A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

hi girls
i have tendered and will miss this thread after my last day in office.
however, i still hope to "visit" here once in a while at home.
i think all of us feel the same way, i've also a friend who got married in dec last yr and just knew that she's preggie in her 4th mth already, and she also didn't plan for it. *sigh* guessed we have to be more easy and bo chap about this ttc thing.

for those in 2WW, good luck!
lbs, really hope you stike this time!!

<font color="0000ff">gals</font>
We all must jia you together. Once in a while, we might get wind of so and so is preggie.. which will make us upset.. but hey.. out time will come .. so let's all be patient and work towards it!!

<font color="0000ff">hey ribena</font>
You planning to look for another job??
It really take a lot of courage to quit leh!
I want also cannot.. got financial commitments.
Well, at least you'll probably be less stressful now? Can concentrate on TTCing.

jamci,

i also agree with u....those who dun want babies...somehow so easy to get it...while those who want babies so much seem to have to work so hard for it! like oreo says....we must jia you and work hard!

tonite 's dinner with my mum she also causally brought up..."eh...Evelyn Tan oredi pregnant liow... you must work hard leh"...i so stressed. Anybody let your mum or family know that u are TTC very hard? or they juz tot we are not pregnant cos we are not trying ...or taking protection?

Dawn,

ya lor, those are always the lucky ones.
as for me, my mum knows that i ttc now, she actually showed me her charting she did to conceive me (it took her 3 yrs ok?), she was surprised to have found it while tidying up one day. So far, never pressurise me lah, but she did subtly ask if I am aware of ovulation period, temperature taking, etc. Dawn, maybe u can talk to ur mum and let her know that u are actually ttc very hard. Who knows, she may have some advice for u?

hi tuffy...
dun feel disheartened, so long AF not here yet means still stand a chance to bingo...keeping my finger cross for you.....lots of baby baby dust to you and all the gals out there......

Dawn, my BIL always asked us when we will have a baby. So i asked my hubby to try to tell his family not to discuss this topic with me again. I felt very stressed abt it.
Whenever some ppl asked me "when", i told a white lie, "Oh..not so soon and no money after the wedding"

hi, oreo
pl take me out from the ttc list. my AF came. feel very stressed over this TTC thingy and have decided to take a break. nevertheless, will still check out this thread regularly. thanks.

Hi Amberlyn,
girl dont feel so stressed. ya may be a good idea to take a break, dont think so much, forget abt charting and taking temp daily. Just relax ok?
take care.

Hi Tuffy

When do you agak-agak ovulated? Maybe is impantation dip???

Keeping my fingers cross for you...

hi lbs,
got such thing as temp dip during implantation? but is it supposed to rise again after that before AF comes?

hi classy,
will keep my chin up.

hi lbs,
I think agar agar should have O-ed before CD17. Now it's CD26. I don't harbour that much hope but I think I will take my temp tomorrow to see how. hope you have better luck!

Thanks Mrs. Tan and jamci.....
sometimes i also told colleagues...not planning so fast when they ask about it...but family ...have not really told them lor...juz always say "ok ok....will try hard" to answer her questions...i suppose chinese family...very difficult to tok to them about this type of issue...*sigh*

anyway...
will be going for short trip this weekend and last nite checked OPK positive liow... see whether can catch the boat this time!

Good luck to all those in their 2WW..... Tuffy jia you!

Hi tuffy,
dun give up.. no AF means still got chance. cross my finger for u

Hi dawn n jamci,
hiazzz, my mum oso keeps asking me tis question, "still dun want to give birth". but i didnt tell her Im TTC.. We have been married for almost 2yrs liao but only started trying recently. Tis year chinese new year, all our relatives, my MIL,BIL,SIL keep asking me the same question.. I told my hubby if by nxt yr, still no strike, i'm not going to visit any of them during CNY liao.. feel very pressure.

joice, understand the pressure that you r going through.... do u tink telling them we are ttcing...like what mrs. tan suggest....will help?

I juz got married end of last year....seriously trying ttc for these 2 cycles..... now only once in a while the relatives will casually bring up the topic of babies....but can imagine 1 year down the road...it will be even more pressurizing...

