(2012/08) Aug 2012

Starfantasy: Yup they are very "pantang". Last year during my wedding dinner, my grandma came up to the bridal suit to relax as she's on wheelchair and not feeling very well then my mom ask my grandma to rest on our bed but MIL "pantang" say sorry cannot lie cause it's their wedding night cannot let other people lie and touch. My mom also dont want to make her unhappy then ask my grandma to relax on sofa first. But i wasnt so positive and nice tempered before until i met my hubby moved in and changed to become better hahahahaha! Last time younger dont know how to think ma. Abit only i lose temper and angry. Now become mother i guess changed alittle haha

Kelly: wah, really very pantang le but seriously Buddha don't pantang such these de ba.. But guess its individual belief yeah.. I also have a few Buddha at home hehe
Guess just treat it that you will be fully taken care and served during that one mth yeah.. Hey, but there will be a day u need to bring bb back to the hospital for check up le.. Then how?

Kelly, I think tat part can't stay at living room coz got Buddha, my MIL oso practices tat. My MIL oso doesn't allow her daughters do confinement in her place. Coz, will bring "suay" to MIL house.

MIL pantang thingy I follow lor. Coz, later if touchwood BN always sick or cry or anything suay happen to family members, they will blame u for yearssss.. So, prevention of quarrel, follow if no harm to BB n my health. This is my mum's advice. I think it is a respect to old people oso.

Ayukie, u r not alone, I oso hurt my throat ytd night after puking.. Sob sob sob... Going to my 6th mth in 2 more days, when this gonna end?

Joanne, for PISA, I saw metrojaya selling 629, PISA + beeba thermometer. Not sure if they still selling at this price. May be wait for OG baby fair? Think OG every year has bb fair too. But not sure if there is any good deal for PISA.

morning mummies..

QQ> we saw the fisher price one and actually my hubby and I feel that it wasnt that good in the sense of "transforming" the rocker to seat for the toddler.. End of the day we saw the bright star brand it is better.. U wont hurt yourself also. maybe u wanna convince ur hubby that baby doesnt really need to lie down and look at the ceiling the whole day. The rocker can let baby see other stuffs and interact with anyone facing them sitting upright. The bright star one is also for toddlers up to 18kg.

Thats what we compared. =)

JC.. Hb said.. No toys for bb..???? Bo chap him.. Later when bb is out.. Think he will auto buy for bb.. He keeps saying I'm gonna pampered bb n spoilt his bb...

Sherry & QQ: When going for checkups no choice but cannot like go infront of the Buddhas. My in laws are considered Taoist pray to a few GODS so ask me to not go infront of the "Guan In" esp. When going see doc, MUST take umbrella shelter myself even if not raining cause she say i "dirty" (menses) if bad sprits want to attack me very easy. So just listen lo..

Kelly, ya.. They believes we are dirty after delivery. Even, monthly I have menses , I can't go to temple or pray.. CNY eve oso can't pray. But we don't have the umbrella culture. I only used umbrella during my wedding day. My mum said, since I chosen my hb n decided to marry him, so must learn to respect their culture n believe oso. Keep one eye open one eye shut.

QQ > can understand.. there are some things I just buy then my hubby shake head.. then now is i tell myself dun buy liao.. a lot of expenses later on.

i havent start buying .. wanted buy some but stupid gap keeps on oos .. i gave up think buy next hols they have ..

I only buy those stuff that are neccessary now.. Toys wait till later ba since bb can't play straight away.. The expenses on the necessary stuff are pretty xiong already, everytime hb think will shake head also.. Haha, but he is a little miao one

kelly,
ur MIL is really pantang but i guess its both ways if u can accept it n to her is for ur own gd also.
MY MIL in comparison with my own family is much more liberal abt all these religious beliefs.

QQ,
how can no toys, must have toys esp for first 3 mths, get those "red/ black/ white" colour bed bumpers or mobile tat stimulate baby vision cos 1st few mths they can only c these colours.
don buy toys for "play" but for stimulation is essential

Ayukie: Is there anything you can take to make you feel better? When I was naeusa in my 1st trimester, my gynae told me to take sparkling water, or saltine biscuits and it really help. For me, the sour plum candy helps too.

My hubby and I keep a spreadsheet on what we have spent and anticipate to spend so that will also make us think twice if it is necessary to buy that stuff. More expenses to come as child grows so just wanna make sure we spend on necessary stuffs.

joanne - haha u need wait till sat/sun le haha cause tonight i staying at my mum place till fri .. tired of running around and my hub needs work late tonight and thurs ..

tats why cannot let maid handle our kids .. we still need to retain our bond with our kids lor ..

anyway nw my sonny is back to mama boy after a weekend of being with him ..

Thks ladies.. i feeling better now le.. i quite stress over work partly is coz of my boss, 2nd is coz mine is full comissioned based, so my pay had drop drastically for this few mths.. will tok to hubby when he's back fr his trip to see how we can work it out..

has been watchin comedy & listening to music & it helps.. =)

btw, my nipples has grown bigger, izzit normal? & its only for 1 side nia..

