(2013/11) November 2013

yunzz, tmc does not provide disposable undies, you have to bring your own. watsons brand not bad I think quite a lot of mummies got them during watsons sale.

All the best SN, you should be in theatre now... the can see cannot eat is a torture...

was there a flood yday?? I was so happy #1 managed to sleep till 12noon then wake up yday....

ankh, I will probably be the same too cos I wont be home for 40days maybe...

fuzzybear, just laze ard and relax... i'm thinking if I should get MC and tmr after gynae's appt...

little prince, possible to go in the evening on Fri after both working hrs?
gotta work out with your hb again....
but think he's not bad lah...
mine left me alone to handle the helper employment etc...

fuzzybear, your helper very daring leh... dare to ask permission to go downstairs so late??
is she new or work in Sg before?

morning mummies!!

Congrates SN!! another mummy!! waiting to see all the cute cute photos of the bbs... and looking at them i cant wait for mine to pop also.. want to see my baby in my arms.. oh ya yesterday one mummy was sharing taht watson is having sale for kodomo wet wipes.. one pack of 70 pcs is $2 each.. use nets buy 10 pk free 1 pk.. use flashnets buy 10 pk free 2pk.. if interested can go and buy.. i saw people buying 3-4 cartons..

does tmc provide disposable panties? or do we have to bring our own?
you can get from watson.. i bought mine yesterday 2 packs for $7.90.. 100% cotton... quite like it..

Hi to all mummies,

so glad that I found this forum...this is my no. 1 so really gain a lot of knowledge reading through all the posts... my edd is 2nd Nov....can't wait too...hehe

Hi Mummies~!

Help needed! I have a rather personal question to ask.... Those mothers who have went through confinement, is it true that cannot touch tap water? If yes, then who will wash the underwear? Can't be hubby or CL right... So does that mean must wear disposable undies for 1 whole month?!? o_O

i'm so tired today... woke up like 4x last night coz becoming such a light sleeper... hubby snored a bit, i can't sleep. :(
feeling very grouchy today... & baby stretching inside is getting so uncomfortable. i feel so horrible. :confused:

hey flogal..
yeah thru the normal checkup..my gynae was quite surprised that the baby was engaged. so she went on to do a VE. (i hate VE btw!) and she told me that my cervix was opened. so she said it's best i dont walk too much for now. gave me some hormones pills to take daily. gg again for my check up on thurs... i hope i wont be warded!

oh forgot to type my email add just now.
it's [email protected]
pls add me to the FB group! :)

btw, are you gals gg to wear the postpartum binder right after delivery? i thought of packing it tog in the hospital bag.

fuzzybear, then i went bk home at 11am earlier to watch maid pack and send her back to agent with hb lor. he was trying to do service recovery by asking me if can send maid bk today instead lah. BTH! anyway, its a big relief tt i hv sent her back! agent agreed tt her perf is not satisfactory and will get a replacement maid for me. just start all over again lor.

mummychua, Bambini sent me the link to view soft copies in 7 days. you are taking the pkg for maternity and newborn like mine? if yes, then you can either choose the copies for album now or wait till newborn's photos are taken to choose together and they will bind into album. they can also send the high resolution soft copies either now or later after newborn's photos are ready. btw, they gave me 100 over shots, i thought its really a good deal. was your photographer Yong En?

ankh, didn't want hb to do it himself coz i signed the documents then so better for me to be around.

febie, hb will try his luck to ask if i can send maid bk myself (coz he knows i am very capable to do everything myself). but i am not comfortable since i am preggie with a big tummy and in case maid is not happy i am sending her bk to agent so suddenly and do anything to me or what then how? very vulnerable when i am driving and she is sitting at the back lor. and if its after office hours, #1 is with me. i don't feel good to let him sit with maid at the back when she is obviously not happy we are returning her to agent.

sheepsdream, not sure if CL washes undies but i would prefer to wear disposables for a month if need be?

SN, can't wait to see your baby's photo!

Hi Mummies~!