Tuffy... I sure know how you're feeling now! I'm also in my 2WW and this morning my temperature dip by 2 points. So sad..
I'm hoping so much I could hit the jackpot this month. We seem to be doing everything correctly to maximise the chance leh... Strangely, my breasts this cycle not sore.. usually will be sore before AF comes. I've 4 more days before my luteal phase ends. And of course, I'm almost going crazy right now... Hehee

hi wennia &amp; tuffy,
2WW..if only i will have a chance to wait till then. cos my AF is usually SOOOOO accurate that it will decide to visit me on CD28 withou fail. I can understand the going crazy kind of state u are going thru now... But hey, dip by 2 pts doesnt necessarily mean no chance, as there are some ppl whose temp drop but they still hit jackpot. so until AF comes, dont think so much.

Hi dawn,
I always tell my mum ok ok...'soon qi zi ran'. i started TTC somewhere ard Feb tis yr... So far i oni took temp n charting for 3 cycles... For the past 2 cycles, i didnt take temp or charting anymore.. Jus wan to relax myself first n see how.. let nature take its course lor..

Hi Mrs Tan
Yeap...some people do experience implantation dip (when you will notice a single day temp drop), usually between DPO7 to DPO10.

Hi Tuffy
Still there is some possibility. Yups, hope your temp goes up tomorrow.

Hi wennia
Since you have 4 more days before your luteul phase ends..there might be really high chance ler.
So, let's keep our fingers cross that your temp will shoot up tomorrow!!!

<font color="0000ff">mrstan</font>
My mum's different from yours. She conceived on her 1st try for all her 3 kids.. and she doesn't know anything about charting or temping. So, it's like i'm the one educating her, trying to make her understand so at least she won't keep pestering me to have a kid.

<font color="0000ff">amberlyn, westbb</font>

No prob. Will remove your nicks from the chart.
But you can always come in and chit-chat with us.

oreo, your mum very lucky!
or izit in the past, woman have not much stress like we have nowadays?

joice.. jia you too!

<font color="0000ff">Tuffy</font>
u are only in ur 9DPO.... it maybe ur implantation dip!! Cos it happens ard this time.... and u said that its a drastic drop so maybe u really going to bingo for this cycle?! Will keep my fingers cross for u!

I experienced sore nipples starting yst nite and so i thk im either "Oing" or just ended "Oing". Hmm.... now i gt abit of 2nd thgts regarding being preggie..... Haiz.....

<font color="0000ff">ribena</font>
so u found a job b4 u tendered? If not, me too admire ur courage....
Its ur CD11 today.... BD hard okie??

<font color="0000ff">dawn</font>
yar lor.. my mum's very fertile.. had her 1st when she was only 23 years old. In the past, not so much stress, not like now.
I also envy my mum leh!

<font color="0000ff">dawn</font>
I thk maybe women of the past are more healthy unlike women nowadays?!
I always joke abit couples of the past having many kids..... cos they have not much activities like modern days and so their only activity is BD and so they able to produce so many "output"...

yea..talking abt old days ..I think is easier for mums then to get preggie ler. Both my mum &amp; MIL got pregnant during their first month of marriage!

Actually, we have told my MIL abt my hubby's condition. No doubts she gets a bit worry but at least she knows we are already trying hard so she wont stress us out now..
109410.gif

lilac, this is what i am also thinking too...ha ha ha.
why our elder generation had so many children.
Somemore all squeeze in one room to slept, how to BD huh? Really pei fu them. Maybe when the cats are asleep, the mouses come out to play...

I agreed, the elder generation seem easily give birth to so many children unlike ours! Just like 'sheng dan'(produce eggs). Hee.. I think our parents generation is more concerned of how to stop conceiving rather than TTC.
Anyway, we all try hard together.

Yah, agree.. my mum had to take BCP after giving birth to me coz' at that time, the gov was promoting "Stop at 2".. and 6 years later, she stopped taking, and then she conceived her 3rd child.
If she hadn't take, goodness knows how many bro and sisters i will have now! Maybe enough to form a soccer team!!

yah agree with you gals, last time not so much movies, shoppings...and nite activities or tv shows...so oni BD for entertainment at nite? wah lbs, both mum and mil got pregnant 1st month ! i tink the older generation must be wondering what is wrong with the younger gerneration!

maybe government should pass a law that states less work for woman and man trying to conceive!!

ya... i agreed too, last time life not so stress... hmmmm think i am going to ask my mum how long she took to conceive me?

