(2012/08) Aug 2012

No prob.. Thanks jc..

rainbow > like ayukie say, the aircon is not only for your maid so it's fine. Your maid can help with the night feeds if your #1 really have to have that many time, just make sure she have sufficient rest later in the day. I wonder if your #1 want so many feeds at night is because of the milk? Like when he doesn't feel full he cannot sleep? I remember last time a certain brand have this milk especially for night feed because it makes the kid feel fuller so higher chance to sleep thru the night rather than woken up by hunger?

Miko > Yes, it definately alright to eat salad, in fact i just have generous servings of salad at my friend's house over the weekend. Probably the only thing you might want to worry about is having it cold too often (like straight out of the fridge).

Regarding rubbing tummy, even gentle gentle also cannot? I thought contractions will only start when rub with pressure?

starfantasy, my boy wans milk e moment he is awake but it's more of a dream feed. As for the maid, i'll hv to discuss with my mum and see wat she says.

Hi Miko, you can try taking prune juice, Yakult ( it works for me) or banana.

i had bad constipation during my mid tri 1, and i thought it was the heavy meats i was eating - i love red meat, lamb etc. so i try to stay away from them. but i just got results from my oscar scan, i am low on blood count so now doc encouraging me to take more red meat, spinach and liver. so everything in moderation! i learnt it the hard way!

@ Dawn, did you just have a heavy meal? the skin around my tummy is always very tight after i eat, but if its not, maybe u need to moisturise more?

Just back home, tot going to tampines yummy house to buy honey end up their clubhouse is just nearby my house so go there and buy instead. It was a bit ex but if result good then quite worth it. I have brought the s grade one.

Is pigeon wipes really good? And do we have to buy now? As it still be months before our due date, will it dry up by then?

Yanlin, better go home early to rest. Dun over tired. And need to go eat, u can go hungry but not the little one inside.

dawn, tightening of tummy should be quite common esp at night after dinner. sometimes i am so full and tight that I cant breathe like now.

Dawn
I also experience that too at times, will try to put on more moisturizer.

Ling
Just to let u know that don't take anything with calcium when taking spinach as their effects will be offset

Yanlin
Have an early day wor. .

Hazel nutty
Can take those small banana but not those long ones. Not sure abt yakult is cooling or heaty but I do drink once in a while

My Aunty, has been telling me not to take yakult as it is cooling but that was during the period I was trying for bb. Now I am not sure can take or not.

As for salad, the gynae tell me better to eat cook one then raw e.g roasted pumpkin or potato salad. But I do eat some raw one as not always can find cooked one. Ha ha...

One of my colleague has forbidden me to take wat ever kind of banana. There once, she even forbidden me to eat the banana chip that one of my colleague brought.

my doctor didnt say cant take yakult, and i feel as long as i dont take everyday its fine.

for banana, i know its strange and i am not sure if anyone of you heard of it before, its ok to take all kinds, but just not del monte cos they are very liang. i do try to avoid del monte, otherwise i take banana maybe 2 times a week.

@KJ, thanks for the tip, will take note now! my doc also say my fish oil, calcium and multivits, dont take with iron pills, take iron 4 hrs later cos it will affect iron pill's absorption rate.

having said the above, i am already in trimester 2, so i am more relax in my food intake, i just go by moderation of everything (except raw food which i avoid). if i am in trimester 1, i would usually just err on the side of caution.

I do take Yakult but I just dun take it straight from the fridge.. just leave it outside for a while so that its not so cold then i drink.. nothing wrong i think...

salad,
can eat but hv to be careful if buy outside, as they might not clean the leavy vege thoroughly n may contain bacteria. however personally i think food in singapore is very clean (those resto/fast food chain).

potato salad may contain mayo.

rainbow,
hang in there... soon ur boy will b able to sleep through.
however i find it is weird ur pd still allow to dreamfeed him? how is he eating during the day?

last time used to latch my boy at nite my pd alrdy make a lot of noise. but i still do that till he able to sleep through without latching in the middle of the nite. wahaha.

maid :
we r also considering to hire help after #2 comes. so far im doing all by myself even no part time helper until 1 week ago i just trie to engage 1 p/t helper.

apparently it is quite common to let maid sleep in living room (at least for my friends, there r abt 4 of them who practise it).
but after certain time it will b lights off in the living room. the maid sleep behind sofa w foldable mattress.

haih.. but so far im really hesitant to hire live in maid. hb to. still wondering whether i can b super mom n do without help at all. lol.