Thank you all for your very comforting words. I appreciate every single one of them. I'm slowing coping with the grief, but it's not easy.

I wish all of you a smooth pregnancy and delivery!

spicy: It's normal for nipples to become bigger. But for it to grow bigger only on 1 side I'm not so sure. In fact, nipples will not only grow bigger but darker too..

Hi dear mummies,

Just knock off from work. Busy day today.
Having gastric flu I think. Has been sick for too long till really really no mood to work Liao.

Hi Kelly, just realize that we are nearby each other.

Feel like I getting more emo, have a very bad dream this early morning, dream of my hb relative and my family look down and mock at me for having a girl. Wake up crying... Dare not tell my hb if not will kena scolding by him.

So scare I might get depression.

Hazel: Don worry so much on the gender of the baby. Know that we are in modern times already. As long as bb healthy it's all matters. I'm sure your hb will tell you that also. BUt no matter what, do talk thru with your hubby if you are worried abt the gender issues, so that he knows how you are feeling. Now with our kuku hormones, it's very easy for just a bad thought to be manifest into a bad nightmare.

Thank you starfantasy. Well think the pressure is more on my parents side and his sister. Cos his sister has little respect since we get married. Some more she aldy has 2 boys.

Hazel... Understand.. Think positively.. U going to make a 好 word ya... Most importantly, Bb healthy and guai guai now n in future as well...

Hazel: humm.. For ur parents easier to talk to them, let them know u feel pressure for this. Abt his sister, maybe can let ur hubby know that u don feel any respect frm his sis (if u haven tell him yet) so he can prepare to be on ur side if she says anything. Sometimes i think have so many boys also no use, i they do not grow up to contribute to the society. :p

Well girl or boy both has pro and cons. My parents super old fashion especially my dad. Then worse, that time my elder sister kw I am pregnant, she suddenly go adopt a baby boy just impress my dad as she is my dad pet and she has yet to have any kids. And she tell my younger sister, she dun wan to lost to me. Was very upset and piss off by her reason. Now think she will the happier of all. Stressed....... Sure look down by my dad since I am always not his favorite since young.

Anyway, I still look forwards to the shopping trip to baby baby exhibition at suntec during may and motherhood fair. Hee hee... Cos shopping will somehow reduce my stress ba I think.

Wah Kelly, ur mil super duper pantang,what dirty. Hello it's her grandchild lor. If its me, I won't be able to take it n tolerate it hee that's me :p
Btw so happy today, I bought my first top for my gal so excited n sweet haha n it's for 1 yo. My hb said I siao.

Yeah hazel, gals are better. They will bring parents out for dinner & rem ur bday. Like my hb, don't even rem his parents bday n I have to remind him. Don't give urself pressure, gals are sweeter n more caring. Even ur #2 is gal, no one has the right to comment, just tell them I love gals :p
Wah ur family sounds so political. Why need to fight for dad favor.

I do heard of ppl saying ladies who just give birth r 'dirty'. Think it's the same as when having menses. Also some of the traditional things they'll say cannot do. Thou recently seems to b lesser extend. But sure have some who r tat traditional who cannot b more modern in their thinking. One of my ex colleague, an auntie, told me we shdn't go into the new mother's rm when we visit them n the baby. Say not gd for us. But i nv follow lah, but she will not go into the rm lor. She say ask them to bring out bb but she won't go into the rm. So i guess its normal for some of the older folks to b pantang.

Just wonder, y elder ppl so panteng. Both my parents also the same, but still not to the extend. Just dun let us go temple to pray during that time of the month. Said that man and woman clothes can't mix and wash together especially underwear etc.....

Dun really understand wat so 'dirty' abt this and tat. If there is no menses then we won't be able to get pregnant right....

Actually QQ, it very very nice of ur hb. One of my uncle also help wash his wife wash underwear after she give birth. To me it already. And it between the couple as long hb is fine then it doesn't matter.

But it a little bit hard on u, still have to separate during ur stay at ur in law place.

Pantang all these Is at the person mind ba, so many people in the world does things differently they also living well.. Lol.. Male or female also our babies..

Hazel, since your parents old fashion type then the more u shldnt be bothered abt the gender of the kid, cos your baby doesn't carry your dad's surname..

I will never practice gender preference, cos I came from this kind of old fashion family.. I didn't particularly like my childhood, so it will nevEr happen to my kids.. If my mil or fil attempt to show preference, I told my hubby i will not bring our kids to them, until they give same treatment..

Hazel nutty: oh haha maybe can meet up sometime

AG: I'm ok la cause sometimes better to respect them later a lot of conflict then hubby so poor thing stuck in bewteen.

Urchin: yup my mil also say if a lady just gave birth, better don't go into the room ESP guys. They will say ur 8 characters will clash then not good.