Anyone Staying at Bukit Panjang or nearby?

Hi Eunice

But is this allow? You did not liase directly with agent right so her work permit does not allow her to work in other house isnt it?

New Life CC
personally, I don't like that place. There were mosquitoes buzzing around, the compound is not as clean as I would like it to be, the walls were vandalised with footprints (maybe it has been washed out by now), floors look black and curriculum was so-so.

Hi MamaPanda,

Thanks for ur feedback. I just called to check and was told that their waitlist for pre-nursery is 20+! I will make a trip there when i am free - since there is alredi no vacancy, so no hurry to view the place too.

Meanwhile, any other comments on New Life CC?

I have visted a few other CCs and find their curriculum so-so too. Think their focus is on childcare (ie. looking after the child), rather than to teach..

been ages since i last posted here in Oct2007 =p

can i check whether anyone has any comment on Bukit Panjang Methodist Church Kindergarten? i am hunting for pre-nursery for my boy (Jan2006) now.

thanks in advance!

hi rachel, i heard they are starting PreN next year. Do call them and ask

btw, any mummies here have comments on Arise Kindergarten? Tks

mamapanda
I called this morning and did confirm with them dylan is 2006 baby. this lady said they are open for registration for 2009 pre-N class. am going for a visit tomo morning. you able to join me for tomo?

westbb
had a few mummies who went there. overall comment is good, classrooms are in the basement though. fully air condition. constrain space yet nicely arrange and neat. you might want to view the place personally and talk to the principle.

rachel
Where is it? I was thinking of registering for St Joseph tomorrow. Maybe I'll drop by BPMCK have a look first

mamapanda
it is located at 488 Upper Bukit Timah, abit further down from St Jospeh. wanna go together before we head down to St Jospeh??

btw, i am visiting Methodist Church fo The Incarnation (MCI) tomo @ 9am. do you mind going together too before BPMCK and St Jospeh?

rachel
I don't mind going around these schools. SMS me tomorrow morning abt 8.30am to confirm time i pick u up from bus-stop ok? U still have my hp num right?

mamapanda
yup, i have your contact num. shall contact you tomo morning and wait for you at the bus stop opposite the secondary sch. see ya =)

Hi rachel,

I happen to do a search, not sure if the Bukit Panjang Methodist Church Kindergarten is the same as the one which was listed under the website below?

Look at the end of the webpg, under Annex A. Name slightly different..

http://beta.moe.edu.sg/media/press/2003/pr20030419.htm

Also, my kid is also early Feb 06, so by 2009, shd be nursery already? Why are u looking at Pre-N? Sorry, im abit confused =)

hazeline
Pre-N is correct in this case. Some kindergartens call it N1 and N2 but predominatly, most call it pre-N, then N, K1, K2. Hope its clearer for u now.

hi rachel, tks for letting me know abt the arise kindy! great to know that it;s good comments so far. yeah the basement location is my only gripe for now, but anyway i'm going to register my kid there cos that's my "best" choice so far after visiting a number of kindys ard this area.

westbb
my pleasure, dont mention it =)

hazeline
what mamapanda mention is right, most understand by pre-N, N, K1 and K2. for 3YOs, most kindy start them at pre-N.

hippo212

i had register my boy for Pre N @ St Jospeh's Church Kindergarten last week. personally, i find it as the best location and good environment.

not sure about Gloryland CC, one of my friend find it good and had register her gal there.

Can someone advise is MMR vaccination certificate required for registration for the various CCs. As i understand that PCF requires it.

Taurus033,

I remembered that I've to photocopy my son's health booklet (page where the doc's stamp the vaccinations) when I registered him for his playgrp at Apple Tree and also at PCF (nursery/Kindergarten)

PCF Zhenghua at Blk 620 is accepting registration for kids born before July 2006.

cherylasu,

Then kids without vaccinations are not allowed to register at CC and PCF? Have u enrol ur boys at blk 620 PCF before, how is it?

