Mummies staying at Eunos / Bedok Reservoir / Geylang

Hi mommies...
I am an eastern mom too... staying at telok kurau. My boy is 15 months old.

xiaochuan,
the bp got the 3L n 6L that u n Tan Leng Leng wants?? i interested in gettin the 1.5L.

poky,
waiting for her to reply lor.

I think 1.5L is very small.
We have a 6L at home, with 2 inner pots,
it's just nice for a family of 4 person.

leng leng,
cos i cookin only my gal porridge portion... only 2 tablespoon of porridge. if get the big one, also cant fill up the bottom... or is it that once the water boiled le, even when it slowly cooked, bcome lesser to cover the bottom, stil b ok??? i tried using a slow cooker le. out slightly more water to make it tahan til i back from work, the water will overflowed. water lesser, the porridge get burned..... sigh.... so hv to revert to daily cooked the porridge using gas cooker when i back from work... but also hv to rush, cos it near my gal bed time. she get fussy also... =( any advices???

poky,
the "system" won't work if it's less than half filled.

What I did last time for our #2 was,
I cook porridge in a connieware pot for me & for him too;
1. wash rice in pot, add water, bring to boil without cover
2. while waiting for rice+water to boil, chop/cut ingredients & "standby"
3. when water boil, stir, then let it boil for another 5mins
4. then throw in all the ingredients
5. wait for pot to boil... ... ...
6. then cover with lid & off fire

then go & do "my stuffs", wash clothes, bath, etc, etc... return to pot after half hour

7. on fire, stir, boil without cover again for 5mins
8. cover with lid & off fire

Prepare the table, utensils or even bath our boy...
Next trip to the pot, porridge should be ready to eat.

Ingredients I used... Mix & match...
Fish - cod, thread fin, ikan bilis, silver fish, salmon, etc.
Meat (mostly mince) - Pork, chicken, beek (when I buy from store, I'll "flatten" in a plastic bag with a bottle, then "break" into small pieces & throw into porridge directly when cooking)
Fiber - carrot, potato, pumpkin, cabbage, cauliflower, broccoli, corn, green peas, etc.
Misc. - Egg, tofu, tau kau, apple, banana, etc.

HTHs.

leng leng,
now currently using cornieware to cook lor. but by the time i reach, left with an hr plus to cook,feed n bath her b4 her bed time... my dinner always eat in the car while on the journey to fetch her. so the porridge will only b cookin her portion. huh... then the magic pot wont work for me le... need at least half, my gal confirm cant finish...

my cookin method abt the same... but i all the way without the lid... will wait for water to boil le,, swtich off so that the water does not overflow... start again, then boiled another 15mins for it to b cooked... then serve my gal liao... my gal til now eat porridge, eat till dirty cat... so we only wipe her down after she finished her "dinner", n juz b4 bed time. =p

silver fish, is it the small little fish?? where to buy ah?? meat hvnt started.. so far only vege, fruits n fish... =p now juz started egg yolk.

poky,
maybe cook & freeze the "Ingredients" into portions during weekends,
just bring to boil with white porridge during weekdays?

Another method is to cook using "rice cooker",
works the same for me,
but use more electricity...

Cover with lid after fire is off,
it'll accelerate the cooking.

leng leng, only vege r steamed n freeze in small portion, fruits freeze as puree. but egg yolk hv to boiled when eatin rite? or can use freezin also?. i even the rice is grinded so tat faster to cook.. =p

is it? cover lif after fire is off, will accelerate?? oki.. will try the nxt time i cook her porridge... =) thx for the tip!!

poky,
I wash the egg clean clean & dump into the porridge,
comes out as hard boil egg.

Works like a "pressured" lid,
with pressure, cook faster.

leng leng...

aiyah... think wont work for me also le... cos my porridge really v little... cannot cover even half the egg.... =p

leng leng,
also got give her brown rice cereals for noon. but tot to give "fresh" food also... mayb consider cook more, then i store the balance in chiller, nxt day bring to work, heat up n eat as breakfast?? lolx....

leng leng,
u using the 6L rite? it one big pot or 2 x 3L pots?? Can use one 3L pot n put in the chef alone? Or must cook both pots together for the "system" to work???

leng leng,
thx so much for the advices n info. =)

btw, so still takin from the BP?? i still interested in gettin the 1.5L even after buyin the 6L. =p

count me in hor.

Leng Leng,

sure this chef thingy can work without fire ahh?
Nw, i use a lazy way of doing porridge. I juz put the rice into steamer, add a bit more water... then 30 min later got the porridge liao.
No fire.. cos i lazy mummy... dun like to keep watching.. sometime will forget.
I out in veg n fish 5min before i serve the food.

xiaochuan,
u still need to bring the inner pot to boil,
then put the inner pot into the thermal pot to "carry-on" cooking...

Hey, good idea too,
which steamer are you using?
So the veg & fish have to cook beforehand right?

