janet,
i have the above HK travel bag. bought in BKK for about S$40. i really like it. quality very good and it's the perfect size for when we go to my parents place for the weekend - just nice can pack ALL my dd's things, i/c milk powder, her toys, books, dvds and small pillow.
janet, muffin, purin,
i know the seller's situation is genuine, because i checked w/ the hdb officer and she confirmed it. it's just that she is not able to give me the details (due to confidentiality) so that's why i requested to meet with sellers personally today to find out the details. the sellers are actually a single professional woman together with her aged mother, so in essence the woman is the only one paying for and shouldering the full housing loan.
her sitation is actually quite complicated, and i have to say somehow she got very bad luck lor (damn suay).
she is a working professional working in the hotel industry, so she has a good job with a fairly high income (i think ard $4-$5K). more than a yr ago she applied for a new hdb 4-rm flat in sengkang, and she got it, and hdb approved her housing loan for it (i think loan amt of only $150K+).
so aft she was informed that she got the flat and was due to collect keys soon, she had to sell off her current bishan flat lor. she tried to sell it for over a yr, and couldn't find buyer (due to the racial quota). then in feb this yr we finally made an offer for the flat, and she and her agent immed accepted it, even tho it was very, very low.
because her outstanding loan with hdb for the bishan flat is $413K (she bought it 10yrs ago for $642K), and we are buying it from her at $385K, this means she will have to pay back hdb $28K in CASH.
she does not have this much cash in hand, because she already paid $17K cash down payment for the sengkang flat she applied for earlier, so she tried to apply to hdb to get permission to settle the outstanding $28K in instalments. hdb rejected her request twice, but when we went for our scheduled 1st appt on 26th june, we told her to put in the request again, because now hdb will know that she has a serious buyer for the flat, so maybe they will allow it.
lo & behold, in the 1st week of aug, hdb finally informed us that it was approved! so of course everyone was happy lah.
so in the 2nd week of aug she finally decided to go down to hdb to collect the keys to her sengkang flat, as she was gonna start renovation already. then when she turned up they dropped the bomb on her. they told her that they have decided to retract back the sengkang housing loan that they agreed to give her initially, reason being no person is allowed to have 2 outstanding hdb housing loans!
she tried to explain to them that her housing loan for the sengkang flat has already been aprrove so long ago, and some more the $28K outstanding is not really a housing loan, but an instalment plan. but hdb told her they do not see it that way. to hdb it is seen as having 2 loans, and this is not allowed.
so what she is doing now is to appeal to hdb lor, to allow her original housing loan for the sengkang flat.
so because of this, both parties (she and us) are stuck, as we can't proceed with anything. and if hdb does not allow her appeal to go thru, basically she cannot buy the sengkang flat and she cannot sell the bishan flat lor. ridiculuous right? i just don't understand the logic behind it.
anyway, hubby and i told her, we will try to help her in her appeal. we will write to the officer-in-charge and explain the situation for us, that we are also affected by all these decisions. hopefully it would help, when they see that there is more than 1 party that will be affected by the decision.
like i said, her situation somehow damn suay lah...haiz...
we know for sure that the seller is genuine in wanting to sell us the flat, and in fact we can see that she is also very keen to get her sengkang flat already, cause she has already packed all her stuff (her flat was full of boxes today) and she has even bought new furniture for her new place!
so for now, there really isn't much we can do lor, but to wait for hdb's decision on her appeal. whenever she calls to ask for the status, they will say it is "pending". they also can't tell her how long they will take to make the decision.
muffin,
your place is at toh yi right? is it 4-rm or 5-rm flat? wow, you sold for $50K above valuation??!! that's quite a good price leh. actually hor, whether you can get $100K above valuation or not is not guaranteed leh. alot of agents will surely say can one, no problem. but they always make all these kinds of promises lah. the truth of the matter is, it may be quite hard to find a buyer willing to pay that much, or you may have to wait for some time.
and with the property market now a bit crazy, you really dunno how long this property "boom" will last. what if you wait & wait for a buyer willing to pay $100K, then sekali the market crash...
for my current hdb flat in tampines, it's 5-rm. and i told hubby, if we can find a buyer willing to pay $15K-$20K above valuation i am happy already and i will accept the offer. we will use the cash to pay for our agents' fees, and the balance to help pay for reno. i don't want to be greedy. besides, tampines got ALOT of flats on offer, and somehow 5-rm not as popular as 4-rm or 3-rm. agents told me for 5-rm flat, usually the buyers will be enbloc buyers or those with big families.