Hi hi, just happen to pass by this thread and decide to be kpo.

Taurus, you will need to have the vaccinations list from the doc to enrol your kids to any school.

Besides, I enrolled my girl in Pre-N at Block 528. My sil who is a kindy teacher, told me 528 and 620 is one of the best PCF in bt Panjang. They have attained certain certification to run some programs that other kindy do not provide. Their teachers are all diploma holders and above.

my son also with PCF 528. next year, he will be attending the premium program, understand that its the 1st in singapore and really hope its good.

red.rose, the premium program is for nursery class is it? the 4-hr session one? I only opt for the 3-hr session for my girl.

Taurus, I checked with my sil (the PCF kindy teacher), she told me that it is not compulsory to produce the vaccination list to get enrol in a school.

JChew,

Thks for helping check with ur sil and happy to hear that is not compulsory to produce the vaccination list.

I was thinking to enrol my girl at 620 pre-nursery but their registration has to go thru balloting so chances to get in will it be difficult? And without the vaccination list will affect the balloting result? What do u think?

taurus,

Although have to go thru balloting, chance are still quite high cos you are staying in the vincity and also they have about 2 classes per session (morning and afternoon).

My elder son is in PCF at Blk 620, currently in K1. I've enrolled him there since Nursery. Personally, I find it not bad. Like what Jchew mentioned, PCF @ Zhenghua is one of the top PCFs..

Fees are inexpensive, very convenient for me cos its walking distance fm our house. They provide light snacks (cereal, fried rice, green bean soup, bread etc according to my son) daily.

I actually went to a few centres and here's my analysis (own personal comments):

1)The one along Teck Whye-Opp army camp (bad.. I caught a teacher dozing off while students play on their own in class)
2)The church one near Railway Mall (got to ballot + pl a bit run down liao + spend $ on sch bus
3)The one opp my house (my hse is Blk 627) Saw that teachers are not local and not fluent in English

red.rose,

I also enrolled my son in the premium class starting next yr. Fees are costly at $300+ per month, and hours in sch are longer from 8am to 3pm.. I think my son is gg to be very tired and sleepy after sch.. hahahaha

cherylasu,

Its good to hear good reviews about it as i do not want to travel too far too. Did your son go to their pre-nursery? Not sure if its necessary to go pre-nursery?

Hi cherylasu

I was concerned on the long hours before I decided to enrol him, scared he will be too tired. Anyway, after consideration, think it will be better to put the hours into good use rather than spend time watching tv at home. and yes! can knock them out after sch. hee.... btw, i had checked with the school, if we find that after attending the premium program and the kid is too tired, we can always put him back to the normal 4 hrs program. Now am hoping the program is really good, no need to spend extra $$ and time for enrichment.

Hi Taurus

My son attended the PN at 528, i would say its good, let the kids start early, learn to socialise and when comes to nursery, he has no problem adapting.

hoho03,
So ur girl was there for pre-nursery and nursery? So fast going N1 liao but I thought ur girl is 3 yr old this yr or i remember wrongly.

rose
For pre-nursery, have to attend classes everyday? I was thinking so young have to go to school everyday, felt that nowadays children are very stressful.

tauras
I used to think that way too but, my 2yr-old girl really enjoyed herself in little pals and looks forward to go to school everyday.

smurfy
My girl was also coughing badly and I only brought her to my GP downstairs and she recovered fast. U can try the GP too. They're called Lifesprings Family Clinic in Greenridge Shopping Center. The doctor my girl saw was Dr Lim Lu Ping. She's only there in the morinings but sometimes, she's not around so gotta call to ensure she's there. Tel: 68947516

just want to check, is the PCF at 528 a childcare? my son is 2yo, so is he suppose to be in N1?

MamaPanda,
I used to go Lifesprings too but for myself. But they Q is usually very very long.. so I long time didn't go already.

That day go and see Ivan Choo also at Greenridge, he is a nice doctor but my son still got running nose..

