Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

CSI: Yup! Of course, these days must save when we can... *wink* BTW, which cc r u sending your gal to? I'm still looking for a suitable 1 for #2.

Tx again ladies. Yeah, my hormonal imbalance also reason why I was turning on and off easily like a faucet

CSI: Pull ups vs diapers - shd go hand in hand w when you start her potty training routine. This way easy to follow up @ home and sch. For B1 I switched her to diaper pantz when she moved from Infant Care to PG. In PG the teachers also reinforce potty training by telling them to inform the teachers if they need to go. In B1's case we also tell her to tell mommy and daddy as well except it's been derailed a bit in the late stage of my preg -- too tired to get her to sit on potty when she wakes. So end up lately her diaper's veri full in morning... Think 3yr gap also may be better when planning for 2nd kid i.e. more time to get 1st one potty trained b4 next kid arrives...

Any1 tried NTUC diaper pantz or the new MP Value Diaper Pantz? Both are quite cheap.

Hi kidzskidz,

The Mamy Poko Value Pull-up pantz are not too bad. Relatively value for money when u potty trained them. But i realise the elastic band around the waist are more broader in comparison to Huggies pull-ups.
I saw it at Giant IMM (over the wkends)is having a promotion, selling close to $12/pk.
Cold Storage also hv a promotion too - $12.50/pk til 29Apr.
Fyi, normal retail price at $13.90
Hope it helps ...

EmQ,
I'll be sending her to Learning Vision @ Republic Poly. Coz hb is staff there. got staff rate. And he'll send her to cc everyday lah. since he has to be there anyway. On days when he doesn't have class, he'll still bring her there, coz he has other work to clear. haha.

hmmm...potty training routine. Erm, huh? what's that? wahaha...
Is it every 30min or so, bring her to sit on the potty?

wah today everyone so active

can we have a review on pull up pants for those who have tried? i quite like the huggies ones, but find that it can't absorb as much as pampers active. i haven't really gone to compare prices but most are around $0.50 to $1 yah?

kidz
stuck on you is the one i saw before! was trying to recall the name but just couldn't.. thanks for the link.
don't be too hard on yourself, B1 sounds like a really lovely gal, i'm sure all kids need some time to adjust...

Isobellies,

Hmm ... didn't try the pampers active since beginning '07.
Realise not as good after Pampers have changed their packaging. In fact, give up after the gel content give way most of the time.
For Huggies pull ups, generally have to be pull to the navel area but i let my kids to wear during the night and can withstand more than 12hrs. But the strange thing is can't wear the pull ups during the day time even for a short period, said ~5hrs ... from experience, it certainly will leak and i wouldn't want to try again.
Prefer Huggies pull-ups is bcoz its high cut and will not result too lumpy when they just peed once.

Iso: Previously ppl had to order Stuck On You labels fr their Aussie base bt now they hv Sgp agent which makes it easier. I didn't know til I Goggled y'day that they even have kitchen labels. But the BP link that EmQ gave is also quite good, think the person gets it fr HK or Taiwan?

Regarding pull ups, we stl get Nepia. Tho B1's on their Big (26 pcs) now. Stuck to Nepia for quality - can hold quite a bit of pee, gathers are softer, waist is high enough to prevent leaks for B1 who likes sleeping on tummy. Actually GOO.N's better but their website prices went up -- bit cheaper to get thru their G Market deals.

Joo: The MP value pants has broader waist in what sense? It suits bb w broader waistline or that the gathers at the waist is higher? If latter, wld be suit my B1 to prevent leaks when she slps on tummy.

I agree with Kidz that diaper pants are great for toilet training. It give the child the independence yet the security that they will not dirty themselves.

MP Value Pants:
I love these! They are great for #2. She's petite so the cutting fits her fine - but it does show bits of the buttocks - like a semi g-string. Quite cute for now...

DryPants:
These work fine for #2 too.

Pampers Pants/ Huggies/ MP Pants/ Nepia Pants:
Used during #1's time. Find their quality all ok. But that was long ago... have not used them since.

With 3 kids now, MP Value Pants & DryPants are great for #2. They are very cheap (only marginally more expensive than the diapers) & since #2 does not have sensitive skin, ther's no issue with the cheap diapers/pants. I hope #3 will be the same. So far, she's ok with Drypers for day, Pampers/Fitti/MP for nights.

