Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

samval,
i hv no one else at home...so can't put kids at half day CC...

Snowball, yeah, basic housework is usually done by lunchtime. prepare for dinner...that also doesn't take long. hehs.

oh well, i just feel a little sianz lah. both my mum and mil dun want to help out with the maid...to either trian or jagar the maid.

Realized this thread is very active so I am posting my experience & question here.

My luck with maid is very bad - have changed 3 since last year. First one tell lies, second one got pregnant & the third ond cannot get along with my mother.

I do not want to use my current agent, anybody have any good recommendations on maid agency?

Hi Mummies... my maid seems to be have toothache and need an extraction.. anyone has good and average price dentist to recommend in the west?

Should I be paying or she has to?

cribcot... u r not obligated to pay for her, but the cost is very high to them. my maid requested for a dental check-up and found many teeth needed filing. i paid for them cos no point she suffer in pain then cant do work properly. she is gd so i dun mind. and with extraction, better dun delay else if the tooth breaks, will need surgery to remove the root, which will cost a lot more, which is wat happened to my previous maid.

bongobum... i also hv lousy luck with maid, and unfortunately, no agency can guarantee you no worries. wat i feel tat my agent is gd is that when i had probs with my maids, she does not shake responsibility and avoid my calls, but do all her best to help me counsel her, or get me replacement. my current maid wanted to leave within a mth despite us counselling her numerous times. my agent asked me to bring her down, and aft 2 hrs, my maid apologised to us and went bac happily, and has been with me for more than 1.5yrs now. we still wonder wat did she say tat was so powerful!

some of my previous maids are happy w their new employers, so i guess its just the fit tat didn't match. i hv a special child so i am rather strict, and my agent understands that.

you can call shirley or magdalene from MDS @ 63447665. i posted their details previously & there were many people who were happy with my recommendation, including my frens.

bongobum,
there is no good agency, so far even those that I thought good, turn out bad also. its the maid the come to your house can work out or not. my friend tried those $88 agency, got bad ones, I tried expensive one also like that. The agents never really match the maid to our requirement.

so fed up with these agency, TM G never send me any bio or called me up even after i stated my requirement and leave my contact and email. then my current agent just said dont change lah, so troublesome, counsel her to continue work for me.
The thing is my maid before stepping into my house already told agent she dont want to care for kids. then agent lie to her which she said she was shock to see my 2 kids! I counsel her one time already, this the 2nd time she bring it up want to change. She dont have loan anymore so she dont want to go back to the same agent, for fear of being trick into household with kids. I pissed off with the agent, tricking the maid into household she didnt like will only foresee transfer in a few months time when her loan finish. And every transfer these agents will collect 1 month from them. She very honest with me that she want to go to the Maidcity and try out. Well up to her if she can find her ideal employer. I told her once I cancel her permit she only have 14 days grace period to find new employer.
feel so lousy luck with maid, this will be the 2nd one leaving this year. 1st one left becos insist on off days even though i said later on after I delivered and my mom comes over to help. she cant wait!

Like to know your opinions as I'm a 1st timer getting a maid.

Went to interview a transfer maid. She's only here for abt 9months plus. Kind of like her as she is decent & pleasant looking. Plus she seems to like my bb. Speaks very good English for an Indo maid. She is young & I thought what a right candidate to take care of energetic young kids.

Went online to check her background. She had already
worked for 3 employers in 9months!!! She claimed her previous employer kids didn't like her. Agency rejected my request to speak to previous employers. Sigh..... She kept asking me to give a chance.... Need to decide soon...

well berlin,
sometimes these transfer were forced to go to any employer that comes along. like my previous maid, when I interviewed her, everything she said ok. but things change after 2 months, cos the agent make her agree to whatever employer asked. I think best is interviewed these maids without the presense of agents.
at the agency, these maids have to display very good attitude infront of the agent if not sure get scolding, but when arrive at your house, some true colors will show up.
If your agency gives you free replacement unlimited, then maybe you can give her a chance. since she change 3 employer, which means she had chalked up extra 3 months loan to agency, she might seriously work for you. btw which agency you engaging?