Its TGIF again... 2,3 hrs more and we are off work... hip hip hooray!
109434.gif

hi oreo &amp; lilac
yes i'm looking for a job now.
don't have to admire me lah, i also have worries abt not able to find a job. But, i think i've made the right decision, quitting this job has improve my marriage, my health and temper, and i think will help in my chances is ttc.

if i stay in this co. even if i'm preggie, i'll have a hard time here. so better to leave earlier than later!

i also think life is not so stress during our mother's time. they just BD and be happy that bb is on the way! our time we think more abt educating the kid, $$ and responsibilities and coping btw working and kid. so not to be more stress hor?

hello ladies,
am getting quite bad cramps now. jia lat. Feel like AF coming type. Today's CD26 for me. I have had 26 day cycle before but usually 30 days. Also noticed some spotting. hai yah. I don't dare to raise too high hopes. thanks for all your well wishes!

Hi ribena
Can understand how you feel when you tendered!! My previous job was also really stressful &amp; I was not happy then. One of the main reason why I quit was also I didnt want it to affect TTC..

Hubby also said that ever since I quit, I am much much happier!!

Hi Tuffy
Let nature takes its course...what will be will be....btw, have your hubby seen the doc already? If I remembered correctly, you suspect there are some bad side effects to fertility on the antibiotics he took, right?

hi lilac
why are you having second thots about getting preggie? Actually for me I sometimes also wonder if I am ready to have a baby. It's like I want it now because I realise how difficult it is to conceive. At the same time, I wonder if I am prepared to make all the sacrifices that come with motherhood.

Hi Tuffy/lilac
This thought (if I am ready for baby) has always been with me since I got married..especially when I got stress out so much by this TTC thingy...but I think there is no definite answer to this,right?

Dun think so much, yea?

You know, gals ...
There is no straightforward answer to the question as to whether we are all ready for motherhood.
A baby will never learn how to walk unless he trys and ultimately he will learn to walk!
So, i supposed it's the same for us, we will never know until we are put in that position.

okie dokie.... it's TGIF!
Hope you gals have a great weekend! And happy BDing to those in the fertile week (yeah.. including myself too!

<blink><font color="ff0000">***BABYDust to ALL*****</font></blink>

i think i have the same thoughts as some of u. Even though I am hunger to have baby, I do render the thought if I am ready. I like to travel a lot, and when I do get to travel ard, which my SIL can't do much now due to preg, I feel that mayb i shld delay my plan....But when I failed for that month, I feel very sad and disappointed .very ironic and contrasting, rite???:)But I do agree with dawn that once we see our babies, we'll be ready...Really pray that this day will arrive..

2 days ago, my In-laws asked me again....Even my FIL who is very cool, couldn't help it, but ask why I still no news yet....Very stress......

Sometimes, I wonder why some are so fertile...?? I have got a colleague, who really can control; her preg. 1 month ago, she told us that she hope to have another baby girl, and decide to conceive. A month later, her case confirmed...So envy..

hi tuffy,
You must also jia you for next cycle....dun be dishearted...:)

HI stupid,
ya i have excatly the same feeling as you. sometimes i really wish to be pregnant but sometimes not.. Bcos i understand tat once a baby comes along, we will be restricted to many things. Then i read thru some of the Mum's thread here n they complained tat their r/s with their hubby is not as close as b4 cos all their attention goes to e baby...

But anyway let's look on e bright side n JIA U JIA U!...

Enjoy ur weekend, everybody!
109540.gif

Hi Frenz
This morning we went to see the urologist for hubby poor SA. We showed him the result &amp; I think he is kind enough to console us that hubby's result is not that bad at all..at least he produced good quantity...

He did some physical examination for hubby &amp; said at 'surface' all look okay but refer him to do a hormone check &amp; testicles ultrasound. The first is to see if my hubby's hormones level &amp; the latter is to see if there is any sign of varicocele.Wow, both tests cost us $200++. Plus the consultation fee is abt $300.. But I guess most importantly is to get hubby treated soonest lor..

Next week we are going back to see him again for the results.

Depends of which is the cause, hubby may need to be under medication or probably a surgery (if found the cause of poor sperms is due to varicocele.

Hopefully, is not something major...~HAIZ~

Hi Ibs,

My husband has a similar problem like yours. His SA result was quite bad initially - his sperm shape are very bad (0% good one as against a required min 15%).

