Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

celtricia, i dun believe in more exp ag fee wl get bttr quality maids anymore, haiz, my relative agt is extremeli high, $ 988 for fili n burmese, foc replacement onli within 3 mths (for my case, she gv me foc 6 mths), d quality of d maids fm her sucks so far, hopefully d replacement is okie lor. many yrs ago, i pd $ 188 to one aft n my fili maid wkd 5 yrs for me. for me, i too fed up wiz burmese liao ... my son's cc got hfmd n i tried explng to tat siao ting tong abt d importance of hygiene n tat must wash my son's hands when he come back fm cc, but expl until i sick, she still can not underst me, haiz i gv up.

Kanna_sai.. ya.. i agree too.. so nw hope there's someone trfing out their gd maid.. haiz..like no light at all for such..

can understand ur frustrations over the hygiene part.. coz to me cleanliness is also impt when having a maid to look after our kids.. sigh..

susany,

nope. my maid name starts with Y. She is ok for the past 1 yr plus. Only recently then started this. She even asked me this "if I go back Indo, and feel better, can I come back to work for u?" I told her "once u decide to leave, there is no way I can employ u again cos I will have another maid under my employment. I can't terminate her to employ u"

anyway,.... see if she starts any "nonsense" today when my MIL is at home haha

Saw this in the forum, try calling to enquire if you are keen."

Highly recommended helper available (employers moving), this is her ad:
>
>
>
> I, Rebecca (a Filipina), am seeking a transfer to a new employer from early
> December 2008 in Singapore. I have worked as a domestic helper first in Abu
> Dhabi and then in Singapore for over 16 years. My skills include taking
> care
> of new born babies and children, cooking (European, Asian, American,
> Middle-Eastern cuisine, etc.), baking, gardening, and house keeping. You
> are
> welcome to speak with my existing employer regarding my experience. My
> contact Tel. no. is 96703041.

today was on leave and went out with my fren n her kid. Even my fren also say my maid cannot make it. We went foodcourt and i had to go buy food. DS dun want to sit with maid and insist tagging along...so i gotta one hand carry him and one hand take money to pay cashier. My fat butt maid just sit there with my fren maid and my fren kid. Its only when my fren came back to the table and scold her then she moved her butt to come and help me carry the food.
Sigh, i give up on asking her to do things cos she is damn lazy. She will want to nap at my mum house in the afternoon or steal snacks. Worst, my mum also tell me she will wake my mum at 4+ to cook for her. I only experienced it this weekend. was slpg with ds when she bang on my door at 6pm, asking me, MDM, cook dinner!
Dun be mistaken that she is telling me that she is cooking dinner for me! She still dunno how to cook, even rice! She is so so scared we will starve her? Wah lau, i am not well mah, already told hb to taobao home and 6pm is still so early, if its 7pm, maybe still more acceptable.

I am 100% confirm sending her back agent liao..esp she is a potential thief, found evidence that she ransacked my cabinets when i was not home.

mummies who have not got a maid and want to hire one, i suggest think and rethink bah. Too much stress and nonsense, seek other alternatives like childcare or nanny and plus p/t cleaner.
Its more expensive but i feel worth the while. And perhaps more financially siong but be more thrify and shld be able to make it.
And now PM say got more subsidy for childcare, so can be more affordable lah!
lets all jia you without stupid and nonsense maids!

haha, let me add on another incident, happened today also.

we went for haircut for ds. My ds will sruggle alot when cutting hair so i have to let him sit on my lap and try to distract him. My fat butt maid did not come over to help me distract him at all, just stand at the entrance looking at ppl and stores. Till the hairstylist gotta call out to her and tell her, come, distract him! Then my hairstylist say aiyo, your maid so stone, unlike your fren's maid, can help out leh...
Sigh, see, 2 outsiders today can also tell that my maid cannot make it!

Was thinking aloud on this.

Most friends of mine are hanging on with a lousy maid as if change maid, not only incurred higher cost and also giving higher salary for even a fresh maid, and yet the uncertainty of maid is good or bad still there...what about you mum?