Help needed! I have a rather personal question to ask.... Those mothers who have went through confinement, is it true that cannot touch tap water? If yes, then who will wash the underwear? Can't be hubby or CL right... So does that mean must wear disposable undies for 1 whole month?!? o_O

i'm so tired today... woke up like 4x last night coz becoming such a light sleeper... hubby snored a bit, i can't sleep. :(
feeling very grouchy today... & baby stretching inside is getting so uncomfortable. i feel so horrible. :confused:
Hi sheepsdream,

Someone just shared on our Facebook group that one gynae said its not true that you can't touch water during confinement. For my last 2 confinement, I already showered and washed my hair during the hospital 3 days 2 nights stay! And if you have episiotomy cut, please wash your V area each time after pee, pat dry and apply the spirit/bottom spray, to heal the wound faster!

sheepsdream - i will be using disposable panties and have stocked up watson one. i dun tink CL JD includes washing panties and i think i is kinda weird to ask CL to wash right haha.. mayb it just me. if not just throw into the washing machine (if you are not pantang)

third3timemum - will hositpal provodes the bottom spray? or we have to get it separately from outside?

anyone having insomnia lately? i cant seem to zzzz and is really getting annoying :(

sheepsdream - i will be using disposable panties and have stocked up watson one. i dun tink CL JD includes washing panties and i think i is kinda weird to ask CL to wash right haha.. mayb it just me. if not just throw into the washing machine (if you are not pantang)

third3timemum - will hositpal provodes the bottom spray? or we have to get it separately from outside?

anyone having insomnia lately? i cant seem to zzzz and is really getting annoying :(
for my last 2 pregnancies, Mt Alvernia hospital provided me with the spirit and cotton wool, I have not use bottom spray before, but the spirit works fine, I just need to get extra cotton wool from the pharmacy downstairs before I discharged.

sheepsdream

i will be wearing the disposables too during confinement. already stock up during watson member sale. can touch tap water... else how to brush teeth leh. but whole month must drink red dates tea or boiled water, n must sit down to drink.

flogal

im also having isomnia....... anyway have to get use to it since baby will keep waking you up in the middle of the night for feed n diaper changefor new mums, sometimes baby will poo right after feed, so dun be in a hurry to go back to bed heh.

I don't have insomnia, however, I woke up several times in the night, I usually sleep on my left side, and after a few hours, my hip & thigh are painful, so I got up, or switched to tummy up, then after some time, need to turn back to left again, as tummy up gives me backache, can't sleep on the right at all, feeling painful, perhaps my baby is always on my right. I read that if baby feels compressed, they will " make noise", and mummy need to change position. This 3rd trimester is like back to 1st trimester, last few weeks very uncomfortable. I guess it's preparing us for the night feeding and diaper changing when baby comes! I am seeing my gynae coming Friday , at 37 weeks 4 days, and he mentioned will do the Virginal Bacteria Test. Thinking if I should go for my Brazalian Wax, or wait some more, I don't know when my baby is going to come.

little prince, ya that's why I nv suggest you go alone. Cos we do not understand their mentality and of course we wont wanna put our kids at risk too.
Hope you and hb can come to a good conclusion on the timing. and do ensure all car doors are lock when sending her to the agency...
some agency will offer to pick up the helper too... maybe you wanna check yours?

Doubt tmr I can take MC... Boss just told me customer coming tmr and need me to be ard...

sheepsdream

i will be wearing the disposables too during confinement. already stock up during watson member sale. can touch tap water... else how to brush teeth leh. but whole month must drink red dates tea or boiled water, n must sit down to drink.

flogal

im also having isomnia....... anyway have to get use to it since baby will keep waking you up in the middle of the night for feed n diaper changefor new mums, sometimes baby will poo right after feed, so dun be in a hurry to go back to bed heh.
I ever come across MTBs shared that their mums told them to boil water, cool down for brushing teeth and washing hands!

I still remembered my then babies will poo when latching! sometimes even leaked, so need to change clothes as well!

sheepdream, I also suggest that you wear disposal panty.
I doubt CL will wash too... and I wont feel good to ask CL (if I were to engage one) even my own mum I will not lor...
I ald stock up the disposal ones at my mum's pl since I'm doing confinement there.

Thanks for the info, ladies! Is watsons one comfortable? Coz i bought cotton disposable maternity undies from Pink Beauty(from Toa Payoh), just feel that it's a bit loose & i'm worried about the leakage from the pads. Is the cotton one from Watsons fitting?

Another qn is if we are using the spirit, do we still need to use Vagisil to wash? Sorry for all the dumb qns, noob here..

