Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

shirley8084

I started this thread as i found there are quite a nos. of mommies at these areas.Though we are very busy.

So do feel free to join in as to make friends/Sharing/Exchanging Items etc...
haha even gathering for coffee...maybe

I make the ball start rolling first...

Shirley
Blk 4, Dover Road

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/786304.html?1203301712

Here's the update:

Shirley - Blk 4, Dover Road
Jaime - Blk 348, Clementi Ave 5
Jolyan - Blk 436, Clementi Ave 3
Angela - Blk 18 Dover Crescent
Koori - Blk 18 Dover Crescent
Mummy1030 - Queenstown

Hi Angela,
no prize, nothing leh...

At first i thought got, but discharge till now got nothing...

Maybe not the first baby..

Ya, i gave birth to a gal...

Working hard for 1 more gal..
haha...

Mummy1030 - Queenstown
Shauna- west coast ( i add myself in... keke)

Hi mums!

Mummy1030 - Queenstown
Shauna- west coast
Sandra - clementi (SAHM)

Jaime, my grandma is staying in your block

Hi Melodius... welcome!!

hi mummies:
* any pediatricians to recommend around our area or just GP will do?
* any recommendations for baby's vaccinations?
* do you go for the 5-in-1 or 6-in-1?

cheerz...

I brought my girl to the hospital pediatrician two weeks after discharged and so far don't nd to go to one. Just bring her to my regular family doctor for all her jabs from 1 month onwards. The GP I am using is at Dawson Place. Dawson Place Clinic. The Doctor is very detailed in explaining and my girl likes to see him. For any little discomfort, she will tell me to bring her to the clinic. Try to find one convenient from your place and reasonable charges or hv to go to polyclinic.

update again...

Mummy1030 - Queenstown
Shauna- west coast
Sandra - clementi (SAHM)
Hapi Melodius - Blk 73A Redhill Road
Cecilia - Blk 358 Clementi Avenue 2

Hi angela,
i brought my darling to a Specialist GP located at Clementi...

The consultation price very reasonable...
The clinic only see infant to age of 12...

If you need the details, i can post here...

Hi Shirley,
I will be joining the other thread for Queenstown, Commonwealth mummies. CLick the link that Jasmum copied and u will see the thread. Thanks again.

Angela: If you have a good family doc (GP) that your family normally goes to, your bb can just go to that doc as well.

You might want to add in rotavirus vax (2 oral doses) cos it's the #1 cause of diarrhea and vomiting in infants/ toddlers. And if you're sending your bb to infant care, you might also want to add in the pneumococcal vax.

I didn't go for 5 or 6in1 but if you want to you should consider 6in1 instead of 5in1 cos I counted and somehow the total # of jabs will end up being same for 5in1 and the normal course. Since 5in1 has HipB which is not a compulsory vax and your child would still need the separate HepB vax. Also if you're going for 6in1 you will want to tell the hospital not to give the HepB at birth.

HTHs

me staying at BLK 96 Henderson Road

mummy1030 can i know the name of the GP ? Does the clinic open at night and weekend ?

Hi piggy_mum,

My dad is staying opp yr blk, Blk 105, hw many children do u have? Heard of this GP in Dawson before & seems to be quite good, would like to find out more abt him also

Hi piggy-mum
The clinic is Dawson Place Clinic, Dr Chan.The clinic opens from 8am to 3pm, 6pm to 10pm on weekdays. On weekends its 8am to 3pm. Long queue, can register and go grocery shopping first.

Hi Shirley,
I also want to know the address of the children clinic at clementi, can PM to share ?

hi melodius, hope to see u sometime

i only have a 8mth girl...1st time mum and also unexpected keke

normally i bring my girl to bukit merah poly for vaccination and if she got serious prob i will bring her back to the Pd at thomson who gave her the check up at birth. he very good but expensive. i only come to him when no choice cos see other cheap doctor not effective then end up also pay a lot. my friend told me to try the GP at HL clinic at Telok Blangah but I haven't had a chance

thanks mummy03 for the add, will try next time...