Hi Joy,

I think what yr friends are doing are partially right as depends on luck to get a good maid…
of cost with the rising costs of them… BUT if good maid, I will not mind the extra costs.
Unfortuanately for me, I had 4 maids in the past16 mths and I can say the quality is from bad to worst…

mummy tang
Have same thoughts as you.Its very hard to find a good maid.

At times, find that we are somehow at the mercy of the maids with the raising cost in their salary and agency fees....

ivy yeo, i oso agree wiz u, tat to hv other alternatives but to me, hvg a maid is so tat i can spend more time wiz my kids lor, if d replacement turns out to be worst off, i tink i wl send my daughter to student care, my son oredi in cc, must b more hands on liao.

mummy tang & joy747, i agree wiz both of u tat we chg d maids for bttr ones , d cost is okie if we mng to get a bttr one but worse off, veri sian. Where r all d good maids?

hi mummies.. haiz.. my myanmar maid gives me headache again. prev talk to her.. improve her attitude for like 1 wk.. nw back to worse... We nw suspect she beat my 20mth baby... reason..

last nite, i ask her to look after bb as i was having a big headache.. baby doesnt like her.. cry for me.. after a while silence. i told hb i better go take a look.. when i open the door to go out, she heard my door opening and faster carry bb out from her room. i saw her room is dark inside and bb look as if he had just been crying.. very scare look... i carried bb over, dan bb hug me and says 'beat beat' he pt to the maid, and dan beat his hand and says 'beat beat' again... tis is not the 1st time we suspected her beating my bb.. cos sometime back i monitor dat bb looks very scare when i ask her to carry him so i can do some work.. Last wkend, i shower for bb and was putting on his clothes for him in the living rm, maid came over and took his clothes (i tink she wan to help to put the clothes on bb) but my bb saw and faster pull back his clothes to me... dan he make action to shoo my maid away.

this morning i told my mum abt last nite incidence, my mum told me, yday when maid was in the playroom with bb, bb suddenly run out to find my mum and his put his hand ard his neck dan pt to the maid... my mum says like trying to say the maid tried to strangle him.

this morning bfore we reach my mum plc, i told her last nite bb says u beat him. maid says nooo.. its my elder boy beat her, and bb saw.. bb trying to says gor gor beat her.. dan she says sometimes at my mum hse bb told my mum beat beat.. and my mum tot she beat bb.. but its actually bb beat beat her...

we dun have evidence... what shd i do??

May,
once you have such suspicions, better send her back, not point thinking how and why.
i have a fren whose girl (18mths plus that time) is terrified of the maid and suddenly become very quiet when maid is ard. The mum confront the maid and the maid of cos say not..its only till when they send her back at the airport then she confessed that she beat the girl with telephone receiver before! Who know what else she have done?!

hi may, i agree wiz ivy. Besides, if d bb is d one tat beat her, yr bb wl not b scared of d maid lor ... bb wl oso beat her infront of u lor but u nvr c bb beat her rite, ... strangle, u bttr watch out ... tis maid not simple. i saw wiz my own eyes my prev hiao fili maid pulling my kids hands n snatching toys fm my kids n yet she can deny. verdict is tat maids wl nvr admit lor n as parents, we nn to protect our kids lor, once u hv suspicions, no pt in keeping her liao.

hi ivy, ha ha ha, ya good maids retired liao juz lk my 1st fili maid, earn enuf liao. come to tink of it, all along my two kids in cc but now my daughter p1 ... so no cc for her, cater for tiffin food, why do i nn a maid for? Stress! haiz.

May, Trust yr baby cos baby nvr lies.... better send yr maid off..... My 15mths gal is a friendly baby , but she is just terrified at the sight of the #4maid that is abit siao ting dong and attitude....