Hi Berlin,

My opinion - If this maid can change 3 employers, something is not right with her. Worst if the agency do not let you speak to the previous employers. If there is nothing to hide, why is the agency not letting you talk to her previous employers?

Hi Berlin,

After going thru 8 maids in 2.5yrs, I will not take that maid. 3 employers in 9-months? That means she lasted on average 3-months or less per employer. If you really want to hire her, maybe you wanna interview her again and ascertain what her expectations are of a maid and her real reason for coming to SG to work. Sometimes these maids come here thinking being maid is easy money. If not happy, they can anytime cry to be send back. My other concern is that since you will be employer #4, what if she is forced by the agent to continue working? Maybe she wants to go back Indon but can't cos of the loan. In this case, there is risk of her running off or worse going "siao" cos she is pressured to work. I would say - tread with caution.

Hi mummies, I had bad experience with 3 maids 2 years bad and didn't have one since. Now that I have 2 kids we've decided to have a maid again. I just got an ex-sin Indonesian maid who had worked here for 3 years before she went home. My main priority is for her to help with housework and some cooking. She will arrive in 4-6 weeks and she will be alone at home once my kids attend full day childcare. I would like to ask if it's a good idea to leave maid alone at home in the day. How can be be sure that they are really doing their work and not lazing around or worst up to any funny business?

Hi Mattsmummy,

Both my kids are in fullday CC and I have a maid at home. My MIL will come over to my hse in the afternoon on most weekdays to help bring the kids back from CC.

I have a daily tasklist for the maid to do - housework, cleaning, cooking. But, when we are not home, I locked my Master BR door where most of the impt documents/ valuables are kept.

My MIL will open the Master BR for her to clean when she is there at my place.

I also installed a LiveCam at home to "monitor" my maid while she is alone at home.

In fact, in the first year we started to leave her at home, I only gave her the key to open the gate (in case of emergencies/ deliveries). I keep a set of door/ gate keep wrapped in an envelope within her reach (she is aware of where I keep) in case she needs to go run errands. Whenever she leaves the house, she will call to inform me and call again to inform that she is back.

I only let her keep both keys when we are sure she is trustworthy enough to hold the keys and that she won't go out without informing us.

So far this works quite well for about 2 yrs now. Even when my MIL cannot come over (holiday or going out elsewhere), we feel safe enough to leave her alone at home knowing she won't come up with funny business. We just renewed her contract to work with us for another 2 yrs.

I should say I am quite lucky to have a maid whom I can trust.

My advice - Do monitor your new maid's performance for at least 6 mths & gauge from there if she is trustworthy enough to be left alone at home. If you can get your parents/ in-laws or relatives to help dropby to looksee will be better (not necessary doing it everyday).

I do need some advice:
My maid of 1 years and 1 month claimed that her daughter (9years old) have leukaemia. Her kids are being looked after by her MIL (total 3 kids) for she is separated with her hubby.
So on the 3rd Jan, she suddenly left home to buy phone card as her MIL told her that her daughter has leukaemia and admiited to hospital. I reached home to see no one. I was very angry and told her off.
On the same night, I have bought another phone card for her to call her MIL. She tend cried badly. saying that she need to go home immediately.
My hubby and I were nice enough to accompanied her to agency and PHIL embassy to ask about her return the next working day. The agency told her to wait for 2 days then go back as need to do some paperwork. She refused and insisted to go home. So my hubby and I sent her to airport directly and buy a air ticket for her to go home (ticket paid by her). We even cancelled her work permit since she said that she may not come back so fast.

However, on 16 Jan, she text me and told me that she wishes to come back to work for me as her daughther did not get any leukaemia. Asked about work agremment. Hence I asked her what will be her expected agreement.

This is what she told me:
1) Need 2 SUnday off day per month
2) Increment of salary - the same as what the maid should get (Previously was $380 and I do give her off day but only once a month starting from Nov 2011).
3) Insisted to hold her own salary (Previously I hold for her and when she need to remit $, I will do it for her instead).