My MIL is pestering me to get a maid and so do a number of friends, instead of sending bb to ifc at 4 months.
Sigh, I very lazy to go through the whole procedure of getting and training a maid.
My hb doesn't like a stranger staying with us too.
But you girls have maids right? I am in such a dilemma. How how ah?

febie, i sent her back already this morning after i ranted. :p Phew!

gwengan, i didn't have a maid before pregnancy, now getting one lor. it depends if you have things for maid to do at home? i need a maid as i need to spend time coaching #1 with hw and hb is not the type who will do housework kind.

littleprince: Their intentions were for me to send the maid to my mom's place so that someone can keep an eye on her while she takes care of baby. She can do housework too. But I don't want an additional person to "take care" of eh. And I have to spend about $1000 on her every month, which is more expensive than IFC. :(

i feel watson one q comfy coz is free size.

third3timemum - ya same! when i lie on my back, i will get backache. switch to left bb kicking switch to right tummy painful.

attigal - haha true.. i will take it like a "training" ground now

I ever come across MTBs shared that their mums told them to boil water, cool down for brushing teeth and washing hands!

I still remembered my then babies will poo when latching! sometimes even leaked, so need to change clothes as well!

wah thats very hard core! lol I bochup when I was in hospital. but really didn't bath back then.

those were the days! I rem being paranoid even about the color of baby's poo.. back then so blur.

Thanks for the info, ladies! Is watsons one comfortable? Coz i bought cotton disposable maternity undies from Pink Beauty(from Toa Payoh), just feel that it's a bit loose & i'm worried about the leakage from the pads. Is the cotton one from Watsons fitting?

Another qn is if we are using the spirit, do we still need to use Vagisil to wash? Sorry for all the dumb qns, noob here..

The watsons free size one should be quite comfy and fitting.

for my number #1 i can't rem liao.. if not wrong I used only water and the antiseptic bottom spray for down there.. I have to ask the nurses again.

Floral, including food and everything for maid will come up to like 1k a month.

Febie, I'm not having twins. :)

Woahwoah, recently I kept wondering if I'm dillated. Cos last pregnancy, doc didn't check me till very very late. So I'm thinking even if I'm dillated, he wouldn't know. So through the scan, he will know that baby is engaged?

Sheepsdream, I wore disposable panties for about 2-3 weeks last time. Then changed to normal ones. Cos aft a while, I feel more comfortable wearing back my cotton ones. If there are stains, I'll scrub it first. If not I just put into washing machine for CL to wash. She's paid to do all these ma. This time, I've got a maid. So I think my maid will continue to wash my clothes and hubby's clothes. My CL gets offloaded in a way. Good for her hor.

Gwen, u mean ur initial plan is to send to IFC? If u want ur mum to take care, then just have to accede to her request to have the maid to help out. Initially it never crossed our mind to have a maid w one kid. But my mil says she can't handle alone so we just have to get one to help her out.

Watson disposable panties is for maternity mothers? but in free size?
I am on the bigger side, so thinking able to fit into it boh.......................

The spirit is to apply, after you wash your V area, after pee, spirit is to dry the episiotomy wound, thus makes it heal faster

ya my mil just told me last night.. during confinment everything must use boiled water.. wash face wash hand everything need water must be boiled.. -.-'' i asked her the difference between the confinement shampoo and the chinese herb.. she immediately tell me use herb lah.. where can use the shampoo one.. so ya.. i dun really have other options already...

but i will probably be using the alcohol spray also.. just incase the herb really dun make me feel clean..

ya my mil just told me last night.. during confinment everything must use boiled water.. wash face wash hand everything need water must be boiled.. -.-'' i asked her the difference between the confinement shampoo and the chinese herb.. she immediately tell me use herb lah.. where can use the shampoo one.. so ya.. i dun really have other options already...

but i will probably be using the alcohol spray also.. just incase the herb really dun make me feel clean..

why huh... what's the diff between boiled water & normal water? Boiled water not so 'cooling' huh? I read the reviews for confinement shampoo like pretty good lor. i'm quite tempted to buy coz i heard from my colleagues that the herbs leave a sticky feeling, like not clean lor. So end up they still have a final rinse in hot water. :p so i was wondering if i can use the shampoo & bathe with hot water instead of the herbs.

3rdtimemum> thanks for the info on the spirit!

Pinky,
I am also one of those who cant go travelling w/o bringing my kids along. So far all holidays and staycations and i bring them along.