My boy was 3yo last yr and my #1maid will walk him to school everyday by taking the overheadbridge..... The thing is my mum sent him for 1yr when he was 2yr old and he can run up and down the bridge himself...When the maid took over, I realised my boy is terrified of heights even at shopping malls, my investigations start and ask the school, and he is very close to teachers so get the teachers to ask him, he dare not say @ all...... and he will make a big fuss everyday when its time to go to school... I ask frens and all suggestion that said might be the maid threathen to throw him down the bridge that cause him to fear... I ask the maid and of cos said no... no such thing happen...8mths later I sent the maid back.... now my son stil got height phobia even at playground! despite the family umpteen effort to coach him and play etc, he still phobia! so better dun take any chance..... now I transfer my son to another school and he takes school bus.

hi ivy, dats what i tot.. but 3rd maid aldy.. hb tired of paying the loans/insurance/agent fee.. if i can confirm she got beat dan i can fight with hb to chg..

hi alamak, i know she making excuse.. cos the way she talk.. very xin xu..

hi mummy_tang, aiyo.. ur maid really very bad.. haizz... these few days got headache.. nw headache getting worse...

i wan to chg her... but hb says no evidence.. says if maid really got beat, dan sure got bruises.. i told him maid is a ex-nurse leh... skali she noe hw to cause pain w/o bruising the skin leh... all this chging of maid is causing us to spend alot of $$ buying insurance over and over again.

may,
do u know that you can get back portion of the insurance if you terminate the insurance within 180days? think some one shared here before....
sometimes, dun need bruise one. Like when my hb smack my son, its just redness for a while then gone liao. But son will rem daddy smack him cos he is naughty. So i am sure your maid must have done something to your baby or else why baby dun wan her?

hi ivy, my ins is from ntuc.. cannot refund.. dey oni allow refund within the 14days... i chk aldy... :-( ya lor i oso think the maid must have done something.... but hb is waiting for Big bruise..

May.. u beta tell ur hb.. wait till the BIG BRUISE it might b too late den liao.. if u noe wat i mean.. nvr take risk.. esp they r ur own flesh n blood leh.. y wan to take such risk?

Juz to share, my 1st indo maid.. she has been wif me b4 i delivered my 2nd child.. n yet for a yr she has been wif me.. my girl can show fear whenever i ask maid to put girl to slp or play wif her or to carry her.. both mum n i suspect someting not right.. if u noe wat i mean.. rejection of maid frm my girl is too strong.. so in d end we changed her though she's gd at hse wrk.. but well.. My girl will b at risk if i give indo maid chance as her hsewrk is gd.. N when it happens, it will b too late for us to regret n say 'i shld haf to tis' 'i shld haf do tat'..

btw, hb also tired of agent fee/ins/loan etc.. n till nw, i've yet to find a maid too.. so i juz haf to tahan lor.. bo bian.. for our kids well being..

celtricia, i agree also.. but hb thinks i am being pananoid. i really sick of this maid.. last wkend spend hrs in the toilet.. no kwa zhang okie.. really hrs.. come out a while, hide inside again for half hr.. come out a while dan hide inside for another 1 hr.. dan i bey ta han.. ask her not feeling well issit.. she says no... sqeeze pimple/blackhead...

may, i think u shd change maid...babies usually take to pple easily. they usually dun reject pple.

ask u ladies, if we're transferring the maid, do we need to compensate her 1 mth salary or anything like that?

yesterday, went down to agent to look through bio datas...nothing suitable leh...haiyoh...my this maid still haven't finish paying off her loan...

hi may, one of d skills which all d maids hv is telling LIES without blinking their eyes. if she so xin xu, cfmd she lying liao coz yr bb wl not lie ma, spot check on her leh. i m oso sure tat yr maid must hv done something to yr bb lor, otherwise bb wl not b scared of maid ma. she may juz try to strangle (scare) d bb when bb crying, so tat wl not coz bruises ma n besides she may twist d bb arms & etc, so tat wl not hv bruises ma. bttr to be safe than sorry lor.