Kidz: If we focus on the challenges of bringing up kids, no age gap is 'good'. There are pros & cons for every range of age gap. If they are 'too close', they are a handful when young, but they are also fantastic playmates! If they are 'too far apart', things may be easier to manage but it's like starting all over again, for each stage of their lives! Be it night feeds, toilet training, pre-schooling, primary school, secondary school, college, BGR... till they are really grown up.

Well, call me 'lucky' cos I've both! Gap between 1&2 is big (5yrs+) so it was 'reset' after 5.5yrs. Gap between 2&3 is small (18mths).. handful but in a way, it was just like an extension of #2's babyhood... I find everything very ez... in fact cos #2 is petite compares to her 2 sisters, #3 can wear #2's clothes soon as #2 outgrows them. I dun even have to pack & store away! & for some diapers, they can even wear the same size! & I'm looking forward to the period when they both drink the same formula milk... dun need to store diff types, just so convenient!

CSI: Cool! If I'm not wrong, that's the cheapest LV after working mother subsidies & staff discount. I'm still looking for a suitable cc in the vincinity for #2 where the price is more reasonable. If all else fails, she'd just have to wait till Dec 09 - has been assured a place in LV, MOE cos #1 was from there.

Iso/ Kidz: I love the Stuck On You Labels... but they are pricey compared to the BP I get my stickers from. Quality is good yet cheaper than local shops. Just that will need to wait for awhile for items to arrive.

Oh....I like Stuck On You labels. Very nice....but a bit ex. That stickers BP...I like the idea of the cloth labels. Good for clothing/towels. But dunno when will that mummy start her BP again.

MP value pants...haha. so cute...EmQ, ur gal so sexy yah? ahhaha...semi g-string. Ok, time to trial and error the various brands on pull ups.

EmQ: haha, MP revealing ah... so ironic coz MP always known 4 being super chunky leh
u reali hv best of both world w the two age gaps and so gd no nd 2 buy new clothes. Same when i was growing up as i was part of 3 girls - no brothers. Bt my elder sis' 6 yrs older yet my mom wld kp the clothes 4 me & my younger sis 2 wear. Sometimes even b4 my foot cld fit the shoes my mom wld stuff hankies in them so i cld clomp around in them...

CSI: Just try to PM or email xue ren lol... I'm thinking to do that too... hahaha... been following that thread & since she need to get some replacement for the wrong ones, maybe can add on our orders... then she also no need to pay BP charge... *wink*

& good time to get the MP Value Pants to try now... cos on offer. Or if u want, you can get 2 pcs from me to try lol... I'm at West Coast.

EmQ,
good idea! Will PM xue ren to see how. Coz she may need some MOQ to order...

MP value pants on offer ah? hmmm...where is it sold? NTUC? Coz I dun see it at the Sheng Shiong at my parents' place...Thanks for your offer...
Can I? Can I get 2 pcs from you to try? Do you have enough? If not, it's ok.
I'll just go buy...since on offer. hehs...

CSI: Giant selling at $11.90 & NTUC selling at $11.85. However, not sure when the offer will end.

You are most welcome to pick up from my place. I don't think it'd be worthwhile to send via post. Cos figure the postage would cost as much as the diaper itself.

I'll PM my contact to you.

hi ladies.. very long nv post. too busy.
kidz /EMQ: congrats!

i have been using MP value pants. cheapest to get frm carrefour when there is sale. $6 for L20. so works up to be $12 for 40pcs for L size. whereas the normal L38 is also $12. u get extra 2pcs.

u can't get any cheaper than tat. cheers!

Ryan turned 1yo on march 10th. had small party.

pet
welcome back! long time never hear

i just bought a whole load of pampers dry (it was on sale at cold storage, cheaper than petpet?!) and pampers active (on sale at NTUC), think i've got enough diapers for the next 4 months probably, haha..

EmQ
if got stickers BP again, let us know k, i already let the organiser know i'm keen too, hee.

EMQ,

Ok ok...thanks! like that ah...I'll go NTUC to get lah, since it's on offer and NTUC is just downstairs from my parent's place. heehee...thanks!!

hey any mummies got any comments on MMI? my SIL has been searching for a playgroup kind of thing to put our nephew, and there's one near my office - might be convenient for me to put E there a few days a week at the end of the year or early next year...

Iso: Sure, I'm on the lookout too. Will update if I've news.

CSI: No problem... btw, MP Value Pants is also on offer in Carrefour. I saw it today ($11.90).

