Hello Kitty Fans Gathering

janet,
i have the above HK travel bag. bought in BKK for about S$40. i really like it. quality very good and it's the perfect size for when we go to my parents place for the weekend - just nice can pack ALL my dd's things, i/c milk powder, her toys, books, dvds and small pillow.

janet, muffin, purin,
i know the seller's situation is genuine, because i checked w/ the hdb officer and she confirmed it. it's just that she is not able to give me the details (due to confidentiality) so that's why i requested to meet with sellers personally today to find out the details. the sellers are actually a single professional woman together with her aged mother, so in essence the woman is the only one paying for and shouldering the full housing loan.

her sitation is actually quite complicated, and i have to say somehow she got very bad luck lor (damn suay).

she is a working professional working in the hotel industry, so she has a good job with a fairly high income (i think ard $4-$5K). more than a yr ago she applied for a new hdb 4-rm flat in sengkang, and she got it, and hdb approved her housing loan for it (i think loan amt of only $150K+).

so aft she was informed that she got the flat and was due to collect keys soon, she had to sell off her current bishan flat lor. she tried to sell it for over a yr, and couldn't find buyer (due to the racial quota). then in feb this yr we finally made an offer for the flat, and she and her agent immed accepted it, even tho it was very, very low.

because her outstanding loan with hdb for the bishan flat is $413K (she bought it 10yrs ago for $642K), and we are buying it from her at $385K, this means she will have to pay back hdb $28K in CASH.

she does not have this much cash in hand, because she already paid $17K cash down payment for the sengkang flat she applied for earlier, so she tried to apply to hdb to get permission to settle the outstanding $28K in instalments. hdb rejected her request twice, but when we went for our scheduled 1st appt on 26th june, we told her to put in the request again, because now hdb will know that she has a serious buyer for the flat, so maybe they will allow it.

lo & behold, in the 1st week of aug, hdb finally informed us that it was approved! so of course everyone was happy lah.

so in the 2nd week of aug she finally decided to go down to hdb to collect the keys to her sengkang flat, as she was gonna start renovation already. then when she turned up they dropped the bomb on her. they told her that they have decided to retract back the sengkang housing loan that they agreed to give her initially, reason being no person is allowed to have 2 outstanding hdb housing loans!

she tried to explain to them that her housing loan for the sengkang flat has already been aprrove so long ago, and some more the $28K outstanding is not really a housing loan, but an instalment plan. but hdb told her they do not see it that way. to hdb it is seen as having 2 loans, and this is not allowed.

so what she is doing now is to appeal to hdb lor, to allow her original housing loan for the sengkang flat.

so because of this, both parties (she and us) are stuck, as we can't proceed with anything. and if hdb does not allow her appeal to go thru, basically she cannot buy the sengkang flat and she cannot sell the bishan flat lor. ridiculuous right? i just don't understand the logic behind it.

anyway, hubby and i told her, we will try to help her in her appeal. we will write to the officer-in-charge and explain the situation for us, that we are also affected by all these decisions. hopefully it would help, when they see that there is more than 1 party that will be affected by the decision.

like i said, her situation somehow damn suay lah...haiz...

we know for sure that the seller is genuine in wanting to sell us the flat, and in fact we can see that she is also very keen to get her sengkang flat already, cause she has already packed all her stuff (her flat was full of boxes today) and she has even bought new furniture for her new place!

so for now, there really isn't much we can do lor, but to wait for hdb's decision on her appeal. whenever she calls to ask for the status, they will say it is "pending". they also can't tell her how long they will take to make the decision.

muffin,
your place is at toh yi right? is it 4-rm or 5-rm flat? wow, you sold for $50K above valuation??!! that's quite a good price leh. actually hor, whether you can get $100K above valuation or not is not guaranteed leh. alot of agents will surely say can one, no problem. but they always make all these kinds of promises lah. the truth of the matter is, it may be quite hard to find a buyer willing to pay that much, or you may have to wait for some time.

and with the property market now a bit crazy, you really dunno how long this property "boom" will last. what if you wait & wait for a buyer willing to pay $100K, then sekali the market crash...