By the way, my son is also at Little Pals on alternate days. Maybe your ger and him are classmates

smurfy
Has your boy been there since Jan? My girl is in the 9-11am playgroup. I know there's a boy there on alt days last term cuz he's the only boy there and his grandma is always the one to bring him home. Is that your boy? If he is, then I should have seen you before

Ivan choo is ok, but, I just felt he's not as good as Lim Luping. To avoid the Q, try going there around 10-11am. The wait should be shorter. Normally, I just ask Wendy(the pregnant nurse) how many on the Q then go Shop n Save walk walk while waiting.

hi mamapanda,

nope, he just started in Mar cos he hasn't reached 2yo. now he is on alt days and my auntie is the one who bring him and fetch him back..

he carries a thomas train bag. have you seen him before?

so where are you putting your ger next year? since little pals only caters playgroup for up to 3yo?

smurfy
I saw the bag before. Shall look out for him again tomorrow!

I'll be putting Ariene in St Josephs next year.

taurus,
hmm 3yrs old this yr.. next yr, 4yrs ols, is N1??!! :p

nope, this yr she is with BEK learning center.
this BEK only accept till PG

so nextyr gotto search school.
i m oso considering Zoophonics daily.

She is now attending their wkend class.
So far so gd.

i trust Dr Mark Yap in Fajar, cashew medicial
Like magic hands lei.. My ger go ah, sure ok 1.
then def. cheaper than PD.

Oh Ivan choo oso nice man, but cannot really do magic lei. :p

Oh, din know Dr Mark Yap so famous. And yes, I agree. My family only see him, but my kids goes to their PD most of the time. But if there are any skin allergy cases, I bring them to Dr Mark Yap, sure get well faster, not even my kids PD can do that magic.

hoho03
sorry got confused with all the N1, K1.....

smurfy & mamaPanda
Is there classes for 2 yr old?

Can advise what's the school fees for Pre-N & N1 for PCF.

Hi taurus

the PN at 528 is a daily class for 2 hrs. actually not stressful lah, they dun hv homework, basically are songs, art and craft and some recogntion of ABCs and 123s.

N1 = Pre-nursery = 3yrs
N2 = Nursery= 4yrs

Fees for PN = $160
Fess for Nursery = $70

taurus,
oops.. i oso sala..
next yr my ger is N2 liao! hahah

does PCF 528, give out workbook?
becos ah, in ZP, they have workbook for each term, n every other wk there will be homework, as in like 1 or 2 pages, those colouring or tracing.

personally i like lor. at least i know what is my ger learning n up till what.
now she love the trace the ABCs..
she oso like the idea of doing 'homework'.

hoho03,

mark yap is good cos his medication always quite strong but i find him too mercenary.

my colleague's children in zoophonics and she says quite good. her son can recite "tang shi"

taurus033,
Little Pals playgroup caters for 2-3 yos.

rose,
PCF pre-nursery also follows those primary school terms? I was wondering will their programmes be almost the same since they attend school everyday. Can provide more details on the Pre-N curriculum.

hoho03
So you send your girl to bukit timah zoo phonics?

hi taurus

yes, they are jus like any govt schs, follow the sch terms. as for curriculum, cant really comment much, i find its more for kids to learn basic ABCs, 123s, arts and crafts and socialising skills. My son learnt the sequence of Monday, Tuesday... there. Btw, every half a year (before sch closes), there will be teachers-parents session whereby the teacher will feedback to you on your child progress and shows the works they had done during the term. They will let you bring home the sch works once in awhile. They oso have snack time during the class.

taurus,
BEK is at blk 219(think so :p) pending rd.
$120 per mth, materials, $100 per 3mths

so far ok la.. for my mil to rest n my ger to learn something.

yup, i send my ger to ZP BT.

Smurfy,

ya i find ZP not bad, at least reasonable pricing n my ger is really learning n absorbing from there, which makes it worthwhile.