Her work attitutde is average only. She can cook dinner for us and get along well with my son. My son adores her like crazy and even called her "Auntie VIvian Mummy". She tend to show a black face to my friends whom came to my house. I suspected that she once steal $$ (About a few hundred) from us though I have no evidence, I did not install a camera(as we went to work and kids are in cc).

Do you think I should take her back? I felt that she lied to me about her daughter illness so that she could get higher salary and even off day. I need a helper to look after the house when we are at work, cook dinner for us, and sometimes look after my kids (esp when they are sick, or I need to run some errands).

Since there is mistrust here .. Betr don't take her back . Else she thinks ur easy . Im in similar situation b4 , n i regret taking back the maid, she also play on my sympathy, i know n suspect some of her misdeed . My decision turns out to b a grave error.

Say no to this maid,there are many maid better than her.She like it she work don't like want to go home,whats that,come back want this want that forget about it.Trust more problem will come in,get a fresh 1 better,afterall she is not a gd maid.

Hopefully, snowball32, acthia

Thanks for the advice! Lost track of this thread.
Didn't engage that particular maid finally. The agent was not helpful at all. Didn't want to risk paying them and getting lousy service later.
The agency I went to was in Geylang. They have alot of indo maid. Found the biodata on netmaid.com.

Am thinking of whether to hire another maid anot, after reading all the above posts. My current one, even though I offer her $450 with monthly day off to recontract, she said she has to 'think first'!! So yaya!

If ur child is old enough to go cc ,don't hire the maid.Is going to have another set of problem if get a maid.Get a part-time maid,do main housework n go,no worry.If not cc than bbs......

hi, anyone hired myanmar maid from united channel agency? or anyone has myanmar maid?

this our 1st time employing a maid and mine is coming to our home this wk.. i have a 7yo n 9mths old at hm n she will b looking after them.. as per agency, its a brand new maid..
now considering to install cam anot..

any advise?

Hi Jennifer,

I have a maid at home. Both my kids go to fulltime CC and we employ her to do housework and do cooking. I install a livecam at home (you can get from Singtel shop) to monitor my maid. It is a cheaper option to installing a CCTV camera.

My maid is aware of the livecam and she knows that I can see her mvt anytime/ anywhere. So far, we have no problem with this.

Hi, I m a newbie in getting a maid. Gonna interview the 1st potential maid this evening.

This Indo maid is highly recommended by the maid agency's boss, who is also an indonesian himself. According to him, he has personally interview her twice as anthr employer wanted to employ her n even got her passport issued in Mid Feb this yr. However, the employer finally didn't get the maid, cos his existing maid improved. This maid has no woorking experience outside her ctry. Cn I trust the agency's boss's words?

I m also tinking of installing cameras, heard Foscam is gd. Anyone using tat? Normally hw many shld I install n at which area? Shld I inform the maid tat ther r cameras in the house? Or shld I hide the cams n watch her secretly?

Much appreciate if anyone cn giv mi an advise. Thks!

Help!!!

My maid of 1 yr plus said she want to go back indo, claiming hb sick and dont want to go hospital.

My youngest is 1.5yrs old. Older one is 4.5 yrs old. She takes care of the youngest most of the time.

Her decision to leave caught me by surprise. So right now, I dont know what to do. I have already decided to put my younger boy in the same CC as his brother which is working distance (about 15 mins) from our place. My mum works 3 hours in the morning. My main worry is that my mum will get tired out. Also it can be quite a challenge to bring two kids to and fro.

1. Go maidless. I will hire a part time maid.
Pro: No more maid problems.
Cons: At night if my hb and I need to clear outstanding work, there is no one to take over the kids.

2. Hire a transfer maid.
Pro: someone to do housework. During emergecy, there is backup. Hb and I work long hours
Con: Not sure if transfer maid can be trusted. Basically no one to supervise her at home, though we can install CCTV

3. Hire a new maid
Pro: someone to do housework. During emergecy, there is backup.
Con: Waiting time at least 6 weeks. Got to train all over again

Which option should I take? My mum is all for 1. But I am not sure.

