janet, muffin,
hdb can't do anything at all if seller/buyer decides to postpone. like i said, if both parties agree, they will reschedule the appt again. if 1 party disagrees then they just cancel the transaction, then it's left to either party to take legal action. hdb has made it very clear they will not get involved.
muffin,
oh yes, this transaction is taking a long time! cause my seller has delayed for 6mths liao, and has actually asked for postponement 2 times! by right hor, it should have been completed by early-july, but then when we signed in early-march, they asked for a delay of 2mths, so we agreed, therefore docs were submitted only in early-may. then about 5 days before our appt was due on 26th june, they asked for a postponement, so no choice we had to agree, so hdb gave us the new date of 17th aug. then hor, on 16th aug at 4.30pm, they informed my agent that they are gonna ask for another postponement and that they will not be turning up the next day at hdb for the appt! so on 17 aug my hubby and i went for the appt lor, without seller, then we said ok, no choice we have to agree to the postponement again, so hdb told us the appt will most likely be mid-oct. you tell me, will you be fed up or not??
i was sooo pissed. and what made me even more pissed was they didn't even have the courtesy to call me directly and tell me they wanna postpone, explain to me their reason and apologise to me. they just inform my agent that they got some probs with their loan, need to postpone appt and therefore will not turn up. so that day i made my agent call them back and request to meet them in person. i die-die also wanna met them and get them to explain to me in detail why they need to postpone. i think they owe us at least that right? so today we going over their place at 5pm.