CSI_fan, i wan to chg.. but but.. haiz.. if chg one more jia liat i oso faint.. and tis one aldy cost me coming $200 for the insurance and jus work for less dan 2mths.. but will think over.. FYI, no need to compensate her 1mth salary.. but she will need to add in 1 more mth loan to the agent.

alamak... aiyo.. u r scaring me.. jia liat.. hw... must go home and talk to hb again.

aiyo may, so yucks stay inside d toilet to squeeze pimples/black heads but @ least, she did it in private, my siao ting tong maid did it anytime anywhr n even when she is waiting for my kids to brush their teeth ... so yucks, lk u i m at d end of my tolerance of this maid liao.
Big bruise oso too late liao, lk i said bttr b safe than sorry lor, i tink u bttr tell yr hb tat lor n chg her soon.

may, i not scaring u, i saw wiz my own eyes this maid arnd my area slapping d two kids (d two kids p1/p2 lk tat liao lor, big enuf to tell d parents liao) n when infront of d parents hor, this maid kept hugging d two kids hor. i wanted to tell d parents hor but d parents veri yayapapya one n seems to b veri close to d maid one hor, so i dare not lor scare d maid do something to my hse or infl my maid lor.

May,
It is obvious your maid has been beating your baby. If something happens to your kid because you are not doing anything about it then you have to take the blame. Your son is telling you your maid beat him and strangled him. If my kid told me the same thing I would beat the shit out of my maid and send her straight home. You think I dun know how to beat up someone and not leave marks? The evidence is that your kid is telling you the maid beat him. You want to ignore that and have your child have bad memories for the rest of his life? Forget the money. I'd pay every cent I've got to protect my kids.

May,
how are your kids and your talk with your hb?
Liana might sound harsh but thats the reality truth.

Good news is childcare subsidy and infantcare subsidy are all increased to $300 and $600 respectively. Now more affordable to send our kids to proper childcare rather than these stupid heartless maids.

anyone knows the new subsidy for half day/flexi care?

I will be sending my 2 years old to playgroup or half day next year as I dont want the to mingle too much with the maid. I am thinking of installing CCTV too.

Anyone has installed and what is the cost? I check out one shop from Marina DIY shop and it costs about 1000 plus.

Hi mummies, as usual very disappointed with my maid.

Ivy, when is the 300 subsidy will start? I didnt hear from my girl's CC.

Maureen, employer has to pay maid's air ticket even if maid only work 1day

Why so protective to the maids. They didnt finish their contract should penalise on them. Everything on the employers who will want to give birth. Putting in infant or child care worry babies and kids sick easily. Put at home some maids ill treat them. They came to work like boss. Happy happy request change employer if not go back agent or go home. They think they come here for holidays.

maureen,

erm...my agent told me if maid want to go back, they have to pay everything themselves, fr cancelling of work permit, transport to airport + air tix leh.

Wonder why all the benefit(baby packages) not activate immediately, in Sept, but in Jan,which is another 4mths plus..need so long period to prepare?

mylvera
This is what my agent told me also .. but i think if maid is smart enough to report to authority, we are at the losing end .. cos against MOM's new rulings ..

ie. if want to do (ie. let maid pay), pls don be caught ..

childcare/infant care subsidies up. But govt also say, they want higher quality childcare teachers. So what's the next likely thing to happen? The childcare centres will raise fees! Then end up, we're back in square one. No diff...if not worse off, coz fee increase may be more than subsidy increase?

Anyway, we're wondering why no reduction of the FDW levy? hehs...but the quality is still like that.

I interviewed one yesterday...generally, she sounds quite good (Phil). Only 2 things we're not comfy with: college education in Political Science; no boyfriend yet, but wants to get married soon (in 3 to 5 yrs time). Hmmmmm.....

Most of the childcares already up their fees once this year. If they up again and up to be the amount of the additional subsidies, then i am sure lots of parents will start writing in to the govt and say see, cc are still not affordable!
I think when they say better quality teachers, they meant more subsidies for the teachers to persue courses and also to upgrade themselves.

Ya, sending to cc will mean the kid get sick more often which is my main worry also. But really sian with the quality of the maids these days. They are more like the boss than us leh. Guess have to try cc cos ultimately the kids have to go sch too. Better to go sch and get sick then be abused at home by the maids.

yah...true also. if it's more subsidies for the teachers to pursue courses etc, then that would be good...otherwise, really no point for the cc subsidies also.

true...ultimately, they have to go to school and socialise...stay at home either kena abused, or left alone to play.