Chubby2,
Can maid sleep in living room? I thought not allowed?

Amino test
I have postpone my test to after the trip. Was quite mad with the clinic. Called the nurse to ask the doctor and she came back can go tour after a week. During my last visit last week, gynae told me he sure said cannot. Cos usually tour means walk a lot which is not advisable.

Now with bad cough plus My placenta on the low side, I rather reduce another risk.

This is the 1st time I encounter placenta low. Frien told me can't walk for too long if on low side. What other problems will arise with this?

Chubby2, he had porridge for lunch n dinner and will snack in between. Also a milk monster, my 900g enfalac grow can only last me 5-7 days!

He had light blocked nose and fussing this morning. Fed him milk at 3plus followed by Zyrtec. Praying tat he'll slp thru. He ask for milk at 6.15!!!

clim, i think most of us will have our placenta low now, but as the weeks goes by, the placenta will move up, dun worry so much.

We at tri 2 can take liang cha also, i ask the medicine hall they say ok..

clim, i was surprised when u said your gynae allowed holiday after amino test that time cos what I heard is cannot. hey so your gynae detected your placenta is low? gosh I am worried mine will be too cos I coughed so badly for at least 6 weeks liao. my colleague told me that her previous pregnancy, her placenta also lowered cos she coughed very long....so what will happen if its low?

AG
I am not sure too. As advised by my MIL, she said long ones are cooling, short ones are ok. But I only take 1 banana per wk

hazel nutty, i'm buying the wipes for #1..

rainbow, my pd says to give only 2 milk feeds a day, in the morning and before he sleeps.. all other feeds should be solids, else not enough nutrition... but my boy will ask for a feed in the afternoon too, so we're giving him 3 daily now..

Jojo, my boy is taking a minimum of 750ml of milk each day and that excludes his solid intake. Recently i just upgrade him to enfagrow, at least pocket not so pain. Else enfalac is costing me a bomb!

Hazel, I think it wont dry up as long as you do not open the packaging.. I buy because of the free gift redemption.. Not the shampoo though.. its the fisher price one. Anyway i used to buy wet tissues also from kodomo and keep for months and when open it is still wet. so no worries.

My fren recommended pigeon or huggies wipe.. Think when older can use Kodomo which is the cheapest one.. I feel its ok but just that i think if use on newborn it is a bit thin.. thats my thought..

Hazel > it takes a while to see the good effects of honey also provided if u drink frequently.
so u become gold member ar?

Raw salad, i think it's fine as long as it's clean. Doc advise cooked because the process can kill germs. I agree overally sg food is very clean esp those in resturants.

Banana and yakult, i guess moderation is the key. Now we all in 2nd trimester, usually can eat everything even foods that were no no in 1st trimester. My mum even encourage me to eat watermelon and oranges to get natural vit. But of cos in normal amt. Banana i like those small ones from dole, but think they are seasonal, and i can only find them in carrefood and seng song so far. My mum said those are the neutral kind, neither heaty or cooling.

Maid sleeping in living room, no definate right or wrong but it's like we don't do things to other that we don't do to ourselves. So if there's really no choice, like no even have a space in any of the rooms then have to sleep in living room. But if that's he case, better made known to the maid at the agency so they know what to expect when they reach the house.

clim,
im also not sure whether allow or not allowed sleeping in common area.

rainbow
then ur son really eats a lot!! good also in a way no need to worry bout his nutritional intake.
my boy is is quite a fussy eater. he doesnt like milk too. usually i spoon feed about 200ml per day only.

Hihi ..
Regarding Yakult , I remember doctor asking me to drink more cos that time duno got wat infection , o nw I also drink yalkult regularly ..
Then banana , I hear from aunties is cannt eat those big big long type , especially green skin type .. Can only eat those very very short n fat ones ..

Soooooo nervous .. Going for my detail scan later ... Hopefully baby leg open .... Hopefully baby healthy ... So stresssssss

If you take the course on foreign domestic worker maid not allowed to sleep in common areas where she won't have privacy but then you can do whatever as long don't get caught .. The course is necessary for work permit I believe

BBL> U r not alone.

For mummies used Medela before, just to check how do we know what breast shield is good to use? I am thinking to buy extra ones as the set I bought only comes with one.

Ayukie,
rest well!

BBL,
my hopes of having a girl is much smaller then.. cos i feel so much beautiful.. but hor i also got a pimple outbreak on my chin area!