MummychuaS,
Ya, i am v hip if u think of me and my bikini and gstring. Lol!! Nw with the rashes getting worst dun think i will dare wear my bikini liao.
I am having a hard time clearing clothes in drawers for my #3 and there are soo many toys ard the hse. Imagine my boy has 2 storage boxes of new clothes and my gal has 4 boxes! I am lucky i manage to squeeze 1 drawer out for my #3.

Bezette,
Welcome to the thread.

Sheepsdream,
Sorry but i am one of those who nv believe tat confinement cant touch water. This is modern sg, modern world. In this kind of weater n climate, how can one nt bathe and keep hygiene??

Flogal,
Me. If i wake up in the middle of the nite, it takes me a few hrs to go back to slp =.=

Floral, including food and everything for maid will come up to like 1k a month.

Febie, I'm not having twins. :)

Woahwoah, recently I kept wondering if I'm dillated. Cos last pregnancy, doc didn't check me till very very late. So I'm thinking even if I'm dillated, he wouldn't know. So through the scan, he will know that baby is engaged?

Sheepsdream, I wore disposable panties for about 2-3 weeks last time. Then changed to normal ones. Cos aft a while, I feel more comfortable wearing back my cotton ones. If there are stains, I'll scrub it first. If not I just put into washing machine for CL to wash. She's paid to do all these ma. This time, I've got a maid. So I think my maid will continue to wash my clothes and hubby's clothes. My CL gets offloaded in a way. Good for her hor.

Gwen, u mean ur initial plan is to send to IFC? If u want ur mum to take care, then just have to accede to her request to have the maid to help out. Initially it never crossed our mind to have a maid w one kid. But my mil says she can't handle alone so we just have to get one to help her out.

yeah bunnymummy, my gynae sorta said a few times... while she was scanning..
"the baby is engaged. hmm that's fast. the baby is engaged. how many weeks are you? hmm yeah the baby is engaged. i need to do a VE."

what is confinement shampoo? what brand is good? i really cant imagine no wash hair man.. it will be super duper oily man.

bluenosebear - the one i brought from watson is not meant for maternity but general disposable undies which i find is comfy.

Hello! Hope all mummies doing well! I am still far away from delivery cause only 34 weeks. Sulk!

Anyway 1 mummy in FB was saying cannot take Hl after 36 weeks is it true? How abt mc? I was planning take mc for a week after 36 weeks then clear annual leave then ml.

Please advise thanks!

Congratulations on the impending arrival of your lil'ones! Would like to share with you that my MIL makes red glutinuous rice wine (hong zao jiu 红糟酒) for own consumption on a regular basis. Usually, there'll be extra bottles and she will sell them. Please let me know if you are interested to order.

She has ready stock now. You may want to grab a few bottles for your coming confinement.

Cheers.

why huh... what's the diff between boiled water & normal water? Boiled water not so 'cooling' huh? I read the reviews for confinement shampoo like pretty good lor. i'm quite tempted to buy coz i heard from my colleagues that the herbs leave a sticky feeling, like not clean lor. So end up they still have a final rinse in hot water. :p so i was wondering if i can use the shampoo & bathe with hot water instead of the herbs.

3rdtimemum> thanks for the info on the spirit!

I have no idea... But I really find it very ma fan... Must keep using boiled water.. I also have no idea wats the difference but I guess old folks just prefer the traditional method..

Felval: lucky for me is she didn't stop me from bathing or washing hair.. But just that have to use boiled water.. So each give n take one step.. Hahaha dun want later everything also cannot..

Glad to hear tt Sei is fine and ya i saw her post in fb. Guess she will be busy milking liao...

littleprince, lucky u managed to send ur maid off so fast. Ya wait for a better maid. When ur coming appt? Mine is next Monday, 9am. Are we gg to see each other? keke..

Val, cos i worried cannot handle e bb and wat if sick during e trip. Even worst. So got the idea tt better dun bring bb out for holiday.

Bunnymummy, ur 1st kid is e same gyne as now right? When did he check e dilation of cervix? Can request him to check early this time?

xiaober, ya i oso heard tt muz boiled water for usage during confinment period. I dunno i can tahan tt herbs water to bath anot. Shall see how, anyway bought e bodywash for confinment. Is there a shampoo for confinement too?

3rdtimemumies, me too... i had a hard time shifting my position when sleeping. My tummy so heavy tt i got problem changin to left or right side. And my pelvic bones seem to loosen up recently which cause aching whenever i shift position... I can wake up a few time during e night... yawns!

tequlia_sunrise, i oso at 34 weeks!!! haha.. still a long long way to e D day.. i guess we will be e last few ones... keke...