I've 2 pkts of MP Value pants (1 'M' size and 1 'XL' size) for sale. Bot for my girl but I find it a hassle to put on for her as she keeps struggling. Maybe she's too young.

Bot at $12.50/pack (40pcs), if any of you keen, can collect from my home in Clementi for $10/pk. Do PM me

Kidz, haven't had time to visit you and bb Seb, hope you're coping well!

You ladies won't believe this - I went to the dentist on Sun due to a bad toothache. The dentist told me he can't see any cavity but noticed I had sinus problem -- suggested it was due to my sinus as I was indicating that more than 2-3 molars in a row seemed to be aching. Saw the GP, got medicine but didn't work. Pain was worst today so I went back to the dentist, waited an hour since I didn't hv appt -- and he refused to see me. I wanted an x-ray done but he said he can't do anything for me and asked that I go to a specialist @ Ave 2! I called another dentist @ Hong Leong Garden which I've gone to years ago, the clerk told me must do x-ray to find out if there's any micro cavity. I gotta go there at 3.45pm later and do x-ray + wait till the dentist has seen all his patients before he can see me. Hopefully it's not a root canal problem...
Wah, things really haven't been going so well these past 3 weeks leh, already so tired and now kena this too... <sigh>

Btw, anyone signed up as AWARE member to vote at this Sat's EGM (whether for or against new exco...)? Or already an existing mbr? Can't believe what's going on there but it is worrying for me as a mommy to know that their sch ed prog on sexuality do touch on homosexuality and that they had a few other activities centred around this theme too... <double> What is this world coming to? I sometimes wonder how much worst would it be by the time our kidz grow up...

kidz
i heard about sinuses can give you toothache - i think i might have heard them mention that they can do something to clear the sinuses, but i think not every dentist can (or want to?) do...

i went for an AWARE meeting years ago, like almost 10 years ago, when constance singham was the president. i felt that they were quite feminist, and i remember this one chinese lady in her late 30s who kept talking about her swiss bf (puke). my friend and i joined the meeting out of curiosity, and we couldn't wait to get out.

so i haven't been interested in what's been going on at all, haha..

what do the sch ed programmes consist of??

sinuses can cause toothaches? oooh...I didn't know. Hope yours is not a big problem, Kidz...

I never wanted to join AWARE as I had always felt that they can be super duper firm (or extreme) about their stand on feminism, which is not really my cup of tea. I'm more for balance....

Would be interesting to see the outcome of this Sat's EGM...the whole saga is getting qutie funny...shouting matches etc?? Haiz.

Kids: Yes, sinuses can cause 'toothache', headaches, even nausea, giddiness &amp; vomitting! My HB just saw the Dr on Sun! HB got up feeling giddy &amp; vomitted. He had thought it was food poisoning or some virus... it turned out to be his sinus! Previously, he had also gone to the dentist thinking it was a toothache. But was subsequently sent to the Dr for sinus issues instead. It seems that swollen sinus press on our nerves, causing pain &amp; depending on the area, the pain is presented as 'toothache', 'headache', &amp; when it pressed on the nerves in the ears, can cause giddiness &amp; vomitting.

EmQ: I know flu can sometimes result in vertigo - I kena twice b4 where the room spins n I felt like throwing up...

Anyway I saw the 2nd dentist yday n got x-ray done. My left sinus was cloudy but the nerve in my problem molar looked funny too. Ended up I had root canal done where the dying nerve was dug out n temp filling put in. The pain's gone n tho the molar (or shell) is stl there, I do hv a weird empty feeling too in the left of my mouth as if there's a gap
I gotta go back 2wks 4 job 2 b completed. I admit I don't go to the dentist regularly n y'day was like a nightmare compounded w 4 jabs (quite painful this time...), lotsa drilling n scraping as the dentist dug out the nerve... n I nd 2 go thru some of dat agn in 2wks! <sigh>

AWARE: Didn't realise it was so strongly feministic. Hmm, wonder how the male mbrs get draw in or feel beiong part of it all...? Also, I'm curious if most of the mbrs are single or married... But yeah, the whole saga or drama getting quite out of hand til ministers also issue caution n MOE issue statement.