i have the above HK travel bag. bought in BKK for about S$40. i really like it. quality very good and it's the perfect size for when we go to my parents place for the weekend - just nice can pack ALL my dd's things, i/c milk powder, her toys, books, dvds and small pillow.
janet, muffin, purin,
i know the seller's situation is genuine, because i checked w/ the hdb officer and she confirmed it. it's just that she is not able to give me the details (due to confidentiality) so that's why i requested to meet with sellers personally today to find out the details. the sellers are actually a single professional woman together with her aged mother, so in essence the woman is the only one paying for and shouldering the full housing loan.
her sitation is actually quite complicated, and i have to say somehow she got very bad luck lor (damn suay).
she is a working professional working in the hotel industry, so she has a good job with a fairly high income (i think ard $4-$5K). more than a yr ago she applied for a new hdb 4-rm flat in sengkang, and she got it, and hdb approved her housing loan for it (i think loan amt of only $150K+).
so aft she was informed that she got the flat and was due to collect keys soon, she had to sell off her current bishan flat lor. she tried to sell it for over a yr, and couldn't find buyer (due to the racial quota). then in feb this yr we finally made an offer for the flat, and she and her agent immed accepted it, even tho it was very, very low.
because her outstanding loan with hdb for the bishan flat is $413K (she bought it 10yrs ago for $642K), and we are buying it from her at $385K, this means she will have to pay back hdb $28K in CASH.
she does not have this much cash in hand, because she already paid $17K cash down payment for the sengkang flat she applied for earlier, so she tried to apply to hdb to get permission to settle the outstanding $28K in instalments. hdb rejected her request twice, but when we went for our scheduled 1st appt on 26th june, we told her to put in the request again, because now hdb will know that she has a serious buyer for the flat, so maybe they will allow it.
lo & behold, in the 1st week of aug, hdb finally informed us that it was approved! so of course everyone was happy lah.
so in the 2nd week of aug she finally decided to go down to hdb to collect the keys to her sengkang flat, as she was gonna start renovation already. then when she turned up they dropped the bomb on her. they told her that they have decided to retract back the sengkang housing loan that they agreed to give her initially, reason being no person is allowed to have 2 outstanding hdb housing loans!
she tried to explain to them that her housing loan for the sengkang flat has already been aprrove so long ago, and some more the $28K outstanding is not really a housing loan, but an instalment plan. but hdb told her they do not see it that way. to hdb it is seen as having 2 loans, and this is not allowed.
so what she is doing now is to appeal to hdb lor, to allow her original housing loan for the sengkang flat.
so because of this, both parties (she and us) are stuck, as we can't proceed with anything. and if hdb does not allow her appeal to go thru, basically she cannot buy the sengkang flat and she cannot sell the bishan flat lor. ridiculuous right? i just don't understand the logic behind it.
anyway, hubby and i told her, we will try to help her in her appeal. we will write to the officer-in-charge and explain the situation for us, that we are also affected by all these decisions. hopefully it would help, when they see that there is more than 1 party that will be affected by the decision.
like i said, her situation somehow damn suay lah...haiz...
we know for sure that the seller is genuine in wanting to sell us the flat, and in fact we can see that she is also very keen to get her sengkang flat already, cause she has already packed all her stuff (her flat was full of boxes today) and she has even bought new furniture for her new place!
so for now, there really isn't much we can do lor, but to wait for hdb's decision on her appeal. whenever she calls to ask for the status, they will say it is "pending". they also can't tell her how long they will take to make the decision.
muffin,
your place is at toh yi right? is it 4-rm or 5-rm flat? wow, you sold for $50K above valuation??!! that's quite a good price leh. actually hor, whether you can get $100K above valuation or not is not guaranteed leh. alot of agents will surely say can one, no problem. but they always make all these kinds of promises lah. the truth of the matter is, it may be quite hard to find a buyer willing to pay that much, or you may have to wait for some time.
and with the property market now a bit crazy, you really dunno how long this property "boom" will last. what if you wait & wait for a buyer willing to pay $100K, then sekali the market crash...
for my current hdb flat in tampines, it's 5-rm. and i told hubby, if we can find a buyer willing to pay $15K-$20K above valuation i am happy already and i will accept the offer. we will use the cash to pay for our agents' fees, and the balance to help pay for reno. i don't want to be greedy. besides, tampines got ALOT of flats on offer, and somehow 5-rm not as popular as 4-rm or 3-rm. agents told me for 5-rm flat, usually the buyers will be enbloc buyers or those with big families.