Hi chelsa, I would opt for #1 too.maid these days are not easy to take care..
Guess u can drop them off at your parents or in laws if really need to work late? But that's not all the time right?

HI Chelsa,

I would prefer to have option 1.
My maid went back in early Jan this year and it was a surprise too. Caught me off guard.
Currently I am maidless too. Me and hubby have to work and leave my kids in full day CC. We will tabao food for dinner. Reach home still have to do housework chores and look after kids.
Though it is quite tiring, yet need not bother about maid issue. Recenrly maids are not trustable and hard to get a good maid nowadays.
Do consider and discuss with your hubby.

Thanks for ur replies. I made a trip down to my agent. I told him that I may not hire maids but he still shortlisted three maids for me. I interviewed all and there is a 33 yr old transfer maid. She has completed a 2 yr contract. Did not renew her employment as she said her mum misses her. After three months, her mum asked her to work so that she can give her money. She came to sg again and so got to work for the loan again. Her employer returned her after half a year and according to her, the 80 yr old granny at home often scold her.

If I take her, I have to pay $788 (agent fees) and $500 monthly after 4 months when her loan is paid up. That is so expensive! My current maid is only $350 and I paid $488 as agent fee last year!

Currently my 18 month old still cries at night and needs to be carried. I am for option 1 too. However, there are a few considerations.
- My mum has rheumatism and she has difficulties walking especially when it rains. I leave home for work at 6.40 am. My hb may be able to drop them at the CC at 7.00 am but not always. Sometimes my hb may leave home early. Sometimes hb is also outstationed. The current arrangement when my hb needs to leave early is that my mum will go to my place at 6.40 am to bring my maid and two kids to her house. Maid and younger son will stay at my mum's place. Then mum will bring my older one to CC and then to work. So if there is no maid, my mum has to take two kids to and fro. I asked my mum to stop working but she wants to work.

- I enrolled my younger one for CC next monday. I am worried that he will fall sick. I have used up my childcare when my younger one was hospitalised in Jan. Mum also cannot take leave as and when.

- However, if I have a maid, there is nothing much for her to do! I have consider putting my younger one in half day CC so that she will take care of my younger one (with my mum's supervision. She will be home at noon time)

Sigh.....

Hi, can I check, I heard that if we would like to bring a maid in directly from Philippines, we would still need to go through an agent? Is that correct? Or can we do the paperwork ourselves?

the last time when i brough my maid in directly from PH, I got my agent to do the paper work which cost about $400 plus. But have to pay the air ticket separately.

Cos if do the paperwork ourself, it would be rather troublesome.

I have been looking for an ganggang service for about a week, could anyone suggest me a few service providers?
when I asked my few friends, they suggested me an servicer's called "Mummy’s Massage".
have anyone here used it earlier?

i have also had my fair share of "maid-changing". before coming in to read this thread, i thought that i was the only unlucky one. my friends around me didn't really have maids, and those that have, are tolerating their maids but have at least had them for almost 2 years...

i thought my 4th time was lucky... but no... the latest pinoy was worst! she actually lay down in bed the whole day that she decided to leave. she packed her bag early in the morning and didn't even talk to me. in the pm, she just told my hb that she wants to go agent. we didn't send her back that day but i got the agent to come down tmr. and when she knew that, she washed herself up the next day and wore nice clothes! and waited for agent to come. gosh!

i told her, i could send her back to ph. she said "if that's what you want, then send me back"
oh goodness! they r getting bolder nowadays.

am still waiting now for agency to refund me. and i am not going to get another maid. looking out for part-timer.

[QUOTE = "etelle, post: 3868939, member: 3125"] Hi Lenny
which means if i bring the maid to in law house. Then if like wash baby's bottle, change diapers anything that has got to do with baby can lah but cnanot sweep or mop the floor or wash clothes for my in laws lah is it???[/QUOTE]
You can set a compact with the family including the listing of your duty. But even if wash baby bottle, taking the particular baby bottle brush to clean it through is necessary.