Hi Leng Leng

I m using the Tefal steamer (those that people use to steam corn at pasar malam).
No need to cook veg and fish beforehand. Juz drop those into the porridge 5 min before serving and let it steam lor (otherwise, over steam)
For carrot/ dried scallop/ wolfberry, i will put it in with the rice at the beginning... ahahahahha
Opps! Nw u all know how lazy i am liao....

Happy Niu Year!

Juz would like to share with u something on the thermal pot thingy.

I saw something similar at Isetan juz now.
$39 for 1.8litres; $45 for 2.5litres version.
Jap brand but assemble in Malaysia. U may like to check it out and compare prices.

During CNY, i also asked around....most of my aunties also hv similar pots... they told me Giant also got sell for less than $50.

Dun mind me dropping by hoh? I also ordered the 1.5L thermal pot. I actually checked wz Bugis BHG salesman before, he told me only Jap brands are good, recommended Tiger and La Gourmet. Not sure about the BP's Shutter Chef also. But thot the size is juz nice for my baby's porridge.

XiaoChuan, what is the brand u saw at Isetan? $39 is very cheap. Hope it's not Endo, my cousin bought Endo told me it's not good. It doesn't retain heat like Tiger.

I have a 4.5L and 8L Tiger. Really like it but 8L is too big, so I passed to my mom liao. My soups and stews are all very well cooked. So now eyeing a 6L for my family and 1.5L for my baby girl.

Crazy over Thermal Pots liao. Ha! Ha!

Hi Purplenails

Congratulations on arrival of your little princess.

Yup.. u are rite. I saw Endo. Still shopping ard lah.. cos the BP one is made in china leh. So dun know gd or not...

Maybe we can look at Tiger brand... then organise a private spree... i am a fan of Tiger cos the stuff are of gd quality and list.

xiaochuan,
i also got saw sellin at Giant, but the brnad is Endo. read review that it not gd, so didnt get it.

purplenails,
me too. thinkin to get the 1.5L to cook porridge for my gal. i also juz bought a 6L Thermos. yesterday first time using it. Not too bad leh... cos after boiling it, put in flask. i no need to monitor. =p but hvnt try the 2x3L inner pots... mayb this wkend when i make another batch of soup stocks?? then also cook red/green beans soup??

btw, babylove hvnt responded to the BP thread leh... so duno if that BP stil ongoing or not after her hospitalisation...

Hi Xiaochuan, Poky,

Let's see if babylove is going ahead wz the bp. Btw, Poky, how much u paid for the 6l thermal pot? Is it Tiger? I m waiting for Bhg sales after my confinement to get one. But I think only bugis bhg has. Tampines bhg only has Endo. Otherwise, isetan private sale also can get good buy. Hee. But I have not seen 1.5l for Tiger. Dunno have or not.

Hi Purple nails,
count me in if u do spot one from Tiger. I like their products. btw, when will ur baby turn full month? U DIY your confinement? Cos my neighbor looking to get confinement nanny lor

Hi Xiaochuan,

Okay. PM me ur number if I come across cheap Tiger thermal pot, I let u know. My baby will turn 1 month on 13-feb. I didn't get confinement lady. Only ordered confinement food from Natal Essentials. DIY myself cos I have a maid and my mom comes over to help. Save money. Hee hee.

purplenails
no la. my 6L is thermos. total 3 inner pots (1 6L n 2x3L). abt $300. higher than the sales lor. since i cant wait for the sales to come, so no choice. but find stil worth lor, cos BHG sellin at $423 for pkg with 2x3L inner pots only.

Poky, u use the bb shower before? My son has eczyma. If it's good I dun mind trying.

Xiaochuan, I got ur number. Keep u posted if I come across Tiger thermal sales.

Purplenails,
no leh. didnt use b4. my gal also kena eczyma from me n hubby. her eyes area all scaly n dried up.. so thinkin to try this shower gel lor. i now using sebamed on my gal. ur son leh??

Poky,

My son had eczyma since he was about 4 yrs old till now (8 yrs old). He has been seeing CGH Dermatologist Head (Dr Tay) since 2 yrs ago. Doc says eczyma will not recover but many will outgrown it. The specialist prescribed 'Fugicort' for his active eczyma. As for shower oil/shampoo, he uses 'Eucerin' and for body cream, he uses 'Centaphil. So far so good.

purplenails,
yep. eczyma cannot b cured, at most is remain under control. =( my gal pd also prescribe fugicort. but we try not to use it too much. only when the break out v jiat lat, although the red rashes is gone, the skin patch is also v obvious v dry.

u use cetaphil for his face also?

Hi Xiaochuan,
Not cheap exactly. Last round isetan private sale was $200. I bot from a mommy at $200 also and she delivered to my place. Anyone interested, pm me I can refer her to u. No strings attached. She told me she has 1more 4.5 l tiger thermal to let go.

Hi purplenails

couldnt make it there on Sunday cos my boy outbreak of rashes

I checked the web for Taka..

International Household Bonanza
19 Feb - 8 Mar
(Thu - Sun)
10.00am - 9.30pm

U might wan to consider this one.