We were referred to a urologist - Prof Peter Lim at AUCC Gleneagles. He's apparently one of the best in this field and is a very nice gentleman. He diagnosed that my hubby was suffering from quite bad varicocele....and think that it could be the contributing reason to the bad sperm quality (but of course he cannot confirm).

My hubby underwent the surgery to correct the varicocele on both his testes, the surgery costs us a good $2K in cash after deducting medisave. Company insurance does not cover.

We had to wait 3 mths for the sperm quality to be corrected before we could do another SA to see if the quality of sperm has improved. Luckily for us, the problem we faced is really due to varicocele and the sperm quality has gone back to normal. So now we are trying for a baby again....and I myself is consulting a fertility specialist to correct my irregular periods.

You may want to make sure you find your hubby a good urologist if need to go for surgery cos I read that if not done well, the surgery could cause more damages.

Hi TTC
Thks for sharing with me. I will see how's his results next week &amp; make further planning from there.

Btw, forgot to share with you my 'experience' in Gleneagles today while waiting for hubby's turn to do the hormone test.

Not only did I see lots of preggies, in less than 30 mins of waiting, I saw three preggies (maybe around 3-4months pregnant) together with their hubbies brought their infants (the babies all look very very small) for blood test!!! Which means, they conceived again very soon after they gave birth? How can that be? Why so lucky?

I was really down then &amp; in my heart, I kept thinking how come others can get pregnant so easily? Why not us?

hi lbs,
don't feel so bad about it ok? I guess not everything will go smoothly in our lives so this is but one of the tests. So try to keep your spirits up yah? at least you are still in your 2WW. Cheer up ok?

hi "stupid"
no worries - I will be ok.

I came across this article.. enjoy reading!!

Question: I'm feeling stressed out lately -- Will this affect my chances of getting pregnant?

Answer: It might stress can interfere with getting pregnant. In fact, if you're stressed because you're having a hard time getting pregnant, people often say, "just relax, and it will happen." Although this can be insulting, there's a kernel of truth to it.

That's because stress can affect the functioning of the hypothalamus the gland in the brain that regulates appetite, emotions, as well as the hormones required to release the eggs. If you're stressed out, you may ovulate later in your cycle or not at all. So if you're only having sex around day 14 thinking this is when you're about to ovulate then you're probably not going to get pregnant.

It's important to differentiate between constant and sudden stress. Your body often acclimates to constant, everyday stresses so you'll probably ovulate fairly consistently each cycle. It's the sudden stress a death in the family, divorce that can throw your cycle off and interfere with conceiving. But this varies from woman to woman. Some women find that even a trip out of town can delay ovulation; others find that a severely traumatic incident doesn't impact their cycle at all.

It's also important to note that positive stress can also affect your cycle; you might ovulate later or not at all. Brides often report strange cycles because they're happily stressed about their weddings. It doesn't matter that the stress is good it can still affect ovulation.

If you're trying to get pregnant and you're under stress, your cervical fluid may give you a warning that something's wrong. Rather than noticing increasing cervical wetness as you approach ovulation, you might find patches of wetness interspersed with dry days it's as if your body is trying to ovulate, but the stress continues to delay it. You won't know that you've ovulated unless you're tracking your basal body temperature and you see the sustained rise about a day after ovulation.

The good news is that delayed ovulation lengthens your entire cycle; it does not shorten the luteal phase the period typically lasting 12 to 16 days after ovulation to the start of your next menstrual period. This is important because a short luteal phase has been linked to early miscarriage. So while stress may screw up your ovulation, it won't necessarily mess with your chances of a successful pregnancy.

Just to share my experience. My hubby was quite sad and disappointed that he has to go thru hormones jab to increase the quality of his sperm. After he came out of my RE's room, he just went out of the clinic, saying that he will go see his car at the carpark. I was abit stunned at that time thinking why he is in the rush and left the payment for me to settle. Then I called him on his mobile and he told me that he was very xian and didn't want to stay any longer in the clinic. Then I felt angry with myself for not knowing this and caring for his feelings.... then I started to remember that I, as a wife, I should care for his feelings. Juz think that I am too obssess with my TTCing that I forgot about my hubby's feelings.. I felt so bad after that. From then on, I always remind myself that my hubby is still more important than anything else....
Luckily, he is ok about the whole thing....