Oh i got a super weird dream yst! I dreamt of my ex bf!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL.... i wonder how he suddenly appear in my dream...i nv tot of him at all lo... weird.

Gd morning! my BHs are 6 mins apart again this am.. wah lao.. sian.

Re: boiled water
Again, try tracing back where this myth came from. In China, the water is dirty and cold, hence people boil it to disinfect it and to warm it up. When u boil water the 2 main things that happen is removing dissolved gases in it and to kill microbiological stuff in there. In SG, our tap water is perfectly clean for u to use in the tap. Trust me, if u boil every single drop of water that u are gonna use, ur electricity/ gas cost will rise tremendously. on top of it, u still need to boil herbs etc.

Re: herbal bath
Seriously mommies, u are in the loo by urselves! who will know if u choose to do one final rinse with clean hot water?!

Little Prince, glad u got ur maid out of ur house. How was her reaction when u told her u didn't want to employ her further?

Febie, my maid sort of lied to her hb. she told him she was coming to SG to work in the IT industry.. when she got here, she didn't know how to top up her SIM card so they were out of touch for a whole wk. when they could finally talk, she told him she was a maid and he was so mad and accused her of cheating on him blah blah blah.. so drama.. anyway i spoke to her already so she is more aware.

Pinky, aiya! My appt is next Mon but pm this time coz I hv something on in the morning.

Fuzzybear, prior to me reaching home, she was chatting on the phone for abt 30min (didn't really chatted on phone first two weeks, only started recently. ) and justhung up when I rreached home. I told her to pack up and after packing for a while, she asked why? I told her we didn't feel she did her work well and she didn't clean the house well enough but kept using her phone instead. If she can't do even basic proper cleaning now, how to take care of baby in few mths time? She said I can always tell her if she didn't do her cleaning well, I told her I did and cited few examples tt I told her but the cleaning was still not done properly. Then she kept quiet and said ok. I didn't tell her anymore after tt, told the agent instead and he agreed tt we shld chg her.

Actually, I am happier without a maid again .. hehe! Although I need to do everything myself now but I feel control is in my hands lor. But hor, my #1 is feeling sorryfor the maid lehhhh .. I told him last night only tt we sent maid bk and he kept asking me why I don't give her an other chance and whether she will be sent bk home, he even dropped sympathy tears for her when I was putting him to bed! Very sentimental boy!

morning! tried to change my username to mummychua but someone else has it so i add a S at the back since both my kids have name starting with S. so now im mummychuaS. paiseh confuse everyone.

littleprince, my photographer is Yong En too. yup, i too the same package as you. will you be getting her to you place for the newborn photo or will you go to their place with bb? she quite good with my gal, lots of smiling face from her. hope that the pictures will turn out well. it will be very nice if they will to return all the 100 pictures in high resolution. make the package value for money...

maid, actually i really peifu mummies have maid. i have zero idea how to live with one and worse how to handle all the issues they have for you. telling them off, sending them off. it just seems so much work.

tequila_sunrise, some companies doesn't take HL after 36wks. if you start HL, they got the right to see it as the start of your ML. but im not sure abt MC. but why you want to take HL to rest at hm? i find it very boring to stay at hm to wait. it make me very restless. i rather take one or two days off per wk to rest but asking me to stay at hm for 1mth doing nothing but wait, i think i will go crazy.

pinky, its possible to travel with infant. just have to adjust ur expectation of a holiday coz there will be alot of stoppage along the way. it wont be as activities packed as you will to travel with adult. choose to go for bb friendly country, bring some basic med for bb. it can fun too. im thinking of a Perth trip before i return to work after ML.

Mummychuas, I was concerned abt props initially but Yong En said coming to our place will be more convenient for us (which is true) and they will prepare all the props so let them come to my place instead lor. Haiz, I prefer not to hv a maid if this is my #1 but with 2 kids (and another 2 on wkends) and hb is not the kind tt will do chores automatically, its really better for us to hv a maid. Learn to live with her lor.

My gf's water bag burst this morning! Now in labour at tmc! Will chk out her bill and more info abt tmc when I visit her and share with you all!

littleprince, maybe you can engage a part time mid to help out with the heavier chores, less taxing on you n finances also.