone heard of "Bu Yao Jing"......my mom say drink tat one also quite good......u gals try b4?

icy,
when ur hubby working, what u doing? since u all in other countries...u wander ard n shop shop yourself?

Cheezel,

Is that the "Du zhong bu yao jing", the one advertised on TV endorsed by Xubing the DJ? I got a bottle for my dad but thot of buying another for myself.

Cheezel, sorry to hear about your loss. Remember to take good care of yourself now and build up your body. After 1-2 cycles you can start trying again as long as you feel your body is ready.

Usually immediately after m/c and birth, females will become very fertile. High success rate if TTC during this timing.

You can see for yourself the number of mummies that got preggie so quickly after m/c in this forum. Feeling sad is hard to avoid, but it is the future that we should worry about, not hang on to the past.

This child will always be in your heart, but the next child will be in your arms.

hey D_woof, damn tiring one leh hor. lucky I am not the one in charge to mop the whole house. hahaha.

hey charis, now of course dear hubby have to take over liao leh...u must rest and rest, when u have graduated to 2nd trimester, then the more u must rest liao lor..

hi second opinion, why not sign in and join us here. Have u had mc before?

marble,

today my temp dro again leh, drop by 0.04..how
36.74 to 36.70. seems like it is going dwn and dwn.....

marble,
i dont know the Du Zhong Bu Yao Jing leh....didnt notice that it advertise on tv le.....where do u buy/? izzit from those chn medical hall?

hey ryes,
u ave how many of the strips on hand now....u buy in bulk ??

Hi Ryes,
rather than see temp drop and feeling disappointed, do u want to test and get the answer soon, if it fails, at least you can prepare yourself 'emotionally' for the second round. BTW 0.04degree drop is insignificant. You may have a dip on DPO12 which is a sign of pregnancy, maybe thats why the symtoms not so strong yet. If your AF still not here at DPO16, there's hope. A normal couple takes about 6mths to 1 year to conceive.

hey thewife,

haha, I starting to get on ur nerve liao har...keke. No lah, I will still wait til end of this month. Once this month pass and my Af is still not here and after test I am still not expecting, then may need to go see gynae for advice liao...

Ryes,

I salute your ability to "ren"!

abt the HPT, I know if I keep some at home, my itchy fingers will sure want to test like on dpo9 or 10. So I think better don't buy first. sorry hor..

cheezel, got the du yao jing at shop n save supermarket.

hey marble,

muahahah, coz i already half hearted lor. Will update all once i test in July yeah.

np abt the kits, no need sorry one lah.

marble.
just now saw the bu yao jing at shop n save....no buy cos i thought can get fr ntuc ma...wo knows go ntuc, they sell the big botle one only....so i no buy lo.....nvm la my mom wil buy for me when she go out at night again later.....

ryes,
tat time preggie, my temp also shot up high high n feel hotter as what thewife say....my normal temp also ard urs but when preggie shot higher.....but nevertheless, it may diff fr indiv la....

ryes,
wow..ur tolerence level very high hor.....if i were u, i'll be very worried and then will test again..if not i will see a gynae...i've a colleague who onli get to know tat she is preggie when she is 3mths...haha

hey ladies,
toking abt temp...my temp oso siao siao one....i dun wake up the same timing everydae so the temp fluctuate as the time....wake up early, temp will be lower than the time i wake up late...does tat affect?
todae oreadi CD12 liao....hehe gng to use the OPK soon..first timer so a bit excited...

hey d woof
your colleague must be the type who's not planning but got it lor...always like that...
must test temp at the same time. get higher when its later...

hi thewife,

I'm only CD6 today. I'm on clomid this cycle.

My BBT these days have gone higher for both follicular and luteal phases. My follicular phase can be as high as 36.52 and luteal as high as 36.9. I think maybe "bu" too much liao.

Share with u all something my TCM dr told me:
- follicular phase temp too high no good.
- The jump in BBt during ovulation should also be a big leap, like 0.3 degree at least. if it rise slowly bit by bit, also no good.
- ovulation happen too early in the cycle also no good. could mean egg quality not so good.

oh, last time i no take the BBT when preg, only started after my m/c, so tot 36.6 already considered high up leh...mmm

Aiyah D_woof, I also gan cheong to find out, but then just that I starting to have this thinking to know later than now leh. Also duno why. Now my nipples are soring...maybe good sign, but dun want to be disappointed.

hey ladies,
after D&C, do u gals experience soreness below ard that area? dunno if it s cos when i wipe too hard after urine or "big business" or cos its infection??.......saw it abit pinkish there leh.....

thewife,
bo bian lah...sometimes late so juz take the moment i wake up n reach for the thermometer...

hey ryes,
i read ur notes tat u haf provided....muz i follow exactly what is stated?
like testing b/w 2-8pm is highly recommeded, limit fluid intake app 2hrs, no urinating for 3-4hrs b4 testing etc....