Hi mummy1030,
Thanks for the info, appreciate that

Hi Piggy_mum,
hope to see you too, 8 mth gal must be real fun & adorable
I have a 5 yr old boy & a pair of "Long Feng Tai" 2 yrs old
Are you a FTWM?

here's the address of the Specialist...

CHIA BABY AND CHILD CLINIC

BLK 431, CLEMENTI AVE 3,
#01-308, SINGAPORE 120431
(OPP. CLEMENTI BUS INTERCHANGE)

TEL: 67767670 (VOICEMAIL)

CONSULTATION HOURS:
MON TO FRI: 9AM - 12PM & 7PM - 9PM
SAT & SUN: 9AM - 12PM
CLOSED ON PUBLIC HOLIDAYS

I stay in clementi ave 4, have a girl and a boy. I bring my kids to the gp below my block, if more serious then go to the chia baby & child clinic as I find PD price usually more expensive than GP.

Hi sleek,

which floor is she stayin?
I'm at 10th floor.

btw, my boy is 6mths

shirley, thanks for the doc's info.

hi jaime, she is also on the 10th, must be diff sections since her neighbour's kid is in pri sch already. My boy is 7mths

can i join?

i'm staying in blk 10 holland ave..
seems tat i'm the only holland owner ard..

i'm due in mar 08. expecting first boy.. anyone keeping track of the list?

Hi Petrina,
Congrats, "Big Day" coming soon... are you working?

Hi Melody05,
Welcome
I have a 5 year old boy & a pair of "Long Feng Tai" 25 months

hello... Hapi Melodius .. thank you! .. saw your nick on some spree and quite like it ... sound very nice! : )
wow! a long feng tai is very 'siong' leh... hey, they just turned 2yr right? any suggestions for birthday party?? I'm going have to plan one for my son... dunno what to do ... still thinking ... sigh! ...

The more i read about the maid bad behavior, i feel like vomit. They have little education,super low standard of higene. It's better to keep an eyes on them and fix them. Most of the maids are not realiable behind our back, again, the best solution is to have our ppl in family around to jaga them.

hapi: thks...
i waiting patiently at home now..
so envy u.. long feng tai.. my hb complain after he found out is boy...
he ah siao 1.. say wan boy to be proud of family name.. then wan girl to play wif.. so i ask him to have #2 in few yrs time. he say no. cause he dun wan to go through 9mths preg n being a new father all over again.. very stressful. - so he claims..
now i abt to due, he say he wished was 1 boy 1 gal lor.. save on hosp bills also.. haha

i semi-work.. in insurance line. mostly serving old clients while having some new clients. hehe

Hi Mommies

I'm mommy of one princess (she's one) and we live in Blk 413 Commonwealth Ave West, opposite Clementi mosque. :)

Like to share personal experience with paedi in Clementi, original paedi in Mt A + GPs in Clementi.

Went to Chia coz thought close by is gd (other paedis in Sunset Way, 6th Ave, Holland, etc) - esp as we don't know how to drive. So went to Chia twice then we stopped as found her "bedside manner" wanting. Both times she was hurried, keep recording on patient chart and punching calculator to see how much to charge for vac, etc. As 1st time mommy when I asked her about how medicating affects bfdg, she was not helpful. In fact, she went "Huh, bfdg?" Sigh, somemore her cert on wall say she dr for >20yrs...

Okay, c.f. our original paedi in Mt A she also ex and only give meds in tiny dispensed plastic bottle. Mt A dr gives original glass bottles (like we buy from Guardian/Unity) so always enough and extra can keep in fridge. Mt A dr also always crowded (hasn't see Chia like that) and still patiently giving advice + articles about bfdg, introducing solids, safety tips, etc. Like this, Chia absoluately no fight -- and her card even say she consultant paedi @ Mt A... Aiyoh, standards miles apart.