One of my colleagues mentioned, is the govt trying to discourage young families from employing FDWs...given the revised rules etc and now, more subsidies for cc...

ivy, csi fan, cc, not cheap too, my 2 kids all along go cc wiz maid at home doing hsewk, now onli my son as my daughter p1 liao, d cc not cheap, one mth $ 890 + swimming + speech/drama + gym kids + trspt, one mth more than $ 1.2k per kid, if this replacement dun wk out, i wl send my daughter to student care liao, at least i save on d maid's sal n levy.

yday, i found out tat my siao ting tong maid threw her stained panties, dirty underwears, bedsheets n her clothes to wash in my washing machine despite me telling her off fm day 1 not to wash her underwears in d washing machine. i reali veri sian. Do u allow yr maid to wash their underwear in d washing machine?

alamak,
i supposed its a choice of cc, some are higher priced than others. The price ranges from $300++ to $2k, so its a parents' choice.

Washing machine:
nope, i dun allow maids to use washing machine at all.

Hi alamak, ur maid really ultimate… no, I dun allow my maid to use the washing machine.. but every 2 wks I let her use once to wash her beddings and clothes.

Liana, u r right… haiz.. actually its not so much of the pain for $$ its more of we dun wan to wrongly accuse her. That why posting to ask for advise.. cos she’s a transfer maid, 1st time work less dan 2mths, got transfer. Than with me for less dan 2months again.. Told me she fork out ard S$1,000 to come to SG. Than here loan got to deduct 7mths, plus she transfer another 1mth.. If I transfer her again, there goes another 1 month. I am trying to treat her fairly, but ofcos not at the expenses of my children safety.

Ivy, talk to my hb aldy.. and I told her abt some examples quoted here.. he agreed to change maid. So need to find another one 1st..

CSI_Fan, haha.. like u, I think cc fees sure will oso go up..

May,
erh, how much she need to fork out money to come here to work? My last myanmar maid also did not pay anything hence the loan mah...think she is trying to gain your sympathy.

Hi May, does yr maid handwash her clothes or onli wash once ev 2 wks? yes, u r rite, d siao ting tong reali ultimate, however, i hv to admit tat she is hardwkg n in hsewk, she is okie n i won't say tat she is tat bad but it is all these nonsense haiz. i m glad tat yr hb agreed to chg maid, u dun hv to pity her coz if these maids heart pain abt d $$ tey forked out, we wl hv good maids liao, wl not hv so much nonsense fm all these maids liao. Dun let her know tat u r trsfg her, wait she req to go home or do something to yr kids, meanwhile, monitor/keep a close watch on her when she is wiz yr bb coz chg maid may tk a while.

CSI fan, i oso tink tat cc fees wl go up agn n tis time more n we nn cc more than maids coz can not let our kids wiz d heartless maids alone at home ma. Haiz ...

i m checking thru d salary schedule for d siao ting tong maid, is it correct ... salary is S$ 300.00 n loan is 4 mths (S$ 1,200) n if no off day, S$ 20.00 extra. the no off day wl start fm d 6 mth onw rite? How come in d salary schedule, i nn to pay S$ 20.00 fm d 1st mth liao?

hi ivy, she told me she paid SGD1K to come SG to work.. was feeling funny.. cos my 1st myanmar maid didnt mention she paid anything to come over to work... urs oso nv paid anything???

hi alamak, my maid handwash her clothes but once every 2wks when i let her use the washing machine, she will watever clothes that she have at that time not washed, inside oso.

hi may, i rem agt told me b4 tat agency fees for myanmar maids r higher coz agt dun ask tem to pay anything except d loan in sin coz agt said tey veri poor, so tey nvr pay anyting at all except d loan.

Ytd evening went to my mum plc there the maid agency.. Foster Resources.. they called me up tdy telling me to go down to interview a trf indo maid who was returned due to the fact tat she is not given enuff rest n was required to do hsewrk for two homes, as she nid to follow employer kids to grandparents hm. nid to wake up at 530 n slp only at 1230am.. so how? do u ladies tink i shld go n interview her? since my case almost alike, except tat once she's bak at my hse, she dun really nid to do any hsewrk n can slp at latest 1030pm and only nids to wake up at 7am?