<font color="0000ff">B2 turns 1MO this Sat!</font>
Time sure flies if I'm not in pain (stl got some in that problem tooth!) So excited abt B2 turning 1MO! He's putting on so much weight tho I don't hv an accurate scale to weigh him on bt I think he's abt 4.5kg @ least. He's latching on and drinking like a barracuda -- growth spurt lor. Altho he can drink for 10mins or more, he'd fall asleep @ the breast and then milk wl flow out of his mouth coz he didn't swallow. He's also hard to burp and even after successful burping, wl regurgitate milk. I kp telling him milk is precious and initially I worried if he was able to take in enough bt at the rate he's growing, I realise that's the least of my problem!

2day I sent B2 to CC and her teacher had a moment to bluetooth me a video she took of B1 -- bfdg the class doll. So funny! B1 bfd the doll in an sitting position, then even lay down next to the doll like I do when I bfd B2 in bed. After all's done, B1 even burped the class doll. That's when I noticed the doll wasn't wearing anything any her dress!!!

<font color="119911">Pet:</font> Hey! Ryan must be veri big now and walking or running oledi? Btw, r u stl in insurance? It is Pru or AIA or...?

I'm trying to find out abt policies for children illness. Heard fr ex-colleague AIA recently launched new one that covers HFMD, dengue, etc. Any mommy got feedback/info to share?

kidz: i'm wif prudential. IMO, a general medical policy is better to cover everything under the sun rather than juz a handful of illness.
juz like IMI juz launched a SARS/H1N1 policy... a little redundant, i feel.

JTS - sheng siong is selling MP Value Pk @ $11.65 (L20 * 2pks)

wow, that's cheap for pullups! maybe i should get some to try

kidz
omg so cute! kids are really so good at observing and learning and copying....

<font color="119911">Pet:</font> Tx for the advise. Wl do more research

<font color="0000ff">Iso:</font> So copycat rite? And gd reminder to watch ourselves. Oledi B1 has been picking up our "Aiyohs" and "Baby ah!" that she says it before we do whenever she's been naughty... On the other hand, it wld be pretty strange if she's the only one in her class to go around spouting perfect Queen's English...

arrgghhh...I haven't been able to post during office hours. coz my office comp dun allow us to post, but we can view. sianz!! but now that I'm at my parent's place, I can post!! hahaha...

Kidz, hahaha...you B1 is sooooo cute!!

Louisa has been saying "manz", "lah", "aiyoh" after me!! OMG! hahaha. if I finish my sentence with "manz..." (like, "what is this manz...?" or "wah lau") she will say the same thing too. I really have to watch my singlish hahaha...really terrible (me).

Hi to all mummies:
It's been a long while since I last shared my comments here. Talking about our precious ones in this thread... Well, mummies - just wonder how often do you change milk bottles &amp; teats?

Kidz: Congrats to BB#2!! As for BB#1 - involve her , praise her &amp; hug her as an assurance. I felt the same way as your BB#1 when I had a baby brother at 19mths. Til now I remembered. Siblings rivary starts...

All mummies:
Anyone out there knows 'AMWAY'?

kidz/CSI: Yup... I notice #2 has been copying #1's speech alot! She started sprouting 'wah lao eh' &amp; 'wah bianz'... I faint.... &amp; to think HB finds it amusing... sigh..

<font color="0000ff">EmQ:</font> Haha, who's the 1 dat ur #1 is copying "wah lao eh" etc from? My hubby and I also find it amusing right now bt itz like setting ourselves up against ourselves in the future rite? Somemore if they pick up all these funny lingo now, how to undo later... Heehee, we really got our work cut out for us!

<font color="aa00aa">CSI:</font> Has ur gal started finishing ur sentence for you yet? It'll be interesting when dat happens! Prob 'tak boleh tahan' for you tho...'

<font color="ff6000">Angela:</font> Tx! And welcome back! How hv u been and ur girl (right?) Hope u'll hv more x to post and share more motherhood experiences
I actually nvr changed milk bottles for B1 when she was in infant care. Bt recently a fren told me she buys new ones every 6M coz she read somewhere it's the way to go. I did change the teat tho coz had to correspondence according to B1's ability to suckle. Regarding 'AMWAY', I've been introed to the prdts by a couple of colleagues bt I nvr bought anything. One of them hv been using 'AMWAY' health supplements + household cleaning prdts for @ least 3yrs and swears by them. R u representing 'AMWAY' or thinking of doing dat? I'm too lazy for these kind of things. Also I don't really hv brand loyalty (xcept diapers for the bbs) -- juz stall loyalty: makan stalls dat is...