All these said, I have heard her with older kids (her door always left open) and she sounded very friendly to them. So maybe only good with older ones and when mommies not bfdg?

Anyway, I tried "shopping" around so even brough bb to dr M Ng @ Central Clinic in Clementi (24hrs). We love her as she's a grandmother + patient and offers herbal remedies too. :) Unfortunately she doesn't need to work so not there all the time. Their other dr lye is also a very nice young chap -- just as detailed and patient.

But my paedi advised against the children's cough med given to my bb coz he says flu/cough meds like that kind causes drowsiness and bb so young may not be able to regulate their breathing... that made us realised maybe when she like turned 3-4 than go GP safer.

Anyway, for your info I personally know a dr lau @ the Raffles Clinic in Clementi - an elderly gentlemen who is also extremely patient and detailed. I also highly recommend him - he's good guy who vltrs @ St Andrews hospital too so has extensive experience seeing wide age range of patients.

Anyway, above are my experience trying different drs. We got bb vaccinated here and there before finally just sticking back to Mt A. :) Now we are wiser and prepared when we have no. 2. Btw, my bb started with hep B jab at 1M (coz Chia told us to take it) so ended up had to go on modified 5-in-1 schedule but ended up with a 6-in-1 jab with Dr Ng but basically completed everything as and when she had to see dr. Haphazard but job done. Completed rotovarius too, just waiting for last pneumoccocal jab. Frankly, hard to kp track! :)

Hey, just wondering anyone given thought to home schooling? Looking for info to weigh options. Also, anybody know good music and movement prog nearby? My bb loves bobbing her diapered bum up and down to music - in particular the "Cuppy Cake" ringtone by Strawberry Shortcake. So checking around to see if worth bringing her for some fun music course. :p

Opps, realise this post is very long. Heheh... :p

hi kidzkidz, i'm a mother of a year old boy.

ive just taken the boy to gymboree play gym for free play but not to the classes yet. we are now exposing him to more baby classes, more to socialise ..

kidzskidz: paiseh.. ur post abit confusing.. i stay in holland ave..
so which PD u strongly recommend arh?? i'm due in early mar. so i wanna check out price of 5-in-1 jab.

Summary
At Birth - Hep B Jab
At ??Mths - 5-in-1 Jab
At 6mths - P Jab & Rotavirus Jab

Is this sequence correct?? pls advise.. Any mommy...

so far no mommy near me..

kidzskidz you can consider trying kindermusik, you don't have to go to the main outlet at tanglin but can look through their list to see where there is a nearby school that has a certified instructor.

petrina, this is the standard vaccination schedule
http://www.mumcentre.com/index.php?option=com_classifieds&act=resource&task=details&resourceid=221

For 5 in 1
Injection at 3/4/5m and booster at 18m
Still need Hep B injection at birth/ 1m/ 6m
Total still need 6 injections, same as per normal vax schedule. personally, I think that this is a bad choice if your aim is to reduce the number of times your child gets poked with the needle.
Cost: $285 (polyclinic pkg)

For 6 in 1
Injection at 2/4/6m and booster at 18m
Cost: $320 (polyclinic pkg)

Pneumococcal
Injection at 2/4/6m and last one at 12-15m (but this is only if you are starting from a young baby.) The older the child is, the less injections they need eg. if your child is only going to kindergarten at 4 yo, only need 1 injection.
Cost: $170 per injection (GP price, not including consult)

Rotavirus
Oral, 1st dose at 1.5-3m and 2nd dose at 5-6m. The clinic told me the 2nd dose cannot be after 6m. IMHO, this is an impt optional vax since rota is the #1 cause of diarrhea and vomiting in young children
Cost: $100 per dose (GP price, not including consult)

update again...

Mummy1030 - Queenstown
Shauna- west coast
Sandra - clementi (SAHM)
Hapi Melodius - Blk 73A Redhill Road
Cecilia - Blk 358 Clementi Avenue 2