for my current hdb flat in tampines, it's 5-rm. and i told hubby, if we can find a buyer willing to pay $15K-$20K above valuation i am happy already and i will accept the offer. we will use the cash to pay for our agents' fees, and the balance to help pay for reno. i don't want to be greedy. besides, tampines got ALOT of flats on offer, and somehow 5-rm not as popular as 4-rm or 3-rm. agents told me for 5-rm flat, usually the buyers will be enbloc buyers or those with big families.

http://hk.f1.page.auctions.yahoo.com/hk/auction/1112473041
929843.jpg
929844.jpg

Lani,
It's sad that both you and seller are stuck now...furthermore Sarah is starting school next yr and it will be rather far going to school from Tampines. I think this crazy property boom should be about 1-2 years...but then there are many people out there whose flats have been en-bloc and now looking for place to stay.

janet,
yalah, i also feel it's really unfortunate for us. my biggest concern is sarah's sch and how we are going to arrange for her to go to sch and back home everyday. i will see if i can arrange some kind of transportation for her. if not, i gotta work out something with hubby and my parents. if really cannot, then maybe no choice everyday i gotta take taxi there with her, then i hang ard the area for 3hrs and pick her up and take taxi back home. sigh....

HI Ladies,
Good Morning

Hi Lani,
I guess the biggest problem now is Sarah's school...taking taxi to & fro everyday...sometimes need a cab may not get one also. You really need to work something out soon.

Lani,
Mine is an EM. To be frank, although its 50K above valuation, all the monies return to CPF and bank only left 10k cash which is not even enough to pay agt fees. Cannot even cover renovation. But we juz want to dispose as we are not staying there anymore.

Lani.. wow.. ur situation sure is complicated.. hope it all gets resolved soon.. think taking cab in the morning is gonna be tough.. plus all the surcharge, think u're better off buying a small car..

Janet.. nice pics!!! i'm looking for a safety gate to keep my ds out of the kitchen.. how i wish i can get the HK one.. keke.. oh btw, do keep the photos coming.. but hor.. can i have a small request? can dun put them side by side? cos then the thread gets v wide, and its quite hard to read.. keke.. if its too much trouble then never mind lahz..

feifei,
I very excited about the new stocks! But I think it's what grace have currently... plus the Hello Kitty Q series which is suppose to be out this month too!

live_your_dream,
me excited also lor...wondering whether they hv the 2008 organisers yet hor...Duno today their stocks just arrive or already on display..hmm...

Yupo, I saw the Q series before, bery cute...the kitty half naked one hor...hee..but head big big..

feifei,
think this Hello Kitty Q series will arrive in KK today because the release date in Japan is 8/7/07, and magazine is 10/8/07. If magazine which is a later date is confirmed coming today to KK, those products before magazine release date should arrive too... this is by "logic" speculations

typo... release date for Hello Kitty Q is 7/8/07, anyway, still before magazine date... so should be here by right.

You getting anything from Hello Kitty Q series?

feifei,
me getting the Hello Kitty Q letter set, stickers, memo pad... I really like this series because it reminds me of my childhood big doll and the polka dots really cute! The pink Melody version also super cute! It will just brighten up my day, esp when my staff irritates me... haha

Hi Ladies...

<font color="ff6000">Lani</font>,
Oh dear.. your housing prob realy berry complicated leh. I pray that everything will settle soon for you and the seller yah. This HDB also too much. So inflexible.
Sometimes I also find their ruling really stupid lor. But what to do. They're govt leh. Can do what they want and then hide behind the law only.

<font color="ff6000">feifei</font>,
How's your hair? Got any compliments fron your colleagues? So far me got a few compliments liaoz. heheheh

<font color="ff6000">Ladies</font>,
Sorry for not posting earlier. Super duper busy cos it's Janelle's birthday weekend lor. Many things to arrange. Anyway, I love my new hair cut. I "chopped" off my below
bra length hair to a layered bob and did a red color. Msblur's niece said the color will fade to a reddish brown so that will be great. Total costs me $200.
Cut and colour is $80+, treatment cos my hair is super dry is $70+, then I bot products for $50. Quite happy overall lah.