Here's a pic of B2. Weighed him @ my office last Fri and he's already 5.1kg! Was there to give out full mth goodies. He turned 1MO last Sat, 9th. This photo taken @ abt 2WO. Bt he looks veri much like his jiejie when she was NB. Her looks changed quite a bit so I expect his wl too

2451100.jpg

CSI
your co. blocked posting?? so many people posting on the forums at work? hee..

limangela
change every few months? i think avent recommends 3 months or something..

kidz
wow! 1 month 5 kg already! good "job" :D

kidz: I think it's probably school &amp; also MIL... HB &amp; I dun really use such language... then again, there might have been slips of the tongue moments also... but definitely more from school... hahaha... But really, once they start school, there's no stopping them pickng up stuffs like that... like you mentioned, we can't expect them to sprout perfect Queen's English... they use such language to blend in too...

5kg at 1mth... wow... I think #3 was only 4kg+ at 1mth. At 3mths, she was 5.7kg &amp; Mon at her 4mths jab, she was only 6kg, 62cm. She looks chubby, but certainly does not weigh in though..

kidz,
not yet ah...she hasn't started completing our sentences yet. hehs...

B2 is really cute....!!

limangela,
I changed according to baby's sucking needs. haha. The recommended time frame is 3 mths I think. but coz I have several teats in use each day, so each teat is only used...once a day, kinda thing. So I don't think the "wearing out" would be that quick. Hehs...so I only changed according to my gal's needs.

Iso,
yah manz...must be lah. heehee...

Argghhh!!!

Stupid maid!! I bought a new milk powder dispenser, coz am preparing to send my gal to cc. My gal wanted to play with it, so I opened the packaging and told maid to wash it. I didn't tell her to sterilize it (instructions on the munchkin packaging is not to sterilize). Had expected maid to just wash with detergent and leave it at the drying rack. So I went to bathe my gal.

After that, I wanted to prepare some water for my gal to drink. Opened up the sterilizer, and OMG....the BN milk powder dispenser was inside it!! That stupid maid kay kiang go and sterilize the dispenser!! #$@$&amp;^!! Other times, tell her to do something, miss out steps. This time, never tell her to do, she go and add extra step of sterilizing the plastic dispenser. In the end...the whole plastic dispenser melted!! The milk powder dispenser was warped out of shape coz of the heat from the sterilizer. And it wasn't just the milk powder dispenser in the sterilizer. All my gal's milk bottles and teats (5 sets) were in there too...!!!

shit lah...now dunno if the bottles and teats will be affected or not. Dunno if can still use those bottles and teats? Anyone knows if it's still ok to use?

@#$%#@-ing stupid maid. Just too proud to ask and clarify. And she's been here with me for 8 mths already!! still like that. Money wasted on the BN dispenser is small thing. The biggest worry is whether the milk bottles and teats can still be used. Arrgghhh!!!! @#%$^@$ (dun mind the language...hahaha)

omg... CSI: haiz.. cool down...
ur bottles bpa free mah? i'll suggest u change the teats juz to be safe.
if bottles r not bpa free, then juz wash and re-sterilise again. i think is ok.

Pet,
yah, that's what I'm thinking of doing too...but even if the bottles are BPA free, the milk powder dispenser thingy is not leh (tha'ts why cannot sterilize). Then would anything be "released" in the heat and "land" on the bottles? Then is the sterilizer ok? Haha...I mean, coz whatever that was "released" in the heat can also "land" on the insides of the sterilizer right? hahaha...oh am I just worrying too much? hehs

CSI: Oh dear. Also nt sure if the rest of the items are stl useable. If itz us, my hubby wld surely tell me to change everything - he's the cautious type. Bt ultimately up to you.

Baby's weight: Someone in the Apr MTB thread has a 1MO who's 11kg <faintz> If that happens to me, I can't imagine how to carry the bb leh -- oledi my arms aching fr B2's >5kg...

<font color="0000ff">Recommended: Usborne's Touchy Feely Books -- "That's Not My..." Series</font>
Hey, my B1 really loves these and my colleagues tell me their kidz do too. Can borrow fr library or buy BN fr Kino as well as Carrefour. The pages have different textiles to give the kidz a more interesting 'reading experience'. I've already bought 3 of these for B1 after she enjoyed the few I borrowed fr library (I had to clean those 1st...) This is a link to Usborne (UK publisher) website, the books I've gotten for B1 are under the "That's Not My..." series, 7th category in the page this link will bring you to http://www.usborne.co.uk/catalogue/browse.asp