<font color="ff6000">Janet</font>,
Wow!! Nice nice pics leh. Drooling liaoz.

<font color="ff6000">LiveYourDream</font>,
Wah... the HK Q series berry cute leh... half HK half doll. hhmmm... me like it cos it's cute, and yet dun quite like it cos it's not original HK leh. hahahahaah...

acthia,
yeah... not really Hello Kitty in my opinion too.... that's why I say either you like or hate it... I got hear Hello Kitty fans who really dislike it because it looks weird... haha...

But I see it more like another brand... like the doll brand... and it just so happened to be made by Sanrio..

Like let's say a teddy bear wearing a Hello Kitty costume... and the things from this Q series not that exp...

Nikita,
see my post below.

Posted on Friday, August 17, 2007 - 11:31 pm:

hi meiji/all in the Aust BP:
my fren just told me stock has not arrived yet for the dvd and waffle maker. the rest of the items are ready for shipping. she still sourcing for me the cheapest way to ship to me.

i know its quite long liow, me also very kan cheong, sorry for the delay. just be informed that we may not receive the items so soon, have to depend on when target's stocks arrive. pls be patient ok? thanks for your understanding

live yr dream.. that hello kitty Q is quite cute!!! but of cos, think most of us would still prefer classic HK.. but i am tempted to get the hk Q stuff too.. cos they look so cute!! hehe... maybe i should pop by kk..

emma,
luckily my dd will be in afternoon session, so she will start sch 11.30am and finish 2.30pm. taxis should not be a prob at these timings but it's gonna cost me a bomb every mth, like you said, enough to pay for a small car.

the thing is, we already have a car, but hubby drives it to work and back. and even if he leaves it at home, i can't use it cause i got no driving license!

if my hubby and parents can't help to send her to sch & back everyday, then maybe i will look for a taxi driver that can help shuttle us back & forth everyday lor, for a small mthly fee.

janet,
all the pics you posted very nice! and the prices not very ex also.

Lani,
It's very addictive surfing the Net for the HK pics...so much so I really wish I can buy them...prices are reasonable like what you mentioned. Showed hubby the gold HK mahjong set last night and he said, 'Whoa, now surfing Hong Kong site as well ???' I replied him, 'Singapore Yahoo site doesn't have cute and nice HK stuff what'. BTW, I combed thru 150 pages last night.

Lani.. hehe.. ya.. maybe you can fix up a deal with some driver to do daily shuttles for u guys.. and maybe its a sign for u to take up driving! keke...

ya.. janet.. those things u posted are realli affordable.. but they're in HKG.. how i wish i am there now!!

in fact, actually I did once to meet seller in Hong Kong! when I went there for holiday and really logged back lots of things during that trip... because things really much cheaper and cannot find in Singapore!

PrincessEmma/Live_Yr_Dream,
I think you are able to travel easier as compared to me...can only drool...those items with links are really worth buying.

Janet,
because I no children yet.... unlike most of you here...

My only constraint is very hard for DH to take leave in advance due to his work nature... so difficult to buy cheap fare when on offer because he can only book leave like 1-2 months in advance and depending on which period because he rotates department every 6 months. And can only apply leave when in that department...

So if like rotation ends in April and oct and next one start in May and nov. It's almost impossible to travel in May and Nov because cannot apply for leave on time... and then Dec and June very hard to take leave because normally give priority to those with kids... etc... so we are left with the non-peak months... and usually end of rotation month...

which means my next holiday is oct this year... most likely going to taiwan... and I still haven't book any tickets yet because my passport expired... haha

and my DH applied for 14 days! haha... but I think most likely max 1 week in Taiwan only... otherwise, becomes too exp due to accomodation.

any cheap accomodation in taiwan to recommend that is within 5 mins walking distance to their train station?

Also, anyone got a list of Hello Kitty shopping places in taiwan to share? Can PM me? Thanks!

acthia,
So wats the compliments frm ur colleagues?? Tell me leh, so dat i can feedback to my niece. She'll be hapi to listen to any gd & bad comments lah.